WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Call of Duty" Video Game to Become a Movie

Posted: October 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Call of Duty" Video Game to Become a MovieSubmit Comment
Back in May, we reported that video game publisher Activision Blizzard was working on turning their "World of Warcraft" and "Call of Duty" properties into movies. At the time, CEO Bobby Kotick declined to comment on "Call of Duty," but "Warcraft" has already been confirmed to be in pre-production with Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) set to direct.

Now, according to Trademork, the company has filed to protect the trademark "Call of Duty" in relation to "pre-recorded movies featuring comedy, drama, action, adventure, music, theatrical performances and/or animation."

This can only mean that Activision Blizzard has decided to move forward with a "Call of Duty" film. Unfortunately, it may be a while before we hear any solid details.

Source: TradeMork


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 7:35:25 AM

And it can go either way with a realistic tone (a la Saving Private Ryan).. or Doom
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 8:43:14 AM

^ if they go with Call of Duty 5 as a story, the sh*t director they hire will try and put Zombie hoards in it!
acslaterson writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 10:15:26 AM

I hope it is Modern Warfare based, the new trailer that was released last night was amazing!
CherryCock writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 11:01:44 AM

When games inspired by war movies are being turned into films, you know we are living in wonderful times!
Base the screenplay on the first CoD games and just call it "Band Saving Private Brothers with their Enemy at the Gates"... Go Blizzard, you greedy f*cks!
NatG83 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 11:26:03 AM

How long before we see movies based on games that were based on movies.

"Spiderman 2: The Game: The Movie"

I still think Q-Bert and PacMan are due for a movie.
dandythelion writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 12:29:42 PM

the video game series is TERRIBLE. Almost as lame as Halo. though ODST is great. I don't get video games nowadays. they all kinda suck. I just kinda kill hooker and steal sh*t on GTA. thats about the extent of my video game literacy.
Ranger writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 12:48:53 PM

NEXT: SHAM-WOW - THE MOVIE!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:25:39 PM

how is this movie idea any different to that of 'jarhead'?...why not get a better game into a movie blizzard??...for instance, 'diablo'?...i thought up a movie idea for that back when i was a junior in high school...dang...that was like 6 years ago...my idea to start diablo off as a movie was at present day...a group of cops investigating a priest's murder in a mortuary, the priest had a 'trusted' assistant with him, or so he thought...the priest apparantly is trying to close a portal to hell in the mortuary...the assistant kills the priest, the cops investigate, and the lights go out, then demon-creatures come out of the portal killing the cops and nearly everyone else...thus, you get your wilderness setting for diablo...and use pretty much all the characters from the 2nd game to help...so that way we don't have countless sequels telling individual stories on diablo....anybody think that's a good idea?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:37:52 PM

I thought of an awesome idea for this ages ago, concerning a true story but blending it with a bit of fiction :)

If Activision Blizzard, want an awesome idea for COD, then they can find me.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:41:32 PM

i always thought diablo would be a film before warcraft...and better yet, i thought warcraft would be a film before world of warcraft...because i smell the same fate as 'doom' on that one...like how they pretty much made doom 3 into a movie before doom 1....lame
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 2:10:07 PM

So did i...But i think its because Warcraft or WOW has a bigger fan base than Diablo.
rabid writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 2:30:26 PM

yeah seriously, where's the Diablo movie?? That storyline is perfect for a film.
-apocolyptic- writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 2:31:09 PM

I wonder if throught the entire movie there is going to be a bunch of 12 year old e-thugs talking sh*t, voice over style, just like in the game.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 2:52:05 PM

@ Apocolyptic E-thug that's my word for the day. That's one thing that kills playing online for me are all the internet g's.
kevo10183 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 2:56:28 PM

it would just be a war flick with a game title. Just watch band of brothers
timex89 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 3:21:50 PM

If they keep it realistic, yes. No zombies please, although that was my favorite mode in the god-awful multiplayer game. But I would definitely have Kiefer Sutherland and Gary Oldman sign up for this.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 4:31:09 PM

Does Sham-Wow the movie end with Vince getting raped in prison?
ian_918 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:11:05 PM

This will be kickass
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:42:39 PM

Speaking of zombies, video games, and WW2, where is my f*ckin' Wolfstein movie!!!???!!! Get on the ball, Hollywood. As far as Call of Duty goes... Zzzzzzzzzzz...
Detrimental writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:54:45 PM

You're all stupid. I want to see another animal movie. Air Bud was the pwnage.
Ranger writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:55:56 PM

Osiris3eagle - lol.

I've seen Band of Brothers a couple of times.

It's Spectacular!
vwkombi writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:06:23 PM

They have done this a billion times, it's been done so much it's called the War Genre.

How will this be any different from every WWII movie that get's released every 2 years. WE GET IT, NAZIS ARE EVIL!
fraazjo writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:19:05 PM

Watch. They'll report it's directed by Uwe Boll, and that man will be assassinated.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:47:43 PM

they could use metal for background music on fight scenes for diablo like they did in mortal kombat when johnny cage fights scorpion...it would blend well...i like the music in the first 2 games anyway...excellent material
holtlt writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:52:23 PM

What the F happened when writers or companies or directors were creative and did their own stories without involving video-games?
Ranger writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 11:06:14 PM

They got rich off making great stuff, retired and got the hell out of Hollywood.
jsoto127 writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 8:48:27 AM

cool love that game!!!
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 12:29:30 AM

ok....this actually has potential as a WWII movie...havent had a good one in a while...its just gonna have the games name
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 7th, 2009 at 12:52:33 AM

actually scrap that...base it on COD4 and MW2....thats a good narrative and its whole new ground so we wont see the same old recycled sh*t

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved