WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Does Going Nude Help Actresses' Careers?

Posted: September 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Does Going Nude Help ActressesSubmit Comment
Actors and actresses make big sacrifices for their movies all the time. Christian Bale dropped down to a frail 120 lbs for "The Machinist," Natalie Portman shaved her head for "V for Vendetta," and Jamie Foxx chipped his teeth for "The Soloist." But getting nude onscreen still seems to be the ultimate move an actor or actress can make.

Demi Moore (Striptease), Elizabeth Berkley (Showgirls) and Jessica Biel (Powder Blue) have done it, but it has hardly made an impact on their careers since the films were so terrible. But Halle Berry's famous "Monster's Ball" sex scene (and her "acting") won her an Oscar and Viggo Mortensen's nude fight sequence earned him a nomination.

Filmmakers claim that occasional nudity can be important to a movie's plot and the character's development, but there is no doubt that they know that it also helps box office numbers and can generate enormous buzz for their projects. Who knows how much better "The Island" would have done if Michael Bay decided to make it R-rated and had agreed to let Scarlett Johansson appear nude.

Do you think nude scenes are really that important to a film or are they just a big marketing ploy? And do they help actresses' careers?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 78 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 7:24:20 PM

If it is tastefully done and fits the movie yes. Scarlett doing it for "The Island" would have been more of a gimmic then fittin in with the theme of the movie. Action movie nudity? No. Critically acclaimed script and nudity( Kate Winslett's roles in Titanic and The Reader). Yes.
Bob82 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 7:25:55 PM

No, but they help me on lonely nights...
BigUnit writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 7:34:32 PM

In the pay check it does
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 7:36:07 PM

Oh lord now I hate Bay more. Scarlett nakey would have made that film AMAZING for me at least. Okay, *turns Perv switch off* I guess it helps them. In the case of Viggo, I mean it seemed essential. There's no way dude is keeping his towel on in a vicious fight like that. Halley's was idk I don't really remember the story of monsters ball, just that scene LOL.
dandythelion writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 8:21:52 PM

everyboyd gets naked a tleast once a day. movies that leave that stuff out aren't realistic
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 8:25:09 PM

"Jamie Foxx chipped his teeth for "The Soloist.""

Further proof that this is just a blatant oscar grabbing movie with no actual substance.

And to be on topic: nude scenes could be crucial to achieve a certain rating (Watchmen) but I can't recall any movie where a nude scene was crucial to the plot (maybe last monday's Heroes episodes, but I think anything resembling a plot died after season 1).
IRONDAN writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 9:01:48 PM

nude scenes could be crucial to achieve a certain rating (Watchmen)

What do you mean by this Spooky? Did watchmen want a R rating and thats the only reason they added nudity?
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 9:09:45 PM

Depends on the role and the movies its applied to. We see nudity all the time in horror films and it really serves no purpose besides letting us know they're gonna die.
Gunslinger writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 9:42:11 PM

Wow. Slow news day...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 9:42:26 PM

"What do you mean by this Spooky? Did watchmen want a R rating and thats the only reason they added nudity?"

Zack knew that some pg13 movies had a bit of titty and gore in them, so he had to really ramp it up to make sure it was rated r. Also it was gratuitous to intentionally discomfort people
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 9:43:32 PM

"Wow. Slow news day..."

No, it's not that, it's just that Alex gets way more site traffic by putting up 'Discuss' threads.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 10:06:04 PM

Depends...a Jessica Alba naked in Sin City would fall under the "good: category....in Good Luck Chuck would be the "bad" example

Peter Parker writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 10:07:27 PM

Does f*cking lead to babies?
tcu21 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 10:09:53 PM

kate winslet, kate winslet, and oh yeah don't forget about kate winslet.
BobMcBob writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 10:25:29 PM

How many times has Meryl Streep appeared nude? Exactly.
vwkombi writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 10:58:08 PM

It depends on weather you use a nude scene for trying to save a failing career (Jessica Biel, Neve Campbell), to start a career (Angelina Jolie) or just for the art.

It doesn't help if you do it to jumpstart your dying career. But if you go nude early in your career, it's out of the way and people will start to offer you more serious roles. If you do it just for the art, of course it helps.
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 11:09:03 PM

probably not, but it is nice to see a titty
Peter Parker writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 11:10:46 PM

It helps some, doesn't help others! DUH!!!!
c-prime writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 11:31:21 PM

"Do you think nude scenes are really that important to a film or are they just a big marketing ploy?"

Well, the prospect of one happening certainly got my ass into "Jennifer's Body", a misleading title if I've ever heard one. 90 excruciating, boobless minutes - Jesus, I had to get off to the green M&M on my candy wrapper, I was so damn bored.
Tyrkae writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 11:59:34 PM

Hell i jerk it to the Green M&M that girl is hot I want to see red and blue tag team that hot ass
Osiris3eagle writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 12:33:17 AM

Ridiculous discussion, of course it doesn't help or hurt their career.

Viggo was nominated because of his excellent acting in Eastern Promises (not to mention perfecting a Russian accent).
c-prime writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 12:39:17 AM

Yeah, I could make a candy-coated baby with her. She's kinda like the Smurfette of the M&M's world. You know why they call them M&M's, don't you? 'Cause it's the sound she can make when my nuts penetrate that thick, outer shell of hers. "MMM-MMM!" Translation: "Melts in your mouth..."

But in all seriousness, I really should sue that movie for false advertising. I mean, I guess it was stupid of me to get my hopes up, but when those photos of her topless on set surfaced, I figured it was a sure thing. It sure would've helped it perform better at the box office.

Then again, seeing this go down as a colossal fail for Diablo Cody is pretty refreshing. Perhaps the buzz that's engulfed her fledgling career will simmer and fade. Megan Fox's boobs versus Diablo Cody flop? Hmmm, it's big a win-win from my standpoint.
c-prime writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 12:41:10 AM

"Viggo was nominated because of his excellent acting in Eastern Promises (not to mention perfecting a Russian accent)."

Excellent point.
rabid writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 1:12:28 AM

never seen it hurt anyone's career.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 1:56:52 AM

Women should appear nude in movies. That's why God gave them breasts. (there... that should piss off a few!).
manichispanic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:03:26 AM

you're asking these dudes? ;)
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:04:00 AM

Hey... if I had tits, I'd never leave the house!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:15:06 AM

Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 1:56:52 AM

I'm going to remember you said that the next time Rosie O'Donnell decides to take it all/mostly off for an acting role.
Rosalie writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:52:20 AM

manichispanic said:

"you're asking these dudes? ;)"

LOL!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:32:55 AM

@Horror & Rosalie - lol!
rocketman writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:49:17 AM

course it helps,do women you owe it to cinema!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:04:30 AM

And male or female... I'm a lesbian!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:17:52 AM

And whether appearing nude hurts an actresses career or not, I don't think is as important that they at least go for it and give it a shot... every movie they're in, until they're told otherwise. But that's just me.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:24:58 AM

And how about some more Va-j-Jay shots too?!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:27:37 AM

And butt shots?! Yeah... MORE butt shots too!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:38:38 AM

And more girl on girl on ferrets on girl action!
rocketman writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:52:09 AM

wet t-shirts help if its a PG,no excuse imo
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:58:39 AM

Wet thongs are a good as well.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:59:14 AM

(on the floor... at the foot of my bed).
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:04:44 AM

And James Cameron should get crackin' on 'Scratch n' Sniff TV!' soonest!

(but have a default disable during a Lohan flick)!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:22:35 AM

They should have a NEW special movie rating to let us know in advance that we can expect to see breasts pressed up against the camera lenses!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:22:58 AM

Like... 'Rated - T'
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:28:23 AM

Then maybe a sub-rating to identify the size of the breast cup being pressed against the camera lenses. Like... 'Rated - T36FF' That works for me.

I want to see breasts on the screen that need training wheels!

But do I think this would hurt an actresses 'career'? No... not as much as her back would get hurt hauling about a set of 33FF's! But that's not my problem.
rocketman writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:30:36 AM

not so sure about scratch n sniff TV,some of the films i watch will have my front room smelling like Fleetwood Docks
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:33:09 AM

Halle Berry in Swordfish had a nice, pert, little set of... berries (that you could dial a phone with). Didn't cream... whoops (giggle)... 'seem' to hurt her career.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:35:26 AM

@rocketman - or Lindsay Lohan at low tide. Icky-poo.
rocketman writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:43:25 AM

lol,watch mean girls,leave the window open and then check out all the cats in the back yard wondering whos cookin kippers
Sonic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 7:19:24 AM

If it helps do it.
J_e_f writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:09:46 AM

I doubt it helps careers (although it's always good publicity). It may show that a respectable actress or actor will do anything to make a performance more genuine.
If it's done in a tasteful way and fitting for the scene and character I don't see any problem in it. But if it's not necessary and over the top it can harm the performance and the movie.
lost_addict writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:11:15 AM

I don't know what the hell this post is about...I lost my attention when i looked at the photo...
worstcommenter writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:24:33 AM

Congratulations, you've got me to register on this site to say that Showgirls was a great movie.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:49:03 AM

All depends on the actress, what role, the plot and if, AND ONLY IF, the nudity moves the story... or my penis.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:06:11 AM

Kathy Bates in About Schmidt..... Pretty sure that hurt everyone's career, even mine!
Eben1277 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:18:29 AM

Guitar dudester, truer wisdom could not have been applied to the topic. Tho only nude scene more heinous than that one was the Jessica Tandy one in the Directors Cut Blu Ray of Batteries not Included. There's a reason that sh*t didn't make the theatrical release
Eben1277 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:20:16 AM

What did Harvey Keitel's swingin' d*ck do to advance the plot of Bad Lietenant?
Ranma-Irias writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 10:57:55 AM

It doesn't help them but it helps me getting a hard one!
triggax writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 11:30:02 AM

Ranger, you make me feel DIRTY just reading your comments.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:19:38 PM

Flatterer.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:19:58 PM

@rocketman - re: kippers... LOL!
Coasterkid345 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:35:32 PM

It's probably just me, but I kinda liked The Island. But yes, Scarlett Jo nude would have bumped it up 3 or 4 stars in my book.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:05:40 PM

i'll just say it like it is....yes it does help...SOME of them...not ALL of them...would you guys watch lindsay lohan nude?...and then there's that time where these actresses say they wish they hadn't ever gone nude for any movie
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:12:16 PM

Honestly and seriously, I don't care.
Hollywood butts are not even the icing of a cake. If you look at any porn from the perspective of filming - there's more in one porn movie than all the history of sex at the medical school.
With the net - you can see anything - and I mean ANYTHING. So, I'm supposed to be influenced that a movie is good because I see Angelina Jolie's nipple? Get real!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:12:55 PM

Lohan... no (unless she was cutting... HAWT!).

But this thread is about ACTRESSES, and someone above posted about Harvey Keitel's d*ck swinging around... UGH!

THX. FOR THE VISUAL!!!
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:19:45 PM

Ranger, I love you dude....in a totally hetero way of course hahaha
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:23:26 PM

LOL... thx. Adam.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:47:28 PM

Why the f*ck are we 'discussing' THIS(?!?) when Roman Polanski was just arrested in Switzerland on his 1978 US warrant?!?!?

Break that news already- shiiiiiiiat!
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 4:53:47 PM

Awwww... really?! Roman was just having fun.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:06:12 PM

With NUDITY!

Which is what this thread is all about my friend!
gummijoker writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:16:26 PM

Well i dont know about the career of the actresses but I LOVE IT
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:38:06 PM

Roman Holliday?
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:03:31 PM

I think as the article states it depends on the movie. Sometimes it is very important to a movie and/or an actor or actress' career. But sometimes it just looks like tasteless crap.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:08:14 PM

Actually after giving it another thought I think that it can help for male or female's. But people find it more acceptable if it's female, for some reason male nudity seems to make people incomfortable. So I think it would be easier for it to help a female's career than a guy's.Me, I don't care, it doesn't bother me, to see any body part. If you have it, (like for me tits, vagina) it shouldnt' bother you, and if you're going to see a movie that has nudity I'm guessing you seen the opposite sex's "parts" so I wouldn't see why it would bother you.
Armpit writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:12:34 AM

...and the correct answer ladies and germs is that going nude on the screen changes nothing.
Look at Berry - her little nipples smaller than a ten cent... She later starred in the X-Men and a multitude of good movies as well as a multitude of bombs - Catwoman...then she was a Bond girl...
It's not so much the tits or ass - but more the movie. People have become a little blazé by the selling of a product through sex.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:24:49 AM

I'd watch a Lindsay Lohan nude scene, if it was the Lindsay Lohan from Mean Girls, who at the time was only about the hottest chick on the face of the Earth, or any other planet for that matter
TRUEMAN writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:45:33 AM

More tits pls (.)(.) and fix the photo of Halle i want to see tits!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:59:37 AM

this is stupid: of course it does! tits & ass!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:04:06 PM

and dont worry everyone, Scarlett will be naked one day - its only a matter of time.
Armpit writes:
on September 29th, 2009 at 10:00:57 AM

Actually, if the movie takes places in a nudist camp - being naked will help the actress. On the other hand - when they do "The Thing" remake - which takes place in the snow - it's better that the actress was not naked.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved