WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Zombieland" Dominates Weekend Box Office

Posted: October 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Zombieland" Dominates Weekend Box OfficeSubmit Comment
This has been a great weekend at the box office for Sony Pictures that opened "Zombieland" to first place with $25 million and added at another $17 million with "Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs," which ended up taking second place in its third week in theaters.

"Cloudy" outperformed Disney's "Toy Story" double bill, which came in third for the weekend with $12.5 million. The 3D version of the "Toy Story" and "Toy Story 2" movies will be in theaters for only two weeks.

Ricky Gervais' comedy "The Invention of Lying" took in $7.4 million, narrowly beating Bruce Willis' "Surrogates" with $7.3 million in its second week.

Drew Barrymore's directorial debut, "Whip It," underperformed with $4.85 million. Studio hopes word of mouth will propel the new movie higher in next weekend.

Click here to read our "Zombieland" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:26:06 PM

YES, love Wooody
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:35:06 PM

BigUnit likes woody's up his butt.
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:38:56 PM

I'm not even going to bother responding to your dumb ass comment fruitcakes, where talking about Woody Harrelson here, not c*cks going into ass's...
hunter207 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:43:18 PM

This movie was kick ass! Loved it!
dandythelion writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 7:08:26 PM

the bill murray scenes were hilarious. overall a pretty decent flick. NOT like Shaun of the Dead at all, so abandon that mentality before you see it.

Big Unit... really? THATS your name and your are NOT talking about c*cks. have a sense of humor, queer.
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 7:22:13 PM

DandyTheLion STFU learn to make sense when you type. This doesnt concern you, this is between me and SpankyFruitcakes
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 7:25:41 PM

Dandythelion-"have a sense of humor", theirs a difference between having a sense of humor and unnecessary comments. thanks for your time. sorry if anyone else was offended....
m3talface writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 7:33:59 PM

The movie was great fun glad to see it was a success here's hopes for a Zombieland 2.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:08:45 PM

"this is between me and SpankyFruitcakes"

And you're doing a good job of having a homophobic's sense of humour, BigUnit.
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:32:37 PM

Loved it, loved it, loved it. I liked Shaun of the Dead, but I didn't like the second half as much as I liked Zombieland as a whole. Of course, this is all based on the "movie experience". I find that sometimes my view of a movie can be completely swayed or dismayed by the viewing audience. ie. loud, obnoxious talkers. That's why I try to go when I think it's going to be quiet.

Zombieland is not brain surgery nor does it ever try to have that political message such as District 9.

I had a good time, period!
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:50:20 PM

The main difference between the films is SOTD switches tones effectively while Zombieland's tone is consistent throughout. I liked SOTD more but Zombieland was an awesome time- weird how there was NO reference to Kingpin during that cameo though hahaha It would have been more hilarious-

...and if you hate those lameass highway shops that sell nothing but beads, fake arrowheads, pottery, and other Indian trinkets you'd never buy- there's a great sequence for you to enjoy.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:22:22 PM

...and with a good cause!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:55:02 PM

Surprisingly good film, very charming.
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 11:36:36 PM

@prevelant

All those sh*tty places my parents always took me to, driving to and from NY to FL for years and stopping in those Stucky's and the like. It alwasy freaked me out but I liked it as well if that makes any sense. I was always sure some freak was going to jump out at us.
Areyouhigh writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 3:24:06 AM

Excellent popcorn flick.

Based on her appearance here, I would like to say that Emma Stone is now one of my favorite young actresses. I have a feeling she will have a long fruitful career ahead of her if she can stick with quality roles.

Also, if you haven't seen it or plan on seeing it again, make sure if you go to it to stay after the credits for a "Special" Cameo...
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 4:23:01 AM

awesome...woody harrelson was great and so was bill murray...it was a very funny film for what it was worth...could have been better on some parts, but it didn't need fixing at all...definitely worth the money if you enjoy a good comedy
Tyrkae writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 1:10:33 AM

i dont know with a name like BIG unit your asking to get made fun of put that on top of you saying you love woody and well that just playing asking to be made fun of im not suprised more people didnt make fun of you i for one will add he also likes to Jack men.(cause of your avatar

The movie was sweet top 5 best zombie movies ever made and loved the amusment park and should have added more to that part of the movie

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved