WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Liam Neeson in "Taken 3"
Sep 23rd, 2014
University of Baltimore Offering Course on Marvel Films
Sep 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "Kingsman: The Secret Service" Comic Book Film, with Colin Firth and Samuel L. Jackson
Sep 23rd, 2014
Bryan Singer Confirmed to Direct "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 23rd, 2014
Photo: Woman Implants Third Breast in Hopes of MTV Reality Show
Sep 23rd, 2014
William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy to Return For "Star Trek 3"?
Sep 23rd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"

Posted: October 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Back when Alexander Skarsgard ("True Blood") was being considered for the lead in the upcoming "Thor" film, fans were excited at the idea that his father, Stellan Skarsgard (Mamma Mia, Pirates of the Caribbean) may play Thor's father, Odin.

The title role eventually went to Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek) and Brian Blessed (Flash Gordon) was cast as Odin. But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda that Stellan has also boarded the film.

It is not clear what role he will play, and Stellan won't be the one to reveal it. "They wanted me to sign [a contract] without reading the script," he explained. "When I refused, they sent the script to me that was so secret that I could only print one copy."

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Ystads Allehanda


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:32:18 PM

Alexander Skarsgard from true blood woulda been perfect for thor... its too bad they went with someone else..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:23:01 PM

@BigUnit

Yeah Alexander so far in True Blood owns the show as Eric the Viking, i think he should have been cast in the role!
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:36:10 PM

Alexander seems as good a choice as any.
acslaterson writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:41:37 PM

Alexander should be cast as Fandral! Warriors Three need to get cast already!!!
lost_addict writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:08:07 PM

"But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda"

always a reliable source...
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:51:52 PM

I pretty much knew he would be. I'm sure his son will pop in there too.
dissident187 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:08:42 AM

With Stellan Skarsgard in this, with Kenneth Branaugh directing, this might be Marvel with a Shakespearean touch.
Jensama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 6:09:33 AM

Awesome. And I'll say what everybody else have been saying - too bad Alexander wasn't picked. And yes, he is the the grid for the powernodes in True Blood. I don't like ""Bill"" (what a lame name), I like Eric much more, he's the sorce of it all, and I would prefer if Bill just died already or was beheaded, and Eric and blondie-Sookie ended up together instead. Yeah. That would make me happiER.
I like Chris Hemsworth though. I thought he was brilliant the little he was in Star Trek. Looking forward seeing him in Thor.
Hitodama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 8:02:47 AM

Alexander Skarsgard would have been perfect as one of the Aesir. I'm not sure how good this Chris hemsworth is (haven't seen Star Trek or Home and away) but he doesn't look the part. Imo too teeny-bopper heart-throb. What's interesting to me is Brian blessed as Odin lol.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:55:08 AM

His son is f*cking Thor, f*ck Marvel!
coldplayesence writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:01:54 PM

Too f*cking late Marvel, Alexander was the perfect Thor.
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:40:01 AM

dude is way too skinny to play Thor. That Hemsworth guy is alot bigger.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:21:29 AM

Alexander have gained a few pounds of muscle, cause he really would be perfect as Thor.
Stellan is always reliable, and he would have made a good Odin, but casting Brian Blessed instead is a stroke of genious.

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved