WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James McTeigue Confirms "Superman" Involvement

Posted: October 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James McTeigue Confirms "Superman" InvolvementSubmit Comment
FirstShowing caught up with director James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin) to ask him a few questions about the new Superman movie, which he has been rumored to helm and the Wachowskis (The Matrix) to produce.

He first revealed that his involvement is not a rumor. "Maybe [there's] some truth to [it]," he said. "I've had some discussions, the Wachowskis to a lesser degree, but the Superman franchise is in a strange kind of place at the moment. I think they're still trying to work out the mechanics of how that can come together."

Warner Bros recently lost rights to Superman's origins and two weeks ago, DC Entertainment head revealed that there are currently no plans to develop another installment. But that hasn't stopped McTeigue from talking about his plans for the reboot.

"I think I would be interested in doing it if they let me do it the way I wanted to do it," he started. "I would say that, if you take the Richard Donner Supermans and the last Superman [from Bryan Singer], I think that Superman is probably ripe for a bit of a change up."

McTeigue continued: "I'm not saying you do the ubiquitous dark Superman, I'm just saying that I think there are some things that you could excise from the Superman mythology, if you took the world that he was in and changed that a bit, and maybe even project that into the future a bit."

"I think you don't really have to play into the origin story anymore. I think there's a whole bunch of things you could do to make that film more alive and exciting again."

Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:19:11 AM

no. more. superman.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:27:09 AM

Yes. More. Superman.
lewarren writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:30:17 AM

What do you mean no more SUPERMAN?
It just needs to be done right this time, and the last movie wasn't that bad.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:32:02 AM

IMO i don't think superman can be done right,at least to appeal to audiences over around 11 year olds. hes too corny,lets not fool ourselves. and if the next one ever does come out,it'll be 20 years,again. just keep his movies str8 to dvd for the youngsters.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:58:31 AM

You know what we need to be in development?

"Inspector Gadget: Book of Shadows"
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 8:05:42 AM

Johnny_Girl, I'd sure like to bet a cool million with you that the next Superman movie will be made way before 20 years.
I think you're a disatisfied little 11 year old girl but, there is abasotulutelyly a market out there for the red tablecloth wearing guy. Superman has been around for 70 + years and has touched more medium than any other character - EVER. From bread to 7,000$ lifelike statues, his trademark has been all over! There is such a history - I mean some countries - that are not the U$A have made stamps of the character. Superman vintage stuff is one of the things that sells for the biggest amounts on Ebay.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 8:42:42 AM

I'd definitely be on board for a more action-oriented Superman movie that's not focused on reliving the origin story once again.

Bring it on, I say.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 8:48:35 AM

Superman can be done, right it just needs a director with the right vision, direction and passion for the original source material...And well those people sure as hell aint the Siegels.

Warner Bros need to do something now about Superman, well before 2012, so they dont lose the rights. Otherwise other than that i don't ever see another Superman film every again, once the Siegel Estate have the rights. The only people i see producing for them is 20th Century Fux, because they are as money-grabbing tutti frutti mofos as the Siegels
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:27:52 AM

The Wachowski's already did a Superman movie, so this should be easy for them. Just get rid of the computer sh*t and guns.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 10:47:47 AM

Batman, I'm either really in another dimension or your mouth is spewing sh*t again. Superman is already done by the Witchcraft brothers??? WTF are you talking about? Where can I rent it/buy it?
Did you smoke dogsh*t again?
Randal Graves writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 11:17:12 AM

The richard donner superman wasn't as good as the theatrical release of superman 2 in my opinion. they just need to take it in a really new direction. McTeigue said it well:

"I think you don't really have to play into the origin story anymore. I think there's a whole bunch of things you could do to make that film more alive and exciting again."
VDODSON writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 11:27:04 AM

He's referring to the Matrix, numbnutz.
acslaterson writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 11:38:02 AM

^^^Hahaha, "numbnutz". My girl hates when I call her that.

Yeah, they need to stop talking about this sh*t. One week they are doing it and the next they have no plans. I hate reading this contradictory sh*t every week.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 11:45:07 AM

Randal -
Origin and many plot ideas = revert to heirs of Shuster & Segiel by 2011 or 2012. So, I'm betting we won't see much origin or concepts in which WB would have to share profits.
Superman II Donner cut history: Supermna the movie and Superman II were filmed simultaneousnly. When budget ran low - they ordered Donner to finish part I. He did, lots of tension - he got fired. Lester took over and made Superman II using more than 50% of the material filmed by Donner. 25 years later - fans want the Donner version. There are always many takes in a movie - Michael Thau tried to make a "Donner Version" with what was in vaults. Although the Donner Superman II sucks as a movie - it has some of the superior scenes - and of course - I mean the re-insertion of the Brando's suicide for his son.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 1:42:33 PM

as long as they don't show or name anything, they can work around the origin. I wouldn't mind seeing a prequel to Superman Returns that shows Kal-El's 5 years in space, steadily weakening without the yellow sun. That way he could get the hell out of Metropolis and away from Lex and Lois for once. It would be a good excuse to use space villains like Mongul, Darkseid, Brainiac, or the Warworld.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 1:56:10 PM

Rabbit - you have interesting ideas at times. I think that what you said is good but would only work as an "episode" of I don't exactly where it would fit.
Reason being, there's no Clark, there's no Daily Planet and so on... It might be a little too ambitious for one movie.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:22:37 PM

It could be a 2-parter, and would be a way of doing a unique Superman film without having to reboot everything. A prequel to SR in which he goes to space, has a run-in with Mongul salvaging Brainiac AI at the ruins of Krypton (trap him in the bottle city of Kandor for a minute), and inadvertantly leads Brainiac back to Earth.
Then in a sequel to SR, Brainiac using Lex as a host body could free Zod and the others from the Phantom Zone. That's when you'd find out that Lois' kid is actually the son of Zod (he kidnapped Lois at the end of Superman2, just before Clark went to space, so he could've impregnated her somehow at the fortress).
All I want from a Superman film is to see something we haven't seen before.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:23:37 PM

-- that isn't him being a stalky deadbeat dad.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:33:50 PM

I abasoloutelyly wouldn't mind a project that would be a prequel to SR of any sorts - bring back Routh. However, some people got hold of the steering wheel and got a I-hate-Routh campaign. There's no way that Routh or any of the people that were in the SR project are gonna show up in any future Superman flick. That's only my opinion though.
I'm so sure that if a sequel to SR had been made - it would've been so great. Now they know what fans wanted and not. Costs would also have gone down - no need to cast, costume design, architecture for Daily Planet and so on... If WB always wait for fan approval for Superman - every f*cken movie is going to be a reboot because there are just too many versions of Superman from all the incarnations he's had in 70+ of history. They have to make a decision and stick by it. Btw - SR made more than 200 million in profit (dunno if it's only domestic or Worldwide - but still - that's a lotta money).
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 4:04:25 PM

Routh's contract has expired, but I wouldn't count him out just yet. He was the only redeeming quality of a film that made alot of money. They won't disavow him on account of fans.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 4:17:28 PM

Routh was the only redeeming thing about the movie by your standards. I liked Routh too but a lot of people said he was "Superboy". I like their Jimmy Olsen too, I liked Ma Kent being there. I liked the idea of Superman being away from Earth for 5 years, coming back and being the underdog. But, a lot of people would castrate me for these thoughts... So there ya go - as many opinions as there are as many people. We're fouked as they say in France.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 4:43:56 PM

Personally I thought Routh played a perfect Superman. So if not Routh then who would you guys have play Sups.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 5:27:51 PM

Right now: nobody.
Tom Welling acts as a "divider".
When Smallville is done - get another Reeve clone.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 6:42:12 PM

I actually like Tom Welling as Superman. He's an abysmal actor, but he has a certain naivete that shines through and makes his version of Clark more realistic. Plus the kid's 6'3" and made of muscle.
I really wouldn't mind seeing him play Superman. Hell, this new season of Smallville is pretty much a full-on Superman show. He finally flies and wears a costume, and it seems they finally dug themselves out of the teen drama hole they were in.
FBO writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:00:19 PM

I don't think i like McTeigue's idea. I do like Rabid's idea.

Singer said that if he did his Man of Steel movie that he would do an alien villian and he would showcase what Sups could do in a real fight. That's the movie I want to see.

Bring on Space Aliens
vwkombi writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:06:18 PM

f*ck Lex Luthor and f*ck the origins. How about you turn Superman INTO THE f*ckING SUPERMAN! Moving planets, taking missles to the chest, fighting badass aliens.

It isn't that hard!

f*ck Superman Returns.
Armpit writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 8:56:27 AM

"...taking missiles in the chest, it isn't so hard..."
Why don,t you show us? I'd sure spend money at the theatre to see you get a missile up your ass.
Armpit writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 9:27:49 AM

...and by missile up your ass - I wasn't talking about the ones you take daily...
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 11:35:03 AM

I think one of the main problems is the directors all misconstrue the personality of Superman. He's got strong morals but they make him boyscout. He has his comedy, his edge, and kicks a lot of a$$ in the process. They need to bring that to the screen instead of making him seem so fairy tale. He's a great character and needs to be brought to the movies by the right people in order to take his place up there alongside Batman.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved