WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Terminator" Rights are Once Again for Sale

Posted: September 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Terminator" Rights are Once Again for SaleSubmit Comment
Derek Anderson and Victor Kubicek acquired the rights to the "Terminator" franchise two years ago for $25 million and went on to produce "Terminator Salvation." The duo is now looking to sell the franchise partially or outright to pay the bills for some of their other failing companies.

"We're going to be contacting a variety of studios and independent companies," said Kevin Shultz, senior managing director at Anderson's and Kubicek's Halcyon Holding Group company. "We think the values are considerably in excess of the purchase price."

In a previous bankruptcy court filing, Anderson claimed that the "Terminator" rights are now worth more than $60 million, more than double what he and Kubicek paid. Shultz said his firm will conduct its own analysis. Some of the factors to be considered are the fact that "Salvation" doubled its $200 million budget and the film's future DVD/Blu-ray sales numbers.

What this means for the "Terminator Salvation" sequel has yet to be seen. Stay tuned.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:00:49 AM

This is a fire(d) sale!
Cameron... get out your checkbook!!!
This is perfect for Arnie's come back!
coldplayesence writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:03:20 AM

A TS sequel? I think I'm gonna have to pass.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:11:14 AM

@CP - you know... I haven't seen TS yet. Some has to do with the bashing it's taken on here at WP (another is, I just wasn't in a rush to see it... obviously). But really... it sucked as bad as everyone is saying?
lost_addict writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:33:54 AM

jar jar binks confirmed to be next terminator

"in june 2011...Messa will be back!"
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:36:53 AM

@LA - when I saw Hatcher and O'Brien running I thought of Jar Jar Binks!
WV-Films writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:37:35 AM

Lets just hope McG doesn't buy it outright. Also I recently saw a posting on a casting site that said they were currently looking for extras for T5. So I wonder how dead these movies really are.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:51:18 AM

phew...for a second there, i thought they meant they were trying to get rights for the 1st terminator to remake it...i mean after all there's a total recall remake and conan and commando and predator...is hollywood out to sabotage each popular icon that appealed in the history of mankind or are they just that greedy?
VDODSON writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:56:14 AM

Terminator Salvation was better than the first, and the third movie. I honestly dont get the bashing either, it was a fun flick. Sam Worthington, and Bale were in top form as always.
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:16:20 AM

Ranger TS was alright B grade movie plot with transformers like CGI (not the mention Bale going off his nut) but on a whole i wouldnt count it as a real terminator movie for me its still just terminator 1&2 anything after that i would just wait till hit torrentz
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:23:09 AM

Thx. for the reviews guys. I figured TS must be 'watchable' to some extent. I never go into any movies with expectations, thus my disappointment is kept to a minimum.

I'm still old school. The first Terminator ('84) is still my fav! Arnie as a good cyborg wasn't necessary in the 2nd. (other than to bring the cool liquid metal guy to our time - which how he came through time not being organic is a mystery). And the 3rd. I liked more than most BECAUSE (I'll always have an explanation for my opinions) despite they knew what was coming... they were still unable to stop Judgment Day. But the first is still the best for me (same as Star Wars '77, RoboCop, The Matrix, Superman 1&2 (Mario Puzo wrote both). The rest of the sequels... ugh.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:26:39 AM

no way terminator salvation is better than the first...without terminator....there would be no salvation
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:32:12 AM

That was my first thought too Synth.
Ari Gold writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:51:06 AM

TS sucked more balls than T3! Though Worthington was by far the most interesting character! Personally, I prefer T2 over the first, I guess I grew up with that one though..
Vlahka writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:17:27 AM

Micheal Bay will buy the rights, and he'll have Terminators vs Transformers. Except 3/4 of the film will be Shia running from both.
Nohands[NL] writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 6:51:14 AM

No Arnie comeback pleasse...i hope it will bring no problems to the sequel from Salvation. (trilogie)
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:34:49 AM

"We're going to be contacting a variety of studios and independent companies,"

AWEFPOAEWFIOHQAIHOEFAIOWHEHI

HERE! I'LL TAKE IT! OVER HERE! PICK ME!
Eben1277 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 8:16:05 AM

T3 was not a bad movie, it just fell short of 1&2, which, really, most movies do. If it wasn't part of the franchise and it was a standalone, more people would be accepting of it I think. If I put on a size 18 shoe, my feet won't fill it up, but that doesn't mean that a size 12 is small, dig? Salvation was about a size 8.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:16:53 AM

I don't know who but I know who not - MGM won't be buying this anytime soon.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:19:38 AM

This has to mean that at least McG is out for the next installment. Terminator is still a bankable franchise in the right hands. The Peter Jackson/Bloomkamp team should step in and buy the rights. They could do wonders for the franchise with or without(but hopefully not) Arnold.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:39:30 AM

Daddy's Sac - I seriously think that Terminator is bankable but as a Saturday morning cartoon a-la-Transformers in the 80s.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:41:32 AM

Stay the f*ck away FOX!!!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:34:08 AM

Again!? WTF seriously?!. Cameron better get this bad boy back.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:41:37 AM

Since a Terminator is not about muscle but it's cybernetic mechanism - who needs Arnie? They could have Paul Reubens dress-up as Pee-Wee and be a Terminator.
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:48:27 AM

cameron buy this back and let no one create another terminator film unless its yourself
coldplayesence writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:53:41 AM

@Armpit: Well it's not about muscle but without arnold it just doesn't feel right. I mean, T3 sucked too but at least he was around.
Randal Graves writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:04:13 AM

Is disney gonna buy this one 2?
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:58:59 AM

If Cameron doesn't buy it... how about the Whacko-ski brothers. Let them put a Matrix spin on this series!
SACdaddy writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:12:21 PM

Wasn't The Matrix series kind of a rip-off of Terminator anyway?
rabid writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:43:55 PM

let it die. just let the whole concept die.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:54:59 PM

@SAC - hmmm... could be. I thought it was a more obvious rip-off of Keanu's other movie Johnny Mnemonic. I thought they hired Kneau because they felt a little guilty ripping off that movie so much (even though they wanted Will Smith as their first choice).
SACdaddy writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:13:52 PM

Just thought that idea of the future was pretty similar. f*ck the Wacko Bros. I don't want to see terminators doing kung fu.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:27:26 PM

In bullet-time... HAWT!

Well, they cold certainly add a new take/look/spin... add fresh blood to the franchise (as in the FIRST Matrix... the 3rd. just got whacky!).

I liked V for Vendetta. So, I'd give these guys a kick at the Terminator cat before these regular joes continue to f*ck it up further.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:42:14 PM

LOLZ THAT IS FOR PUTTING BALE IN THIS
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:53:07 PM

Bwahahahahahaha! How about the Matrix Mr Jones (I think) vs Predator - done stupidly a-la-predator vs. aliens?
No, wait, I've got the idea of the century - A f*ckEN REBOOT! We need a Terminator reboot! ...or maybe a Terminator reset since he's a robot.
Seriously - Terminator is a dead series - it's never gonna get back it's shine that it had from parts 1 and 2.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:38:39 PM

Yep... they may have milked this worse than Lohan's tits.
Hitodama writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:42:26 PM

@SACdaddy. The Wachowski's are huge anime fans (hence Speed racer). They claimed to be inspired by the cyberpunk classic 'Ghost in the shell.' The whole 'net' and 'jacking in' aspect came from that. The idea of the future in 'The Matrix' was similar to Terminator's, but then that's Hollywood for you. Other than that I can't see how the film's a rip-off. It seemed kinda fresh to me when it came out.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:59:22 PM

Good movies that have that taste of "I want more" don't always lend themselves to a sequel that so good. Even thouhg the action factor on T2 was good, was high - the story was the same as T1 - with of course Arnie now switching sides. There was not really a "practical" need (storywise) for T2 - otherwise - Skynet could send an evil Terminator one minute later than the last one.
These are a category of movies that are stand-alones - Highlander, Jaws, Poltergeist - so many. Then there is the "limited acceptable sequels" - Star Wars, Nightmare on Elm Street (2 or 3 would've been sufficient so that we understand where Fred comes from), Transformers (if at least second had been good). Then there is the franchise made to last "forever" - Bond, Super, Bats, Trek...
TRUEMAN writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:21:07 PM

LOL! The terminator is terminated!
dandythelion writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:26:04 PM

3rd film sucked big time. the first was OKAY. I think T2 was a terrible movie, and I actually really like SALVATION. isn't that a mind f*ck for you fanboys?
Gates writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:45:15 PM

Terminator Salvation was descent.. nothing great.. Worthington was the best thing to come from that movie.
kmccarney88 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:21:44 PM

I hope this series finds a new home with someone with a little more common sense, talent and taste then the people who made Salvation. I hope these new people dislike McG as much as I do and replace him with a director with an actual vision of what this series should be at this point in time.
Salvation was a disaster, plan and simple, but that doesn't mean they cant do better next time. Terminator is an extremely lucrative property and shouldn't be taken lightly, so get someone who knows what they are doing.
Just bought T2 on blu-ray a few weeks ago......amazing. Watching that opening sequence make me desperate for more post nuclear war/nuclear winter action, the way Cameron intended it to be.....not McG's watered down, damn near laughable bullsh*t.
It actually would be great if Cameron returned to the franchise, but I highly doubt it, my guess is that they have gone way too far off track for him to want to "repair" the damages (in my opinion).
Overall, lets just hope that T5 and T6 are a vast improvement on Salvation......can't be too hard to accomplish. I, for one, would love to see the return of Arnold and have them use the old Ian Holm/Bilbo Baggins pinning of the face trick to make him look younger. Do NOT use the Patrick Stewart/Professor X, CGI crazy method of making him look younger! AND DEFINITELY DONT bring an entirely CG Arnold back......what a joke that was.
vwkombi writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:36:59 PM

Ranger, believe me. Terminator Salvation was one of the worst movies to grace the screen in a long time.

Two thirds of the movie involve Christian Bale yelling into a radio, the rest involves Sam Worthingtons character proclaiming that "I'm still human!!"

Download a DVDrip and watch it if you must.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 8:28:39 PM

Ugh! I think that's enough. Like I say... I'll check it out (because I'm nostalgic with the first ('84) movie), but won't bust my ass tracking this movie down.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:35:51 PM

I'll Buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! then I'll make another movie and a television series and a comic book and an adult porn novel!
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:51:56 PM

But you'll start with the porn... right?
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 8:34:53 AM

Yeah! and then it'll be adapted for Broadway and Cinema.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved