WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "No Escape" Action Thriller, with Owen Wilson and Pierce Brosnan
Mar 6th, 2015
"Toy Story 4" is a Separate Story From "Toy Story" Trilogy
Mar 6th, 2015
Video: Adam Sandler Fights Bob Barker in a "Happy Gilmore" Reunion
Mar 6th, 2015
Trailer for Charlize Theron's "Dark Places" Thriller
Mar 6th, 2015
"The Expendables" TV Series in the Works with Sylvester Stallone
Mar 6th, 2015
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Mar 5th, 2015
Warner Bros CEO Says DC Films are Edgier Than Marvel Films
Mar 5th, 2015
Trailer for "Self/Less" Sci-Fi Thriller, with Ryan Reynolds and Ben Kingsley
Mar 5th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Trailer
Mar 5th, 2015
Jessie Usher to Star in "Independence Day 2" as Will Smith's Son
Mar 4th, 2015
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Oliver Stone's "Snowden"
Mar 4th, 2015
"Tron: Legacy" Director in Talks for "Gran Turismo" Video Game Film
Mar 4th, 2015
New Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Mar 4th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Captain America Poster
Mar 4th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"

Posted: October 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Back when Alexander Skarsgard ("True Blood") was being considered for the lead in the upcoming "Thor" film, fans were excited at the idea that his father, Stellan Skarsgard (Mamma Mia, Pirates of the Caribbean) may play Thor's father, Odin.

The title role eventually went to Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek) and Brian Blessed (Flash Gordon) was cast as Odin. But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda that Stellan has also boarded the film.

It is not clear what role he will play, and Stellan won't be the one to reveal it. "They wanted me to sign [a contract] without reading the script," he explained. "When I refused, they sent the script to me that was so secret that I could only print one copy."

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Ystads Allehanda


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:32:18 PM

Alexander Skarsgard from true blood woulda been perfect for thor... its too bad they went with someone else..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:23:01 PM

@BigUnit

Yeah Alexander so far in True Blood owns the show as Eric the Viking, i think he should have been cast in the role!
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:36:10 PM

Alexander seems as good a choice as any.
acslaterson writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:41:37 PM

Alexander should be cast as Fandral! Warriors Three need to get cast already!!!
lost_addict writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:08:07 PM

"But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda"

always a reliable source...
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:51:52 PM

I pretty much knew he would be. I'm sure his son will pop in there too.
dissident187 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:08:42 AM

With Stellan Skarsgard in this, with Kenneth Branaugh directing, this might be Marvel with a Shakespearean touch.
Jensama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 6:09:33 AM

Awesome. And I'll say what everybody else have been saying - too bad Alexander wasn't picked. And yes, he is the the grid for the powernodes in True Blood. I don't like ""Bill"" (what a lame name), I like Eric much more, he's the sorce of it all, and I would prefer if Bill just died already or was beheaded, and Eric and blondie-Sookie ended up together instead. Yeah. That would make me happiER.
I like Chris Hemsworth though. I thought he was brilliant the little he was in Star Trek. Looking forward seeing him in Thor.
Hitodama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 8:02:47 AM

Alexander Skarsgard would have been perfect as one of the Aesir. I'm not sure how good this Chris hemsworth is (haven't seen Star Trek or Home and away) but he doesn't look the part. Imo too teeny-bopper heart-throb. What's interesting to me is Brian blessed as Odin lol.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:55:08 AM

His son is f*cking Thor, f*ck Marvel!
coldplayesence writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:01:54 PM

Too f*cking late Marvel, Alexander was the perfect Thor.
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:40:01 AM

dude is way too skinny to play Thor. That Hemsworth guy is alot bigger.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:21:29 AM

Alexander have gained a few pounds of muscle, cause he really would be perfect as Thor.
Stellan is always reliable, and he would have made a good Odin, but casting Brian Blessed instead is a stroke of genious.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved