WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

No Plans for "The Simpsons Movie" Sequel

Posted: October 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
No Plans for "The Simpsons Movie" SequelSubmit Comment
"The Simpsons" creator Matt Groening revealed that even though the movie earned almost $530 million in worldwide ticket sales on $75 million budget, there are currently no plans to develop a sequel.

"It took 18 years to get around to doing the movie," he said. "We got very frustrated. We thought it would take two years but it ended up taking four. Some day maybe we'll do another one -- but don't hold your breath."

Groening added that the problem was bringing writers on board for the movie and still keep the show going at the same time. During many interviews, he felt that everyone was overworked and he cannot imagine doing something like that again.

The current season of "The Simpsons" is the 21st and the show has already been renewed for two additional seasons. "We cannot predict the end because we can't believe we are still here today," explained Groening.

Click here to read our "The Simpsons Movie" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:29:59 AM

Simpsons has already lsot it's style years and years ago, the new Simpsons jsut aint funny and i only managed a few laughs from the movie.
Fabian writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:44:36 AM

Thank god!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:20:22 AM

I love The Simpsons, like most of you, but what I would like to see would be a straight to DVD movie. Something that's not really more than 3 or 4 continuous episodes thrown together with a main plot that stays constant. I guess that sounds exactly like the previous movie. Oh well. I still laugh when I watch the new episodes, not as much as season 5-10, but I enjoy them still. Straight to DVD might be easier for them to handle if they just work it into their season schedule. Have it be like the DC cartoon movies, a little more edgy than they could get away with on TV.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:30:57 AM

"We cannot predict the end because we can't believe we are still here today,"

You're not the only one who can't believe it, Groening...
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 10:19:46 AM

they just need to stick to Futurama...i mean, The Simpsons is funny sometimes, but these days you can tell the shows just trying to be like other cartoons
coldplayesence writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 11:55:58 AM

$75 million budget? Seriously? Man, I now sh*t about 2D animation.
rabid writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:52:51 PM

The Simpsons movie was great, I hope they do another someday.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:23:08 PM

See Rabid, THIS is why you have no friends.
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:06:23 PM

lol.
rabid writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 7:36:49 PM

!Viva Los Simpsons! that show will never die.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:20:21 PM

Well, if idiots like you keep fapping to it every sunday night, it won't die.
KirkLazerus writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:03:25 PM

i cant hate the Simpson's i grew up watching it, but i dont think there should be a Sequel
vwkombi writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 6:20:42 AM

The Simpsons is still great, but yes it has degraded in quality. I enjoyed the first movie, but in the end it was like a drawn out episode.

A sequel is a very 'meh' idea. I'll see it, but the same way i saw the first one. In my boxer shorts, eating doritos on my computer with a version a friend downloaded from the internet.
The-BRAD writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 9:55:31 AM

Seriously.... I can't believe the Simpson's movie actually cost $75 million to make....

Where did the money go? What did it go to?
Mudders writes:
on October 9th, 2009 at 4:13:30 AM

yawn

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved