WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Oct 9th, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Oct 9th, 2015
Pixar's "Toy Story 4," "Cars 3" and "The Incredibles 2" Get New Release Dates
Oct 9th, 2015
First Look at Disney's New Princess "Moana"
Oct 9th, 2015
Steve McQueen's "Papillon" is Getting a Remake
Oct 9th, 2015
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"

Posted: October 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stellan Skarsgard is Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Back when Alexander Skarsgard ("True Blood") was being considered for the lead in the upcoming "Thor" film, fans were excited at the idea that his father, Stellan Skarsgard (Mamma Mia, Pirates of the Caribbean) may play Thor's father, Odin.

The title role eventually went to Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek) and Brian Blessed (Flash Gordon) was cast as Odin. But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda that Stellan has also boarded the film.

It is not clear what role he will play, and Stellan won't be the one to reveal it. "They wanted me to sign [a contract] without reading the script," he explained. "When I refused, they sent the script to me that was so secret that I could only print one copy."

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Ystads Allehanda

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 6:32:18 PM

Alexander Skarsgard from true blood woulda been perfect for thor... its too bad they went with someone else..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:23:01 PM


Yeah Alexander so far in True Blood owns the show as Eric the Viking, i think he should have been cast in the role!
mdp711 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 8:36:10 PM

Alexander seems as good a choice as any.
acslaterson writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 9:41:37 PM

Alexander should be cast as Fandral! Warriors Three need to get cast already!!!
lost_addict writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:08:07 PM

"But now comes news from the Swedish website Ystads Allehanda"

always a reliable source...
rabid writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:51:52 PM

I pretty much knew he would be. I'm sure his son will pop in there too.
dissident187 writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 5:08:42 AM

With Stellan Skarsgard in this, with Kenneth Branaugh directing, this might be Marvel with a Shakespearean touch.
Jensama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 6:09:33 AM

Awesome. And I'll say what everybody else have been saying - too bad Alexander wasn't picked. And yes, he is the the grid for the powernodes in True Blood. I don't like ""Bill"" (what a lame name), I like Eric much more, he's the sorce of it all, and I would prefer if Bill just died already or was beheaded, and Eric and blondie-Sookie ended up together instead. Yeah. That would make me happiER.
I like Chris Hemsworth though. I thought he was brilliant the little he was in Star Trek. Looking forward seeing him in Thor.
Hitodama writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 8:02:47 AM

Alexander Skarsgard would have been perfect as one of the Aesir. I'm not sure how good this Chris hemsworth is (haven't seen Star Trek or Home and away) but he doesn't look the part. Imo too teeny-bopper heart-throb. What's interesting to me is Brian blessed as Odin lol.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 9:55:08 AM

His son is f*cking Thor, f*ck Marvel!
coldplayesence writes:
on October 5th, 2009 at 1:01:54 PM

Too f*cking late Marvel, Alexander was the perfect Thor.
rabid writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 3:40:01 AM

dude is way too skinny to play Thor. That Hemsworth guy is alot bigger.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 9:21:29 AM

Alexander have gained a few pounds of muscle, cause he really would be perfect as Thor.
Stellan is always reliable, and he would have made a good Odin, but casting Brian Blessed instead is a stroke of genious.

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy

Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved