WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?
Jul 11th, 2014
Sony Unveils Trailer for "Ghostbusters" Re-Release
Jul 11th, 2014
Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling Join "The Nice Guys," From "Iron Man 3" Director Shane Black
Jul 11th, 2014
Trailer for Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Jul 10th, 2014
New Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Jul 10th, 2014
Trailer for Reese Witherspoon's "Wild," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 10th, 2014
North Korea Files Complaint with UN to Stop Release of Seth Rogen's "The Interview"
Jul 10th, 2014
New Teaser Video For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Jul 10th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro to Make Small, Black and White Film Before "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 10th, 2014
First Look: Ian McKellen as Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Film
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Clip From Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Action Thriller
Jul 9th, 2014
Alec Baldwin is Head of CIA in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Jul 9th, 2014
Gus Van Sant Replaces Shane Black as Director of "Death Note"
Jul 9th, 2014
Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Jul 9th, 2014
Disney Hires "Transformers" Writer for Live-Action "Dumbo" Movie
Jul 9th, 2014
Ridley Scott is Developing Another Biblical Film, About King David
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Trailer for Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 8th, 2014
Mel Gibson Discusses a Return to Directing
Jul 8th, 2014
First Look: Don Cheadle is Miles Davis in "Miles Ahead" Biopic
Jul 8th, 2014
New Trailer for "Sharknado 2: The Second One"
Jul 8th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller is Here!
Jul 7th, 2014
"Superman Returns" Star Brandon Routh Joins "Arrow" as The Atom
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Jul 7th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" Still Dominating at Box Office
Jul 7th, 2014
Guy Pearce Explains Why He Initially Turned Down "Iron Man 3" Role
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Jul 7th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Adds Two More Actors
Jul 7th, 2014
Four New Posters for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller
Jul 7th, 2014
Kevin Smith Wrote Fake "Batman v Superman" Script and Then Leaked It Online?
Jul 5th, 2014
Stephen Amell Won't Play "Arrow" in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 5th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg to Star in "The Six Million Dollar Man" Sci-Fi Film?
Jul 5th, 2014
Peter Jackson Says "The Hobbit 3" Teaser Trailer is Coming Soon
Jul 4th, 2014
First Photos From "Max Steel" Sci-Fi Film
Jul 4th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New "Popeye" Movie in Development

Posted: September 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New "Popeye" Movie in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
Marvel head Avi Arad recently revealed that studios are hard at work on "Ghost Rider 2," "Fantastic Four" and "Daredevil" reboots and a "Silver Surfer" spin-off. But that's not all that he has planned.

Arad also secured the rights to "Popeye," in hopes of rebooting that franchise as well. But he won't go down the same path that the 1980 film, starring Robin Williams, did. He is instead planning to make it a CGI animated feature.

Popeye the Sailor first appeared in comic strips back in 1929 and went on to be featured in comic books, animated films, video games, hundreds of advertisements and numerous television shows. The character has been around so long that he has entered the public domain in most countries. Unfortunately for Arad, Popeye remain under copyright in the US.

Popeye on "Family Guy":


Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:21:25 AM

NQ WAY
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:23:25 AM

Well, here's a role Shelley Duvall can ace in spades. Again. Like the original was anything but a soapy romp around Liberace's ass.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:35:39 AM

Mix this with another Cocoon sequel and the aliens can scoop up goofy Shelley Duval at the end with their rubber spacecraft and take her to the Hotel Ha-Ha! Nutty Bitch!
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:05:09 AM

I'd rather see a Wimpy movie, where he just bombs around eating hamburgers.
dandythelion writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:08:20 AM

is this also going to be in 3D?
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:09:36 AM

^You're thinking of the HamBurglar film McDonald's Studios is planning for a 2012 release date.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:12:55 AM

is that where Hamburgler robs the Burger Kings treasury?
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:07:39 AM

...I'll reserve sh*tting on this one till I get more info. Popeye was done once in a pre-cgi-era and he was more Williams than Popeye.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:15:27 AM

Bluto as the villian with 'roid rage...Can't wait for the Sweet Pea cameo in the Smurfs movie.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:15:43 AM

WTF?! Why!?
Randal Graves writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:51:54 AM

Yay! Lets Make children's films that are completely irrelevant to todays culture!
WV-Films writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:10:46 AM

I second Randal Graves^^ above me. Makes me wonder how well The Smurfs will do. Then again, Alvin and the Chipmonks did well, so who knows. Also that Family Guy clip is hilarious.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:48:24 PM

THEY have to make it relevant. That's the point. Otherwise you wouldn't have Freddy Kruger - no one kills people in their dreams. And we would have had only airplane movies in 2001.
It's the producer/writer/actor/ect's jobs to make the film have texture, to make people care.
Take Star Trek (60s) they fought Klingons who were the allegory of Russians. They had the Riddler (Frank Gorshin) play the half-white/black face - allegory for racism.
It's not too far fetched to think that Popeye could be relevant in many ways.
However the true goal of telling the story of Popeye is for entertainment (viewer) and $ (for studios & co).
There are many Popeye collectors out there - you might be suprised.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:56:47 PM

"I'll gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today"....addiction at its funniest.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:20:04 PM

I don't know how many bazillions Wall-E made but if I had come up with the concept of a story about an automatic garbage pick-up machine that's for kids I'd have been bashed. Yet...
I guess it's all about timing, looks, trends... Batman 2 is the second movie that made money in history and Batman 3 may suck for all we know (in dollars).
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:27:54 PM

Nice! the original Popeye movie pulled it off perfectly, but modern FX could make it a whole new story... and kids these days need an introduction to popeye.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:56:30 AM

Eh??? The original Popeye pulled it perfectly???
Popeye who didn't like spinaches, the whole movie who looked like fiddler on the roof? I was waiting to see Terence Stamp come to rescue Bluto... Williams as Popeye didn't look like Popeye - he looked like Williams imitating Popeye. Did I miss something???
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:28:32 PM

robin williams popeye was brilliant
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 1:40:03 PM

Well, Kill, I respect what you say. It's your opinion. Really.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:00:39 AM

well that's fine with me...cuz a live-action remake is nothing more than disappointing already, and at least it wouldn't royally f*ck us like that so hey, way to go!
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:02:20 PM

I think in this case it's way much more than a remake (if the project is greenlit). It would be a total different universe. I would hope that writers would respect the original material. A little like the first Flintstones' movie.

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Steven Seagal Will Never Join "The Expendables" Franchise, Wonders Why Liam Neeson is in Action Films

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Vin Diesel Creating Problems on "Fast and Furious 7" Set

Description of Lex Luthor's Look in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Guy Pearce Comments on "Iron Man 3" Mandarin Twist

Kevin Smith Says Leaked List of Warner Bros' Planned Superhero Films is Correct

Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Justice League"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved