WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roman Polanski is Finally Arrested for 1977 Rape

Posted: September 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roman Polanski is Finally Arrested for 1977 RapeSubmit Comment
On his way to receive an honorary award at the Zurich Film Festival, director Roman Polanski (Chinatown, Rosemary's Baby) was apprehended at the airport by the Swiss police and now faces possible extradition to the US for having sex with a 13 year-old girl in 1977.

After the alleged rape, Polanski fled the US for France in 1978, a year after pleading guilty to unlawful sexual intercourse with the underage girl. He has remained there since and watched his career continue to flourish; he received an Oscar for the 2002 "The Pianist."

The director will remain in Zurich until the conclusion of the extradition proceedings. The US now has 60 days to file a formal request for Polanski's transfer.

His victim, Samantha Geimer, who long ago identified herself publicly, has joined in Polanski's bid for dismissal, saying she wants the case to be over. She sued Polanski and reached an undisclosed settlement.

Source: Associated Press


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 73 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
chrisc20002003 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:27:40 PM

Oh no, pervert finally gets arrested for his crime, hmmmmm. Sounds good to me.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:37:35 PM

*claps*
lostwarrior writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:37:45 PM

watch it will get thrown out. All of this for nothing.. They are probably doing this to make sure they are on the united states good side. I mean how many times has he been and out of that country, and now they decide to do something..
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:50:49 PM

...ah - I kinda hate this. It means that there's a chance all the people I raped eventually catch me...
shayhiri writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 7:29:16 PM

In communist Russia 14 year old girls rape YOU.

And no, I'm not joking. Speaking from experience. Personal.
acslaterson writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 7:30:52 PM

"Roman Polanski is Finally Arrested for 1977 Rape"

Come on WP, give more background then that, he was arrested and served 42 days in Chino Prison undergoing psychic evaluation. The judge reneged on the plea bargain and that is why he fled the states. The chick already got paid and doesn't want to see charges filed, all this is going to do is waste tax payers money.
OneTime writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:04:11 PM

13 yrs old??...anyone else wanna take this..i dont wanna go there..
dandythelion writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:05:38 PM

really acslaterson? psychic evalutation. I wasn't aware Polanski was telepathic.

it needs to be thrown out.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:07:52 PM

What's the difference between sex and rape?

Answer: Salesmanship.

(hey... don't shoot the messenger!)
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:12:30 PM

Yeah, well. In prison, he'll be the pie.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:13:44 PM

With whipped... cream.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:19:17 PM

ONLY TOOK 32 YEARS!

The girl is f*cking 45 by now, like he really gives a sh*t.

"Roman Polanski is Finally Arrested for 1977 Rape"

Once again, thanks for the movie news, Alex.

I for one support Polanski's actions, because rape is hilarious.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:33:36 PM

Wait!

We need trig to chime in on this one.

To quote him:
'Rape, rape, rape, down my belly rape...'

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:34:24 PM

"Rape rape rape.... tastes so good... down in my belly..."
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:42:04 PM

You can't have rape, until you go ape!
nope.com writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:30:20 PM

about god damn time
McD writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:35:53 PM

...8 year olds, Dude.
acslaterson writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:05:21 PM

@dandythelion, haha. Nice catch, I was drinking and watching football when I wrote that.
tcu21 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:12:32 PM

Couldn't hide forever you 4 foot French pervert.
Bob82 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:21:49 PM

This reminds me of a joke:

"I've once saved a girl from being raped"
"How?"
"I've convinced her"
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 11:06:53 PM

@McD - she was 13 years old and probably wearing eyeliner (lol).
acslaterson writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:02:32 AM

She was 13 years old and her mother was a washed up actress trying to get back in the bizz. Why wasn't the mother brought up on child endangerment or neglect charges or charges for pimping her own child out?
Jedimax writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:12:14 AM

I now realize that the only reason why Worst Previews created the User Comments is so Alex and other people (like myself) can observe what idiots exist in these online communities.

Ok first of all I am glad acslaterson has watched Roman Polanski: wanted and desired.

As for the rest of you; you have no information about this case at all. In fact I want to know how many of you have seen the Pianist, or any other Polanski movie for that matter.

Maybe you should spend more time watching movies or reading newspapers (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/28/movies/28polanski.html) and less time treating worst previews as your stomping ground to expose that your intelligence is bellow what i see at the magazines aisles in supermarkets.

P.S. I guess if you want to get back at me for this comment it would be best to use some sort of rape joke, cause those are still super fresh these days.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:54:14 AM

What does your comment of suggesting we all watch more of Roman's work have to do with the topic at hand of his arrest?

And thx. for giving us all advice on how we better spend our time. How about you, yourself decide on how better to spend yours than stick your nose into the lives of others.

Oh... and I raped your mother, over and over and over. She still paid me, because she wanted more. What an unbelievable whore she is. And what an 'idiot' she's clearly raised (bastard child... oh where, oh where has your father gone?!).
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 1:18:13 AM

"Ok first of all I am glad acslaterson has watched Roman Polanski: wanted and desired." - well, I'll just bet that acslaterson is glad (nay, not glad... tickled pink!) that you're glad that he watched 'Wanted and Desired'... you f*cking putz!

@acslaterson - tip of that hat to you my friend! You have received Jedimin's post of approval. Who can sleep?!?!
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 1:32:32 AM

@ Ranger...'With whipped... cream.'...'and a cherry on top, only the cherry is about to be popped'...eesh lol
Dead Milkman writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 1:57:24 AM

Hey, anything after 12 is lunch..
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 1:58:38 AM

@Synthetic and Milkman - LOL!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:00:02 AM

Well whats going to happen, the girl now in her 40's said she doesn't want a trail, because she has the money from Polanski, the defense team doesn't want a trail because they see the case as closes!

And seriously for all we know, the girl back then could have convinced Polanski that she was much older than 13.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:10:55 AM




Women are like dogs (I'd apologize, but I didn't write this one)...

When their head is up and their ears are back, they're angry.

When their head is down and their bum is up, they want to play.



VDODSON writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:34:23 AM

Just leave the guy alone already. 13 is the new 21 anyway, or so I've heard. They guy's wife and unborn son are brutally murdered, cut him a break.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:37:09 AM

That makes 10 the new 18 VDOD!!!

I've read he paid the girl out some $3.4 mil. years ago. She took it. Didn't pursue charges then. Done deal. Jedimax is a c*nt. Nuff said.
padfootbob writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:02:43 AM

Wasn't it statutory rape?????
vwkombi writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:04:48 AM

I'll bet she's ugly by now and he wants to take it back.
vwkombi writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:05:40 AM

Couldn't he have done what normal people do and just lock her in his basement until she came of age?
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:26:26 AM

Maybe this is the Swiss making it up to the US for all that gold they laundered during WWII to support the Nazi's war effort.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:39:10 AM

So I guess the lesson here is:

If you bone a 13 year old, and flee the US, and dodge a warrant for 31 years... don't go to Zurich to attend their film festival to pick up your honorary award! (I'm taking down notes as I type this).
dandythelion writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 4:22:44 AM

@acslaterson: hah just teasing.

oh and totally agree with you on the mother. she should be charged.
telur writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:16:54 AM

so Roman Polanski is a coward in 1977?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 7:50:28 AM

That 13 year old was asking for that Polanski Pole to ram up her tailpipe.
Armpit writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:08:50 AM

Pedophiles have existed forever. Kings who were well over 70 years old would marry a 14 year old girl. I think Elvis married Lisa-Marie when she was a little under 18 or was 18. Now, if you're going to be 55 and marry a girl who's 18 - you might be ok - over the justice bar but to my eyes - there's still something wrong in there.
Rape is the next few notches down. Rape has also been something "common". Back in the days - when women here were treated like women from the middle east - men would rape their wives but, the woman didn't stand a chance in court - they were married so, for the judge it was not technically possible for her to be raped.
I'm actually happy for the victim in this case who doesn't really want this to go anywhere. It was a long time ago and testifying would surely make her relive some that sh*t.
For roman - he still made good movies. If Hitler had made a few good guitar solos - I'd have bought them - well made illegal copies.
J_e_f writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:41:59 AM

Wow, you are all disgusting!
Armpit writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:02:59 AM

...and you probably masturbated over teen porn on the net. Funny how the biggest % of pedophiles are priests.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:24:27 AM

Whatever, he broke the law. Period. He knew better. I'm not down with what he did.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:46:21 AM

@J_e_f - thx. for contributing, but lost points for judging us instead of sticking to the topic of the thread. For that... SUCK IT HARD MOTHER-f*ckTER!
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:52:31 AM

Not sure why I put a 'T' in f*ckER... lol.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:55:52 AM

GOT'CHA BITCH!! lol
rabid writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:55:56 PM

bullsh*t. The victim already settled out of court and the stature of limitations was up several years ago. This can't be prosecuted.
rabid writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:57:46 PM

not to mention, Roman was in a pilled-out state just having his pregnant wife get murdered a couple months prior.
Armpit writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 1:45:36 PM

C'mon Rabbit, the rape is "acceptable" because Manson buried his wife in 17 places?
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:03:01 PM

@Rabid - lol. I'd sort of go more with your first post, than agree to your 2nd. But I know what you are saying.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:05:30 PM

I mean... if I went out and threw one into every 13 year-old after one of my pregnant wives was murdered, I'd be worn down to a stub!
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 2:16:03 PM

LOL RAPE.

anyway yeah took them long enough.
BobMcBob writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:20:33 PM

the criminal system works!
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 3:26:17 PM

@wiseguy - lol.

1. Polanski already 'got off!'
2. re: your neighbor... pictures please!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 4:29:38 PM

Under 18 will get u 10 to 20, bitch!! Well, the prison rape should be easy for you to film...But done bother trying to direct them...They'll direct you...just past their beltline...to suck dat d*ck!
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 4:39:50 PM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 4:58:18 PM

I'm still laughing at Dead Milkman's post.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:40:18 PM

I was with a girl last night who lied about her age, she told me afterward's she was 15.

Imagine my disgust, she looked at least 12.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:41:45 PM

Can I smell your fingers?!
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:41:54 PM

Please!
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:43:56 PM

I think you mean my elbow.
secondbest writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:53:36 PM

Why don't they just leave the man alone? jesus Christ, it happened 32 years ago and the girl lied and said she was 19. Not only that but at the age of 13 she had confessed that she'd already had sex, had alcohol, and had taken drugs before.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 5:57:20 PM

@myvag - lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 6:03:17 PM

Good thing she got some back then. I've googled recent pictures of her, and I wouldn't f*ck her now for practice.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 7:08:14 PM

And I'm sure in his eyes it wasn't rape.

It was art (lol).
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 7:26:51 PM

And here c*m the: 'I know... and when he's in prison, the inside of his arse will be his new canvas!'
Blank x2 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 8:45:57 PM

Isn't it awesome/ironic that we talk about rape all last week and now WP has a rape story?

Thanks for listening, Alex. LoL
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:00:16 PM

Alex' da Man!
Jedimax writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:41:59 PM

http://www.doobybrain.com/2009/09/26/172-students-in-quebec-doing-a-lipdub-to-i-gotta-feeling/

This is my apology for my slightly heavy handed comment from before.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:14:34 PM

Hey Jedi... good vid... thx.

And my apology back.

I'll give the videotog credit for not tripping through all of that. Well done.
lostrose815 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 10:45:24 PM

It's about damn time.

http://www.salon.com/mwt/broadsheet/feature/2009/09/28/polanski_arrest/index.html
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:37:28 PM

Congrats... she's like... 40 now...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved