WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Paranormal Activity" Sets Box-Office Record

Posted: October 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Paranormal Activity" Sets Box-Office RecordSubmit Comment
The Vince Vaughn comedy "Couples Retreat" was the only wide release this weekend, earning an estimated $35 million from 3,000 locations. The film has already earned half of its $70 million budget and is on its way to break $100 million domestically.

"Zombieland" dropped to second place in its second week with $15 million from 3,038 theaters, while "Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs" continued its strong performance in its fourth week with $12 million.

Paramount's ghost story "Paranormal Activity" placed exceptionally high this weekend with record-breaking numbers, earning $7.1 million at 160 screens, the highest weekend grosser at 200 locations or less. The new movie beat previous record-holder "Platoon," which earned $3.7 million at 174 locations in 1987.

"Paranormal" also grossed the week's highest per screen average of $44,163, edging out Sony Pictures Classics' launch of "An Education" with $162,381 at four engagements, earning an average of $40,595 per screen.

Paramount will give the film a wide release next weekend, since over 1 million fans have demanded it online. "Paranormal" was made by a video game designer for only $15,000.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Detrimental writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 7:01:26 PM

I knew it'd get a wide release from being awesome. Suck it Trebek.
dandythelion writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 7:22:24 PM

well that video game designer must be sh*tting bricks now
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 7:47:23 PM

GAY
acslaterson writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 7:59:57 PM

^^^Hahaha, did you even see it Spooky?

Man, I have been slacking on getting to the theater. I will have to do a back to back feature this week.
vaodsi writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 8:17:33 PM

I'll be seeing it next weekend.....
after wild things....
c-prime writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 8:30:59 PM

I saw "Paranormal Activity" on Friday. That thing was f*cking creepy (and I have never said that about a horror movie ever).
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 9:05:14 PM

For film technicians its especially creepy because there's so many shots that just seem flat out impossible. There's a sequence that completely baffled me so the man has some great tricks up his sleeve. He's gonna get a ton of jobs from this there's no doubts from me in that respect.
Loki writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 10:15:04 PM

That movie was a flaming piece of crap. It was so stupid. I can't believe I payed money to watch something so freaking boring. I want a refund.
nope.com writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 10:29:12 PM

overrated and just plain average at best
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 11:00:42 PM

It started off a bit slow, and I just kept waiting for the night time scenes cuz I wanted some scary sh*t to go down, but once the film ends and you take a look back, you realize that you were entranced from beginning to end and theres a feeling of constant tension. It really is a remarkable piece of filmmaking, as a movie it wasnt phenomenal, but technically its brilliant, really well done, a thousand times better than that sh*tfest Blair Witch Project (but this is probably my generations Blair Witch Project, in ten years they'll be another movie similar to this that kids will think is better that the, in their opinion, sh*tfest Paranormal Activity) and the last 20 minutes are SCARY. I havent been as scared since I saw the Descent.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 11:16:58 PM

I stood online for three hours to see the screening and the line was cut short well ahead of me just about a week or two ago so I didn't get a chance to see it. So many people claim it was so great I must go see it then.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 11:38:26 PM

it was so f*cking boring i wanted to kill myself.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 12:01:45 AM

I liked it, it was pretty creepy. I never jumped or yelled out, but the tension and atmosphere was excellent.

For those who have seen it, have ya'll heard that this cut had an alternate ending?

original ending: everything happens more or less the same up until Micah heads downstairs and we hear the tussle and the screaming. Then Katie comes back upstairs and sits on the bed for three days. It's like one of her sleep-standing spells, but way more extreme. Eventually her friend comes over, we hear her discover Micah's body, and she calls the police. The cops arrive, and are confronted by a knife-wielding Katie, and shoot her dead. (courtesy of CHUD)

I think I would have liked this ending a little better.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 12:08:42 AM

I've got to give the guy credit though, anytime you make a movie for 15K and you smash box office records that's pretty impressive. Let's see I guess I'll be starting production on my film using my iphone 3Gs for less than that
c-prime writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 12:09:44 AM

I agree, murphyslaw. The last 10 to 15 minutes affected me in a way that very few horror movies have. I mean, you kinda knew what was gonna go down, but the way they presented it really, really startled me. I'm not trying to talk this movie up the wazoo, but it's definitely leagues ahead of "Blair Witch", "Quarantine", and most other doc*mentary-style horror flicks in my opinion.
Mudders writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 1:36:16 AM

when this hits NZ im there...going by comments here its 60/40 in favour of it
Snarebeast writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 3:04:33 AM

I saw it a few weeks back at a free screening. I loved it.
Mudders writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 3:31:38 AM

does it go along the lines of "the amityville horror"???
polardeficit writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 3:38:42 AM

from a practical effects point of view paranormal was incredible but from a entertainment standpoint its just mildly amusing and not nearly what its hyped up to be
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 4:02:54 AM

Poughkeepsie Tapes was better than this f*cking snorefest.
Eben1277 writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 7:15:45 AM

That's cause I'm from Poughkeepsie
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 11:59:35 AM

Lol.

Seriously, if you want to talk about messed up horror, talk Poughkeepsie Tapes.

f*cking. Creepy.
Dealey writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 1:22:23 PM

I didn't think it was boring at all. I can't even remember the last time a movie made me so creeped out like this one did. Probably the best horror movie I've seen in the last ten years.
Dan writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 1:24:41 PM

Looks like the Blair Witch Project (indoors version)
dorkus1226 writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 7:47:20 PM

Definitely one of the best horror movies ive seen in a long time. i wasnt sleeping right for a few days after this!
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 6:29:43 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved