WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Kills "Fantastic Four" Actors in "Punished" Comic Book
Nov 28th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for Vince Vaughn's "Unfinished Business" Comedy
Nov 28th, 2014
"Independence Day 2" Officially Moving Forward, Without Will Smith
Nov 28th, 2014
Ridley Scott Explains Why He Hired White Actors for "Exodus: Gods and Kings"
Nov 28th, 2014
First Look: Mel Brooks is Dracula's Father in "Hotel Transylvania 2"
Nov 28th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"

Posted: October 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Back when Alexander Skarsgard ("True Blood") was being considered for the lead in the upcoming "Thor" film, fans were excited at the idea that his father, Stellan Skarsgard (Mamma Mia, Pirates of the Caribbean) may play Thor's father, Odin.

The title role eventually went to Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek) and Brian Blessed (Flash Gordon) was cast as Odin. But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda that Stellan has also boarded the film.

It is not clear what role he will play, and Stellan won't be the one to reveal it. "They wanted me to sign [a contract] without reading the script," he explained. "When I refused, they sent the script to me that was so secret that I could only print one copy."

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Ystads Allehanda


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:32:18 PM

Alexander Skarsgard from true blood woulda been perfect for thor... its too bad they went with someone else..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:23:01 PM

@BigUnit

Yeah Alexander so far in True Blood owns the show as Eric the Viking, i think he should have been cast in the role!
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:36:10 PM

Alexander seems as good a choice as any.
acslaterson writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:41:37 PM

Alexander should be cast as Fandral! Warriors Three need to get cast already!!!
lost_addict writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:08:07 PM

"But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda"

always a reliable source...
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:51:52 PM

I pretty much knew he would be. I'm sure his son will pop in there too.
dissident187 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:08:42 AM

With Stellan Skarsgard in this, with Kenneth Branaugh directing, this might be Marvel with a Shakespearean touch.
Jensama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 6:09:33 AM

Awesome. And I'll say what everybody else have been saying - too bad Alexander wasn't picked. And yes, he is the the grid for the powernodes in True Blood. I don't like ""Bill"" (what a lame name), I like Eric much more, he's the sorce of it all, and I would prefer if Bill just died already or was beheaded, and Eric and blondie-Sookie ended up together instead. Yeah. That would make me happiER.
I like Chris Hemsworth though. I thought he was brilliant the little he was in Star Trek. Looking forward seeing him in Thor.
Hitodama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 8:02:47 AM

Alexander Skarsgard would have been perfect as one of the Aesir. I'm not sure how good this Chris hemsworth is (haven't seen Star Trek or Home and away) but he doesn't look the part. Imo too teeny-bopper heart-throb. What's interesting to me is Brian blessed as Odin lol.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:55:08 AM

His son is f*cking Thor, f*ck Marvel!
coldplayesence writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:01:54 PM

Too f*cking late Marvel, Alexander was the perfect Thor.
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:40:01 AM

dude is way too skinny to play Thor. That Hemsworth guy is alot bigger.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:21:29 AM

Alexander have gained a few pounds of muscle, cause he really would be perfect as Thor.
Stellan is always reliable, and he would have made a good Odin, but casting Brian Blessed instead is a stroke of genious.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved