WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tyler Perry Recalls Childhood Physical and Sexual Abuse

Posted: October 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tyler Perry Recalls Childhood Physical and Sexual AbuseSubmit Comment
After working on the movie "Previous," actor/director kept thinking about his own childhood and has now decided to reveal the dark secrets from his past. In a letter on his official site, Perry wrote: "I'm tired of holding this in. I don't know what to do with it anymore, so, I've decided to give some of it away."

He recalled how his father would beat him "mercilessly." "He got the vacuum cleaner extension cord and trapped me in a room and beat me until the skin was coming off my back," said Perry. "To this day, I don't know what would make a person do something like that to a child. Since my aunt lived two doors down, I ran to her. She saw me and was horrified. She loaded her 357 and went to kill him. Holding a gun to his head, her husband came and stopped her."

He added that his father would also beat and belittle him for wanting to read. "What the f*#K are you reading books for?! That's bull*#*T!," wrote Perry. "You F*#*ing jackass! You got book sense but you ain't got no mothaf*#*en common sense! You ain't sh*t and ain't never gonna be sh*t!"

Perry also remembered a little girl that he had a crush on at the age of eight: "She would come over to my house and we'd play. One day she stopped coming and when I asked her why, she told me that my father was touching her. I didn't believe her, so I talked her into staying one night. We were both asleep -- she was in one bed and I was in another. I opened my eyes to see my father trying to touch her and her pushing him away."

He also mentioned that his grandmother used to make fun of him for his allergies, telling him that he was full of germs. One day when Perry's mother left the house, she bathed him in ammonia.

And just recently, he received a phone call from a friend who told him that a man who molested the young Perry has died. And since he had no insurance, everyone was hoping that Perry would pay for the funeral. "I quickly said no, but I wish I would have said yes. There is something so powerful to me in burying the man that molested me. I wish I would have dug the grave myself."

Source: TylerPerry.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Shan writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:28:06 AM

lol
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:30:07 AM

Can't this guy afford to tell this to a shrink and leave us out of his 'Little sh*thouse on the Urban Sprawl' mini-series?
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:30:51 AM

Aunts that own .357 Magnums are the best!
slusho writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:38:18 AM

Wow..I even think Perry sucks but you guys are d*cks..
rabid writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:50:01 AM

Can't he afford a therapist?
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:20:53 AM

had no idea....feel bad for the guy...kids shouldn't ever have to go through these things...why the hell didn't anybody call social services??...or the cops??...at least he's got money from his madea films...proving his dad false that he 'ain't ever gonna be sh*t'
c-prime writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:37:22 AM

"He added that his father would also beat and belittle him for wanting to read."

I can commend Perry's father for doing that. Maybe if he left more of an impression, we'd live in a world without his monotonous, stereotypical comedies.
VDODSON writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:00:19 AM

Who cares. Im sorry to say it, but what makes this guys troubled childhood so special? We have kids experiencing that type of punishment right now that need our help. Whath has he done to help. I dont give a sh*t about some millionaires troubled childhood, suck it up motherf*cker.
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:10:29 AM

I agree!

I'm putting kids through this exact same torture on a daily basis.

f*ck this guy!
dissident187 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 5:51:01 AM

Man, that's just bloody awful. I feel sorry for the guy.

BUT YOUR MOTHERf*ckING MOVIES STILL SUCK!!!!!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:09:45 AM

regardless if his movies suck...he still proved his dad wrong...some people are just way too damn lazy to read...but look at this...we read all sorts of sh*t all the time on this website...i've even gotten past being annoyed having to read subtitles...it's just something you have to get used to if you wanna enjoy a good foreign film
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:47:32 AM

Sounds insane. Feel bad for the guy. Still I'm not interested in his movies but people love em so more power him, bravo.
Hitodama writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:59:10 AM

His aunt sounds badass! lol
Peter Parker writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:18:25 AM

"I've decided to give some of it away." hum...
Why couldn't he just have given money away instead? More productive, less boring...
Peter Parker writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:19:49 AM

Anyway, what does the guy want? A medal? Public sympathy? f*ck that, cry baby! Take it to the shrink!
warlord writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 11:04:21 AM

it still no excuse to keep makeing sh*t
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 12:44:10 PM

Definetly some dckheads posting up in here, but none the less, it takes a lot of guts to come forward with stuff like this. Hopefully Perry's story reaches individuals in similar situations, and they come forward before it's to late for them. I think that's what he's really trying to do here, and not saying, 'Look at me, I was abused.'
Peter Parker writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:16:31 PM

MontoynaWA, takes a lot of guts? Takes being a crying wimp!!! The guy has problems, fine, there are professionals who can help him. Posting that sh*t up on his site tells me the guy's a little bicth who's looking for a big "awwwwwwwwwwww...".
So what's your problem, anyway? Dad buttf*cked you when you were younger? He still does? Here's an idea, bitch, go post your sad story on Facebook!
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:43:10 PM

You beat me to it Peter...

@MOntoya - what 'guts' does this take... to air your laundry in public? I'm a celebrity... hear my story of pain! Awwwwww is right. Why doesn't he man-up, stop looking for public sympathy and take it to a shrink? Oh, I know... if he tells all, then others in the same situation can run over the their Aunts house with the.357 for her to do f*ck all as well. Sweet.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:00:13 PM

High five!!! lol
c-prime writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:48:09 PM

It's all a publicity stunt. Yeah, he probably went through some rough times and that's lame, but he ultimately knows that this sorta thing is gonna boost ticket sales to his ham-handed films. After all, why else would he dispense all this shocking information UNSOLICITED? He'll almost certainly follow this up with a guest appearance on Oprah and then ticket sales for "Madea Goes Cuckoo" or whatever the f*ck they'll name the next one will go through the damn roof. To say that Perry's genuinely baring his soul here, that he's doing anything other than trying to compose a flamboyant spectacle with this is a bold-faced lie. Moreover, it's inconsistent with what he's set out to turn the entire black race into through his stereotypical movies: again, a flamboyant spectacle. I hate his f*cking guts.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:51:46 PM

I don't understand the lashing from some of you Dodson in particular. So because he's a millionaire his childhood experiences don't matter? If he were dirt poor would they matter? Child abuse is child abuse, don't hate him because he's become something out of a sh*t childhood. If anything its a good thing someone of his popular status comes out about his past abuse because it spreads knowledge and gives kids going through it right now hope that maybe they can still become something in the world. That's what makes his tale special.

In other news... Tyler Perry go make a film that a group besides the African Americans can enjoy.
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:59:13 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - yeah, we're probably riding the guy's ass a little harder than his father did, that's true. But c-prime has a point (as have others) about this intentions. He didn't c*m out (oops... giggle), come out saying he hopes this information let's others know that his Aunt may have a .357 for protection or anything of the kind. He talks about paying for a funeral for a guy that diddled him. This was nothing more than attention-getting, media-whoring, pity me... so come see my projects propaganda. I feel for the guy (seriously), but there are better ways to produce this information and provide it that would actually, maybe give others in similar positions hope and advice on what to do... other than running to your useless, heavily armed Aunt's house, or to boast of having the funds to bury an alleged child molester. Sorry... I'm just not buying what he's sellin'
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:06:17 PM

Valid point but you see this a lot of the time when celebrities make more genuine statements about their rough times. People say "who gives a sh*t you're a millionaire" It's that bitter response from someone who doesn't have the kind of success that person does and they don't take into account that money isn't everything. It's probably because that saying only resonates with people who actually have it.
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:29:54 PM

Good point back (honestly).

Again, I feel for the guy (sincerely). I don't care he's well off financially. His story didn't come off (to me) as he's now looking out for others as much as he wanted to vent and get it out into the open for personal reasons. Also, this IS on the tail of Michelle Phillips coming out accusing her Dad of similar allegations... in the timing with the release of her book. Both these 'celebs' don't have Tom Cruise Stardom level careers... so this kind of laundry airing (I don't see the offering to do a PSA... yet) isn't hurting their already mediocre careers.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 4:12:03 PM

Oh yeah and its f*cked up when experience like this is used to garnish up exposure for the individual. It's like "Hey maybe if I tell people about my f*cked up childhood they'll pay more attention to me!" I think that happens a bit too. You can definitely tell the difference. Like there's a difference between this/Michael Philips and when Michael Jackson used to talk about his father. So yeah I with ya.
Detrimental writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 5:37:09 PM

I bet Joe Jackson could kick his dad's butt in battle of the abusive fathers.
Farradin writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:26:49 PM

Amazing. Usually people find some sort of closure in these things but from what I can tell he never will. That's sad.
Ranger writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 7:23:42 PM

@Detrimental - there's a sad truth/reality to your post... I agree.
VDODSON writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 2:41:49 AM

Im black, and I think his movies suck. He's dressed like a woman for gods sake. My mom watches them (she'll watch anything. What does the guy want, some national sympathy. f*ck him, no one cares about his story.
vwkombi writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 6:22:41 AM

That's what he gets for wearing a provocative dress and eating roofies like skittles.

Plus, next time at a family reunion when his drunk uncle says that he wants to play a fun game, maybe he won't listen.
Ranger writes:
on October 8th, 2009 at 2:58:12 PM

Oh he'll still play (with his Uncle). He liked it... a little (giggle).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved