WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Looking to Replace Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"

Posted: September 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Looking to Replace Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"Submit Comment
When Walt Disney Studios chairman Dick Cook was fired, Johnny Depp revealed to LA Times that his excitement for "Pirates of the Caribbean 4" has disappeared since Cook was the reason why he signed on for the franchise to begin with.

Even though Depp may be considering abandoning the fourth film, his only way out of the contract is to claim that the script is terrible. He will likely not do that and will hold up his part of the deal. However, don't expect Depp to be in the fifth and sixth installments.

According to a CinemaBlend source, Disney is already prepping to replace Depp in the last two parts of the new trilogy. The studio is not looking to hire a new actor to play Captain Jack Sparrow; the goal is to completely replace him with an entirely new character.

So the big question is: Will you watch a "Pirates of the Caribbean" film without Johnny Depp?

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:45:03 AM

I hope Gary Coleman doesn't think this is his big chance.
MattMcaskill writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:49:13 AM

ummm, f*ck that
vaodsi writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:49:28 AM

this franchise already jumped the shark
coldplayesence writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:05:07 AM

The answer is no, f*ck no.
Fabian writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:22:52 AM

This could be Arnold Schwarzeneggers comeback!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:23:31 AM

no. i won't
lost_addict writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:29:31 AM

breaking news:Gary Coleman signed to replace depp as Jack saprrow
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:30:20 AM

sh*t!!!!!!!!!!!!
WV-Films writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:33:22 AM

How much you wanna bet they go after Christian Bale.
BigUnit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:33:45 AM

weeeeak
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:36:08 AM

Or... Shia!
biniwoo writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:43:25 AM

They can use Johnny Depp's clone for the next installments: Skeet Ulrich

synthetic1985 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:48:56 AM

was that a serious question?....watching pirates of the caribbean wouldn't have been worth watching if it weren't for johnny depp as well as jack sparrow as a character...replacing him is like seriously trying too hard already
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:10:39 AM

PLEAS PLEASE NOT KEANU REEVES i just cant stomach another sequel with him in it he reminds me of nicole kidman but with out the botox
whoever writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:19:43 AM

I heard the Disney was looking at Andy d*ck, there is something about his name that catches their attention!
dandythelion writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:24:21 AM

he's the only thing keeping the series together. the rest is all superflous.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:27:31 AM

The only thing catching about Andy d*ck is Herpes. Saw him on Kimmel once trying to lick Ivanka Trump (he was removed from the show). Talk about licking a guy's daughter that can make you disappear!

As for POTC... I've only seen the first, and bit of the next (Davey Jones?). I can't see anyone replacing Depp. This franchise is hooped without him.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:31:46 AM

@whoever - I knew you were joking about A.D... lol.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:42:59 AM

And I know exactly who they are looking to replace Depp...Russell Brand. I'll bet Ranger's liquor stash that this will happen.
PirateDave128 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:27:49 AM

f*ck OFF. Johnny Depp is Pirates of the Caribbean. Disney will be boycotted for years if they get rid of the one actor who brought them back from the depths with his performance as Jack Sparrow.
FrancescaP writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:27:50 AM

The answer is never.
Tournesol writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:46:24 AM

Solution?. No "Pirates of the Caribbean: ...", a new trilogy with new characters.
wonderBOY writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:07:35 AM

If they make russel brand his brother in the new one then he prob can take over
Sonic writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:38:11 AM

No Depp, no pirates
lostwarrior writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:54:11 AM

oh god they will probably get russell brand... the poor mans johnny
Eben1277 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 8:10:13 AM

If they replace him with Richard Greico and Call it Pirates of 21 Jump Street I'll see it.
lost_addict writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:09:55 AM

"So the big question is: Will you watch a "Pirates of the Caribbean" film without Johnny Depp?"

thats not the right question.cause everyone will torrent it.
MontoyaWA writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:10:37 AM

I truly want to see the fourth film fail so as discourage any further sequels. When you take Depp outta of this franchise, you have nothing, basically Treasure Island.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:28:03 AM

Hell to the no, that series is horrible without Depp. Granted Rush & Nighy did awesome jobs but come on now, this would be diaherra.
JRprime writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:41:28 AM

As much as I like these movies, I really wish they'd stop after this fourth one.
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:10:15 AM

NO
prabuwiz writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:33:05 AM

u can always cast christian bale and call it 'pirates of the caribbean begins'
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:53:38 AM

There is no Pirates of the Caribbean without Johnny Depp- everything else about these overlong duds is stale...specifically Bloom's and Knightley's forced subplots.

If Depp leaves SCRAP it.
timex89 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:31:50 PM

And why does this franchise must continue??
rabid writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:43:14 PM

yes, replace him already.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:50:10 PM

I barely want to watch them with him in them, so I'm definitely not going if he isn't in them.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:56:00 PM

My thought exactly.
rjd040487 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:19:36 PM

his character has gone as far as it can go anyway, so the whole series should just end now. props to depp for standing by his mate but he should of never done the second or third, the first was the matrix of pirate films and should never have continued
tolgaboy writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 1:32:11 PM

no
ValiaVeweth writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:41:01 PM

I would prefer they decided to not do anymore of these movies at all.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 2:42:51 PM

ugh. why don't they just STOP THE MOVIES before they start becoming the saw franchise
LastActionHero writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:06:15 PM

Good, no more gay pirate. Just kill that character.
chase.rodgers writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:06:43 PM

NO! HEELLLLLL NO! D:
bfwebster writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:55:48 PM

Heck, I'm not sure I'll go see Pirates IV in the theaters, Depp or no Depp. By Pirates III, the franchise had pretty much lost everything that was appealing about Pirates I. ..bruce..
vaodsi writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 6:16:20 PM

agreed... if they intro Brand then he will take over
Monroe writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 6:26:32 PM

Pirtaes would die without Johnny...they should give it up already!
vwkombi writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:34:28 PM

Who cares? The second and third sucked ass. Not even going to bother with the fourth and fifth and thirteenth or how ever many they are going to milk this franchise for.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:19:40 PM

My first reaction was HELL NO!!!

But the more I've thought about it, there is one actor I can imagine taking over as the lead of the franchise: Robert Downey Jr.

After Iron Man and Tropic Thunder, I could definitely see Downey taking on the role of a quirky, heroic pirate character who could take the place of Captain Jack Sparrow (Though not as Sparrow; you definitely shouldn't recast Johnny Depp).

Hopefully though, Disney can see what a huge f**king blunder it would be to dump Depp from the Pirates franchise. I highly doubt we'll see a Pirates movie without Captain Jack.
iheartmovies113 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:52:58 PM

dude Hell no! if there is no depp, there shouldnt be a pirates!! period.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:29:09 PM

What about the ones from Somalia?
BlueJulias writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 12:57:27 AM

No.
Jensama writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 8:37:59 AM

@Fabian: Ahahaha! The picture that appeared in my head just now was f-ing priceless, dude! Thanks for making my day! XD

And to answer the question:
- Sure I'll watch it, but if I'll watch it with the same enthusiasm/joy? No.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 3:51:02 PM

I'm not a huge fan of the Pirates movies anyway. I think they should just stop at three (but then I didn't like 2 or 3 at all). But do they now know that changing a main character like that is never a good thing.
JKline writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 6:13:50 PM

Depp is Pirates of the Caribbean
KingAdash writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 3:18:42 PM

I can't believe people are actually gonna see a fourth "Pirates" movie.
raza12 writes:
on October 1st, 2009 at 7:25:12 PM

I agree with WonderBoy... That is a great idea if they decide to go along with this stupid idea.. You should write that sh*t in to Disney :)
darkraven28 writes:
on October 2nd, 2009 at 4:47:49 PM

This is f*cking retarded. Why the hell would you fire the main reason for the success of your films? If anything you should be paying him more and listening to his ideas because honestly Johnny Depp is the reason for the success of the films. Him and the villains anyway. And Keira. But Orlando Bloom had NOTHING to do with the greatness of the trilogy. You can completely get rid of Orlando (as they have) and you can afford to lose Keira (which she has said they have because she's done; but she gave the films some merits too). But you CANNOT get rid of Johnny Depp. He is a colossal part of this franchise and it will FAIL without him. It's like recasting Edward Scissorhands with Channing Tatum. In other words: BULLsh*t! And now I've given Fox a casting idea for remaking Edward Scissorhands. sh*t!
Impromptumaniac writes:
on October 6th, 2009 at 6:59:01 AM

Jack made the movie. getting rid of depp is stupid.
kikicardin writes:
on May 23rd, 2011 at 4:18:04 PM

If Johnny Depp will be missing in the 5th movie, I will be REALLY BUT REALLY dispointed, and if they replace the entire character of Captain Jack sparrow, it will be a terrible scandale because, I will definitely not watch the movie, and I think that many people will do the same thing that I would do !! sorry if my English is a little bite bad, I'm trying to be bilingual !

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved