WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight" Author's "The Host" Novel Being Adapted

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight" AuthorSubmit Comment
Producers Nick Wechsler, Steve and Paula Mae Schwartz have used their own money to acquire screen rights to "The Host," the first adult novel written by Stephenie Meyer, author of the "Twilight" series. Andrew Niccol (Gattaca, Lord of War) will write the script and direct.

Meyer's novel is a love story set in the near future on Earth, which has been assimilated by an alien species of benevolent parasites that call themselves "Souls." One such soul, the Wanderer, is fused with a dying human named Melanie Stryder, in an attempt to locate the last pocket of surviving humans on Earth.

"We wanted Stephenie to be involved in the adaptation and have her endorse and be part of the creative decisions," Wechsler said. "'Twilight' proven she knows more about what works than most."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:48:43 AM

...

What are people afraid to admit that story sounds pretty awesome?
NatG83 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:29:50 AM

PrevalentMind, I don't think that it's really an issue with the plot or the author (I've hear the Twilight books are far superior to the movies). I personally worry that this would end up like the Twilight Movie. However, this is a different team behind this project.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:47:08 AM

The story reminds me of the Stargate series, the Goa'ulds. And that's not good
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:24:08 AM

lol. this plagerizer is still getting work>
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:34:14 PM

"What are people afraid to admit that story sounds pretty awesome?"

Perhaps because the 'story' is about aliens that call themselves 'souls'? Because they've 'benevolently' assimilated mankind? (benevolent assimilation? Isn't that like peaceful war? An idiotic contradiction in terms) Or perhaps because the book's story is centered around another lonely, lustful romantically-starved woman looking to locate and f*ck a 'soul mate?

Sounds like another romance novel masquerading as watered down and generic sci-fi.

"Wechsler said. "'Twilight' proven she knows more about what works than most.""

Sure, she knows what works for love-starved overweight middle-aged women. For sure.
Kid_A writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:31:45 PM

So, we can assume that any upcoming Meyer book/novel will be adapted onto the screen, and she will write books considering this fact.
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:44:50 PM

sounds like a good plot to me. Unique.
dandythelion writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:53:43 PM

this oman cannot write worth sh*t. nothing she writes can be considered literature. it's PULP if that. she doesn not deserve the amount of fame and moeny she has receieved when there are dozens of birlliant authorss out there starving because half the poppulation and the enitre high school circuit is too f*cking stupid enough to understand thier books.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:16:01 PM

PEOPLE-

I know you all have a boner for sh*tting on all things Twilight, but I read this and the only name I truly took away from it- the only one that mattered, was:

Andrew Niccol.

If he has plans to make a sci-fi he damn sure knows what he's doing. Gattaca was perfection I dont givaf*ck!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:52:14 PM

"Meyer's novel is a love story set in the near future on Earth, which has been assimilated by an alien species of benevolent parasites that call themselves "Souls." One such soul, the Wanderer, is fused with a dying human named Melanie Stryder, in an attempt to locate the last pocket of surviving humans on Earth."

SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t SCI FAG BULLsh*t
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:57:04 PM

"Sure, she knows what works for love-starved overweight middle-aged women. For sure."

Or preteen girls.

Or scientologists.

Think about it, alien 'souls' fusing with humans? Sounds a lot like OTIII to me.

Will there be any DC8-like spacecrafts in this?

Good thing I write screenplays and not novels, or else I'd be very depressed. This piece of sh*t can get adapted, but I can't get my sh*t even published?

Oh wait, x-men 4 is in development? I'll get the razor and lemon juice....
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:46:51 PM

"sounds like a good plot to me. Unique."

Until you've seen Final Fantasy: Spirits Within.

And Gattaca was good because Niccol WROTE the damned thing. He didn't write this latest Meyer colostomy bag of a book, what Spooky so ineloquently but oh so appropriately calls 'sci fag bullsh*t'.

In other words, science fiction for 'effeminate and sensitive men that can't think'.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:40:27 PM

My problem with Meyer and her work isn't whether it's good or not. I actually read the Twilight series and it was pretty good. My sister asked me to read it so I did, the first three anyway were good. But then I found out that you can trace anything she wrote back to something else that is almost exactly the same story. And she can't come up with an original idea on her own. Not that I'm a person that like romantic movies or anything but the story of Twilight interested me, but it almost mirrors L.J. Smith's Vampire Diaries (which may mirror something else). And because of the fact that she had to have copied someone else so closely (not just gotten inspiration) it's hard for me to support her work.
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:04:51 PM

Sounds like one of those lame ass Australian kids sci-fi series.
Monroe writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:24:35 PM

so i've read this book...its interesting. the plot line may be different then twilight but i have no doubt this will end the same way...the movie will suck ass and make me regret reading the book in the first place!
acslaterson writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:51:46 AM

What has Stephen King said about it? Last time I saw he thought she wrote like sh*t, I will take his word on it until I hear otherwise.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 2:59:32 AM

this woman can't write for sh*t. why do people insist on giving her money for her horrendous POS books and their film adaptations?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved