WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Zombieland" Sequel is Being Considered

Posted: October 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Zombieland" Sequel is Being ConsideredSubmit Comment
"Zombieland" writer Paul Wernick spoke to MTV News about developing a sequel to the film that took first spot at the box office this weekend with $25 million, already making back its $23 million budget.

"We would love it, and everyone involved creatively wants to do another one," said Wernick. "Woody [Harrelson] came up to us after the final cut of the last scene and gave us a hug and said, 'I've never wanted to do a sequel in the previous movies I've done until this one.'"

If and when another film gets greenlit, the writers have more than enough material with which to work. "It has lived in our heads for four-and-a-half years," Wernick said. "We developed it and wrote it as a spec TV pilot in the summer of 2005. We've got a long brainstorming document that still to this day gets updated on a near-weekly basis with ideas. We've got tons of new ideas swimming in our head."

He added: "We would love to do several sequels. We would love to also see it on television. It would make a wonderful TV series."

Click here to read our "Zombieland" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 1:49:52 AM

HECK YES!!! One of the few movies I think could use a sequel!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:06:28 AM

definitely...i'd watch another one...it was a good comedy...they can explore different parts of the world...but if they wanna do tv series with woody harrelson...they should keep it in the u.s.a. for the sequel movie...then navigate through the rest of the world in the tv series...just my opinion though
Blank x2 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 2:13:48 AM

This movie was awesome. I laughed my ass off the entire movie. I would definitely go see a sequel.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:35:02 AM

I haven't seen the movie yet, but I'm totally psyched for a sequel.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:55:41 AM

@ Freudian_Nightmare...watch it man...it's a great comedy...felt good spending my money on it unlike transformers 2
T.S. writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 4:02:40 AM

It's unfortunate you thought spending money on Transformers II was a good idea...that said I would love another brilliant cameo!!! Bill Murray waaaas fantastic!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 5:34:31 AM

@ T.S....there's only two things i thought was unfortunate about transformers 2...one was that it didn't stay true to source material....and two is that it had too many sex jokes to keep in good terms with the teenagers that spent their money on it...i mean were robots humping hot chicks in the cartoon?...the hell they weren't...were the twins saying stupid lines like that in the cartoon?...f*ck no they weren't...all that action and they couldn't show some of the better characters fighting??...that was pathetic...zombieland was straight all the way...it was a movie about zombies...and it was funny...there was nothing disappointing in there at all...besides...bill murray could come back as a zombie...but for real this time lol...another thing i hate is when people compare it to shaun of the dead...because shaun of the dead is a spoof comedy based on dawn of the dead....zombieland is its own stand alone film...that's just another plus for why it was so great
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 5:40:37 AM

actually i only spent money on transformers 2 because i wanted to watch the action on the big screen...can't be mad at myself for that...but i know now that i won't make that mistake again
j-man writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:17:14 AM

i havent seen zombieland yet, but enough with all the f*ck.ing zombie movies, they're getting old!
coolguy writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:38:13 AM

really hope they go ahead with the sequel, this movie was hilarious!!!
dandythelion writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:47:18 AM

yeah, it has a good franchise potential. it was a great film

and suck it j-man they've been making zombies movies since the late '40's it's a genre in it's own right. it's like saying "don't make any more action films, they're getting old"

Johnny Neat writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:45:13 AM

I'd watch it. It was a fun ride. Not perfect but close.
kevo10183 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:02:17 AM

Rule # 47 Make a sequel to zombieland
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:03:59 AM

"Shaun of the Dead" wasn't a spoof comedy based on "Dawn of the Dead", it was just a clever pun on the title. It had nothing to do with DOTD. Can't wait for "Zombieland 2" though.
Hitodama writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:06:08 AM

I have a serious f*cking hard-on for zombie movies. I can't explain it (no, it's not necrophilia). Especially well made ones, which Zombieland was.
I went into it with low expectations and enjoyed it just for what it was, a zombie road movie. f*ck! Now I have a burning desire to play L4D lol.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:26:36 AM

I wouldn't mind..
warlord writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 10:57:10 AM

as much fun as it is dont over do it!!! it should stand alone no sequel
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 12:48:02 PM

i'd watch any zombie movie over any vampire movie that comes out this decade...unless it's 'interview with a vampire' or 'blade'...even 'dracula'...but never twilight...twilight is everything that is wrong about vampires...a love interest between a vampire and a human?...you think dracula would save a human or drink his/her blood?...i don't...bring on the zombie movies...at least robert pattinson is no where near them
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 4:14:38 PM

Yeah this film was great, I was just so surprised by how great it was. I mean its proof that good films can still be made today. You don't have to be original (whatever the f*ck that means) you can use an already established genre and general idea and just execute it really well and put your twist on it and people will respond. It felt like it was carefully crafted.
kevo10183 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 7:04:51 PM

@ synthetic1985 The only vampire story you need is Trueblood.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 8:11:31 PM

Just saw the it and I'm all in for the sequel!
rabid writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 9:16:42 PM

for sure! I just saw this film today and it was alot of fun! Loved the BM cameo.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved