WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Surrogates" Underperforms at the Box Office

Posted: September 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Surrogates" Underperforms at the Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs" took first place at the box office again for the second week in a row. The 3D animated film dominated with $24.6 million, easily topping the debuts of "Surrogates," "Fame" and "Pandorum."

"Surrogates," starring Bruce Willis, finished a distant second with $15 million at 2,951 as the sci-fi film came in under forecasts. With an $80 million budget, the modest launch represents a disappointment for Disney.

"Fame" followed in third with $10 million as the reboot finished at the low end of expectations. The audience for "Fame" was 78% female and 55% under 25 as "Cloudy" appeared to cut into the potential audience.

Michael Moore's "Capitalism: A Love Story" generated impressive results in its launch with $240,000 from four theaters for the weekend, achieving the top per screen average this year with $60,000. "Capitalism" has earned a total of $306,586 in its first five days and will expand to about 1,000 next weekend.

Sony Classics' debut of French biopic "Coco Before Chanel" performed exceptionally with $177,137 at five sites in Los Angeles and New York.

Click here to read our "Surrogates" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:22:23 PM

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs was f*ckin awesome haha
BigUnit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:26:03 PM

Pandorum was mind boggling, everyone should go see it if they like schi-fi/horror films, best one since aliens in my opinion
chrisc20002003 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:28:49 PM

Oh no, hmmmmmmmmm. Bruce Willis can't perform. Sounds impedent to me.
manichispanic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:34:14 PM

i didn't even know it was out already
lostwarrior writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:39:14 PM

well look at who directed this piece of sh*t. It aint bruce's fault. Im sure he did the best he could with the material
acslaterson writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 7:24:39 PM

No mention of "Paranormal Activity"?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 7:30:56 PM

Surrgates wasn't too bad, but it was something forgettable. But Bruce Willis as always was the bad ass
acslaterson writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 7:33:24 PM

I really liked "Pandorum" as well, I will definitely be getting the Blue Ray.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:17:54 PM

Thx. for the Pandorum input here folks. I'll see it.

As for Surrogates. I have only seen marketing for it recently. And while some of the trailer looked good (really good), but it gave me the feeling I've seen all of this in bits and pieces in: iRobot, Total Recall, 6th Day cloning and other such story lines, etc. etc. So I'll save the $'s and await it's arrival to my movie channel.
Gates writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:56:40 AM

@Ranger

I think that you'll love the movie.. It's nice to go watch a movie that isn't a remake.
TRUEMAN writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:36:57 AM

i dont like the name of the movie, thats the reason of its suckness!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:27:48 PM

a kids movie beats a Bruce Willis film? JESUS IS COMING BACK EVERYONE!!!
triggax writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 4:35:55 PM

"well look at who directed this piece of sh*t. It aint bruce's fault. Im sure he did the best he could with the material"

Woah woah woah... Mostows not all bad.. I mean his sci fi stuff blows.. but COME ON have you ever seen Breakdown? That movie kicked ass... Seriously man such a good movie.. so hes shown in the past that he can be a pretty exceptional film maker..

I heard the Surrogates was actually pretty good.. It remains to be seen for me though.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 4:18:40 PM

Surrogates is getting fair reviews- I might check it out
Dealey writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 9:42:44 PM

Like someone said before, it was forgettable
MelodyWilson writes:
on February 20th, 2017 at 1:37:04 AM

i used to be actually analyzing your article, it became appear to be exceptional sound like extremely good and further informatively for us to developing fashion and tendencies tiers. Theirs clothes and jackets are best of every different’s one. thanks for sharing us. Samishleather Store
MelodyWilson writes:
on February 20th, 2017 at 1:39:09 AM

nice post
[url="http://example.org"]Example[/url]
[url=http://example.org]Example[/url]
Example
[url]http://example.org[/url]
adnanpitrian writes:
on July 16th, 2017 at 11:39:11 PM


Amazingly, the information you provide is very qualified and also very useful for me as a reader, hopefully you selau in giving smooth and more successful. Sorry I am sharing information for you hopefully useful :
Obat Kaki Bengkak
Luka Miss V
Kaki Bengkak
Benjolan Pada Paha
Mengobati Penyakit Herpes
Obat Gagal Ginjal

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved