WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams Wants William Shatner in "Star Trek 2"

Posted: October 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams Wants William Shatner in "Star Trek 2"Submit Comment
Collider caught up with "Star Trek" director JJ Abrams to find out if there is a chance for William Shatner to appear in the sequel. Here is what he had to say:

"It was a foregone conclusion that we wanted Shatner in the [first] movie. The problem was that his character died on screen in one of the 'Trek' films. And because we decided very early on that we wanted to adhere to 'Trek' canon as best we could, the required machinations to get Shatner into the movie would have been very difficult to do given the story we wanted to tell and also to give him the kind of part that he would be happy with.

In terms of moving forward, I am open to anything. I would love to figure out something. There's going to be more opportunity to work with him again. I would love to work with him. We speak. We actually have a lunch date planned. I'm a fan. I'm a friend of his. Or, he's at least a friend of mine. He may say otherwise on his blog today. I have no idea. But, I really couldn't like him more and would love to work with him.
"

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:27:08 AM

Geez JJ... get your head outta Bill's ass long enough to get a breath of air!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:50:00 AM

^^hahah i know "We speak. We actually have a lunch date planned. I'm a fan. I'm a friend of his. Or, he's at least a friend of mine. He may say otherwise on his blog today. We made love yesterday. It was nice. Good. I have no idea. It was fun. He smells. Yes."
Mudders writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:54:22 AM

Hold still JJ...ill get a rope and a torch and help ya get outta the cravass,that is Shatner's ass
rabid writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:57:05 AM

might as well. Hopefully it won't involve time travel again. I liked the idea they had last time of old Spock giving young Kirk a holorecording of his future self.
Mudders writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 4:05:19 AM

i just hope it doesnt involve an island and a cloud of black smoke...im confused enough as it is
dissident187 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 5:11:01 AM

Bring in Picard, you fools.
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 5:35:21 AM

I vote to not bring Shatner into this new Star Trek (and I'm a BIG fan of Kirk!).

The Star Trek torch was passed from Kirk to Picard in (ugh!) 'Generations.'

Give this NEW Star Trek the breath of fresh air the writers, producers and actors deserve. This sentimentality, holding onto the past crap, 'loyalty to Shatner' bullsh*t (which I can GUARANTEE you he has none towards Star Trek) - has to end.

There were enough references in the latest movie to keep the older Trekkers happy, with the new stuff that brings in new fans for another generation. Were Kirk to appear at all (again... I'm against it) should have been in the latest film... NOT this sequel.

Shatner... stick a fork in your fat ass... you're DONE!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:11:00 AM

Agreed, Rabid. The 'holorecording' is the best way to take care of this. It won't mess up the continuity any more and the die hard Shat-Heads will have their bloated master present one last time in a "Trek" film
Peter Parker writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:33:27 AM

In a related story: JJ Abrams Wants William Shatner in his bed.
thedotsays writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 9:38:03 AM

@Ranger, Iagree. The one thing TNG did right was let that show develop on it's own with minimal references to the past. Once they got themselves established and carved thier own niche, then they went and dipped in the ol' memory pool with Spock appearances and Kirk being in one of the movies. Like you said, let this franchise breathe on it's own and carve it's own niche before dragging other Star Trek entities in.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 12:07:21 PM

He could come in and help young Kirk negotiate the lowest price on his next hotel stay
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:10:04 PM

@Stunt - lol... I thought about Shatner's commercials when I posted.

@TheDot - thx. Exactly. They even has Scotty in an episode of TNG... and that worked well. And you're right... TNG did the dipping into the old ST waters AFTER they built up their OWN following.

@PP - lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 6:52:42 PM

@Ranger: I don't know if you remember but a lot of Trekkies weren't very happy with the new Star Trek. It was too cool and action packed for them. I obviously don't agree but I can't see how Shatner would hurt the franchise. sh*t, he is the franchise!!! If you don't think so then why does a director as good as Abrams have his d*ck halfway down his throat? Shatner's the bomb, and if they can get Spock involved, they can get Shatner.

Easiest way: Reinvent the City Alpha 5 episode from the original series. Open new movie with a "flashforward" (one helluv a show so far btw) to CA5 where Kirk abandons Khan. Airbrush Shatner a little bit and make it a lot more action packed than the original. Not many people have seen the original episode so you wont piss off too many of the nerds. One way or another, there's always room for Shatner and it the easiest way to make even more money from the fans.
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 7:37:37 PM

@SAC - good post.

I wasn't aware the old(er) Trekkers were unhappy with the latest ST movie. If so... ok.

As for Shatner. HE thinks he's all the franchise (more than he is). He was being a pain to get for the first movie, so cut him loose. WHEN will these snotty actors be taught?

SAC - even though Star Trek II was excellent (mainly Kirstie Ally's tits getting off the transporter pad in that tight red sweater - AND a stellar performance by Retardo Mentalblock) - that was a continence of the original episode 'Space Seed.' I'm NOT a fan of 'remakes.' The did that with Star Trek - The Motion Picture - clearly an remake of the original episode 'The Changeling' with the satellite Nomad. No my friend... I REALLY, REALLY wish they'd spread their wings (Hollywood) and make all this new Star Trek NEW... COMPLETELY new! I'm the biggest fan in the world of the original series. I haven't even minded those original episodes being re-released 're-mastered' with a better looking Enterprise and planets with actual cloud cover. But I think moving ahead is owed to the Writers, the Actors, Gene Roddenberry AND the 'idea' of Star Trek is to explore NEW things.

For an old fan of the show, I surprise even myself with how progressive I'd like to see things move forward. Right behind Gene's EXCELLENT character development and morality tales behind Star Trek (which more than made up for 60's costumes, hairstyles, mini-skirt (didn't mind those), and low budget set designs) - Star Trek stimulated the MIND above all. And even being a HUGE fan of Kirk... I've had my fill Bro.

Just my 2 cents worth...
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:17:02 PM

Agreed dissident187, lol the5thbeatle5.
Ranger writes:
on October 10th, 2009 at 6:22:30 PM

Watch for JJ's upc*ming book:

'Kirk's semen tastes like green slave women and ham!'

warlord writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 1:10:59 PM

i would love to see bill in a new star trek but i dont see how he could come back as kirk?? unless he plays kirks grandfather

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved