WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eliza Dushku on Losing Black Widow Role in "Iron Man 2"

Posted: October 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eliza Dushku on Losing Black Widow Role in "Iron Man 2"Submit Comment
Back in February, actress Eliza Dushku ("Dollhouse") appeared on the Howard Stern Show where she mentioned that she would love to play The Black Widow in the "Iron Man" sequel.

"They're doing 'Iron Man 2,' and I'm so perfect for the Black Widow character," she said. "They need to understand... I just learned Russian because I had to play a Russian girl in 'Dollhouse.'"

The role eventually went to Scarlett Johansson, which didn't surprise Dushku when MTV asked her if she ever got to audition for the part. "I think it went straight to Miss Thing," she said about Johansson. "I get it, you know? I get it. She's pretty fierce. I had read about it."

That's actually not exactly true, the role went straight to Emily Blunt, but since the actress had a prior commitment, she was replaced by Johansson.

Dushku insists that she never had a chance. "I'm a huge [Robert] Downey Jr fan and also [Jon] Favreau, but I think they had it packaged up at the studio."

Click here to read more about "Iron Man 2."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:17:56 AM

Scarlett is sooo much hotter in my opinion
VDODSON writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:18:33 AM

Sorry honey, you dont have the acting chops to do anything believable. The Dollhouse sucked, and so did Bring it on. On a high note though, she's built like a brick sh*t house.
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:24:53 AM

Sorry Eliza... but maybe if you swallowed?

johnny_boy writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:49:57 AM

shes a big downey and favreau fan,too bad they aint fans of hers. then again who is?
Cleveland Shaquisition writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:03:42 AM

what's wrong with her face? It's all droopy.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:05:06 AM

^probaly y they didnt give her a chance
acslaterson writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:08:43 AM

I have been stomaching through Dollhouse Season 1, it is cool to see the guy from BSG in it though. Scarlett is way hotter then Dushcu is and I don't see Scarlett on a TV series in another 10 years. Win goes to meee lady Scarlett.
nope.com writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:42:48 AM

... and Johansson has acting talent?? Please, this role could have gone to any hot chick. Who the hell are you trying to kid idiot
rabid writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:55:45 AM

Dollhouse is great. Dukshu a mediocre actress, but she fits the Dollhouse nicely. I could actually see her as Black Widow more than I can Scarlett.
vwkombi writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 4:51:47 AM

Dushku and Dollhouse rock. She would've been awesome in the part.

But i get she should've just said yes to anything the producers wanted.

I mean anything.
telur writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 6:11:05 AM

it's not the acting that johanson got a part
AP102390 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:21:06 AM

if the black widow didn't need some kind of accent (because dushku CANNOT do those) i could see her doing it. she's got the body for skintight leather and really i don't think it's a tough role to play.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:25:16 AM

Eliza Dushku has AIDS. Got it from Zac Efron. Her face is starting to melt down already.
CJP writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:44:43 AM

Dushku over Johannson every time!! Anyone remember The Spirit? Yeah...so again who's gonna say that she out does Dushku in talent? They are at the very least on par...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:55:22 AM

I still have my doubts about ScarJo pulling off a Russian accent. I kinda feel like they would even change it so she doesn't have an accent just to keep her trash bag fire-crotch in the movie.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 9:33:03 AM

I would have preferred & loved Blunt in the role but Dushku would have worked. The girl needs a real break. Anyhow Johansson doesn't do it for me as Widow, sorry. bad casting there. I haven't LIKED Johansson since Lost in Translation. Seriously.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 10:25:39 AM

I personally would have cast Eliza, Scarlett doesn't seem like she can play something like Black Widow, and she sounds like she is always talking through her nose.Plus she is really good and playing characters that always have the attitude of "I want it now...." kind of like a little brat. I just can't see her in Iron Man. I think Scarlett is overrated, not the best actress but a lot of men then she's beautiful. Although I do think that Emily Blunt might have been able to pull it off.
VDODSON writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 11:24:57 AM

Dushku is hot, but she cant act for sh*t. She's not even in the same league as Johansson. ''She's pretty fierce''?? Why is she using homosexual phrases, stick to tv and Maxim because thats all your good at.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 11:46:06 AM

Why is she stealing lines from Curb Your Enthusiasm?

Dushku is about as attractive as her name sounds and about half as talented. If it weren't for the Jay and Silent Bob movie I would have never thought she could ever look very good, but sh*t, Kevin Smith even managed to make his hideous stick figure of a wife look hot in that movie.

I'm with VDODSON, she should stick to the WB and mag covers.
LastActionHero writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 12:15:59 PM

At least it ain't Blunt.
acslaterson writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 12:34:51 PM

@nope.com

Name one award Duschku has been nominated for or won. Hell, show me a positive review of one of her movie roles. Go ahead and prove me wrong that Scarlett doesn't have way more.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 12:42:52 PM

She's f*cken' hot and I think she can act. However, ScarJo is a name...kinda.
TheHundreds writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 1:28:27 PM

Pro Scarlett. How can you even compare the two? Looks-wise, talent-wise. Scrarlett just has a better screen presence. I can't take Dushku seriously in anything.
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:07:55 PM

Neither could the casting agents for Iron Man 2 apparently.

rabid writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:10:05 PM

I wouldn't place Scarlett's acting talents or looks above Dookshoe's.
acslaterson writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 3:39:29 PM

^^^ There is a reason why one stars in movies and the other is on TV.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 4:18:03 PM

Eliza Dushku, two dollars.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 6:12:11 PM

Nice avatar Peter Parker!
ian_918 writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 6:21:10 PM

Johansson needs to show me her tits already.
Ranger writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 7:09:46 PM

Get in line Ian!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 8:35:59 PM

Thanks, SACdaddy. The pic caught my best side! lol
Luminus writes:
on October 11th, 2009 at 10:07:38 PM

Eliza Dushku did some AMAZING work on both the Buffy and Angel series. Was this site always filled will juvenile slander?
Ranger writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 3:39:13 PM

Maybe she did. But if she wants to get into the movies, she's had better learn the difference between spit and swallow.
Tizzle writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:01:41 PM

I think Dollhouse is a good show. Because of everyone that isn't Eliza Dushku. Of course Joss Whedon loves hot girls dancing in short skirts and she is good at that. So everyone wins. Eliza... if I were you I'd stick with Joss.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved