WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Ghost Rider 2" to Use David Goyer's 9-Year-Old Script

Posted: October 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Ghost Rider 2" to Use David GoyerSubmit Comment
About a week ago, Columbia Pictures confirmed that it is moving forward with a "Ghost Rider" sequel and was in early talks with David Goyer to create the story for a film expected to once again star Nicolas Cage. Collider has now caught up with Goyer, who wrote "The Dark Knight" and "Blade," to find out a few more details on the project.

"I wrote a script for that nine years ago," said Goyer. "Sony and producers decided that they wanted to make that into the sequel. In this case, I'm coming on as a producer and we're basically doing a polish of my nine-year-old script. So there's not as much work involved."

He went on to say that he originally pictured his film being a hard-R, but the studio is looking for a PG-13 film. Goyer added that it will not be a kiddie movie, but more like "The Dark Knight."

"It was definitely written as a hard R," he said. "Originally I was writing it, Stephen Norrington (Blade) was going to direct it, and I was going to produce it. It was a 'Blade'-type film and now they want it to be PG-13. There's no question that we're going to have to tone things down, but we're not going to have to do that much."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 6:19:24 PM

This is probably the most misleading title ever written.
halostingray87 writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 6:43:57 PM

So he's using the 9-year old script that's more Blade-esq but changing it to make it Less Blade-esq... gay. f*ck this PG-13 bullsh*t the dude has Hellfire as Power!!! I want blood and sh*t!!! Next will be Spawn in PG-13... retarded.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 7:27:11 PM

I hope they know what they're doing. "Ghost Rider" left me cold. Nicolas Cage salvaged it from being a film of Ed Wood quality, but a gay-sounding villain and a disappointing performance from Eva Mendes dragged it down.
Deathscythe writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 8:49:43 PM

it should be an R rating closer to x than pg-13. He's an F-ing flaming-skull-having flaming-motorcycle-riding Bounty hunter for HELL not HFIL (DBZ reference)
acslaterson writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 10:11:09 PM

PG-13 for a character who gets his power from Hell? Lame, I see more jelly bean eating in the future of this franchise.
nightjunkie writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 10:37:56 PM

David Goyer DID NOT write "The Dark Knight," he wrote the story to "The Dark Knight." Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan wrote the screenplay which basically had all the dialogue which made the movie.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 10:50:35 PM

Ghost Rider always should have been R- but Goyer was such a better writer back in those days before his brain adapted to the studio script politics. Most writers don't write their best once they've made it because they know more often than not it wont make it to film anyways. But Goyer was still geeky fanboy back then so I'm interested in what he wrote- I'd like to read it before they tone it down.
LastActionHero writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 11:17:23 PM

If Cage is in it again, it will still suck.
nope.com writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 11:34:00 PM

good news

... recast though, unless Nic Cage remembers what acting is again
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 3rd, 2009 at 12:26:17 AM

Remembers? Did he ever know?
rabid writes:
on October 3rd, 2009 at 3:37:48 AM

They're never going to make it R-rated. Ghost Rider looks too cool in an action figure line. Plus the comics aren't adult.
Not that I wouldn't mind an R-rated GR film, I just doubt it will happen. Especially now that he's on Marvel's new kiddy cartoon.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 3rd, 2009 at 11:54:53 AM

If it is pretty close to his original script, everybody can read his draft on SimplyScripts to get the basic plot beats and such. I actually just downloaded the pdf file of the script last week, so I'll have to read through it soon.
ian_918 writes:
on October 3rd, 2009 at 1:43:20 PM

Goyer kicks so much ass. I wish this could get a R rating.
NatG83 writes:
on October 3rd, 2009 at 1:53:03 PM

I liked the original Blade, but I felt that the first Ghost Rider Movie was ripping Blade off. At least a tad.

I still have no interest in a sequel. Ghost Rider had some decent effects, but the acting was off and the script left alot to be desired.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 3rd, 2009 at 8:00:46 PM

i don't know what's so hard about making ghost rider cool...it's like they have the technology and the brains to make it right...but they don't use it lol...or they use it, but they don't think straight when they use it...for starters, ghost rider's voice shouldn't sound like nicolas cage, it should sound like a flaming skull like scorpion's did in 'mortal kombat' when he tried to torch johnny cage...THINK hollywood THINK!...pay attention to detail!!!...look at x-men origins: wolverine....hugh jackman is way too buff compared to the way he looked in the first x-men...and i thought it was supposed to be a prequel lol...if i were hugh jackman i would've said no to the prequel and just moved on with x-men 4 even if that turned out terrible...oh well
mattcl23 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 10:37:32 AM

Why are studios so afraid to make rated-R movies. Stupid!!!
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 12:38:27 PM

I really wonder this too- you can market toys to adults just as much as children. The benefit of R rated figurines is that even though you have a third of the customers you charge 30 plus bucks for adults to "collect" them where as you pay 7 bucks so a child can "play"...can't be that much of a loss if any.

they need to reclassify R ratings in the states like they did Canada so tamer R flicks are accessible to 14 year olds. Once that happens in the states they wont be as afraid to make R rated blockbusters.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 4th, 2009 at 3:57:03 PM

they'd never make it R-rated...simply because they want money....and even if that's not the case...there's literally no excuse why they couldn't make it R-rated anyway

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved