WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Barbie" to Become a Live-Action Movie

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Barbie" to Become a Live-Action MovieSubmit Comment
It was just a matter of time. Universal Pictures has announced that it has a made a deal with the Mattel toy company to develop a live-action film based on the "Barbie" toy line.

The goal is to make sure this is done right and not to destroy what Barbie has already accomplished. The property has 16 direct-to-video animated titles, selling 75 million unites worldwide. In the past several years, Barbie has expanded into areas like fashion shows, merchandise, and online ventures that include Twitter, Facebook, even Barbie's own YouTube channel.

Universal Pictures chairman Marc Shmuger said the next step will be to canvas writers and decide a creative take for a family-friendly movie. "Barbie is the most famous doll in history, a unique cultural icon in the world of brands," he stated. "So many representations of Barbie frequent pop culture, but never before has she been brought to life in a motion picture."

According to Mattel, the 50-year old Barbie has 99% worldwide brand awareness, is the number one girls property in the toy industry, the top doll property in the US and the number one worldwide property in the traditional toy industry.

Any ideas for who can play Barbie and Ken?

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:59:37 PM

"Any ideas for who can play Barbie and Ken?"

Sure. Paris Hilton and Ryan Reynolds. Then Reynolds can go Amityville Horror on the bitch, chop her f*cking head off with a blunt axe and ditch the bitch in the trunk of her ugly ass pink Corvette.

"The goal is to make sure this is done right and not to destroy what Barbie has already accomplished."

Yes, because making parents broke, little girls self-conscious and adult women anorexic is a proud consequence of any mass-marketed toy.
Jergyn writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:02:49 PM

Wasn't there a bratz movie before?
ahh f*ckin hollywood
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:12:14 PM

Will it show how Barbie is a whore, and that's how she's paid for her f*cking home, mobile home and Corvette?

Will she get AIDS from Ken?

Will we watch her vomit after every meal, have her lowest ribs removed for that Rachel Welch waist?
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:13:22 PM

what the hell are they going to call it, "Legally Blonde 3: Uhhh, The Barbie Movie?".....cant wait to hear all about this movie as it 'moves forward'.....
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:13:56 PM

Finally, a movie made specifically for armpit
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:20:13 PM

it was only a matter of time.
i wonder if they'll have genitalia.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:23:27 PM

FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

NO.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:24:31 PM

sh*t, this one broke Spooky
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:24:51 PM

Ken is wearing a strap-on in that picture as he penetrates said whore.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:24:54 PM

somebody get the duct tape
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:29:13 PM

Blond haired and blue eyed. Perfect stature and looks. You know Hitler would be proud.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:30:46 PM

She goose-steps too!
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:12:31 PM

When i was a kid, i stole my sisters Barbie dollz then had them beaten, raped and eaten by my badass action figures. True story.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:25:27 PM

Damn vw... I'm not ashamed to admit it... but that got me aroused!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:27:42 PM

Really? Like really?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:34:50 PM

Ranger, you make reading fun.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:36:05 PM

I seriously think I just sharted a little bit from having the weed-giggles and reading your last post.
dandythelion writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:50:56 PM

will this also be in 3D?
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:05:11 AM

If Barbie has a Triple E rack... I sure as hell hope so!
AshTrey writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:16:58 AM

WHAT IF HELL FREEZES OVER AND THIS ACTUALLY BECOMES A LEGIT HIT!! LIKE IF THEY GET A HOT ACTRESS AND ANY GUY CAN PLAY KEN I GUESS... IM THINKING AMBER HEARD AKA THE GIRL FROM PINEAPPLE EXPRESS
Randal Graves writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:36:13 AM

I thought they already made a barbie movie.....it's called Clueless.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:38:39 AM

Was that the Lindsay Lohan Story?
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:48:45 AM

with the way the rock is going they will have him playing ken and barbie will be Sarah Michelle Gellar with comic relief by Seann William Scott
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:49:20 AM

its southland tales all over again
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:50:40 AM

Sweet avatar DM!
disturbed01 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:50:47 AM

just shows how hollywood is running out of ideas haha
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:54:55 AM

they should have Michael bay direct so the only explosions wont be in barbies pants not the mention the cost of the abortion after hes finished with the interview
vwkombi writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:30:28 AM

Ranger, i'm sure you did the exact same thing with Barbies and action figures.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:44:20 AM

Almost...

This girl names Barb (seriously) would c*m over to our fort and strip for us. She was hot.
acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:15:06 AM

What I want to know?

What the f*ck took so long!!!

They are making a Monopoly movie for f*cks sake!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:18:04 AM

'Giant Octopus and Mega Shark' is the one I'm waiting for.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:53:11 AM

barbie's a whore.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:08:12 AM

This role has Jessica Simpson written all over it.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:28:43 AM

Over Paris Hilton?

Or Simpson and Hilton in a lesbo scene?!

HAWT!
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:03:06 AM

a threesome with "The Forehead" Reese Witheredpoon, er, Witherspoon.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:03:26 AM

With Her Spoon?
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:09:35 AM

Reese Witherspoon is way too country and way too undersexual to play Barbie. If Jessica Simpson didn't have such a strong face, I'd suggest her.

Anyway, everyone here is thinking 'blond', but more important to casting is body type and facial features. Not hair color, which is easily alterable.

Wow. Why the f*ck am I giving this any thought at all? It's f*cking Barbie for Christ's sake.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 5:23:04 AM

Barbie... that perfect plastic ass of hers!

Yummy!
gummijoker writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 7:12:24 AM

SOMBODY STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:11:52 AM

Simmons - the guy who advertises matresses and has that gay losing pound infomercial will be playing Barbie. He will wear a wig so that his performance is credible.
timex89 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:02:00 PM

no no..David Hasselhoff should be Ken...XD
NatG83 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:26:14 PM

"Barbie" to Become a Live-Action Movie
"Stretch Armstrong" to become a Live-action movie.

Kill me...
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:50:41 PM

Actually, you should invest if they ask you to. All guys find this idea totally stupid but Barbie is one of the oldest toy ever and has the all record sales on dolls. It's not like there isn't a market there. If I had a daughter in small age - she'd probably beg to see it. How many parents are going to say "that's a stupid movie Honey, Mom & Dad would prefer to go see Nightmare on Elm Street remake"...
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:15:06 PM

ok ok ok ok ok, britanny spear b4 she goes bald and chris pine, lol wtf did i just say?
CCBlev writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 9:11:56 PM

they should do an origin story with this, where baribe is at first a prostitute, and here comes ken, buying her from the pimp and they get romantically invlolved, o wait that would pretty much be a f*cking remake of pretty woman, god damn remakes
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 2:39:04 AM

The only way Ken would get involved with Barbie is so he'd have a bitch to take him shoe shopping. Ken smokes pole (and I'm not saying there's anything wrong with that). Maybe he rescues Barbie because she either reminds him of his first heterosexual encounter... with his sister. Or maybe he rescues her because he hopes she can turn him straight again. Maybe he just liked her nail polish.
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 9:23:46 AM

Range - you f*cken suck-up - I quote you - "not that there's anything wrong with smoking poles" - what got you all soft? Jesus W. Bush - I'm gonna have to be twice as sick to fill in your shoes till you get ok?

...guys, you're really not seeing the big picture here. I agree that Barbie is gonna go down in history with the greats such as Teletubies but this flick is gonna make so much money. Every parent who has a daughter is gonna HAVE to buy the dvd, the toys that go with it, the cd and so on...

I do agree though that Ken must be doing some serious c*ck-sucking - I mean he must be in scatt too. I see him having a good donkey sh*t for lunch...and for supper too at that....
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 11:06:16 PM

'...he must be in scatt too.' - Priceless!
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2009 at 5:27:42 AM

yea, i think they've already made a barbie reality tv-show...what was it called?...it was on mtv i think...maybe people remember if i mention just one star that obviously resembles ken....spencer reed...brown hair ken is zac efron...black hair ken is hmm..that's a tough one...dunno who's emo enough to fit that one lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved