WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Will the Creatures Look in Robert Rodriguez's "Predators"?

Posted: September 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Will the Creatures Look in Robert RodriguezSubmit Comment
The Predators in "Alien vs Predator" look very different from what Stan Winston created for the original 1987 film. The producers wanted to go into a new direction and didn't ask Winston to be part of the movie that combined creatures from the classic franchises. Maybe that's why the Predator looked like a football player.

To find out what the Predators will look like in Robert Rodriguez's upcoming version, Moviehole got in touch with Howard Berger, who got his start with Winston, won an Oscar for the first "Chronicles of Narnia" film, and is currently working on the creature design for "Predators."

"We wanted to have the Predator look as it did in the original film," said Berger. "We went back and looked at the original. I actually worked in the shop with Stan Winston on the first film. It was great to be able to go back to the series having not been involved in any of the sequels, and it was also great to be able to make sure we built them as Stan Winston did."

He continued: "They look really fantastic. There's a whole bunch of cool [Predators] in the film, and everyone's going to be very happy that we've been very faithful to the Stan Winston designs. It's out next year. It's shooting very soon."

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:30:20 PM

Going with Stan Winston's original ideas is a welcome return of sanity in an otherwise insane industry. Not that I expect Rodriguez to deliver anything but one frame of gore after another, but at least it's a slap in Paul WS Anderson's face.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:33:35 PM

The problem I have with RR is he purposefully craps out the digital shortcuts. Sure it's cheaper- but grow a set of balls already and stop cutting corners at every turn. You have a major franchise now and tons of money to throw at the production- so stop the short cuts and keep it practical.

If you make this in your garage you're a f*ckhead.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:52:17 PM

Finally a Predator film where the ugly p*ssy face is the star and not the director.
Ari Gold writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:58:44 PM

Imagine a predator giving you a blow job..
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:03:23 PM

^^I'd rather not imagine what Michael Jackson would to to me if I was a little boy.
autiger10 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:52:47 PM

more like Jocelyn Wildenstein
http://www.topsocialite.com/the-15-worst-celebrity-plastic-surgery-disasters-you-will-ever-see/
#2
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:58:36 PM

They should go back to the original pink crab-monster look that they were gonna use on the first movie back when Van Damme was gonna play the Predator
holtlt writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:41:16 PM

Hollywood owns BIG to Stan Winston, such unique arts he made
CCBlev writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:50:52 PM

as long as they go back to the original look and keep that bastard Paul. w Anderson away from it, i'll be happy
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:42:49 PM

Looks like Lohan in the morning.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:44:08 PM

"Imagine a predator giving you a blow job.."

LOL. I read that and forgot this was about the 'Predator' reboot.
fuller45 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:00:20 PM

Mink, you're an idiot, get off this board and go outside in the sunlight.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:12:48 PM

Man, you've got all kinds of clever things to say, don't you?
RickPeters writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:40:30 PM

I have to agree, as entertaining as Rodriguez's movies can be, they all have a sort of..."cheap" look and feel to them. Which works for a lot of his stories.
But not for Predator. That was one of many issues with Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem; it had a very low-budget look and feel, but not in a good way.

If he spends some money, and has a half-way decent plot that isn't just a rehash of the first two (and doesn't rely on a the gimmick of multiple Predators for a whole movie) he might be able to make something entertaining.

I have higher hopes for this than I do for the Alien prequel, despite the fact that Ridley Scott is directing it. I just think there's a better chance for a better story to be told.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 8:48:21 AM

My suggestion is that he should model the creature with Paul Reubens when he played Pee Wee. BUT, my opinion if anyone cared is that Rhett Butler said it better - Frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn.
Hitodama writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:05:04 AM

This is good news. When I first saw 'Aliens VS Predator' I was immediately put off by the roided out look of the Predators. My friends thought I was just being fussy about it all, but I kept saying " why have they made them all football players with teddy bear eyes?" I'ma show them this article today... lol.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:11:07 AM

What I really don't get is why there was never a GOOD Predator 3 movie done. First one was ok, but Arnie in it bothered me a little - it was like they had two concepts in it. Arnie who's a supersoldier and then Pred who's a sci-fi/slasher movie.
Then came Predator 2 - I found that it was really good - but I'm probably not the majority. It was fun to have Glover and blondie from Lethal Weapon pair. Then the end, when we see they have souvenir from all ages was cool. So, why didn't 3 happen? Now - a - ugh - remake - can we just fry Rodriguez's balls instead? He ate one worm too much from the tequila bottle.
Nkariunas writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:24:13 PM

Also, a good direction to go is if they use the same elements in the firstpredator such as the team of marines and the predators themesleves, but they also use stan winston's visual effect techniques.
rabid writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 12:47:43 PM

Predator 2 was not only an excellent film, but it set up a third film perfectly and introduced the idea of them being long-time visitors to eart.
So there's really no set time a Predator movie has to take place in. You could concievably have a Predator hunting Jesus.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:47:11 PM

I find Predator and the sequel are on par with each other. The sequel took ALOT of flack back when it came out but you have to take into account that the second pushed the R rating so incredibly far for the 90's.

Some people were really put off by the sadistic violence. The first was survival- Alien mixed The Most Dangerous Game- the sequel was voodoo murders and full frontal male nudity...

It's only now that most of society is desensitized and can overlook that as commonplace, but back when it was first released Predator 2 made A LOT of people uncomfortable.

Glover gets criticized for taking over for Arnold, but I found the suspense was upped a notch by the fact that Glover was mostly just a normal guy with a normal build.

Predator has ALWAYS had the better story and its due to the fact that the "villain" always formed a respect for its prey and enjoyed fair combat...

AVP didnt have that aspect. That's why it sucked. Predators in AVP merely served as the starting point to whatever weird blade or boomerang zipped into passed camera screen.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved