WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Weinstein Company Puts "Halloween 3" On Hold

Posted: September 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Weinstein Company Puts "Halloween 3" On HoldSubmit Comment
The Weinstein Company has recently revealed that Rob Zombie will not return for the third "Halloween" film and that "My Bloody Valentine 3D" director Patrick Lussier has been hired to replace him. Since Lussier is obligated to begin filming "Drive Angry" (starring Nicolas Cage) in January, the goal was to rush the new 3D installment and have it be ready to hit theaters next year.

Now comes news that the studio received the first draft from Todd Farmer (Jason X, The Messengers) and has decided to stop all pre-production work for "Halloween 3." The goal now is to slow everything down and wait for Lussier to complete his other project in order to have more time for new Michael Myers film.

This does not mean that The Weinstein Company has abandoned the franchise. It's actually the exact opposite. "We make those pics for very little money and tight marketing dollars so anything north of $25 million is a huge success for us," a studio insider told Deadline Hollywood.

The production budget for "Halloween 3" is being estimated at $2.5 million. That's very low considering that "Halloween 2" made $32 million at the box office and the first "Halloween" made $80 million. And "Halloween 2" is set for a theatrical re-release this Halloween.

Source: DeadlineHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ikleesdekrant writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 3:43:48 AM

How about putting Nic Cage on hold... permanently.
VDODSON writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 3:50:11 AM

I dont give a sh*t what anyone says, Rob Zombies first Halloween movie had me on the edge of my seat for the entire movie. Rob brought out the ultra violent, and sadistic personality of how I always envisioned Michael Myers to be. If the closest theatre wasnt an hour away in another country, I would have already seen Halloween 2. The original Halloween was corny, and had no balls.
rabid writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 4:50:36 AM

The sequel was really sloppy but still decent. It was the only good slasher out this year. It's their own fault it only made $32 million. The idiots should have released it just before Halloween, not the middle of summer. I assume they didn't want to compete with Saw.
I'd like to see Zombie working on an original tale again, like House of 1000 Corpses, though he should steer away from animation. El Superbeasto was godawful.
biniwoo writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 5:42:21 AM

I agree with you VDODSON, the first one was very good.

I'm from Barcelona and it hasn't been released yet.
biniwoo writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 7:25:29 AM

the sequel I mean
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 8:33:16 AM

Couldn't agree more, Rabid - SAW is probably the only reason why they released H2 so early. Makes no sense to me though, it's like when a Christmas movie comes out in June (and what happens? - it tanks bigtime). The SAW movies aren't that good anyway. For my money, I'd rather watch a good slasher flick than a booby-trap/torture movie. Plus, it's f*cking Halloween! I think 2 horror movies in the theaters at the same time is acceptable. Before the SAW movies, there were a few years where there were no new horror movies playing in theaters on Halloween.
ian_918 writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 11:15:03 AM

I liked robs first one. He made myers kickass. the second had to grow on me but i liked it too. Now bloody valentine director helms the third so be prepared for long dialouge and barley any killings.
rabid writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 12:44:39 PM

Actually it would be kind of neat if they did Season of the Witch instead of another Meyers story. Witches and androids and Halloween masks. It would be right up Lussier's alley.
timex89 writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 12:51:18 PM

Now, put it in the trash can.
dandythelion writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 3:12:56 PM

House of 1000 Corpses and The Devil's Rejects were f*cking spectacular movies. anything else this guy has done, including musically, if pure f*cking rubbish.
Lowryder writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 3:40:31 PM

lmfao it only has a budget of $2.5 million?!? wow even without zombie, i already know this movie will be sh*t cuz i know they wont have any good special effects on that low of a budget
rabid writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 5:12:54 PM

Anyone that can't make a decent film for under 2.5 million needs to go back to film school. That's plenty enough to make a good horror film.
Blair Witch and Evil Dead had half that budget and they're considered horror classics.
28 Days Later was made for $2 million and it was actually frightening.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 6:45:34 PM

"Halloween 2" was one of the worst movies I've ever paid to see in theaters. Bad acting, zero atmosphere, and not scary at all.

I'm a huge "Halloween" fan and haven't truly enjoyed any of the movies since "H20" and that was 11 years ago.

Going 180 degrees from Rob Zombie's "vision" can only be an improvement. Hopefully by not rushing the new film we can get one that's actually entertaining and scary...or at least watchable.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved