WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Deadpool" Creator on Spin-Off, Cable and "Superman Lives"

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Deadpool" Creator on Spin-Off, Cable and "Superman Lives"Submit Comment
Deadpool co-creator Rob Liefeld, updated his Twitter account with a few words about the upcoming "Deadpool" spin-off. Since Twitter doesn't allow more than 140 characters, we have several short, separate messages.

He started by saying that he attended a "Deadpool" movie meeting with producer Lauren Schuler Donner and her team. "First question I asked was 'So is Ryan Reynolds really doing this..?' All four people in the room responded with a resounding 'YES!'," said Liefeld.

He went on to say that Donner is heading in the right direction. "Deadpool movie checklist- DP in costume-check! Breaking 4th wall-check! Loads of killing-double check!," Liefeld stated. "Donner Company is on top of making the Deadpool movie that fans want. They get it. He's funny, tortured, clever, a bastard and mucho action!"

Apparently during the meeting, talks transitioned to other characters. "Also excited to discuss possibilities of Cable in future X-films!!!," he said and later clarifying. "Cable definitely NOT in Deadpool movie, but possible role in future X-films....not First Class."

Finally, Liefeld also gave his opinion on the photo of Nicolas Cage from Tim Burton's "Superman Lives," the film that never happened. "Those Nic Cage Superman test shots are horrific beyond belief. Wow talk about dodging a bullet!"

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:06:20 PM

Sounds good so far (Deadpool-wise), but Fox always finds a way to f*ck their superhero franchises.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:10:28 PM

^^agreed. Deadpool has a really sweet chance to be an awesome flick, but you never know with the wonderful people at Fox.....
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:12:11 PM

I would love to see them try to explain "Cable" being in an X-Movie with the way they've f*cked up the continuity so far
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:22:29 PM

they can't really use Cable without introducing baby Nate first, but that would be a great reason to have Sinister and his Jean clone in X4.
Deadpool is my favorite Marvel hero, so I'm definitely on board with that one. I actually liked the revamp of him Wolverine Origins. Genetic experimentation makes more sense than cancer when it comes to his lunacy and his teleportation.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:30:19 PM

I'd rather a Freakazoid! movie before a deadpool one.

Especially since Freakazoid! would be made with Warner bros and Legendary Pictures. Where as Deadpool would be made with, ugh, fox...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:31:58 PM

Mr. Sinister should have been in "X2". It would have made a lot more sense than having a new human character experimenting on mutants. Agreed about Deadpool as well. "Origins" sucked major ass, but it did a good job of setting him up for a spinoff.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:33:22 PM

Yeah, Spooky, at this rate we'll probably end up seeing Freakazoid on the big screen before another Superman movie
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:49:56 PM

How the f*ck do you f*ck up Superman? He has to be one of the most straightforward superheros. Jesus.
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:10:33 PM

I know Mink, it's pretty amazing how much Superman Returns sucked when they have so much to work with.
James.Speed writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:20:19 PM

If they do Cable, they can show him going back in-time, and saving Cyclops (his dad) before Jean "killed" him in X3.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:30:29 PM

I'd rather see Tempo working as a Marauder for Sinister. She can freeze time in spots. I remember how when the Xmen arrived rubble was floating in the air.
whoever writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:32:45 PM

Fox should let Neill Blomkamp direct and then walk away until he has a finished film!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:45:32 PM

I don't know, Douche, I'm having a blast reading Ranger's responses to all that cougar sh*t. Read some of the other threads, it's pretty hilarious.
dlrippr writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:56:00 PM

So, my understanding was that in the comics dead pool didnt have swords coming out of his arms, or lasers out of his eyes, or teleportaion abilities, as well as the abilite to re-attach his head. Can someone tell me what the deal is, and a theory on how deadpool will go from being headless at the end of wolverine (spoiler alert!!) to having his own movie?
nope.com writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:25:01 AM

notice how any one of those execs failed to see how tied up Reynolds would be doing Green Lantern next year and a half... idiots
RepoMan20 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:45:08 AM

In the comics Deadpool DID have the ability to teleport, He did not have the ability to re-attach his head, but it was cut off and re-attached for him.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:46:33 AM

Yeah, dlrippr, no arm-swords or laser beams. I'm pretty sure the teleporting is there though, somebody might have to back me up on that one, I haven't read DP in a long time. He has the same type of mutant healing factor as Wolverine, so as far as the decapitation, your guess is as good as mine. I'm pretty sure none of the regenerative powered characters can survive that. Plus a I think a lot of Deadpool's power goes to keeping him alive because of his cancer, again, I could use some backup on that. Also with the beheading, Fox already handled it in one of the alternate endings Origins. I think there were 4 different endings total. I saw the Japan one. There was also one with Wolvie ending up in that cage fighting bar from the beginning of X1
Teines writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:52:31 AM

Saw Gamer on Saturday .. and Gerard Butler just jumped out at me as perfect for Cable. Amber Valleta (sp?) also jumped out at me, but for very different reasons.
TGDirector writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:56:35 AM

@ Rabid - I'm gonna punch you just for saying you liked the revamp version of Deadpool in Origins.

*punch*
acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:56:01 AM

Deadpool has had his head cut off three or four times in the comics and it can be reattached by holding it to his body(Bob, Agent of Hydra, with the assist on one occasion). As for them retconning what occurred in XO:Wolvie, it is probably the easiest fix ever. DP breaks the fourth wall, just have him make fun of XO:Wolvie in the beginning of his movie. And DP doesn't technically teleport, he bodyslides using Cable's technological abilities as well as using other teleportation devices(stole one from Osborn recently).
Ranma-Irias writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:37:16 AM

well I'd like to hear more about this, I can barely wait for the Deadpool movie!
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:52:51 AM

i agree about the superman stuff. wow. i love tim burton but seriously, that would've been bad.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:13:07 AM

regarding the Superman comment. While that pic did look like sh*t, at what point did a crayon scribbler like Liefeld have any room to talk about what looks good?
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:40:25 AM

^True. Rob Liefeld has definitely had some bad, bad moments, but his work is also occasionally decent.

Crayon scribbler? No, but he has an awfully difficult time with basic proportions and perspective, at least in his older Image-era work.

Seems to me Liefeld was in far too big a hurry to get big, all before he ever got good.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:09:47 AM

Crayon scribbler was a bit of an exaggeration, but your exactly right. His work all looked rushed, no sense of proportion, or even basic anatomy, and I don't think i ever saw any character the guy drew in a standing position have feet. Yet somehow he managed to be one of the most popular artists of his day. I'm convinced he found Robert Johnson's crossroads.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:14:20 AM

"and I don't think i ever saw any character the guy drew in a standing position have feet."

Yeah, that's very true. Most of the images I've seen, especially back in the earlier era, mid 1990's or so, almost every character he drew had cow hooves instead of feet.

How did Liefeld ever garner fame, deserved or, far more likely, undeserved?

In his own words:

"I'll be the first to tell you that we [the Image collective] were never the best artists. We were never the best at anything, but just like a song or a band or whatever, we caught on and we toured rigorously."
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:35:53 AM

He should speak for himself. Jim Lee, Whilce Portacio, Dale Keown and Todd McFarlane were all GREAT. Even Erik Larsen wasn't that bad, what he lacked in drawing ability he made up for with creativity. Too bad out of all of them only Jim and Todd could make a deadline. John Byrne kinda paved the way for those guys with his move to a smaller company for creative control, so I feel I should mention him since he's a legend.
Sonic writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:03:07 AM

The only GREAT X-men movie will be the film with out the X-Men.
thedotsays writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:42:25 AM

I can see Sinister making an appearance in order to bring Jean back. Cable's an awesome chracter.

Good to see that at least "on paper" the Deadpool flick is looking good. But like ya'll said, it is Fox.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:59:38 AM

Minuski and Wombski - I'll give credit where credit is due. You guys are right.
I was ok with SR but it wasn't the case overall. When you have a budget of 200 million dollars, 70 year + of comics to pick up pratically any storyline - there is NO EXCUSE POSSIBLE to explain the massive f*ck-up.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved