WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"He-Man and the Masters of the Universe" is Moving Forward

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"He-Man and the Masters of the Universe" is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Just weeks after Warner Bros decided not to renew a deal with the Mattel toy company that would allow the studio to make a "He-Man and the Masters of the Universe" movie, Columbia Pictures has stepped in and is currently in negotiations to acquire the rights.

After months of deal-talks, Warners picked up "He-Man" in 2007, hiring several writers and earlier this year set John Stevenson (Kung Fu Panda) to direct. The two companies eventually began seeing two opposing visions for the movie and when the option came up, both sides decided to let it lapse. Stevenson is no longer attached and the project would be built from the ground-up.

The 1980s show, named "He-Man and the Masters of the Universe," followed a blond warrior named Prince Adam who, when uttering the magic words, "By the power of Grayskull -- I have the power," turned into the heroic He-Man. He and his allies -- Battle Cat, Man-at-Arms and Orko -- defended their planet Eternia from the evil forces of Skeletor, who tried week after week to conquer the fortress Castle Grayskull, which imbued He-Man with his powers.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:08:06 PM

I have the poooooweeer (to be a flamming homosexual)!!!!!!!!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:12:53 PM

But the original was a classic!!! I put a curse upon ye, Hollywood, for daring to remake the cinematic masterpiece of our times!!! Dolph is God!!! How can you beat Langella as Skeletor?!? Money-grubing bastards!!!
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:14:26 PM

Yeah, I'm sure there's nothing more homosexual than a buff blond guy in fur speedos running around with a steel dildo screaming 'I have the power'. The closest to p*ssy He-Man ever got was when he rode Battle Cat.

Then again, the homosexual subtext is probably bullsh*t. Prince Adam was just a meek guy that turned into a Tarzan-like Superman. A guy in wild man Rudyard Kipling jungle attire, with a secret superhero double identity.

Looking at it like that, I can see how they could get a decent film out of it. But they won't. Because they suck.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:25:02 PM

Yeah, I just love how overtly gay that cartoon was. Not that there's anything wrong with that. I'm with you that it could be a cool template for a LOTR-type film, but they would have to get rid of Orko, that f*cking annoying c*nt.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:26:22 PM

What about BeastMaster on TV? Ugh!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:26:39 PM

Remember the He-Man movie that was made before? jesus that was a terrible movie!
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:07:01 PM

yeah, it blew!
No Prince Adam, no Eternia, they didnt even acknowledge He-Man's half-earthling heritage.
EvilLyn wasn't from Earth. Skeletor's mouth didn't move when he talked. And they replaced Orko with a troll because they couldn't figure out how to get the special effects right.
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:13:21 PM

If they took all of the good ideas from this (ie. the medieval/high tech weaponry, the kick ass villain, and the potential that it does have), and left out all the stupid sh*t (ie. the homo references and Orko), this could be a dynamite movie. If done right, they could probably squeeze a trilogy out of it.

I've always wanted to see an origin of Skeletor. I think they should ditch making Prince Adam a complete fag too. They could bring in some no name actor to play He-man (because I can't picture anyone specific to play him), and then bring in some heavy names for Skeletor and Man at Arms. They should keep the movie on Eternia as well and not go to Earth. As much as I love the cheesiness of the first movie, it is pretty badly done. They could make it kind of a chronicles of ridd*ck feel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkdim21d_3M&feature=related

this is a fan made trailer that I'm sure some of you have seen, but take a look anyway.


Like I said, it could be good.
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:20:43 PM

Hahahahahahahaha, He-man is lame.
Ranger....Is Gay writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:55:03 PM

bring back Dolph Lundgren!!
IRONDAN writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:00:26 PM

i liked the dolph movie it was a fun campy adventure.... the fact that it was He-Man but not He-man is disappointing for fans...but its just goofy fun... if i had loved the show or the toys i would be pissed 2
Ranger....Is Gay writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:03:18 PM

ya i never really watched the show, but i love the movie, it was fun for back then, but with the todays technology they can do it justice
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:09:56 AM

I have yet ANOTHER fan on here?!?!?

SWEET!!!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:18:21 AM

I don't know, VW. Judging by your avatar, which I assume is actually you and not that crazy *sshole with the ridiculous name, I'd say if you part your mullet just a little differently, you could pull off He-Man. If they got Justin Timberlake for Prince Adam, and someone that looks like your avatar for He-Man, I'd pay top dollar to see that!
nicholas56 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:19:02 AM

i can't beleive cournty cox was in the movie back in the day.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:21:52 AM

Was she? In He-Man?

First boner I had for her (after the 'Dancing in the Dark' video with The Boss) was in a short-run series she was in: 'Misfits of Science.' It had she and Steve Martin's son in it. Yeah... I thought she was the sh*t before she married Arquette just so she could have a whipping boy (and not in the good way).
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:26:34 AM

@Rabid - They definitely mentioned Eternia, they briefly showed it too, it didn't look too cool, so you probably forgot. What did you mean about He-Man and EviLynn having ties to Earth? (I don't remember ever hearing about that) Skeletor's makeup sucked in the movie, nery true, but it was a valid attempt for being made when it was. But I don't know who pissed me off more, Orko, or that ugly f*cking troll Gwildor with his stupid Cosmic Key. PS - ever watch after the credits w/ Skeletor? I didn't find out about that sh*t til like 1998 and I don't think I actually saw it til last year!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:29:38 AM

Yeah, she was youthful and she had a big festering puss hole on her (leg, I think) and she wore a Canadian Tuxedo with Bon Jovi fringe through the whole movie
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:31:43 AM

Ugh!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:24:12 AM

'...she had a big festering puss hole on her (leg)...' --- you mean David Arquette?
Ranger....Is Gay writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:30:50 AM

no, you....
vwkombi writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:31:55 AM

Evil.kev is onto me and who i really am. *shifts eyes to the left and right*
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:34:42 AM

'no, you....'

Ugh!

Is that the best your got?!

LOL!

Zzzzzzz...

I just flushed a sh*t that is a LOT more interesting than you are... ever!

Thx. for taking the time to mod. my avatar! I'm (sincerely) flattered.

So now I have 2 fans:

The Herpes on Rangers d*ck! and now
Ranger... is Gay!

Sweet! I'm the only person on here with a Fan Club!

Ranger's Girls Gone Wild!

Who-Hoo!
coldplayesence writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:52:06 AM

ranger look at the brightside, you can have a threesome for free!! LOL
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 1:58:13 AM

They're NEVER 'free' my friend.

They either want to talk afterward, or cuddle... or eat your food in the fridge.

It's never, EVER free!
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:27:54 AM

Misfits of Science was the sh*t.

And no one could play Skeletor better than Frank Langella, he's an amazing actor and a f*cking legend. That's like getting Jack Nicholson to play the Joker, and Max Von Sydow in that sh*tty Judge Dredd movie.

Gwylldor was an *sshole, but Officer Lubick was the sh*t!
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:46:18 AM

Man... I thought I was the only one that saw Misfits of Science... IN THE WHOLE WORLD! lol.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:58:08 AM

The same guy that created Heroes.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:59:14 AM

And they're not that far apart from one-another... at all.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:13:41 AM

I think I might have been about 8 years old when that show was on.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:28:31 AM

Does that mean that Dulph Lundgren has to get back in shape for the sequel?
Carpen7er writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:33:50 AM

Good movie to Joel Schumacher to direct...
Hitodama writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:07:06 PM

Lol, wasn't there a character called Fisto? Ahh happy memories... not fisting memories, just childhood memories.
NatG83 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:33:23 PM

I agree with the rest of your. Tons of Homosexual hints. Prince Adam...kinda gay. Man-At-Arms...sound like a German Fisting porno. He-Man...enough said. Skeletor...he's going to bone you.
IRONDAN writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:51:18 PM

did you guys know they where going to make a sequel to the first movie but the studio when under... the sets they had where used for Cyborg the JCVD movie which was made up on the spot (not surprised as i remember not understanding what that movie was about"
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:17:41 PM

Seth Green is probably creaming his pants now because he obviously loves the show with all the parodies on Robot Chicken.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:06:36 PM

IronDan - I like you. And I'll even buy you a beer sometime if you NEVER mention the movie Cyborg on this site... EVER!



lol
Ranger writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 2:40:06 AM

Hey!? Where's my 'Ranger... is Gay!' Fan tonight?
Armpit writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 8:51:56 AM

Nat - that was some good sh*t. All they need is Singer to direct it - he'll be very VISUAL about the performances...
makingcircles writes:
on September 28th, 2009 at 11:27:31 AM

HAHA! f*ck all you Nay-saying bitches! This movie will be done and yes there is a 74% chance that it will suck nuggets but I'm holding out for the 26% that the studio will realize they are sitting on a Universe with endless possibilities and dare I say Star Wars epic potential. They just need to develop the characters, and they need to go big with it. If anyone from Columbia Pictures is reading this and you need a stellar script I will definitely draw one up for you (assuming you disregard my "Nay-saying" bitches remark at the beginning of this post)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved