WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Credits Marijuana with Saving his Career

Posted: October 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Credits Marijuana with Saving his CareerSubmit Comment
Director Kevin Smith told the NY Post that Seth Rogen helped pull him out of a creative slump by introducing him to marijuana during the making of "Zack and Miri Make a Porno."

Now that Smith is swamped with new projects (writing "Batman" comic and directing "A Pair of Dicks"), he credits that with lighting up three times per day. "I know you're supposed to tell kids not to do drugs, but, kids, do it! Do weed! Don't do the other stuff, but weed is good. What you want to do is what I did, build a movie empire and, at age 38, smoke it all away," he said.

Smith added that he's "just not good" at directing his own stories anymore. "Judd Apatow is way better at being Kevin Smith now than Kevin Smith ever was. So Judd Apatow should do it for a while, and I should figure out something else, and weed has been f*cking helpful with that."

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BlueJulias writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 2:22:46 AM

Sounds about right. Everything from "Seth Rogen helped pull him out of a creative slump by introducing him to marijuana" to "Judd Apatow is way better at being Kevin Smith now than Kevin Smith ever was." to "I know you're supposed to tell kids not to do drugs, but, kids, do it! Do weed!"
mariachi writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 2:36:09 AM

"Judd Apatow is way better at being Kevin Smith now than Kevin Smith ever was."

Agreed. But, more importantly, is he about to blow his head off?
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:31:01 AM

i'd say don't do weed as a kid...it saves possible embarrassing situations...he's right about not doing other drugs though...i mean the least people could be doing is smoking weed instead of cigarettes...less death...less anger issues lol
VDODSON writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:31:50 AM

Apatow cant hold a candle to Kevin Smith, his movies are icons. Apatows flicks are just run of the mill humor.
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:46:56 AM

Pot does open creative avenues of the mind... so, I'm all for it.
j-man writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 6:21:27 AM

Apatow cant hold a candle to Kevin Smith, his movies are icons. Apatows flicks are just run of the mill humor

My point exactly
vwkombi writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 6:35:49 AM

Judd Apatow sucks.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 8:03:33 AM

Once again, Kevin Smith tells it like it is. Weed is one of the greatest things on the planet. I self medicate with it for severe acid reflux cause it's the only thing that works. Plus, I just really love being high
SACdaddy writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 8:13:33 AM

How the f*ck did he work all of those years with Jay and not get "introduced" to weed? I'm all for the promotion of the green but this revelation sounds like bullsh*t. Its like Cheech saying he rediscovered acting when Don Johnson introduced him to weed on the set of Nash Bridges.
bale01289 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 8:57:32 AM

I love this man!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:11:18 AM

SACdaddy have a point, but it doesn't change that what Smith says is awesome. Weed isn't harmful, you shouldn't drive under if smoking, but otherwise: Hell Yeah!!!
warlord writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 10:10:18 AM

saveing his career are you sh*ting me!!
dandythelion writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 10:49:39 AM

i wouldn't call it a movie empire. more like a guy that made one good film and several alright films. but weed is good. Salvia's better.

It's A Couple of d*cks I believe
timex89 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 11:05:28 AM

Not harmful? Guess you don't do much in your life except surf on WorstPreviews all day waiting for some news, huh. Maybe you should yahoo a bit or msn or read newspapers and you'll realize that the past studies were bull. For anybody else who has to get high to have fun are pathetic.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 11:13:03 AM

Cause Yahoo, MSN and newspapers are never bull? Good point.
VDODSON writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 11:30:59 AM

Dandy- you amaze me with your dumbass comments. For anyone that is a fan of comedy, and doesnt consider Mallrats/Clerks/Dogma as iconic films, your comments mean jacksh*t.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 11:53:43 AM

Great- Kevin Smith becomes a low rent version of the low rent stage of John Carpenter.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 11:59:30 AM

News flash: Kevin Smith was joking, dudes!!! I'm sure he appreciates the benefits of weed, but the guy was only being funny when he said it saved his career.

Also, timex89, you come here criticizing people who are on WorstPreviews' all day, suggesting they don't have better things to do with their lives, but your intelligent and insightful path to knowledge is to go on Yahoo or MSN? Way to go, dumb f*ck!
For every study done that states weed is health hazardous, I can find you 10 others saying it's great! Feeling stupid now? Smoke a joint, it'll pass...
VDODSON writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 12:13:37 PM

The one sure fire way of ending the recession is to legalize marijuana and tax it. Case closed, and yourwelcome.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 12:31:57 PM

yea that's what i was hoping for...i mean sh*t...they f*cking legalize gay marriage but not weed?...and while the country is just going further and further into debt, they wonder why people are impatient...if it can't be legalized throughout the entire country...why not just legalize it in a few states?...the results would go so far off the charts...personally, i wish cigarettes were illegal and not weed...and since prices are going up...it would not take long to get out of this recession
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 12:37:31 PM

even one of my teachers suggested weed over cigarettes...he said 'at least you get something out of it unlike a cigarette'...honestly...what good comes out of tobacco?...one of my friends says there's countries that operate on hemp plants for oils for gas, clothing, smoking, and eating...you can smoke when you have the flu and it'll cure the nausea...it's also great for taking your mind off of stress better than cigarettes can ever provide...in which case that shows that cigarettes make you more stressed...it's not as addicting as cigarettes because you can quit any time without going psycho on people lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 12:42:02 PM

and obviously not everybody does it...but i did hear from somebody that said 87 percent of the u.s. population smokes weed...and if that's true...what's up with that?...it shows people think weed is better than any other harmful drug to ever grace the planet...besides, who says you have to smoke it?...religious people argue that Jesus didn't light up a joint and pass it around...ok that's true...but they didn't say anything about not eating it...it's a plant...like vegetables, it can be cooked with food...and after all that i've tried...i've just stayed green lol
rjd040487 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 12:57:18 PM

article sounds like bull, he refers to himself in the third person then in the first person in the same linking sentence.
timex89 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 1:21:21 PM

lol your a joke Peter Parker..ever heard of headlines you retarded faggot?
why you feel so offended? are you here all day?
KindredMac writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 1:46:22 PM

gateway drug.... Kevin will be cooking meth in his basement by the end of 2012 and die in a horrible lab explosion because his shakes and ticks got too bad while dropping cotton balls into the vile.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 1:47:50 PM

timex 89 - Just every now and then, but not offended, though, I like coming here. Apparently, you come here quite often too, since you actually take the time to reply to people like me, who can push you buttons like you were a little brainless bitch. But wait... you started by criticizing this website's regular users, so... what the f*ck are you doing here, braindead?
Are you feeling stupid again? Yeah, that's because you are... ahah

BTW: Shove the headlines up your ass, since you like that kind of stuff ;)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 1:48:56 PM

I'm sorry Timex, but you're the joke. Cause you're not even make any sense...headlines?
Ranger writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 2:57:14 PM

@timex - light one up buddy. Take a toke and relaxxxx man.

@SAC - what episode of Nash Bridges had acting in it? I must have missed that one.
BigUnit writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 5:57:04 PM

Your telling me "Silent Bob" has never smoked untill Zack n miri make a porno.. HIGHly doudtfull lol Him and Jay were smokin up long befor clerks
Peter Parker writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 6:45:34 PM

BigUnit, my thoughts exactly! The guy was obviously cracking a joke when he said weed saved his career. Hell, he probably BUILT his whole career on that stuff! lol

He is one cool funny mofo!
That_Genius writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:16:51 PM

Jay and Silent Bob Strike back is wayyyyy better then any Judd Apatow movie in my opinion
ian_918 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 10:05:40 PM

"I know you're supposed to tell kids not to do drugs, but, kids, do it! Do weed!" lmao that is the best line any actor/director could ever say.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 3:08:42 AM

I'm about his age but since I don't smoke, I'll help myself to a brownie or 3.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 6:00:07 AM

like i said before...you don't always have to smoke weed...cooking it with something always helps...but never cook over 275...it'll burn the thc out of it...just saying that for people who didn't already know that

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved