WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Ghost Rider 2" and "Silver Surfer" Films Confirmed

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Ghost Rider 2" and "Silver Surfer" Films ConfirmedSubmit Comment
Variety has confirmed that Columbia Pictures is moving forward with "Ghost Rider 2" and is currently in early talks with David Goyer (The Dark Knight) to create the story and supervise writers for a film expected to once again star Nicolas Cage.

Marvel head Avi Arad said that if you can get the right people, you can make a good movie. He give the Goyer-scripted "Blade" trilogy as an example.

"The character was virtually unknown, didn't even have his own comic book, and had been part of 'Tombs of Dracula," Arad said. "It tells you what can happen if you unleash a library with the right creative partners."

The first "Ghost Rider" was both written and directed by Mark Steven Johnson. It went on to barely make back its $110 million domestically. Based on Arad's words, it's unlikely that Johnson will be brought back to helm.

Variety added that 20th Century Fox is currently hard at work on the "Fantastic Four" and "Daredevil" reboots and a "Silver Surfer" spin-off.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 62 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:59:51 PM

If there was ever a film that need a reboot...

f*ck me, why a sequel?

The first one sucked my ass.
Blank x2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:02:23 PM

For real. I just want to know who woke up one day and said, "You know, I think Nicolas Cage would make an AWESOME Ghost Rider". Whoever said it hopefully is unemployed now.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:07:58 PM

Well... Avi pretty much slammed the first movie too.

@trig - seriously... GR does NOT need a reboot. Forget it ever happened... back to the drawing board, new story, move ahead... and let them get original.

Just my opinion.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:10:14 PM

As for Silver Surfer (which isn't covered here much) had better not suck-ass like the poor guy did in the FF movie. I mean... 'capturing' the Silver Surfer?! The Herald for Galactus?! He's a being that flies at the speed of light. He flies through sun's... and they took his surf board from him?! Grow up people!
vaodsi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:15:10 PM

if there is a sequel it won't get my money.. lost me at the start. The only thing that kept me awake were mendes' breasts.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:18:53 PM

as long as Eva Mendes is in GR2, ill see it....ill see it all night long :D
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:22:50 PM

I didn't think Cage was terrible in the first one. He wasn't the perfect choice by a long shot, but he did OK. The main problem was letting f*cking Mark Steven Johnson anywhere near a film studio. He's like a young Uwe Boll. If Goyer's involved, it could end up being good. As for the Silver Surfer, I think Ranger pretty much summed it up perfectly
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:24:38 PM

"Ghost Rider 2"

f*ck no.

"Silver Surfer"

Sounds great!
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:28:01 PM

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.
bale01289 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:37:59 PM

Took the words out of my mouth, Mink.
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:49:00 PM

ah c'mon Goyer will do a good job with it. Ghost Rider is a great character.
japaninmotion writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:50:44 PM

Avi Arad ruined marvel...he takes credit as creator of these charaters and their movies like he is some creative power house and not some Israeli who was able get marvel for a song due to their poor management because "hey theres only about 200k comic collectors so let release 5 million issues of the same number and watch them increase in value!" "Sound great will be number one for ever!"

I hate him he s a taint not just a train on comics but that anatomical area on the human body
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:03:41 PM

"like he is some creative power house and not some Israeli"

You can say it, we're X rated.. Just not infront of IronDan... he might get offended...
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:09:41 PM

Ranger, FF2 ended on a cliffhanger. Supposedly in this script he goes to confront Galactus, whome we get to see in his entirety. The big Galactus-storm in FF2 was supposed to be a teaser for this movie.

Larry Fishburne/Doug Jones made a perfect Surfer together.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:10:39 PM

Ghost Rider had two things worng with it: Wes Bentley and that horrible soundtrack. Other than that it was a pretty good adaptation.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:21:01 PM

@rabid - cliffhanger for sure. But Silver Surfer is no where near the p*ssy that movie made him out to be.

And I'm such a comic fan (happy to see anything 'comic' on the big screen), and too didn't altogether mind Ghost Rider. But they certainly took it a lot less serious than let's say Favreau did with Iron Man. Ghost Rider should be up to some dark sh*t in his movies.

They have great characters (comic books do), I wish they'd make the HUGE leap and make them as good as the comics have been.

Iron Man is a great start. Captain America and Thor... high hopes. Then... The Avengers. I've waited DECADES for this stuff! So Hollywood... TAKE THIS STUFF SERIOUSLY and make it to scale like the comics have done... FOR DECADES!
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:25:36 PM

Ghost Rider, Daredevil, Fantastic Four, Silver Surfer.

They all need to be rebooted. Like more desperately than Lohan needs to visit an AIDS clinic.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:28:55 PM

That's quite the slam to Marvel vw!

Rebooted? Naw... they already got our money. Just move ahead with NEW, ORIGINAL stories please.

Are you listening Hollywood?! Huh?! HUH?! YOU BLOOD/SPIRIT-SUCKING, GOD-DAMNED f*ckING, INCONSISTENT, UNCARING f*ckING *ssholeS!!!!!

Whoops...

Sorry folks. Gone for a minute...

I'm back now.

Whew!


rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:58:52 PM

I give these film companies a wide berth to make it come together. The stories I salivate over were cooked up over decades, so it's hard to squeeze thirty, forty years into a two hr movie.
Sure Ghost Rider's plot was boring, but for an origin movie, it really couldn't have progressed any other way. Now that all these superheroes have been firmly established, I think we'll see them get more creative with the sequels.
I don't see a reason to reboot the FF. It might've sucked, but it was essentially the same as the comic. I really don't think you can improve on the concept anymore than FOX did, unless you make it for adults, which would be a horrible business decision.
realgirl76 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:01:22 PM

Joe 777 is a skadouche bag....just stating the obvious. Ghost Rider swallowed and Silver Surfer hopefully won't spit....
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:05:12 PM

Ahh... the difference between like and love.

Spit and Swallow.

Nice!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:22:11 PM

I don't necessarily want a reboot of FF either, but new actors and/or a new director would be nice. Keep the original story, I don't care that they changes a few things, just don't do everything over to be different. Pick up where the other ones left off, get actors better suited to play the roles (Chris Evans and Michael Chiklis were OK though), get a better designer to come up with a more believable version of the Thing, with maybe even a little CGI enhancements, get a better director or send Tim Story to film school for a semester or two - and let's get this f*cking movie going. Sorry for all that.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:25:44 PM

i dont get it. they're gonna reboot FF yet make a spin off of silver surfer? how bout just start over with silver surfer since FF is gonna be rebooted. when movies get reboot you dont then go making spin offs of the movie you just rebooted. and i agree with Rangers point that instead of rebooting, just move forward with a sequel with a new and better story. least wait like 10 or 15 years before you remake a movie rather than confuse people.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:27:36 PM

Chris Evans was the one bright light (ugh... not intended to be a pun... seriously) in the FF. He and Alba's no-spill lips and c*m-do-me eyes!

I'd like to see The Thing in full cgi (if he's ever to battle with, or alongside The Hulk - they're about the same size - well... they're SUPPOSED to be the same size).
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:32:58 PM

I doubt their planned reboot is a retelling of the origin story. They'll probably treat it like Marvel did the Hulk. Just start a little fresher and don't reference the past films.
I was fine with the FF cast, and thought Thing looked perfect, but they chose a horrible actor to play Doom. He came across more homosexual than homicidal.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:47:15 PM

Clancy Brown should have been Doc Doom (just as I wrote him in an Iron Man treatment back in '98)! Old or not... he could easily have pulled off that Royalty, snotty, angry, Villain!

rabid - I DID like the actor that played The Thing. But that Thing would NEVER withstand a fight with The Hulk (should that ever come to pass).
c-prime writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:52:58 PM

"Chris Evans was the one bright light (ugh... not intended to be a pun... seriously) in the FF."

What about Michael Chiklis, man? He was by far the best actor they landed in those two flicks. Gotta say, it really bugs me that he never gets recognition for those two flicks. Although then again, that's probably to his credit.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:54:24 PM

minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:28:01 PM

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me


What Mink said. I might give this movie a chance provided I see it for free. (i.e. sneak into the movie theater)
c-prime writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:55:09 PM

There's gonna be a "Ghost Rider 2"?! Hooray! My list of reasons to kill myself is finally complete!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:57:47 PM

Larry Fishburne/Doug Jones made a perfect Surfer together.


No, they didn't. What was the deal with DJ's voice in the trailers but LF's voice in the movie? FF2 still sucked dog poo and there is no way I'm spending my Monopoly money to see this sh*t fest again.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:58:17 PM

@C - my praise for the actor playing The Thing is in The Hulk thread.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:58:35 PM

Hey Ranger, do you remember when Wizard did a casting call back in the 90's? They chose Clancy Brown for Sabretooth, should there ever be an X-Men movie. They also picked Danzig for Wolverine, Angela Basset for Storm, I think John Travolta for Mr. Sinister, and I also believe they picked Patrick Stewart for Professor X, and this was probably in the mid 90's!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:59:32 PM

I think they had Michael Biehn as Cyclops and Clint Eastwood as Cable too, if my f*cked up memory serves me right.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:01:59 AM

I don't remember that casting call.

Interesting how history did go vs. how it could have gone, eh? I mean Stewart for Prof. X is a no-brainer. But all the others... it could have gone a whole different way.

Interesting.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:02:46 AM

There's gonna be a "Ghost Rider 2"?! Hooray! My list of reasons to kill myself is finally complete!


The fact that Blohan is still getting movie roles should have completed your list long ago.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:02:54 AM

*Wizard Casting Calls are dream team type casting decisions for comic book movies maybe the the writing staff (incase anybody out there is unfamiliar with them)
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:04:10 AM

Yeah, Ranger, it was pretty awesome. I'll see if I can track it down and I'll post a link
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:04:23 AM

I was unfamiliar with the term. Thx. eViL.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:07:04 AM

Wasn't even so much Johnson's directing...

...NOBODY believed Cage in the role. Cage is the first problem that should have been fixed. He's good in other roles- but man he took all the fun out of watching Ghost Rider.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:08:57 AM

I'm having trouble finding it, but if you type in "wizard casting call x-men" in google, a sh*toad of articles come up with fanboys talking about it. I was right about Patrick Stewart!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:10:53 AM

I think Patrick Stewart was born to play the role of Professor X.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:11:42 AM

Hey... I have another fan on here. Check out the He-Man thread. LOL!
acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:27:27 AM

Does Ghost Rider get diabetes in the sequel from eating all of those f*cking jelly beans? Seriously, what the f*ck was that about? Hahaha, the thing about Ghost Rider I didn't like was that it was targeted at the PG-13 audience. They should have Marvel Knights/MAX that sh*t! If you are battling demons there should be some f*cked up graphic sh*t going on! I like motorcycles and Marvel, they really screwed the pooch with Ghost Rider. I felt no sympathy towards the guy, he sold his soul to Mephisto to save his Dad and then his Dad dies during the next show! I felt like an emotional retard, and then I realized it was sh*tty acting and directing.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:29:23 AM

Hey Bud!

I have posts above about my thinking they didn't take Ghost Rider seriously...

It wasn't dark enough etc. Kinda p*ssy really.

Oh... and I have a new fan... check him out in the He-Man thread!
super_suck writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:55:12 AM

I've always said that Hollywood should stop remaking great movies. Instead remake crappy ones and make them better....
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:56:27 AM

I have always said Hollywood should show more tits!
acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:08:09 AM

@Ranger, HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

I woke up the little lady I was laughing so hard! I wish I knew how to alter photos like that! How come they always pick on you and not Mink, Trig, Synth, Spooky or any of the other regulars? You, my friend, are INFAMOUS!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:10:41 AM

If they're not talking about me, I must be doing something wrong.

LOL!

Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:44:08 AM

I believe that dream cast included Paulina Poryzkova (sp?) as Psylocke...

I will see GR2 if Goyer writes but does not direct, blade 3 was too weak without a steady hand to reign in his creativity a little. Oh and Sam Elliot has to be in it again.

Ranger is dead on with the SS, the same problem exists with him as with Supes. This is basically the most powerful guy around (short of one of the "cosmic forces" like Galactus and Death) and the movie turns hiim into a big p*ssy. And I understand Comic storylines don't always work for films, but there is no reason to change Dooms abilities to cosmic ray induced powers, and no reason to change the Surfers powers. His powers never derived from his board, and making it so for a plot device is simply assinine. I'm a huge SS fan though and would love to see his movie done right.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:51:41 AM

fantastic four and daredevil reboots? so are they going to take every movie that doesn't do that well and "reboot" it (who came up with that stupid term for REMAKE anyway?)?? these people have to get it through their heads that not every superhero "reboot" is going to become nolan's batman movies. it's ridiculous. they are also planning to reboot spiderman, and they aren't even done with the series yet. it's ridiculous and a waste of money that SHOULD be going into original projects.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:56:59 AM

Thx. Eben.

@Hollywood - exactly.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:12:50 AM

"these people have to get it through their heads that not every superhero "reboot" is going to become nolan's batman movies. "

They're not trying to emulate Nolan's style so much as to correct franchises that have gone horribly astray. Also, the studio(s)are attempting to maintain competitiveness with the more successful comic book films, e.g., Iron Man and The Dark Knight.

Market wise, rebooting failed franchises makes great sense.
Kid_A writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:29:02 AM

Was "Ghost Rider" good enough to be made a sequel for it? IMO, not! That would only be produced and directed to make Cage earn more millions, that's all. For "Silver Surfer" no idea, didn't watch it.
scantraxxroots writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:37:06 AM

Wow.
how predictable, some of the worst movies ive seen in the last 10 years.... are getting SEQUALS! awesome
dub031 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:21:05 AM

they bet get SILVER SURFER right!! thats a big f*ckin movie there! get Peter Jackson or even better Quentin (oh yea I said) Tarantino to make it. It's gotta be f*ckin epic!!!!
thedotsays writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:24:56 AM

I would certainly like to see other comic franchises get a shot on the big screen rather than all thse sequels, spin offs, and reboots.

Personally, I'm would KILL to see The Authority on the big screen. It's easily one of my all time favs. If you never read it, think of an X-Men/Avengers type team who really doesn't give a sh*t and gets things done.

Carpen7er writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:38:16 AM

More of the same...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:52:31 AM

Tarantino for Silver Surfer? Are you f*cking kidding me? Have you ever read a comic or seen a Tarntino movie? Yeah, I would love to see the Surfer and Galactus sitting around in a coffee shop on some distant planet, talking about philosophy for 45 minutes, then stand up and announce that they're going to destroy the planet
n/a writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:08:56 PM

How can you do a spin-off if you are rebooting the movie he is "spining-off" from? I just dont think that fits...
KaloVisor writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:50:39 PM

Ghost Rider 2?!! No this does not need to be. FF Reboot?!! No, Either make a thrid one and make it better to end the Trilogy, or Let it be. Silver Surfer Film COULD be Really Good. But if it's on Par with the FF Movies.. Unlikely
dub031 writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 5:07:49 PM

Evil Kev2...i def see ur point but I still think he might do smth unpredictable (positive) with it..it is known that he loves silver surfer (references in alot of his movies) plus remember when he wrote that scene in Crimson Tide where the guys are arguing over Silver Surfer? I bet u he would make a sick ass movie, cause he's smart enough to know that all that dialogue n sh*t (which i love btw) wouldnt have any place in a comic movie..or at least not the way that QT usually does it...but imagine for a second QT had a $150M budget!! Ing Bast was 70...it would be just ridicolous!! f*ck it...neva gonna happen anyway just like the thought of it
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:19:15 AM

WRONG!....'if you get the right people, you can make a good movie'....WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!...it's 'if you get the right people to write a great story, with great effects and great character development, and great acting while above all not disappointing the major necessity to this comic-movie-franchise, the original fans of the comics, who then gave birth to new fans and so on and so forth, THEN you can have a GREAT movie'...it's pretty much that way with any movie trying to appeal

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved