WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg to Remake "The Fly"

Posted: September 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg to Remake "The Fly"Submit Comment
David Cronenberg (A History of Violence, Eastern Promises) has revealed that he is developing a reboot of his 1986 sci-fi classic "The Fly," with plans of directing and potentially writing the new film.

His 1986 movie, which is a remake of Kurt Neumann's 1958 film, starred Jeff Goldblum and became a huge hit for Fox, earning $40 million and turning into a phenomenon. It centers on Seth Brundle (Goldblum), an eccentric scientist who, after an experiment with teleportation goes awry, is transformed into a fly.

After making the film, Cronenberg stated that he was not interested in pursuing any more installments. Three years later, 20th Century Fox developed a sequel that Cronenberg was not involved with. It was mostly ignored by the moviegoers.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:50:56 AM

When a visionary filmmaker like Cronenberg is looking at doing remakes, you know the barometer for bullsh*t has hit a record mark.
abhisal writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:59:11 AM

Wasn't the Goldblum movie also a remake? What the f*ck ever happened to originality?
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:02:18 AM

It died the day greed was born.
dandythelion writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:04:59 AM

GOOD this film NEEDS a remake. the Cronenberg film is incredibly dated. I can't wait to see this one.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:06:36 AM

23 years ago is incredibly dated? No, the f*cking Pyramids of Giza are incredibly dated. The fly is just a bit dusty.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:08:04 AM

Oh, you're 18, 'dandythelion'. You probably think 1986 was back when the British invaded Boston.
BrundleFly writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:15:40 AM

The Fly is one of my favourite movies. Why does this keep happening
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:49:21 AM

I thnk the Bullsh*t Barometer hit an all time high when they decided to make an asteroids movie.
Javicon writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:12:22 AM

I'm totally with Mink but still think that Cronenberg won't make a bad movie. And it really worries me that people like dandy actually believe that an 80's film NEEDS a remake
vwkombi writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:14:45 AM

Hay Mink, not all us 18 year olds are blind, cgi loving zombies. Some of us love classic cinema. Cronenbergs The Fly is one of my favourite movies.

But onto the topic at hand, i don't think it's a bad idea that Cronenberg remakes his own films, it beats the hell out of The Fly, starring Shia directed by McG.

Could be interesting.
Mongoloid dad writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:57:56 AM

The sadness, truly comes in my friends, when we rationally accept and look forward to these remakes. F*cks me off way more to know a film maker as talented as Cronenberg is wasting his time remaking something that was so damn perfect the same time round.
He's one of our few deeply original filmmakers, should we really applaud or look forward to The Fly 1 round 2?

F*ck this. I hope tomorrow we get some article saying it's all a rumour
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:03:03 AM

Vincent Price and Captain Crane (from Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea) starred in 1958's Fly (from memory). (was a trilogy or duology - got those on vhs somehwere).
Late 80s or 90s GoldBull starred in the Fly. Spawning a sequel that was simply made of this half-human/fly guy barfing his acid on humans. Had a Walt Disney ending to it.

A remake of a remake - with these days? Mmmm...fly is going to wear a cape and have a secret identity...

Next remake please.
Randal Graves writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:49:43 AM

Is he planning to tell the story from the fly's point of view?
thetheeyecreature writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:51:33 AM

Some stories, like "The Four Feathers", have been filmed several times. I really don't think one needs to be, though. And, with Cronenberg's recent nearly-mainstream successes, doesn't he have better uses for his time?
Carpen7er writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:55:22 AM

What the F**ck is going on ?
Cronenber is probably ill with high fever...
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:58:15 AM

...and when you think about it for a sec - other than $, why would a movie starring Vincent Price need a remake?
Fabian writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:28:35 AM

What the f*ck is up with all these remakes!?!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:46:15 AM

Bring back the Goldblum!!
TheHundreds writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:08:06 AM

Brundlefly! As long as its greater than or equal to being as creepy as the first (or second I guess) I don't have a problem.
DAH1968 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:13:36 AM

If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
Bob82 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:15:45 AM

Allright, I've had it! I usually don't bother too much with remakes or reboots, there are a few examples where they work ("12 Angry Men", "The Departed"), and both movies can co-exist, and other examples that are completely pointless (every horror remake and the list goes on...), but "The Fly"?!?! Come on! I've seen this movie when I was a little boy, got scared, and haven't seen it again until a few months ago when I watched all Cronenberg's films. "The Fly" was at least the only I thought it was untouchable, it was perfect, you can see it now and still feel it was made last year. A masterpiece, no other words for it. So the idea of Cronenberg remaking it sounds like bullsh*t, and I really hope it's bullsh*t!
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:28:53 AM

well back then when they did remakes they didn't f*ck around...and it wasn't like how it was today with remakes....so yea this is bullsh*t...somehow cronenberg either got scammed into a deal for this remake, or he actually thinks he can do better today without jeff goldblum...besides, there's a huge difference between today and 1986, we have better technology...but that doesn't mean average moviegoers will watch this remake sh*t...so now it lies here, people who have appreciated jeff goldblum will probably avoid this one
Blank x2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:31:45 AM

So, a director is remaking a remake he already remade?

Cyborg rape. It's the only thing I could think of.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:36:14 AM

After the original, there were "Return of the Fly"(1959) and "Curse of the Fly"(1965). 'Return' was pretty awesome, never saw 'Curse' though. The 1989 sequel was "The Fly II" with Eric Stoltz and the guy that Goldblum puked on in the '86 movie who had his arm melt off. There might have been a picture of Geena Davis in there too.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:43:06 AM

...here's a little bedtime story for those of you can't sleep tonight.

When buying movies on vhs became somewhat affordable, I got the the original fly movies (that started Price in the first - sequels - mmm - not very good - but it's always been that way too). If you're the least open-minded and you don't mind seeing people using a phone with a cord - once you've seen the original Fly - you don't really need to see that 14th remake. Why do people see it (or donwload it illegaly as in my case)? Because Hollyweird puts millions in publicity and they keep hamering it on our heads that we have to see it. Shows how lambs we are and that we would surely follow the Morlocks signal to their temple (if you see the original version) if it happened...
n/a writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:58:07 AM

Mink- Can I ask how old you are? (just would like to see what movies you had growing up)
triggax writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:58:32 AM

Weird.

How about Naked Lunch next?..

What a crock of sh*t. Remake the fly? How bout I hit you with something instead?

This actually somewhat angers me. What a phenomenal film Cronenbergs take was. What the f*ck is he thinking? He's one of the only directors out there still coming up with high caliber original stories... So, this sucks. This sucks balls.
abhisal writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:58:17 PM

Cronenberg never had the kind of cred he does now after Eastern Promises and History, for him to use it to do this is inexplicable.
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:47:45 PM

awesome... i don't mind he's remaking it. It wasa remake to begin with. And a remake of a ripoff at that.
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:48:50 PM

I'm a huge Cronenberg fan, hence my screen name RABID.
NatG83 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:08:01 PM

I believe in Cronenberg, but this is just bizarre. I always felt the 1986 Fly with Goldblum could withstand the times. It was very well written and imagined. The make-up effects were amazing, and I think that most of the stages of the Brundlefly were believable. I could see remastering the film, but not remaking.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:09:48 PM

Do we really need to see Brundle's c*ck and balls in a jar again? f*ck Cronenberg if he's determined to jump in line with the rest of this Hollyweak bullsh*t. How do you go from Eastern Promises to this?!
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:16:00 PM

I feel so incredibly old. hahaha I remember watching this when I was 4 lol- I have never been able to get the arm wrestling scene out of my head. The snap the scream- probably the first violence I saw onscreen.
Rich k writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:22:52 PM

this is dumb if they remake this, i love jeff goldblum especially in Independence Day.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:24:04 PM

Its good to know that absolutely nothing is sacred in Hollywood anymore. Is Ridley Scott planning to remake Alien anytime soon? I heard Spielberg is dying to remake Gremlins.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:50:30 PM

I was never a Cron fan but I know of his work and that he's a cult fave for many people. I respect the sob as one of the pioneers - Rabitt - with the monkey pic mentionned the "Rabid" pic - saw that one - that was a long time ago - wasn,t it? Filmed in Canada...???
Wether your a fan of Kant, Aristotle, Marx, Kennedy or Cronenberg - there is always a % of sh*t that all these people do. No one swings it out of the park everytime. Not artistically and also - they're are financial considerations involved. Like in this case - the studio is betting that the brand name of the Fly is enough to generate a few trillions. I know that for the die hard feels that he's pulled a David Lee Roth but - that's how it goes - everyone has a price.
eddie499 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:00:58 PM

ENOUGH WITH THE REMAKES ALREADY!!! The movie is great as it is now. Studios could save themselves millions of dollars in production costs and just do a good job of marketing a re-release. I'd pay to see this on the big screen. The same could work for all kinds of old flicks that are on the remake slate.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:15:36 PM

Ed - I agree with you. I think I was clear.
However - screaming "enough of remakes" - you and I - we are not considered dumb enough to be even be called "stupid" by the studios.
If you read anything I wrote - it's not about anything else but dollars. The Fly is a trademark that will sell, the movies haven't been touched for over ten years, Cron's name will give it more weight. The Fly is gonna be flying on the big screen sooner than later.
I would pass a law that 100 years must have gone by before a remake is done or else - it's the electric chair - cable on the balls but it's gonna be tough to have that bill passed.
chiefone writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:48:51 PM

I was 9, when this movie came out
triggax writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:08:47 PM

I guess your d*ck sucking comment got erased, armpit.

Weird.. I must have been hallucinating.
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:25:28 PM

yeah, most of his stuff was filmed in Canada... Nightbreed, Last Night, Crash, Videodrome, maybe all of his stuff.
I heard they're redoing Videodrome too, but the concept would have to be entirely different to make sense in this computer world.... BluRayDrome??
CCBlev writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:56:27 PM

Remake, remakes, remakes. Ok I'm tired of this sh*t already and they aint even f*ckin out yet, I might go see this if they cast Lindsay Lohan as a vitcim, and we get to watch the fly rip her slutty face off
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:45:09 PM

"How about Naked Lunch next?"

I own the blood soaked parrot from 'Naked Lunch'.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:06:49 AM

Once more Trigass comes up with his fantastic touch - you are magic - you're a f*cking Tinkerbell with words.

Not sure about the actor but one day on the pre-religious Operah Winfrey Show, some actor openly said that they were making a movie because they needed to make alterations on their house (like make it bigger or built an annex). So, it's like I said, The Fly = know brand name = sure investment. I sure like that they'd let me invest 100$ in that movie - I'd be rich! Who is really gonna skip The Fly made by Cron?
triggax writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:49:29 PM

Mmm, no no, I clearly remember you saying that you would suck Minks d*ck.

f*cking creep.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 1:37:54 PM

Tri - if you'd be blind instead of stupid it would be a double blessing.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 4:50:48 AM

yea i'd rather see the original and the original remake re-released...another remake is like desperately asking for money for drugs
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:33:02 PM

Remake Videodrome so it isn't a two star movie with 5 star dialogue:

"Long live the new flesh!!!"
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 9:51:28 AM

only if Jeff Goldblum is in it...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 12:26:26 PM

As far as Fly 2 goes, it just dosent exist! Now, I'm glad to hear David Cronenberg wants to re-boot it. f*cking great film! total classic! Go for it!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved