WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George W. Bush Believes "Harry Potter" Promotes Witchcraft

Posted: September 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George W. Bush Believes "Harry Potter" Promotes WitchcraftSubmit Comment
Last year, President George W Bush awarded Stan Lee with the National Medal of Arts for contributing to culture, but "Harry Potter" author JK Rowling was left off the list of honorees. But why?

President George W Bush's speechwriter Matt Latimer has written a very controversial book, "Speechless: Tales of a White House Survivor," that is getting lots of attention for its many bizarre claims.

In the book, Latimer said that the Bush administration considered Rowling for the award but decided against it because they believed that her writing "encouraged witchcraft," even more than the characters (Doctor Strange) that Lee created.

Quote from page 201 of the book: This was the same sort of narrow thinking that led people in the White House to actually object to giving the author JK Rowling a presidential medal because the Harry Potter books encouraged witchcraft.

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 7:38:44 PM

And here I thought the only thing the Harry Potter books were promoting was literacy.

Silly me.
acslaterson writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 8:02:46 PM

Talking to a 2,000 year old zombie everyday is ok, but a fictional wizard targeted at kids is bad? I guess kids shouldn't read the bible, they might try to get swallowed by a whale.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 8:11:35 PM

I don't understand why people jump on this so much. Harry Potter is fiction, as in not real. And if you really wanted to you could say that any book or movie promoted something negative, you just have to want to find something. I like the books, the movies are only okay, but I think it's good that something can interest so many kids to read these day. Even if it's not what you like why not just give it the credit it deserves one of the only original and creative ideas that has come out of an author in a long time.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 8:27:37 PM

'I don't understand' and 'President Bush' are said a lot in sentences together. The man never fails to disappoint... still! Ugh!
Blank x2 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 8:44:59 PM

God, that guy is an idiot.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:08:05 PM

I'm just happy he doesn't have the launch codes anymore.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:21:42 PM

We still give a sh*t about him?
pillows writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:40:01 PM

i have noticed that you have no quotes whatsoever in you entire little story here, which seems to be off the topic of harry potter, and more heading toward president bush, which by the way, for all the people who posted comment, is out of office so why in hells bells would you even be giving a crap about him several months after he was dismissed from office.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:40:08 PM

why is bush bashing on witchcraft? its safe to say that the only way he became voted president,twice, is because of some sort of witchcraft, probaly by selling his soul. but hey, he is republican u know how hypocritical they are.
pillows writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:52:04 PM

and for your information the medal is awarded for the following things:1) the security or national interests of the United States, 2) world peace, or 3) cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

For that matter the book, as you said yourself is simply fiction, and does not fall in the category of culture.

secondly why should she care weather she got the award or not, its one award out of hundreds of others, and a mountain of money.

I like the books to but...what the hell do they have to do with president bush!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:02:26 PM

"and does not fall in the category of culture."

Yes because fantasy never parallels real life right?

Totally because Mudbloods wasn't the witchcraft equivelant of racism, right?

Why don't you get the f*ck out of here you stupid sh*t
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:08:08 PM

lol.
Randal Graves writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:19:52 PM

It's weird that he thinks magic is bad......he pulled a war out of thin air.
Charlie9 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:25:42 PM

Not really movie news but quite funny. This probably had nothing to do with Bush either, just one of his minions
vwkombi writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:59:48 PM

So children reading is bad, put bombins random countries with names i can't pronounce is good?

Ahhhhhhhhh Bush, i hope you choke on your own stupidity.
pillows writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:16:52 PM

why don't you go learn some f*cking literature you fifteen year old little punk. you probably haven't even gone through puberty yet and your trying to tell me what how fantasy parallels with culture.

open up your effing ears and listen.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the nationís highest civil award, which was given to Matt Latimer, not because it wasn't as good as Harry Potter, but because the book he wrote was entitled "Speechless: Tales of a White House Survivor", which is a very much more real story, and not a children's book which was completely made up!!!

Matt Latimer wrote a book much more appropriate for the prize that was being given out!!!
NOT BECAUSE ITS NOT A BETTER BOOK THAN HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:19:20 PM

@Randal - well said.
thedotsays writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:42:27 PM

@Ranger, he never had the launch codes to begin with. They just McDonald-ized them and made them pictures of missles and color-coded countries.
rabid writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:51:54 PM

George W. Bush is an imbecile. Everytime he opens his mouth, he secures his position as the most dimwitted public official of the century.
pillows writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:15:49 AM

some schools in the south were stupid enough to ban harry potter from their school!!! :(
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:23:01 AM

You're kidding?

What's next... torch-wielding villagers?!

synthetic1985 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:04:53 AM

it's one thing to be against war when you promote war
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:29:15 AM

That's dumb... Not as dumb as claiming to invent the internet or saying that the ressesion is over but that unemployment will still drop.

All of you idiots who voted for Obama look at what he's done. He wants to continue bush's patriot act, he keep alot of people from bush's term like gates and bernake, he now claims that he might not be able to keep his promise of closing gitmo bay, we're still in iraq, he's spending more money than bush did which i didnt even know was possible, when he got to office he said that bush was right about the tax cuts. he's nothing more than a black george bush
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:30:05 AM

slightly black george bush. the first black american president still looks white
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:00:47 AM

Bush has been out of office for less then a year and we are still dealing with the sh*t he put into motion. So I don't think it's wrong to talk about the thinks Bush said/did while he was in office.

And I find it curious that it's fine by him that kids are playing really violent video games but a book on fake wizards is something he thinks is a bad influence.

*wants to bash the brains in of every person who voted for him*
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:15:30 AM

and bush is friends with clinton and clinton bush 1 and carter are all alike as well no matter who the pupet in office is it all ways comes down to the master(s) pulling the strings. our votes dont even count any more how do you think bush got into office do you really think people voted for him or do you realize that he was appointed by a small group of the worlds richest people and then they tell us that he won
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:21:24 AM

and why do you think that bush is being so quit and not talking bad about obama? becuz they are not different from each other. but atleast bush knew he was a bad guy obama is retarded. i was at his speech in ohio where he misread his teleprompter like five times holy sh*t that was funny it was like watching a monkey f..k a greased up football
Hitodama writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:38:31 AM

Slighty off topic here but I'm certain that Doctor Strange was created by Steve Ditko not Stan Lee. I'm not suprised by anything Bush does or says.
Sonic writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:27:40 AM

He was president?
Eben1277 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 8:28:10 AM

up until the 2004 election he was really only Governor Bush. I guess that would make it up until the 2005 inauguration. Ron Paul or Ralph Nader would be in office if this country really wanted change.

And Pillows, how can say Rowling deserves the award less because she writes wizarding fiction, when Stan Lee got it for writing f*ckin comic books!!! And lets face it, back when he was writing them, the bar was a bit lower for story quality. Not that it's all that high now mind you.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:28:23 AM

What a f*cken grade A moron.
Someone send him 50 pounds of pretzels.
If on the impossible, incredible, amazing, unbelievable offchance that magic was something that existed - how is a fictive book like Potter going to be proved it "promotes" whitchcraft? We'll see more accidents of people with brooms colliding with planes?
If witchcraft existed - millions of people on Earth would've studied it to make Bush fade away.
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:30:25 AM

witchcraft does exist you stupid b....h (self censorship is how you keep your posts from being deleted, hopefully) i've seen it, i used to play with that kind a s..t call me whatever you want but that doesnt mean that there arent powers out there that can be tapped into a used and no one uses that s..t for good next time any of you are in like jamaica get out of the tourist sections of the island and youll see some crazy stuff not lame a.. stuff like david blain but really stuff
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:34:12 AM

and why does eveyone think that bush is a moron which he is but that obama isnt? if obama wrote his own speeches or did one improv you d laugh your ass off that fool is retarded it like watching helen keller butter a piece of toast
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:38:44 AM

And he also thinks he was good President, son, father, husband, friend & human. What a failure, seriously. Plus it's amazing this is even coming out of the mouth of a functional illiterate.
vex D writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:45:55 AM

bush = bad
obama = worse
the next president = even worse

thats how it works b....hes
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:49:44 AM

Sex D - the reason why were talking about Bush being a moron and not Oba-man is because Bush is the feature. Is that so complicated to understand? Why would I speak about the Jolly Green Giant if the article pertains to bush?
Secondly, no witchcraft does not exist. Neither fairy godmothers, pots of gold at the end of the rainbow, smurfs and honest politicians. Get that lobotomy in a rush - if you think that your neighbor is a witch talk to the authorities first before burning them at the stake.
FBO writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:56:27 AM

Don't you guys find it hilarious that you all think this is fact just because the title of the article. They guy making the claim doesn't even name Bush for the decision. Also the Harry Potter books suck because the male characters act like high school girls... the book is definantly written by a female.

Vex, really? Bush and Obama are fundamentally different. Bush would never tax people just because they can't afford health care, but that's what Obama wants to do
bluemeenie writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:29:44 AM

The difference bewteen relaity and fiction is that Witches and Warlocks are real. They have been real for centuries. In the Harry Potter books they actually use real spells. Bush isn't the brightest bulb in the lamp- but all you have to do is do the slightest bit of research into the ancient 'Wicken' community and realise where these 'children' books get their inspriration.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:31:21 AM

Regan and his wife were famous for consulting palm readers for advise. And ancient form of witchcraft.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:33:04 AM

And=An
makingcircles writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:37:55 AM

The truth is that George Bush just likes books with pictures.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 11:45:30 AM

I can't believe that if I continued on my initial path I would be having an arguement with people - trying to convince them that Boo-Berries were just cereals and not inspired by the Boo-Berry Count of Berryvania.
By that logic - when you see the number of vampires in litterature and movies - they exist, so does Star Wars and Superman... Yeah, I'm one of those people who actually thinks that Elvis is dead...
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:18:22 PM

Ummm who cares? Rowling didnt deserve it over a lifetime of Stan Lee creations.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 12:55:05 PM

What they mean is that his blindly faithful religious supporters might go against the conservative party he represents should he award Harry Potter, something these people stubbornly and ignorantly refuse to investigate for themselves.

So many layers of bullsh*t.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 3:44:39 PM

Well, basically, if Bush ever did any good in the World, somewhere down the lane it profited him - or his election plan. The sheer number of sources that describe him as an incompetent idiot is overwhelming.
I remember him on a speech about fishing quotas saying "I believe that fish and humans can co-exist together" - it's somwhere on youtube btw.
If you're gonna bullsh*t me about black magic and love potions - give me another source than G.W. because anything HE says only makes me believe the opposite. This ass has zero credibility to just about the whole World.
Rich k writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:07:55 PM

George Bush Promotes witchcraft just look at the guy
bluemeenie writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:16:26 PM

@Armpit
"By that logic - when you see the number of vampires in litterature and movies - they exist, so does Star Wars and Superman... Yeah, I'm one of those people who actually thinks that Elvis is dead..."

Do some research into history.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:21:46 PM

BlueAuntie - you must be the puppet in which Mel put his hand up it's ass. "Do some research" - wow - ok - I'm sorry - I now believe in witchcraft. You and Bush have really shut my ass.
I wish you would call me names or something. Then I would have material to go on. "Do some research"... I'm sorry, I'm too busy looking into mermaids - there has been countless legends, books, songs about it - it must be true. Then I'm off for the Bigfoot. When this succeeds - I want to look into the $500 rebate on Ford cars. I like folklore myths.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:22:59 PM

Alright- MAYBE it took awhile for Bush to realize he shouldn't be giving an American award to someone that doesnt even have a f*cking green card...

...let the UK kiss her ass. Stan Lee deserved it- who cares how he came to the decision- he came to the right one.

..and there's a few million people who actually believe its real so yeah you CAN promote witchcraft to stupid tools who live in the world of fiction.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:50:41 PM

Armpit... Witchcraft is real. It doesn't work, any better than praying to jesus, allah, jehova etc., but as a religion it does exist. Most witches would be more accurately described as Wiccans. Wicca is a form of nature worship related to that of the Druids and pre-dates Christianity. So saying witchcraft doesn't exist is like saying Catholicism, Islam, Buddhism, or Judaism doesn't exist. They, and witchcraft, might all be full of sh*t, but they are still there none the less.
LastActionHero writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 5:18:26 PM

Religion promotes stupidity.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 6:12:17 PM

It also gets Altar Boys raped.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 7:46:02 PM

Eb, now you're talking sense. Yes, many people believe in many things. But it doesn't mean they exist. I was talking apples when some people were talking oranges. I undestand that the belief in witchcraft exists. However, I don't believe that witchcraft exists. Maybe we're on the same field now?
I've read so many ridiculous stories on the net about people swearing that such or such thing or ghost was real... It's like flying saucers - now that everyone has a camera - by their cell phone, digital, I-Phone - and we're not getting one f*cken clear decent photo of one flying saucer in all the World. That should say something.
Back on topic.
I know they used to shove a blond virgin in the volcano - but it doesn't mean that it stopped the volcano. If this was the case - we'd be extinct - there are only blond virgins at birth...then Roman Polanski rapes them.
So, yeah, the belief of witchcraft exists - but witchcraft doesn't. f*ck Satan - and if he's out there - let him show his ugly mug tonight and assrape me... Maryf*ckenangelsf*ckJesus - I'm sane and I only believe in the toothfairy - the rest is bullsh*t.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:31:34 PM

Bush is just upset because he can't read.
Jensama writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 8:43:40 AM

@acslaterson: Nice point, and damn right.
@Ranger: Maybe he kept the codes in case of Harry there scared him a bit too much. Maybe, the last movie in the series will make him jitterish. Maybe - we should be wondering just.about.those.codes. and if the hell he has a launchbutton anywhere. (At home?) Blah. I'm the jitterish one.
Armpit writes:
on September 30th, 2009 at 3:12:11 PM

In case I hadn't made my point - I would really like to be polite...but I can't...

I understand that witchcraft cults or beliefs exists.
However - anyone who worries at night in their bed about witchcraft is a dumb jew motherf*cker.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved