WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mickey Rourke to Star in Richard "Ice Man" Kuklinski Biopic

Posted: September 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mickey Rourke to Star in Richard "Ice Man" Kuklinski BiopicSubmit Comment
According to author Philip Carlo, Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler, Iron Man 2) will play the notorious killer Richard "Ice Man" Kuklinski in the big screen adaptation of the true crime book "The Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer." The project is set to start filming in the spring.

Kuklinksi was a favorite among all the seven East Coast crime families due to his coldhearted intensity. At one point, John Gotti hired him to torture and kill his neighbor. By his own estimate, Kuklinski murdered over two hundred men, taking enormous pride in his variety and ferocity of technique.

But behind Kuklinski's trail of murder was a traditional, loving, Catholic family. A married father of three, Kuklinski was always regarded as being especially kind to children; he threw summer block parties in his New Jersey neighborhood, and he was always generous around Christmas time. And before his crimes finally caught up with him, his family never suspected a thing. He died in prison in 2006.

Carlo recently stated that he could not hand over the rights to his book to producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura (Transformers: GI Joe), because he wanted Channing Tatum (GI Joe) to play Kuklinski.

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masmelos writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:29:31 AM

I saw a doc*mentary 'bout this guy, in wich was also a large interview, and it was so horrible.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:30:44 AM

Well its f*cking better than Channing Tatum, Rorke could pull this off!
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:36:10 AM

Yeah, I've got the film. He details, and I mean details, many of his crimes. He seems to relish, in a subtle way, each and every one. He speaks very matter of fact about how he killed all those people.

But at least he didn't kill Hoffa.
dandythelion writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:07:01 AM

perfect choice.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:15:05 AM

Yep... Rourke won't have a prob. with this material (and no... I don't mean anything by that!).
BrundleFly writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:19:01 AM

Ever since I saw that Ice Man doc*mentary on T.V, I always thought Michael Ironside would be absolutely freaking perfect for the role. I mean I love Mickey, and Channing Tatum as Ice Man would just be retarded, but I still think Michael Ironside would have been the best way to go.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:28:28 AM

Channing Tatum? di Bonaventura must be huffing glue.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:29:11 AM

Ahhh, then you *haven't* seen transformers 2?
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:34:10 AM

Don't shoot me, but I actually liked TF2. It was exactly what I expected, and wanted, to see. No more, no less.
vwkombi writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 6:28:39 AM

Mickey Rourke = Badass motherf*cker!

Phillip Carlo knows the score!
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:06:18 AM

Mickey Rourke in the Wrestler: 11/10.

Mickey Rourke's career: put him to sleep at the dog pound.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:53:42 AM

@Eben1277-You may have asked folks not to shoot you but I would duck, regardless. TF2 had great action and effects. The downer was you had to sit through laborous gaps before getting to the good stuff. Strangley, this from the guy who greenlighted "The Matrix" at Warner Bros. Oh, how the mighty fall.

Rourke is a perfect choice for this role, considering I'm almost certain that has killed a few people in his time, he should have no problem doing this role with little to no research involved.

Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:00:51 AM

...oops, forgot that Rourke was in Sin City - no? He was great as Marvin - if I'm not to alzeimer's already...
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:12:39 AM

Nice, could be great or could be trash. The ball is in their court.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:48:02 AM

Man- I'm sorry but that looks like Frank Langella or Jack Nicholson...I love Rourke though, but you have two awesome veteran actors who look like him as well.
Carpen7er writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:23:05 AM

Itīs kind of sad, but it was also predictable.
They only realise that Mickey is a great actor after his Oscar nomination...
Metafact writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:42:42 AM

Maybe he'll actually win an Academy Award this time, since these days the only way you can win one is by playing a real person.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:18:14 AM

Yeah, first, the character in "Sin City" was Marv - not Marvin. And while I'm sure Mickey Rourke could do a great job in this role, I agree with BrundleFly about Michael Ironside. He's cheaper, more age-appropriate and he looks a lot like Kuklinski. It could be a (finally) breakthrough performance for the guy. I can't remember seeing him in anything since "The Machinist". Nicholson would be good to, as long as he played Kukliniski and not 'Nicholson as Kuklinski'
Blank x2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:41:31 AM

I know the book is awesome, and the HBO doc*mentaries are interesting as well. If this is done right, this could be awesome. Rourke's great, but I agree with you guys the casting could have been a little better. Ironside, Nicholson, Gandolfini...any of them may have had a more visual impact as they look more like Kuklinski. If Rourke pulls this off, which I hope he does, it will be awesome.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:46:59 AM

Rourke shoulda played "Jonah Hex". He's already got that "deformed thing" down cold.
BigUnit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:53:20 AM

this movie is going to be awsome with Mickey Rourke, f*ck channing tatum is that guy really serious?! lol but anyway, i always thought Rourke would make a good hitman, so this movie seems perfect for him
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:51:46 PM

@AF - re: Rourke at Jonah Hex. You're dead on as usual.

@Eben - you're like me in that respect. I have not seen TF2, yet. But I don't go into these things with expectations. If it takes my mind off of things for 90mins. It was a good investment.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:56:19 PM

@BigUnit (and others) - Channing Tatum... I know. I still chuckle over that. Hey... why not Gary Coleman then to play this guy, I hear he's available. No wait... Shelley Duvall... no wait... Andy d*ck... no, wait...

Channing f*cking Tatum... puhhleeaasseeee!
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:46:23 PM

works for me. i just watched the Iceman Confessions yesterday.
triggax writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:28:22 PM

I knew a few people recently that were all up in AWE over Channing Tatum in Public Enemies.. as pretty boy floyd... Has anyone seen PE? That bumbling down syndrome turd was in it for like 17 seconds...
I f*cking hate channing tatum.. Watch "A Guide to Recognizing your Saints" If you want to see a Downey Jr vehicle drive straight into a pole...
Dito Montiel is a f*cking idiot and probably the worst film maker hollywood has ever had the unpleasure of doing business with.. f*cking moron..
I watched Fighting (unfortunately) Ill tell you, worst movie ever made. Next to this Disaster Movie is a f*cking oscar winner.. the boom mic drops into the shot about 30 times.. f*cking Montiel f*cking amateur...

As for Rourke playing this guy? I dont know a lot about the Ice Man... Except that he's probably really cold.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:49:48 PM

I guess James Gandolfini was doin Broadway when they were casting this movie. Mickey will be fine in the role though. If he's half as good as Eric Bana in Chopper it should be cool.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:20:18 PM

Carpen7er- WE ALL KNEW ROURKE WAS TALENTED FROM THE START...

...how old is everybody? Jesus- do some lookin in to Rourke's history. HE took everything for granted and f*ckED HIS OWN CAREER.

There wasn't a day that went by in the early 90's that there wasnt some sort of news about him pissing his career away.

Rourke owes EVERYTHING to Darren Aronofsky. Rourke was a f*cking *sshole back then and he knows it- but only NOW...after his nomination.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:23:26 PM

Christian Slater will have a comeback in ten years and kids will be like, "Now they realise he's talented- after being nominated"...

..completely forgetting that Christian Slater was Christian Slater. Ask Downey Jr- talented or not- you get the boot when you waste production time slammed out on coke.

lostwarrior writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:25:05 PM

Rouke will go good at the role, no doubt about it. But I thought gandolfini would have been perfect for the role...
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:54:49 PM

One of you pricks mentionned Ironside - that was very astute. However - they can probably alter almost anyone nowadays to look like someone else. But Ironside is good. Remember Kilmer in the Doors? Nic*ckson in Hoffa? Some actors do have an uncanny resemblance to some figures. I might get my nuts stampeded but I didn't find so when they casted Hopkins in Nixon.
lostwarrior writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:56:44 PM

^^^^how the f*ck is someone a prick for giving an opinion. as far as i can see your the prick little girl... Actually the guy does look a little like ironside. what a d*ck
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:02:49 PM

Get a grip on yourself man, no one else will for sure. How can I be a prick and a little girl? That's f*cked up. I take back my words - to Mr Penis who made that worthwhile comment - it's a good thing your dad didn't shove his wad in a kleenex. Ok - is that good? Are you happy? Can we move on with life? Has your heart stopped bleeding? No? Swallow a few band-aids.
Next patient please.
triggax writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:38:16 PM

Oh f*ck... Armpit, you're a useless waste of f*cking breath. You should kill yourself...
40 years old and still resorting to pathetic abortion insults.. Honestly, what could you possibly have to offer this world? Obviously not a f*cking thing. Idiot.
rabid writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:22:16 PM

Rourke may be a bit too old. Kuklinski joined the biz in his twenties. He looked like Rourke by the end, by alot of time passed between the kills and his death row sentence.
lostwarrior writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:05:11 PM

at trigg you said it man. I just hate when people rip on others for having an opinion.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:55:03 PM

WHAT?!

Someone is stealing my abortion insults?!?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:47:57 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqW_Hk8qTAs

^THAT guy should be playing iceman.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:50:32 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHxsTdbLy2A

I mean this one
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:11:01 AM

channing tatum? wtf! stick with rourke!
rabid writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:26:32 AM

use em both, young and old Kuklinskis.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 8:24:44 AM

Trigass - this is going in circle. You are a c*nt with testicles. A c*nt with testicles in the parrot kingdom. I've told 47 posts ago to go shoot your sh*t that you call brains.
I may not speak the language of angels but I was acknowledging that the poster who said that Ironside would make a good choice for that guy, was a good choice. Now, can you bring something to the table or stay in your room and masturbate? Masturbation is good for you. Sex is not on the offchance that your boyfriend could get pregnant and create another one like you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved