WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Mamet's "Anne Frank" Film Scared Disney

Posted: September 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David MametSubmit Comment
About a month ago, Walt Disney Pictures announced that it has acquired the rights to "The Diary of Anne Frank" and has hired David Mamet (Heist, Spartan) to direct and write the script. The story would be Mamet's own original take on the material.

Now, after taking a look at what Mamet has in mind, Disney is trying to get rid of the project. "It's very intense, and dark and scary," said a Disney executive. "It's not a film version of 'The Diary of Anne Frank.' The story evolved into something more intense."

Apparently, the screenplay that Mamet wrote is not a retelling of the famous Holocaust drama taken from the diaries of Frank, but a contemporary Jewish girl who goes to Israel and learns about the traumas of suicide bombing. In fact, the whole premise is an exploration of anti-semitism set in modern times.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:29:53 PM

SO....did Mamet just do it out of spite knowing Disney would never make this film. Because when you get paid to adapt a book its not hard to follow the book...seems like Mamet took the money and ran, and with the hype Disney is producing for him for free he'll be able to shop the story around.

Why the hell would Disney make an Anne Frank movie anyways? You can't merchandise the poor girl- Jesus. Good for Mamet if he saw through that crap.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:35:35 PM

I have to wonder if that very frightened, starving lonely little girl, hiding from the obliterating goosesteps of Satan's army ever thought for a moment her name would translate into a money grab for a company started by a guy that didn't like Jews.
borat writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:44:57 PM

anne frank i thought her name was helen keller
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:16:38 PM

@mink

well said.

The story of Anne Frank needs to be told to people around the world, so we can learn about how dark and evil humanity can become, but it should never be profit machine, it ain't respectful!
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:18:07 PM

Actually I'd like to see a truly biographical film about Anne Frank, since we've recently discovered that the diaries were mostly fraudulent. She was a real girl and she kept a diary, but it's said that much of it is fiction.
metathought writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:22:30 PM

I want to read/see this.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:22:39 PM

"The original diary, including letters and loose sheets, were willed to the Dutch Institute for War Doc*mentation,[68] who commissioned a forensic study of the diary through the Netherlands Ministry of Justice in 1986. They examined the handwriting against known examples and found that they matched, and determined that the paper, glue and ink were readily available during the time the diary was said to have been written. Their final determination was that the diary is authentic, and their findings were published in what has become known as the "Critical Edition" of the diary. On 23 March 1990, the Hamburg Regional Court confirmed its authenticity."
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:37:31 PM

Like I said, there is an actual diary and letters. But it was rewritten twice before its widest publication. The original writer sued him for royalty negligence when the book became a hit. The father settled out of court with the writer for a few hundred grand in 60's
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:47:11 PM

"a contemporary Jewish girl who goes to Israel and learns about the traumas of suicide bombing. In fact, the whole premise is an exploration of anti-semitism set in modern times. "

Man, Remember when disney movies were about cartoon mice?
otis writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:51:55 PM

Knowing Mamet as well as I think I know Mamet, and knowing Disney as well as I know Disney, I feel like I know who the liberal is. That partnership is like Mother Goose and Rumpelstilskin doing the deed outside on the pavement in broad daylight. I'm sure his script has a little bit of drugs, cursing, and sexual ambiguity, with a dollop of sexism thrown in. And that's just Anne Frank. We haven't talked about when she leaves for Israel.

I dunno. Knew the project was doomed in the conception. Mamet's too down-to-earth. I get that, Disney.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:19:44 PM

"The first transcription of Anne's diary was made by Otto Frank for his relatives in Switzerland. The second, a composition of Anne Frank's rewritten draft, excerpts from her essays, and scenes from her original diaries, became the first draft submitted for publication, with an epilogue written by a family friend explaining the fate of its author."

You claimed that most of the diaries are fraudulent, a forgery, when in fact they are not. They were transcribed and rewritten from the original rough drafts. That doesn't make them a 'forgery' or 'fraudlulent'.

The only people that claim Anne Frank's diary is a forgery are Holocaust deniers.

Are you a holocaust denier, Rabid?
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:25:00 PM

hey look at me, I'm Minkowski and I know how to copy and paste!

I never said the diaries weren't real, just that some of the events and people were embellished to make a story that sells. You know, kind of like Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:26:22 PM

"The original writer sued him for royalty negligence when the book became a hit. The father settled out of court with the writer for a few hundred grand in 60's"

I can find no record whatsoever of this claim, Rabid. Can you provide a link? I would appreciate it.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:36:02 PM

No you said:

we've recently discovered that the diaries were mostly fraudulent. She was a real girl and she kept a diary, but it's said that much of it is fiction.

Mostly fraudulent, much of it is fiction. Anything that's mostly fraudulent is essentially a forgery. So, basically you're talking sh*t without backing up your claims.

And are you a Holocaust denier?
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:38:53 PM

you're a dumbass who just likes to copy/paste argue. go find your own links. I read literature and history books, not right-wing opinion websites like infowars. That's your arena.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:41:02 PM

"I never said the diaries weren't real, just that some of the events and people were embellished to make a story that sells."

Bullsh*t. You never said 'some', you said mostly. And you didn't say 'embellished' you said fraudulent. I'm going to take you to task on this one. And you deserve it.

In FACT, the original doc*ments, located at the Simon Weisenthal museum, were verified as authentic. The events, those that are historical in nature, were verified.

No, we cannot verify any of th events that occurred inside the Annex, but we can corroborate external events with those in the diary. This has been done.

Rabid, you sound like that racist Simon Sheppard. Are you him?
holtlt writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:43:33 PM

C'mon we're talking about Mamet here, he always write into the crude reality.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:43:48 PM

"you're a dumbass who just likes to copy/paste argue. go find your own links. I read literature and history books, not right-wing opinion websites like infowars. That's your arena"

Ok. I understand. You never answered my questions, but that's cool. I expected no better.

So: Can you name the literature/history book that makes the claims you mentioned? So I can look them up or check my personal library?
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:52:56 PM

A young, scared, cute Jew hiding in an attic?

Sounds kinda HOT!
c-prime writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:01:58 PM

Ha ha ha! f*cking "A", Ranger! Right on!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:10:03 PM

lol.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:30:28 PM

two things i didnt understand about this article are: why is disney so surprised that its a dark and intense movie?-what where they expecting? and y is it that the movie version has nothing to do with anne frank?-why could they just make this movie a "exploration of anti-semitism set in modern times" and make the anne frank movie later?
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:35:28 PM

Disney is just pissed because they can't figure out a way to make an Anne Frank ride at DisneyWorld after the movie comes out.

Greedy bastards!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:36:02 PM

I haven't seen a director stray so far away from the companies intention's since Ed Wood f*cked up 'Glen or Glenda'
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:05:07 PM

I could see the Anne Frank story making a really good sequel to Dead Snow.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:10:59 PM

You've got to be the most tasteless, dishonest f*cker on here, Rabid. First you deny the legitimacy of the Anne Frank diaries, then you joke that a film, where a woman is hunted down by Nazis and eventually eaten by a werewolf, would make a 'good sequel'.

How does a piece of sh*t like you sleep at night?

And I'm sure Ranger will chime in. I mean, f*ck, what's funnier than making jokes at the expense of a young woman sent to a Nazi gas chamber? Huh?

I'd like to send your ass to death, watch you cry like a baby and piss your pants. Piece of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:15:39 PM

U go gurl!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:17:50 PM

'A young, scared, cute Jew hiding in an attic?'

Sounds like a night at my place 2 Friday's ago.
rabid writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:25:11 AM

Minkowski, that's alot of talk coming from a guy who uses a pic of Corey Haim as his avatar.
minkowski writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:51:56 AM

Right. And you're the guy with the monkey avatar.

So why don't you drop the ad hominem and answer my questions. Come on, genius. You make these remarks, so why not back them up with some facts?
lost_addict writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 1:35:47 AM

wtf is Mamet doing?he should do another house of games/spanish prisoner twist movie!!!those were his best...and please leave your f*cking wife out of the movie this time...
VDODSON writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 3:05:05 AM

Rabid, you were owned by Mink. And for the record, your sounding more and more like a holocaust denier. Get out, ya racist bastard.
TGDirector writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 4:12:38 AM

Dude, Mink. You should've just punched Rabid like I did in the "Deadpool" news thread.

The guy's a f*cking moron that can't do sh*t worth to argue his case and instead think that "trying" to insult you would win the arguement.

Oh and I put the quotations around "trying" because you just suck at insulting people. Even worse is that the none of us are easily insulted because were actually f*cking worth something unlike Rabid.

Shut your f*cking pie-hole Rabid before you say anything more stupid and before you get yourself killed.

As for the article. Don't really care what Disney has to say. I mean yeah if the guy writes something they want him to write, great.

But now they're tossing him off, okay? Shouldn't have trailed away from the original cartoons that made Disney what it is today.

In fact, they should've stuck with that.
pomme writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 6:27:55 AM

sh*t! that must be a good script!
SACdaddy writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 8:42:15 AM

What the f*ck is Disney doing with David Mamet? The guy's a good arthouse director who's movies have never made more than a couple of bucks here and there. I love his movies but what possible interest could the suits at Disney have in someone so unprofitable. They're probably pissed because WWII and Holocaust films usually (eventually) make a ton of money. The Pianist made $120mill (worldwide) on a $35mill budget. And of course, Spielbeg's Schindler's List made $321mill on a $22mill budget! I guarantee that's what Disney wants. Take away the Nazis and you just got another limited release Mamet box office flop.

Is The Diary of Anne Frank still required reading in US school system or did they ban it like Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer?
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:19:31 AM

What's wrong with that?
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:33:41 AM

No Mamet film should ever be made- the man is a playwright- nothing else.
VDODSON writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:36:50 AM

Mamet is a badass, the dialouge used in his movie Spartan was ground breaking. The story was well paced, great acting, and well though out violence. It was just a all around great movie.
VDODSON writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:37:36 AM

dialogue
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:38:35 AM

Rabid- Mink has you-you're done. You have nothing but hate and lies Rabid. That will convince more weak minded cowards like yourself- Does your faith in lies justify your goals?
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:42:06 AM

"Minkowski, that's alot of talk coming from a guy who uses a pic of Corey Haim as his avatar."

I'd change your monkey avatar before throwing that poop above Rabid...
Thanks for proving that not all anti-semites are fundamentalists
VDODSON writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 10:48:39 AM

Mamet is a badass, the dialouge used in his movie Spartan was ground breaking. The story was well paced, great acting, and well though out violence. It was just a all around great movie.
rabid writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:48:05 AM

Who the f*ck's an anti-semite? My girlfriend is jewish. Minkowski just likes to throw accusations of racism at anyone he disagrees with because he's a mental child. He should start an internet debate team for the special olympics.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:43:29 PM

Rabid-
Stick with what you know. And be a man and be able to admit to things you don't.
TGDirector writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 4:32:57 PM

"Who the f*ck's an anti-semite? My girlfriend is jewish. Minkowski just likes to throw accusations of racism at anyone he disagrees with because he's a mental child. He should start an internet debate team for the special olympics."


Right...and he accused you of something racist when you were the one who did first?

Weren't you the guy who actually got all pissed off because he was copying and pasting the stupid sh*t you wrote? And then correcting and making you look even stupider?

Ya know, he's just doing you a favor Rabid. You already look and say thing REALLY stupid. But now he's just trying to help out your stupidity by giving it more publicity.

Good job, you're WorstPreviews dumbest piece of sh*t next to a bunch of others.

I don't know what place you're in though..

As for the article on Anne Frank, Disney should've known what they were getting into before they hired the guy. If they knew anything of his work and hired him for it. They should've known that this was gonna happen.

Now Hammet has something to market.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 4:33:09 PM

Anne Frank- Hide and seek world champ 1942-1944
rabid writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 12:44:29 PM

I bet you think Washington chopped down a cherry tree too.
Mink's just pissed at me because I'm black, and he hates African-Americans.
rabid writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 12:45:17 PM

Hey, what's brown and stays in an attic?

The Diarrhea of Anne Frank.
FBO writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 2:21:35 PM

Wait, why the hell would a movie like that be called Anne Frank? Does Mamet understand that if you have an original idea you don't have to name it after someone else's ideas?
FBO writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 2:30:57 PM

please don't use the race card rapid, it isn't an intellectual arguement
rabid writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:12:49 PM

no, it was sarcasm.
mingekowski called me a racist first, I was returning the favor.
Randal Graves writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 2:49:09 PM

@Rabid- "I never said the diaries weren't real, just that some of the events and people were embellished to make a story that sells."

Have you ever read the book? it's all about how she is sitting around in an attic. If the publishers wanted to spice it up they would of put in a part about her having a sword cutting nazi's heads off.

Space_Ghost11 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:30:40 PM

ohhh Irony, you never let us down ;D
japaninmotion writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 8:59:21 PM

who would of thought the Diary of Anne Frank would be "It's very intense, and dark and scary,"
what no room for a talking singing diary? still Mamet seemd to go off the mark a bit

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved