WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"

Posted: October 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Back when Alexander Skarsgard ("True Blood") was being considered for the lead in the upcoming "Thor" film, fans were excited at the idea that his father, Stellan Skarsgard (Mamma Mia, Pirates of the Caribbean) may play Thor's father, Odin.

The title role eventually went to Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek) and Brian Blessed (Flash Gordon) was cast as Odin. But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda that Stellan has also boarded the film.

It is not clear what role he will play, and Stellan won't be the one to reveal it. "They wanted me to sign [a contract] without reading the script," he explained. "When I refused, they sent the script to me that was so secret that I could only print one copy."

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Ystads Allehanda


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:32:18 PM

Alexander Skarsgard from true blood woulda been perfect for thor... its too bad they went with someone else..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:23:01 PM

@BigUnit

Yeah Alexander so far in True Blood owns the show as Eric the Viking, i think he should have been cast in the role!
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:36:10 PM

Alexander seems as good a choice as any.
acslaterson writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:41:37 PM

Alexander should be cast as Fandral! Warriors Three need to get cast already!!!
lost_addict writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:08:07 PM

"But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda"

always a reliable source...
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:51:52 PM

I pretty much knew he would be. I'm sure his son will pop in there too.
dissident187 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:08:42 AM

With Stellan Skarsgard in this, with Kenneth Branaugh directing, this might be Marvel with a Shakespearean touch.
Jensama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 6:09:33 AM

Awesome. And I'll say what everybody else have been saying - too bad Alexander wasn't picked. And yes, he is the the grid for the powernodes in True Blood. I don't like ""Bill"" (what a lame name), I like Eric much more, he's the sorce of it all, and I would prefer if Bill just died already or was beheaded, and Eric and blondie-Sookie ended up together instead. Yeah. That would make me happiER.
I like Chris Hemsworth though. I thought he was brilliant the little he was in Star Trek. Looking forward seeing him in Thor.
Hitodama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 8:02:47 AM

Alexander Skarsgard would have been perfect as one of the Aesir. I'm not sure how good this Chris hemsworth is (haven't seen Star Trek or Home and away) but he doesn't look the part. Imo too teeny-bopper heart-throb. What's interesting to me is Brian blessed as Odin lol.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:55:08 AM

His son is f*cking Thor, f*ck Marvel!
coldplayesence writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:01:54 PM

Too f*cking late Marvel, Alexander was the perfect Thor.
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:40:01 AM

dude is way too skinny to play Thor. That Hemsworth guy is alot bigger.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:21:29 AM

Alexander have gained a few pounds of muscle, cause he really would be perfect as Thor.
Stellan is always reliable, and he would have made a good Odin, but casting Brian Blessed instead is a stroke of genious.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved