WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jamie Foxx Still Working on Mike Tyson Biopic

Posted: October 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jamie Foxx Still Working on Mike Tyson BiopicSubmit Comment
Back in March of 2008, Mike Tyson revealed that he has been speaking with Jamie Foxx about the actor portraying him in a biopic. At the time, Tyson said that the film will likely happen in two years.

Now, almost two years later, Foxx has revealed to MTV News that he is very much interested in making this happen. "I think that out of all the biopics out there, he has the most interesting story that no one has ever heard," he said. "And I've been privileged to know some of the private things that I just think are so amazing."

Foxx added that he already has a director in mind. "Taylor Hackford, who also directed [the] Ray Charles [biopic], I think is my man [to direct the Tyson biopic]," he revealed. "We have a certain kinship, and we've talked about when we do get back together what it would be like."

Tyson has seen enough drama in his life to fill multiple biopics. From his years as a wunderkind boxer under the tutelage of Cus D'Amato to his rape conviction and repeated attempts at redemption. Foxx mentioned that the film will likely not focus on the redemption part.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:51:57 PM

will the rape and ear munching be included?
JonDrama writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:09:12 PM

or the cameo in The Hangover?
c-prime writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 10:11:42 PM

"Taylor Hackford, who also directed [the] Ray Charles [biopic], I think is my man..."

TRANSLATION: Foxx has another Oscar on his mind.
mariachi writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 11:11:40 PM

What is Foxx thinking?? NOBODY wants to see this.
Blank x2 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 11:20:00 PM

Don't know what the guy above me is talking about, cause I would watch this in a minute.
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 12:18:15 AM

Same.

Tyson was framed. By both his wife AND that ladder-climbing, money-grubbing 'Beauty' (ugh!) Pageant skank.

When he had money... he'd walk through Da Hood's and press $100 bills into the hands of the homeless. He's been taken advantage of by everyone around him (do we need to bring up the murderer King?). As a kid he saw one of his friends hung by a gang. Until I've been through all that myself... I wouldn't pass judgment on the guy too harshly.

Biting the ear... ummm, yeah, no defense there. That was just... cannibalistic?!

But he has had an interesting life.

And his singing scene in The Hangover... I almost chocked on my fricken dinner!!!

I'd watch this. Iron Mike is da Man!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 1:53:45 AM

i would welcome this movie but not with Jaime Foxx. u may all disagree with me but i think he sucks as an actor/singer/comedian,but mostly acting.
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 1:58:36 AM

Jamie does seem to like himself a lot. Nothing wrong with that, but I don't always feel it's as much from a place of confidence from him as it is c*ckiness. I liked him more a few years ago. And that tirade he threw on his radio show slamming Miley Cyrus didn't score him points with the public.
VDODSON writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 2:27:28 AM

There's no way he could bulk up enough to portray Tyson. The man was a beast, Fox's frame wouldnt be able to handle it. And its a little early, being as Tyson still active.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 5:07:50 AM

^hey,they you'd be surprise what they can do in the editing room.they can probaly do a whole movie with him and edit it to where he looks white or ripped after editing.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 5:08:00 AM

^hey, you'd be surprise what they can do in the editing room.they can probaly do a whole movie with him and edit it to where he looks white or ripped after editing.
thysmn writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 6:43:53 AM

Tyson's life is interesting: there is the ascension, the fall (framed, condemned for rape) and his prison's after life where there is this run to get back to the top.

Check of the 2008 doc*mentary "Tyson", very moving.
Hitodama writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 9:39:51 AM

@C-prime- yeah, that's what came to mind as soon as I saw the headline.
Kurskij writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 10:07:20 AM

Fox is a good choice, but I think James Toback would fit better as a director - he is Mike's friend, and his "Tyson" showed that man really knows how it should be done in this case.
@Mariachi
Come on man... I'm with Blank and Ranger on this one - I'll be there for a ticket the moment this project is greenlighted.
I mean, you may think whatever you want about Mike, but he've had a very interesting life and he is one of (if not the most)the most influential and greatest boxers of all time.
NatG83 writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 10:34:33 AM

I always thought Tyson's personality was interesting. He could be a real thug at times, and outright be the guy you hate. However, I remember seeing an interview with Tyson and Ali. The host asked Ali "Who would win, you or Tyson?" The host expected the usual Ali charm, but Ali responded something along the lines 'the man is a beast. Him...'

Tyson's response surprised me, 'No, Ali would win. He's old school. The best there was.' It was a genuine side of Tyson I had never seen.

I like Foxx, and he does well in Biopics. However, I'd like to see someone else get the shot. I don't see it happening do to Foxx's Oscar cred.
Kurskij writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 10:52:26 AM

^^I second that.
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 2:54:27 PM

Put Tyson in the ring with Don King!

I'd donate a kidney to watch that match (best 4 seconds of my life!)!
rabid writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 3:38:09 PM

Yeah, I'm down to watch it, so long as the include the bits where he's a rapist and eats earlobes.
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 4:46:33 PM

That's first date sh*t for me rabid.
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 4:46:54 PM

Oh... except the rapist part (giggle)...
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 5:19:36 PM

Maybe they could make a mini-series on Tyson starring Gary Coleman.
Mudders writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 2:46:31 AM

not foxx please....does he have to try to play every black man that has made a name for themselves....may aswell play james brown and gary coleman(that would be great!)

maybe ice cube if he learnt how to act
Brigid writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:42:54 PM

will the taped rape of Mike Tyson by Don Kings guys to keep him in line be in the movie. I understand a tape exists of a druged mike tyson being brutilized by don kings hitmen. what's the word?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved