WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New "Popeye" Movie in Development

Posted: September 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New "Popeye" Movie in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
Marvel head Avi Arad recently revealed that studios are hard at work on "Ghost Rider 2," "Fantastic Four" and "Daredevil" reboots and a "Silver Surfer" spin-off. But that's not all that he has planned.

Arad also secured the rights to "Popeye," in hopes of rebooting that franchise as well. But he won't go down the same path that the 1980 film, starring Robin Williams, did. He is instead planning to make it a CGI animated feature.

Popeye the Sailor first appeared in comic strips back in 1929 and went on to be featured in comic books, animated films, video games, hundreds of advertisements and numerous television shows. The character has been around so long that he has entered the public domain in most countries. Unfortunately for Arad, Popeye remain under copyright in the US.

Popeye on "Family Guy":


Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:21:25 AM

NQ WAY
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:23:25 AM

Well, here's a role Shelley Duvall can ace in spades. Again. Like the original was anything but a soapy romp around Liberace's ass.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:35:39 AM

Mix this with another Cocoon sequel and the aliens can scoop up goofy Shelley Duval at the end with their rubber spacecraft and take her to the Hotel Ha-Ha! Nutty Bitch!
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:05:09 AM

I'd rather see a Wimpy movie, where he just bombs around eating hamburgers.
dandythelion writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:08:20 AM

is this also going to be in 3D?
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:09:36 AM

^You're thinking of the HamBurglar film McDonald's Studios is planning for a 2012 release date.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:12:55 AM

is that where Hamburgler robs the Burger Kings treasury?
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:07:39 AM

...I'll reserve sh*tting on this one till I get more info. Popeye was done once in a pre-cgi-era and he was more Williams than Popeye.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:15:27 AM

Bluto as the villian with 'roid rage...Can't wait for the Sweet Pea cameo in the Smurfs movie.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:15:43 AM

WTF?! Why!?
Randal Graves writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:51:54 AM

Yay! Lets Make children's films that are completely irrelevant to todays culture!
WV-Films writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:10:46 AM

I second Randal Graves^^ above me. Makes me wonder how well The Smurfs will do. Then again, Alvin and the Chipmonks did well, so who knows. Also that Family Guy clip is hilarious.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:48:24 PM

THEY have to make it relevant. That's the point. Otherwise you wouldn't have Freddy Kruger - no one kills people in their dreams. And we would have had only airplane movies in 2001.
It's the producer/writer/actor/ect's jobs to make the film have texture, to make people care.
Take Star Trek (60s) they fought Klingons who were the allegory of Russians. They had the Riddler (Frank Gorshin) play the half-white/black face - allegory for racism.
It's not too far fetched to think that Popeye could be relevant in many ways.
However the true goal of telling the story of Popeye is for entertainment (viewer) and $ (for studios & co).
There are many Popeye collectors out there - you might be suprised.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:56:47 PM

"I'll gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today"....addiction at its funniest.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:20:04 PM

I don't know how many bazillions Wall-E made but if I had come up with the concept of a story about an automatic garbage pick-up machine that's for kids I'd have been bashed. Yet...
I guess it's all about timing, looks, trends... Batman 2 is the second movie that made money in history and Batman 3 may suck for all we know (in dollars).
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:27:54 PM

Nice! the original Popeye movie pulled it off perfectly, but modern FX could make it a whole new story... and kids these days need an introduction to popeye.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:56:30 AM

Eh??? The original Popeye pulled it perfectly???
Popeye who didn't like spinaches, the whole movie who looked like fiddler on the roof? I was waiting to see Terence Stamp come to rescue Bluto... Williams as Popeye didn't look like Popeye - he looked like Williams imitating Popeye. Did I miss something???
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:28:32 PM

robin williams popeye was brilliant
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 1:40:03 PM

Well, Kill, I respect what you say. It's your opinion. Really.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:00:39 AM

well that's fine with me...cuz a live-action remake is nothing more than disappointing already, and at least it wouldn't royally f*ck us like that so hey, way to go!
Armpit writes:
on September 27th, 2009 at 3:02:20 PM

I think in this case it's way much more than a remake (if the project is greenlit). It would be a total different universe. I would hope that writers would respect the original material. A little like the first Flintstones' movie.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved