WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Venom" Spin-Off is Moving Forward

Posted: September 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Venom" Spin-Off is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
"Spider-Man 4" is currently in pre-production and Sony Pictures is planning two more future installments. And which all that going on, the studio is still pursuing the "Venom" spin-off.

"Zombieland" co-writer Paul Wernick spoke to Sci-Fi wire about their work on the "Venom" script. "We've written two drafts of Venom, and the studio has it," said Wernick. "They're pushing forward in whatever ways they push forward."

There is a chance that the new "Spider-Man" movie could set up the "Venom" spin-off. But when the writer was asked about the relationship between the two films, he was tight-lipped. "We can't really talk about that, unfortunately," he said. "Basically, the studio and Marvel and the Arads are taking our drafts and going beyond and figuring out what's the next step."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RedSmile writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:18:36 PM

Interesting...Hopefully won't be a huge upset like Spider-Man 3.
OneTime writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:28:51 PM

lame
minkowski writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:32:26 PM

"They're pushing forward in whatever ways they push forward."

Whatever. Beat it till it dies. I don't give a sh*t anymore.
dandythelion writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:09:19 PM

oh well, what's the use in complaining.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:13:46 PM

this movies gonna suck balls. its gonna be Catwoman all over again. if they go really dark with him fighting carnage,it mite have a chance. they should just bring him back for a sequel, be evil for a bit,maybe along witn carnage til he realizes the big threat he is.then set up for a spin off. its hard to do a spinoff when u kill the character off.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:20:24 PM

'"Venom" Spin-Off is Moving Forward'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exli6rGldBc
minkowski writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:51:16 PM

Venom = Box Office poison.
vwkombi writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:06:24 PM

This is one of those film ideas that will either never happen, or suck.

I don't see why it has to be a spin-off, just give the creature his own stand-alone movie.
Nkariunas writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:16:50 PM

I know why, one of the writers scripts evolves the black,alien symboite tracing to cletus cassidy/carnage then to venom
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:31:38 PM

I'm getting tired of spin-offs, the usually suck. Spin-offs and just continuing to make sequels even when they suck are just pointless. (i'm not talking about movies that were a book series first, even if not my thing at least they make sense for the most part.)
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:39:13 PM

I don't see Venom having the fan base required to make this fly (sorry Venom fans... he doesn't have the decades behind him Spidey does). And I don't think he's a strong enough 'stand alone' character (I have those same thoughts about 'The Hulk'... and look at his box office failings, and he DID have decades of readers).

Venom = don't even bother.
rabid writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 1:35:49 AM

This could be a pretty decent film if they use his last limited series as an outline. Venom is captured after a battle with Spidey and contained by the government. They keep him on a research base in the Arctic doing experiments on him, trying to clone him. He breaks free and possesses people a la John Carpenter's The Thing.
Writing him back to life is probably a neccessity for Spiderman 6, if they're really going to do the Sinister Six.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 3:48:08 AM

hmm...i look at 'venom spin off moving forward' as something either incredibly vivid and great (which is highly likely to be, given my best educated decision on comic movies being good like the cartoons) or otherwise, in the words of J. Jonah Jameson, it'll be 'crap....CRAP....megacrap...i'll give you 200 bucks for all of em' haha
Eben1277 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 8:12:23 AM

I will be drinking if I go see a Venom spin-off, I will actually drink until my hairy back meets my beer gut
evildeadroolz writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 10:50:48 AM

Long lurker, first poster...

On topic, Venom movie? No thx. Seems like a money grab off of a series that is sorta hanging in the balance as it is after the third one was kinda panned by everyone ya know? Hopefully it doesn't stink...
acslaterson writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 1:43:00 PM

Oh, and this movie is going to be f*cking retarded if they make it. They won't be able to use Eddie Brock and Mac Gargan has yet to be introduced.
Gates writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 2:02:22 PM

First there will be a spin-off... then a reboot of the spin-off... and then a remake of the original spin-off.. and then they will make a spin-off from the remake.
FBO writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 2:12:18 PM

I am sure they already planned away to use Brock, I am sure the movie won't be good, but it might be better than Transformers 2 or Wolverine.
rabid writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 2:14:41 PM

They could still use Brock. The symbiote heals its wearer from any wounds, so there's a good chance he could still make it, even with the burst open ribs.

But really, all they need to do is stick Eddie Brock in a coma dying from his injuries, and have the hostless symbiote escape its captors to get back to Brock's body and heal him. The man has died at least twice in the comic that I recall, and he always comes back. They all do.
thedotsays writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 3:28:09 PM

@Ranger Very true. And not only is the fanbase lacking, Spiderman, Hulk, Ironman, X-Men, were all marketing favorites. I don't see kids going to school with Venom backpacks or McDonald's / Burger King / Wendy's running some kid's meal tie-in for Venom. Hell even as dark as the Nolan Batman series has been, it was still a marketing coup. I just don't see that happening with Venom. My wife's in advertising and she says Venom relatively unmarketable to kids and to even attempt it would be ridiculous. You would have to kid him down to aim it at children and it would end up alienaiting the older set which is more Venom's territory. You just can't market a villain on his own.
Persoanlly, I think they should just do this as a stand alone. Don't set it up in the Spiderman movies and go with completely different actors, director etc. In order for a Venom movie to be relavant in my opinion, it needs to distance itself from the Spiderman flicks and the Sam Raimi campiness they portray.
Ranger writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:01:35 PM

@theDot - good post. I agree. I mean... I'm a comic book collector from way back. Venom was after my day. And like you (your wife) says, Venom with kids (they may like it, even if they did, their parents wouldn't). I wish (really wish) the Industry didn't think anything comic book is movie material. Even The Hulk with his 40 years in print is a push. But, Iron Man, Captain America, Spidey... and Superman (if they can ever get off their collective asses!)... all good, strong characters.

@trig - I know EXACTLY which posts have been deleted (some were even mine). And I (honestly, sincerely) don't blame WP for a second. They were off-topic. I don't think WP gives a rats ass about debate on here (what would this site be without it). But personal slams back and forth continually and off-topic has been CLEARLY expressed to us all. The posts deleted (edited) should have been.
thedotsays writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 11:18:08 PM

@Ranger, so as a fellow comic book enthusiast, how would you feel about a live action film on The Authority? (if you're familiar with the series)
rabid writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 1:14:04 AM

I'd be highly interested in seeing an Authority movie... so long as it was rated R. It's not much of a concept once you remove the ultraviolence and sexual innuendo.
timex89 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 1:30:03 AM

Don't really care about this franchise anyways, but hopefully they'll portray him as a VILLAIN and NOT as a COWARD or WEAKLING.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 1:53:01 AM

@thedot - thx. for asking, but The Authority was after my days as a collector (but, I'll look it up).
lost_addict writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:12:17 AM

breaking news:Reboot of the yet unamde venom spin-off is on the works!
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:50:10 AM

great.... i can see in 10 years, we'll look back at this and laaaaaaaaaauuuuugh.
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:22:47 PM

Can't they do a prequel about Uncle Ben instead?
No, seriously - they're sh*tting us - right?
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:29:07 PM

will it be topher grace again?...he wasn't even that big of an actor before playing venom...the least they could have done was pick somebody who was more built...i mean who knows if topher grace is even built now...still wouldn't mean he was right for the part
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:46:09 PM

Bah - cgi - fast food movie - Venom will be the "good villain". Bad villain will have some memorable/unmemorable death = fall off on fire from a building and a pavement machine goes over him. Finis.
Little plastic Venoms at McDonalds, kid bike at Toy's R Us, video game rushed because it will sell if it has Venom name stamped on it, rock soundtrack, score soundtrack, official movie book, special Marvel comic book adaptation... Oh - Jesus W. Bush... I wanted to go on a trip on the space shuttle but when I learned that they were coming back I changed my mind.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 5:27:20 PM

I hope topher grace doesn't come back
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 6:53:50 PM

They could use Rosie O'Donnel for Venom though and save by having minimal make-up.
Ranger writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 8:48:59 PM

Yep... and costume. Just put her in a black tent and she's good to go.
Armpit writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 9:29:05 AM

Black tent? You thought I was talking about a baby whale. I'm talking about that fat lesbian Rosie O'Donnel - we need a black f*cken parachute.
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 8:27:54 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved