WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton Wants The Hulk to be "The Avengers" Villain

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton Wants The Hulk to be "The Avengers" VillainSubmit Comment
Marvel is getting ready to bring Captain America, Thor and Iron Man together for "The Avengers," but what would be the reason for these powerful superheroes to join forces? There has been some speculation that The Hulk would become a problem, as hinted in "The Incredible Hulk," but nobody from Marvel is ready to confirm anything.

Both "The Incredible Hulk" director and "Iron Man" writers previously stated that The Hulk would make a great villain in "The Avengers." And now, Edward Norton tells MTV News that he completely agrees.

"In the comics, there was always a tension between the rest of the superhero community and he was always this problem. They treated him as this problem," said Norton. "I think that's a fun way to go with it."

Last we heard, The Hulk will be in the movie, but it is likely that The Hulk will not be the main villain, since the film will end up revolving around one major battle.

It is more likely that after the Hulk is handled, The Avengers will battle an alien race called The Skrulls. This way fans can see their favorite hero do some serious damage in his own unique way.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Blank x2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:56:19 PM

It would make too much sense to make Hulk the villain, so it probably won't happen.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:05:33 PM


1. They'd need another Hulk movie so Banner could get The Hulk under control.
2. As a villain... The Hulk takes 1 hit from Thor's hammer and he's launched into the sun... roll the credits. Half-priced popcorn in the lobby (because the movie was only 40 mins. long).
3. Lohan is a 'Skank', not a 'Skrull.'
3. Norton realizes he really isn't The Hulk, doesn't he?
4. Making The Hulk part of The Avengers Team is the ONLY way to go, that would be 'new' for The Hulk, and wouldn't be beating the dead dog... the world against The Hulk stuff we have already seen for 2 movies and a TV Series.
5. Megan Fox gives me raging boner.

Thx. for reading.
tcu21 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:07:07 PM

Let him write the script (anyone but Zak Penn).
This is the way it was in the Avengers animated film. Would be a good idea and would go in line with the RDJ cameo at the end of Hulk, but people in the superhero movie business don't try to make sense of things 90% of the time, just f things up.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:16:55 PM

I thought Fox had the rights to use the Skrulls in a new "Fantastic Four" movie. Or is that just for the Super-Skrull?
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:23:51 PM

Hulk was the villain in the first Avengers book, and the villain in the first Ultimates comic. I have no doubt he'll play the villain again in the film. It's only right.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:23:56 PM

I don't care.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:24:18 PM

just the super-skrull. Marvel owns the skrull race.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:27:39 PM

Thanks Rabid, I couldn't remember. I thought Loki was the main villain in the first "Avengers" book? Not the "Ultimates", the original.
lostwarrior writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:33:31 PM

ranger I see what your saying, but perhaps he starts out as the villian, but thru the avengers help and knowledge perhaps they could assist him in controlling the hulk, that way the hulk will be with the avengers when they fight the skrulls...
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:35:22 PM

THAT would be good. If they did that all in The Avengers movie we wouldn't have to endure another reboot, reboot of The Hulk again... lol.

Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:37:58 PM

So Blank and LW, yes... bad to start... good to end. AND I'd rather see that in The Avengers movie. Not too drawn out... like, Tony Stark already has a plan and uses The Avengers to implement it. Then they battle the Skrulls.

The would have done the Captain America movie by then. I really don't want to see another Hulk filler (sorry... just not that big of a fan of The Hulk).
lostwarrior writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:46:26 PM

neither am I, honestly the only way the hulk is entertaining to me is by the shows in the late 70's and the early 80's. it was done perfectly. CGI ruined the hulk..
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:50:59 PM

Bill Bixby's Incredible Hulk was great.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:51:29 PM

Well... I know he's had a 40+ year comic run.

But for the big screen, I have a hard time seeing him a leading star of a movie. In The Avengers... sure! He's the loose cannon like The Thing in the FF. But as a stand-alone character.. no. The movies have NEVER explored his 'humanity' (Banner inside The Hulk) - Greenie always controlled Banner (oh... until we got one little 'Betty' out of him in the 2nd. movie - big f*cking deal!). He's been so un-human, I never really cared if he got nuked from one second to the next. Don't get me wrong... I'd handcuff Jennifer Connelly to my furnace for the weekend just like the next guy. But that's not worth paying 10 bucks+ in the theater to go watch.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:52:33 PM

@Mink - yes... there was 'humanity' in Bixby's character. You felt for the guy. I haven't gotten that feeling from the movies.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:03:13 PM

evilKev2, the Avengers banded together to stop the Hulk's rampage but at the end of the tale it was revealed that Loki was manipulating the Hulk the whole time.
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:16:30 PM

Ahhhh, the Incredible Hulk tv series from the 70's was fantastic.

I say give the Hulk another film, have him get a little control over his alter-ego then put him in the Avengers. Then maybe have an ending similar to "Ultimate Avengers" in which Banner loses control and they have to subdue the Hulk right after kicking some alien ass.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:24:40 PM

I'm all for Giant Man dying!!!
c-prime writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:25:18 PM

Ranger, your eight point on that list had me dying with laughter. Did not see that one coming, my friend. Ha ha ha!
c-prime writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:26:14 PM

CORRECTION: "Your FIFTH point..."
Ari Gold writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:39:53 PM

Just make 'Rambo Vs The Avengers,' easy done.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:51:55 PM

I want to see the Hulk we got in the Ultimates where his macho ego takes over. Hulk drinking from beer trucks, wanting to kill freddie Prinze Jr.
realgirl76 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:56:53 PM

Norton needs whatever work he can get. I personally haven't been impressed with his work since American History X.
realgirl76 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:58:40 PM

Vomit in MY mouth....Hey, I'm blonde and can't spell very well. Maybe I'll try out for the Barbie movie
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:00:40 PM

You already have my vote.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:02:52 PM

"She'll be back on the step say about 3AM. c*m get her before the garbage men take her away."

-That very well might be the funniest thing I've ever seen on this sight. Well done, sir.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:04:22 PM

- next to the picture of Chewbacca Cobra Commander Lohan Giftwrap Stewey Griffith Osama Obama - whatever the f*ck that *sshole's name was
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:04:29 PM

lol... thx. eViL.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:11:34 PM

Oh yeah, and Ranger, you gave me an idea- "Hulk vs. Thing" movie. It 'll probably never happen cause Fox will never let go of the rights, but I think that could be a pretty awesome crossover. Maybe even a trilogy - one focusing more on FF, the other on Hulk and then the last one just having a total all out f*cking war between Thing and Hulk. Their fights have always been both brutal and hilarious in the books, if done right it could translate really well into film. Anybody agree? Or am I as high as I think I might be?
johnny_boy writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:12:11 PM

hmmm....now if ed norton does come on board for the avengers hes gonna keep bitching that he wants hulk as a villain,like he kept bitching for changes in TIH movie.then again his demands were reasonable, considering TIH turned out great IMO. i say at least have him rewrite zak penns draft cuz that guy sucks.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:13:34 PM

wait did i say zak penn sucks? i meant to say he swallows!
ian_918 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:14:09 PM

@ranger- LOL.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:15:02 PM

You may be, but I remember those battles in the comics.

A HUGE saving grace of Kevin Feige coordinating things (now)... is maybe... just MAYBE The Thing won't be an actor in a rubber suit. Because (as we all know) he's about the same size as The Hulk.

The Marvel Universe is so f*cked up right now... 12ft. tall Hulk against Actor in The Thing rubber suit just won't work... lol.

So... IF they EVER make another FF flick, they HAD BETTER GET THE f*ckING THING RIGHT!!!!!

Rubber suit?! Jesus!!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:16:06 PM

But yeah.... a BIG threat against our planet (ahh... Galactus maybe?)... The Avengers team up with the FF. And there would be The Thing wising off to the Hulk... KA-POW!!! INSTANT SCRAP!!!! It would be good.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:29:08 PM

"The Thing rubber suit just won't work... lol.

So... IF they EVER make another FF flick, they HAD BETTER GET THE f*ckING THING RIGHT!!!!!"

I was just posting about that in the other thread. You're exactly right. And if they wanted to go with alien threat for "The Avengers", they could also lean towards maybe Kang or Thanos as the main villain with the skrulls just being in more of a 'soldier' role. They could probably make either of them look really sick and they might end up being an unsuspected surprise. Maybe even tie in Ultron somehow to be a robot built to help stop the threat.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:34:58 PM

Thanos rings a bell (remember my comic days were long ago), the other names don't ring a bell. But (sincerely) eViL... I trust your instincts as well.

Yeah... that rubber suit... gag. The actor was more than fine. But that 'Thing' fight 'The Hulk' would get his ass handed to him after the first backhand. Hell... his ass would come right off after the first backhand!
dandythelion writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:49:30 PM

let the hulk be the villain
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:51:48 PM

What do you think the Thing uses to wipe his ass? Seriously, with all the 'dysfunctional family' type scenarios and the more adult tone that's come about since the 90's, have they ever brought it up? Maybe just a comment in passing? [Thing tells Johnny he's gotta drop a deuce, Johnny responds, "Make sure there's enough steel-wool in there before you take your onesy off cause I'm not gonna bring you more!" Or maybe he uses like a pressure washer. Or a fire hose or something, kinda like a bidet.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:54:07 PM

Either way I'm sure it's at least a 6-flusher!

My money is they power wash off his ass at one of those self-serve car washes! Where he takes his initial dump? Beats me? Maybe his sh*t is rebuilding the Katrina levies?
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:56:30 PM

There was one comic where Ben Grimm's pebblesh*ts broke the toilet bowl. Johnny told him to chew his food better.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:59:16 PM

lol.

And they just HAVE TO make a Hulk breaking wind in the Avengers Mansion joke in the movie. There's price of admission right there my friends!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:00:19 AM

SNL did a skit about 100 years ago with Belushi and the original cast. A Halloween party except people at the part were the actual superheros. Belushi (The Hulk) comes out of the sh*tter and no one could breathe.

Priceless!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:12:38 AM

Hey... I have another FAN on here!

Check out the He-Man thread!

SWEET!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:43:12 AM

LOLOLOL! Ranger you can post some of the funniest stuff on this website. My sides are hurting thanks to you.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:49:26 AM

lol... thx. HJ4L!
johnny_boy writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:34:12 AM

@ranger....u dont have to worry about a man in a rubber suit fighting the hulk. Fox owns the film rights to FF. we will not see avengers team up with FF or see hulk fight the thing.if they did fight in a movie,it would be so epic that we'd definitely see it in cg.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:41:20 AM

Good point!

Well... the comics did 'cross-overs' all the time:

Supes and Spiderman.
Batman and (geez I think it was) Spiderman (again).

etc.

So, maybe the studios will get their square heads out of the box and follow suit.

acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:43:52 AM

Just so you know:

The Thing is 6 foot, 500lbs.

The Hulk is between 6'6" and 8', depending on the incarnation(Grey, Savage, The Professor) and weighs between 900 and 1,400lbs.

Got the stats off of Marvel.com.

I would like to see the team be assembled and go after Hulk in the first 30 minutes. They find him in Canada(Wolvie cameo? I wish!) and have a good 10 minute fight before realizing Banner has some control over The Hulk. They bring him back to HQ and give him a tour blah, blah, Skrulls! They invaded SHIELD! Hulk smash! Thor busts out the hammer! Cap is jumping off of everything and bouncing his shield off of Skrull heads!


...Sorry, got a little excited....
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:46:26 AM

Wolvie cross-over is a good idea.

As they're in Canada... maybe an appearance by Alpha Flight.
acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:12:04 AM

Diseny needs to start pulling in all of the Marvel characters now, that is really the only benefit I see from Marvel being bought out!
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:05:09 AM

Grey Hulk was the best.

Ranger, Thanos was a big purple cosmic powered Death worshipper from Titan that comes back from the dead more than most Marvel characters, and has taken over the universe at least twice. Kang is Dr Doom from an alternate future I believe, and I believe is purple as well. Green and purple with a funny looking outfit.

And did a post get deleted from here, I'm having trouble following something about someone vomiting in someones mouth, and someone getting left out for the garbage man. That SNL skit, was that the one with Ant Man where they're like, "Ok, so you have the strength of a human?"

Hulk crossed over with Superman, but the best Marvel DC Crossover was with Teen Titans and X-men. Wolverine fights Deathlock the Terminator, and I believe Darkseid and Apocalypse team up. Don't quote me though it's been a while since I read it.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:28:07 AM

Yes, they had to edit here. Someone put up a spamming post.

Yes, the Hulk and Supes. I had that one.

The Teen Titans crossover was after my collecting days.

Thx. for the update on Kang, etc.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:10:12 AM

Hulk as the villain is not the way it happens in the comic books - fans are going to go postal. Second thing - don't let Norton run the show. Use another guy - say...mmm...Eric Banna???
thedotsays writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:37:38 AM

Yeah the Hulk as the villain in the first hve is a great idea. Have the Avengers try to stop him one on one or something then..."assemble" and whoop ass. Have him join up and fight skrulls which. Sure it'd probably be a longer movie but if done right, I'd watch it twice.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:16:58 AM

If this is going down like the Ultimates series, as it should, then f*ck YEAH!

Ranger, Hulk is going so easily beaten.
Fabian writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:48:46 AM

That was actually a good, and different, idea. Nortons a clever dude..
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:44:01 PM

If you ever read the Avengers (original) or the Essential Avengers (same thing in B&W), Hulk is an "friendly-foe". He fights alongside because it's what he wants to do but he's also the beast under moderate control.
He turns out to be an Avenvger for a few issues (but turns out to be one of the Defenders - with Dr Strange & co).
So, the Hulk does at times have a mini-brawl with some members but he's not an Avenger's foe.
Avengers fought a lot of team-enemies (like some of the Thor foes) and fought some galactic menaces too. They also had a lot of dopplegangers and mind-alterate storylines. However - fighting another Avenger with no "just cause" was never something happening (in the early stories I've read). ...why? Glad you asked! If Avengers fought an Avenger or another "hero" (I know - hulk is not a villain but still an "anti-hero") that would undermine the character who turns out to be the villain. ...and of course - (unfortunately) the status quo is always kept. A little like G.I.Joe cartoons - they would fire 12,000 shots and there wasn't one drop of blood on either side...
The characters in these movie never change (Batman or Superman always 30, Iron-Man's armor "evolves" but still always an armor) but, writers have to give the illusion that they have a life that "moves forward" like all ordinary joes and josettes...
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:20:46 PM

that'd be like fighting the Tank in Left 4 dead. unfair fight much?
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 2:34:57 AM

@Johnny - yep. A good backhand from Thor's hammer and ole' Meany-Greenie there will be chasing his teeth in orbit.

@armpit - 'friendly foe' is the best way to describe The Hulk's situation in the Avenger. Helps when he wants, but when he doesn't... look out!

Thx. for the Defenders story. I always knew Hulk was on that Team as well. I just don't remember the story behind it.
Peter Parker writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 11:06:04 PM

Last minute news: The Hulk rapes Megan Fox!
Also, in a related story, Lohan is jealous of Megan Fox.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved