WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone on "Edgar Allan Poe" and "Death Wish" Remake

Posted: October 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester Stallone on "Edgar Allan Poe" and "Death Wish" RemakeSubmit Comment
Sylvester Stallone is currently working on "The Expendables" and is already planning the fifth "Rambo" film, but there are many other projects that he would love to eventually get to.

It seems that his Edgar Allan Poe film is not getting the studios to get our the checkbooks, so Stallone is now focusing more on remaking Charles Bronson's 1974 film "Death Wish."

"I'm thinking about it," he said. "It's a classic morality tale, where you take a civilized man and take away everything that matters to him so he becomes primitive again."

"Death Wish" seems like another "Rambo" film, which is why many fans would love to see what Stallone can do with an Edgar Allan Poe story. "I keep telling my producer Avi Lerner, 'Make Edgar Allan Poe!,'" explained the director/actor. "He says, 'Does he have a gun?' 'No, he doesn't have a gun', 'Can he throw a knife?' I say, 'No, he writes poetry!'"

Stallone added that he will obviously not play Poe. "Of course, I'm not playing Poe. 'Yo, Poe!' It won't work! It'll be some young actor because he dies at 39, but it's gonna happen."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:17:36 AM

well, at least with the Poe film he'd be flexing his artistic muscle rather than just usiung gratuitous violence and popular franchises to make a buck
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:30:07 AM

Looking a this pic - Stallowned needs liposuction on one part of his face, the part called: face.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:55:49 AM

'"Death Wish" Remake'

What. The. f*ck. Is. Hollywood. Thinking.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 8:02:39 AM

"well, at least with the Poe film he'd be flexing his artistic muscle rather than just usiung gratuitous violence and popular franchises to make a buck"

I think Rocky Balboa was an excellent example of his Artistic Muscle. I think it's my favourite out of all 5 (rocky v doesn't count, because stalone sh*t all over v's cannon on purpose)
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 8:20:44 AM

c*ckcakes - "gratuitous violence and popular franchises to make a buck" - are you from Saturn or Pluto? Planet of the Apes, Dirty Harry - I mean wake up and smell the f*cken dog piles that you walk into. This is the history of movies... Frankenstein, Bride of the Monster, House of Frankenstein - done before 1940...
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:00:01 AM

This just defines how dumb hollywood producers have become...

'"I keep telling my producer Avi Lerner, 'Make Edgar Allan Poe!,'" explained the director/actor. "He says, 'Does he have a gun?' 'No, he doesn't have a gun', 'Can he throw a knife?' I say, 'No, he writes poetry!'"
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:12:51 AM

i agree with Dandy partially

Rocky did have creativity to it in terms of its writing story and character development, which Stallone did and he also directed.

I'm not big on him seeing him remake 'Death Wish' and play the titular role like he wants too, but thats his choice, i actually wondered what happened to this project, since he stated that he is retiring after Rambo 6, but he is still gonna be writing, his just giving up the acting chair and maybe directing :)

Ok so people despite Rambo 5 sounding crappola, and with Rambo 6 also in writing...

What are people's thoughts on a Rambo prequel?

It's a thought i had a while back, with Sam Worthington in the title role as a young Rambo... Be nice for some feedback :)
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 10:11:07 AM

A Rambo prequel? Oh f*ck...everyday, we keep going down the sh*thole further and further. Would he have his big mustache and be in he pit too?
I know for sure that Rambo as a character will never die but the series needs to die. ...and then - yawn - a reboot in 4 or 5 years...

dissident187 writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 10:57:04 AM

Well, every 2-3 years comes a film which is basically a Death Wish clone (That tripe called The Brave One). So, they might as well remake the bloody classic.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 11:46:49 AM

I would really like for them to make a Poe movie. He's a really interesting person. I had to write an awful long paper on a literary icon in college and I picked him. I actually enjoyed it.
eddie499 writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 12:40:41 PM

Death Wish remake will come off as a rehash unless they do something different. The same story was essentially used twice a couple of years ago with Death Sentence and The Brave One. Please don't do this to the venerable Charles Bronson.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 12:47:54 PM

@dissident187- And Death Sentence, wich it's not based in the book, it's just another Death Wish remake
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 1:34:13 PM

I don't really have a huge problem with a potential Death Wish remake, especially if Sly helms and stars. Just as long as Sly mixes the story up a bit and goes in different directions than the original. The original, while bold at the time, simply has not aged well at all, allowing us to see that it is not really a good movie at all, it's a decent story of revenge carried by the great Mr. Bronson. So, in other words, don't go for a faithful adaption, Sly, change it up, let your creative juices flow, and most of all, make a good film.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 2:20:33 PM

I agree with the Douchenozzle, Death Wish hasn't lived to be the classic everyone thought it would be. I think it's high time we typecast this generation's Charles Bronson.

I was wondering about Rambo 5. I presume he's not going to take his shirt off for the whole film, or else they'll have to airbrush out the bodysuit he's spent the last few years having tattooed on. His chest, back and arms are almost covered.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:18:31 PM

Well, Death Wish has had many sequels - but it's been a long long time. Bronson was so good - but the movie wasn't on par with what he could do as an actor - they should've put an harmonica in there...
A remake - god I hate that word - would be ok - but please - oh please - no Stallowned. I've had enough of that gay italian for the my next three reincarnations.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:51:33 PM

Edgar Allen Bronson.
I'm going out for some ice cream... this is America, isn't it?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:58:31 PM

@ armpit

Well its a thought, but i appreciate the constructive feedback, lol

@ Coldplayesence

Death Sentence is actually based on a book, i believe, if can remember correctly its by the same author that wrote the novel that 'Die Hard' is based on.
And yeah Die Hard is based on a novel, which is quite shocking
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 4:00:43 PM

If Sylvasster does "Death Wish" - I hope he gets his wish.
rabid writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 4:09:06 PM

Someone should remake "Angel"... collegiate by day, hooker by night.
Armpit writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 4:13:54 PM

Except that should leave out the collegiate by day part.
vwkombi writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:18:07 PM

I like the idea of Stallone remaking Death Wish. The original was good, not great and i agree hasn't aged well.

Stallone knows action films, hopefully he does something completely new with the source material.
liverpool67 writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 9:54:47 PM

Can we have one whole year without remakes? just one??
Armpit writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 7:30:35 AM

NO. (Although I (death) wish it).
rabid writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 10:23:47 AM

Hollywood has never had a year without remakes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved