WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientist Says Humans will Become Cyborgs in 20 Years

Posted: September 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientist Says Humans will Become Cyborgs in 20 YearsSubmit Comment
Scientist Ray Kurzweil claims that our advancements in computer technology and the study of genes will help humans become immortal in as little as 20 years' time. He says theoretically, at the rate our understanding is increasing, nanotechnologies capable of replacing many of our vital organs could be available in 20 years time.

Kurzweil calls his theory the Law of Accelerating Returns. "I and many other scientists now believe that in around 20 years we will have the means to reprogram our bodies' stone-age software so we can halt, then reverse, aging," he said. "Then nanotechnology will let us live forever."

He continued: "Ultimately, nanobots will replace blood cells and do their work thousands of times more effectively. Within 25 years we will be able to do an Olympic sprint for 15 minutes without taking a breath, or go scuba-diving for four hours without oxygen. Heart-attack victims – who haven't taken advantage of widely available bionic hearts – will calmly drive to the doctors for a minor operation as their blood bots keep them alive."

"Nanotechnology will extend our mental capacities to such an extent we will be able to write books within minutes. If we want to go into virtual-reality mode, nanobots will shut down brain signals and take us wherever we want to go. Virtual sex will become commonplace. And in our daily lives, hologram like figures will pop in our brain to explain what is happening."

Kurzweil concluded: "So we can look forward to a world where humans become cyborgs, with artificial limbs and organs."

Editor's Note: I realize that this isn't really movie news, but according to Kurzweil, life will soon become one big sci-fi flick. I personally would love x-ray vision and the ability to transform into a truck.

Source: The Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:36:27 AM

what a hack IMO. this world is over popukated,or so they say. why live forever when overpopulation is gonna be a problem.if this does happen, it aint gonna be as cool as it mite sound.
Detrimental writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:59:33 AM

It's a bunch of fancy words for saying that they're gonna take viagra and make it work for every part of your body. Think about it. A robotic boner. What if someone hacked your manhood? Gives "joystick" a whole new meaning.
Sonic writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:31:49 AM

Who whats to live forever
Fabian writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:44:39 AM

I agree with Sonic. But the idea of being a cyborg is kinda cool. I would travle back in time, and kill every kid named Marty McFLy..
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:54:46 AM

I also liked when in the 1900s the scientists said that there was life on Mars - hey - wait - they have found microtraces of bacterias... My only problem is that I don't want Uhrnie's accent...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:55:57 AM

I want to live forvever! seriously, be the ultiamte power!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:30:25 AM

f*ckin' Great!! Now d*ck Cheney won't have sell any more souls to live forever. He sells other people's souls and not his own since he sold his soul to the devil in 1981 for front row Yanni tickets.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:37:13 AM

How are they close to making us immortal if they cant even figure out cancer or AIDS?

Funny how we stumble upon the fountain of youth by trying to make mp3 players smaller...hmmmmm.
Ari Gold writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:38:27 AM

I believe some of the sh*t said might be possible, but I can't see it happening within twenty five years..

I saw some doc*mentary on YouTube how this guy made a car that ran on water, but was later killed by the government or some crap. I doubt all this sort of amazing technology would be available for everyone.
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:38:44 AM

I've had 40 years of this sh*t around this place and now some guy wants me to be here forever? Shoot the f*cker. Anyways - sorry guys - the people who are going to get this technology are the people with money. You people really think that they're going to give you for free, no strings attached the secret of immortality and perfect health?
If there's even a remote chance that this might happen - I would really like to see their first guinnea pigs... We'll probably end up with zombies or something...
johnny_boy writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:02:43 AM

damn, armpit. tell it how it is.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:11:26 AM

are they f*ckin morons? like it was mentioned here...if we become immortals then we will be overpopulated! There will be no money no food no sh*t for almost anyone! Well I'll say I won't f*ck my girlfriend if she's a cyborg and this idea sounds f*cked up already!
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:18:20 AM

Ramass, you really think that this is really gonna happen like it says in the article? You must also think that in the 23rd century we'll have starships with Vulcans. You must be one of these guys who's gonna buy the next 8 final-final cuts of Watchmen.
WV-Films writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:22:06 AM

My penis is a NeroNET processor. A learning c*ck.
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:28:53 AM

WV - you really cracked me up!!! I mean really - no sarcasm - too bad you can't "write it with the accent".

scarface85 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:12:08 AM

is this a promo for a new movie? this guy is out of his mind :$
acslaterson writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:12:17 AM

God damn frakking Cylons!

"All of this has happened before, all of this will happen again".

Hahaha.
NatG83 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:16:07 AM

I was on board until the Virtual Sex comment. Do women still get headaches in Virtual Sex?

I could see a computer virus posing a serious issue in this vision of the future. "Beware the new Da Vinci virus: It will delete your heart, and send out semen to all the friend on your contact list."

Yeah, I think this is a tad optimistic, Ray Kurzweil.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:29:58 AM

This just in-Uwe Boll just bought the film rights to this article as possible starring vehicle for Kathy Griffin and the cast of "Twilight".
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:08:31 AM

An Earth flying saucer headed for Alpha Centauri was lost in 1997 according to Lost In Space.
In 1984 we had Lunar base and we're fighting ufos according to UFO.
In 2001 we've had a death race with none other than Machine Gun Stallone.
In 2000 the y2k bug was supposed to destroy civilization - make rivers catch on fire, clouds have the texture of cement.

rjd040487 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:21:30 AM

to simply put it "no we wont"
Kurskij writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:38:26 AM

@Armpit
Zombies! f*ck yeah! )
But, seriously? The guy sounds like that in 20 years I'll be Muhammad Effin' Bruce Lee with lasers in me eyes, writing sequel to War and Peace while drinking a coffee, having a 13 inch long c*ck which I won't even get to use, cause sex will become virtual! Oh, I'm also gonna be immortal.
Hehe, I don't think that the Catholic Church will let this happen
LastActionHero writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 11:43:31 AM

Sounds good to me.
coldplayesence writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:01:55 PM

And our brains running smooth in windows vista!!! oh wait...
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:08:18 PM

so wait...does this mean everything becomes pretty much the way people do things like sex in 'demolition man'?...what fun is virtual reality when it's more fun to experience the real things?...scientists can kiss my poor retarded unintelligent ass as far as i'm concerned...besides...it's not like they can help me enjoy weed more
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:14:26 PM

Well, this is movie news, huh? ray Kurzweil is well known for making ridiculous claims. His 'The Singularity is Near' book is one chapter after another of breathless predictions of the most incredible sort of sh*t.

Kurzweil has always had one hell of an imagination, but that doesn't mean he isn't totally full of sh*t.
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:35:11 PM

Yeah Kurzweil isn't a credible source in the slightest..

But since Im already a f*ckin' sex machine. This claim might not be as far from the truth as most people think.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:36:36 PM

hahaha...so what happens if all this nanotechnology is in your system and you get a virus?....so much for immortality i guess...or what if you're near a nuclear power plant that had leaked?...or near a giant magnet?...or what if a meteor crashes and we all die like the dinosaurs?...it's so funny, these scientists get so carried away, they forget the other BIG issues that are inevitably inevitable
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:44:57 PM

I'm already bionic... but I can't talk about it.

CLASSIFIED.

minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:46:22 PM

Pulitzer Prize winner Douglas R. Hofstadter, author of Gödel, Escher, Bach, has said of Kurzweil's books: "It’s as if you took a lot of very good food and some dog excrement and blended it all up so that you can't possibly figure out what's good or bad. It's an intimate mixture of rubbish and good ideas, and it's very hard to disentangle the two, because these are smart people; they're not stupid.
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:03:25 PM

I..AM..JUST..A...MAASADSSDJSHFCHINE
Blank x2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 2:49:20 PM

Cyborg rape. Just throwin' it out there.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:22:32 PM

Likin' you more and more Blank! lol.
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:28:40 PM

Cyborg rape would be "deadly"...

Im all for it..
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:33:58 PM

I'll bring the batteries!
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:46:26 PM

Ill bring the buckets of lube. (castrol synthetic)
timex89 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:46:48 PM

Awesome...a war to fight in 20 years!
dandythelion writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:51:38 PM

the world jeeps getting scarier and scarier. it's gonna be Children of Men meets Mad Max in no time.
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 4:03:11 PM

I'm not sure Kurzweil is a 'scientist' but calling him one sure does lend an air of credibility to his 'predictions', which are always blindly optimistic. He failed to even predict the dot com bust and the economic downturn. I could've predicted that one just using the theory of cyclic history.

The guy has a BS from MIT, has spent his entire life in the optical character recognition field, and hasn't done a days work of original research. His most prevalent invention is bullsh*t.

He's a scientist like Stephanie Meyers is a literaturist.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 4:58:42 PM

Or like Lohan is an actress.
typittt69 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:15:35 PM

Sweet! I just preordered my Playstation 12!
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:43:03 PM

He has a degree in Bull sh*t?!?!?!

Thats fantastic.. Mink, you guys have something in common..

Kidding, kidding...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:49:54 PM

"Scientist Says Humans will Become Cyborgs in 20 Years"

Just like we were supposed to be living in superbly terrible conditions in 1984, right?

Or how manhattan was supposed to be walled off from the rest of the world, correct?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:01:13 PM

Cyborg Rape...the great idea that was so easy no one thought of it until now. Would make a great name for a child...Kids at the playground wouldn't f*ck with you too much with that name.
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:09:27 PM

It Has Begun
lostwarrior writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:10:00 PM

has any one seen the japanese film iron man, thats what comes to mind when I read this article.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:19:37 PM

This will happen, but not in our lifetime.
holtlt writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:06:43 PM

Nahh, would'nt stand seeing my belolved ones dying before me, it would just be depressing, maybe an extension of 20 to 30 years but that's it, can't be playing god
Wonkaman3000 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:37:37 PM

ya than the nanobots will re-animate dead bodys and then resident evil or dawn of the dead will happen........NO THANKS!!!!!!!! lol
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 7:45:16 PM

I think that's what keeps happening to Lohan's beaver.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:18:45 PM

@ Ranger....when you said 'bionic'...i had an immediate flashback of 'back to the future part 2'...griff's bionic implants lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:19:32 PM

gives me a glimpse of what people would be like with this kinda stuff in their system....meth heads haha
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:25:35 PM

I'm older. I got flashbacks to Col. Steve Austin.

Better... stronger... faster...
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:26:28 PM

"Thats fantastic.. Mink, you guys have something in common.."

Compared to all the useless sh*t on here? I could write a computer program that would faithfully emulate 90% of WP's comments.

I know you claimed you were just joking, but you're really not.

"I saw some doc*mentary on YouTube how this guy made a car that ran on water, but was later killed by the government or some crap."

That's just horse sh*t. There isn't enough binding energy in a molecule comprised of one oxygen atom and two hydrogen atoms to power a digital wrist watch. You'd have to split the H atoms to get any useful energy, and then you'd just nuke the state.

Why do you think the video authors chose water as the supposed fuel? Because it's everywhere. Just imagine, plentiful, clean fuel. Hell, you can fill up the next time it rains. And the government, aka Big Oil wouldn't want that.

No offense, no offense to you at all, but that claim is just stupid.
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:29:51 PM

No, mink I was actually joking. I am quite interested in most of your bull sh*t. So to call it bull sh*t would be to call myself gullible. I suppose..

So dude... I WAS kidding... Mostly.
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:33:25 PM

"Just like we were supposed to be living in superbly terrible conditions in 1984, right?

Or how manhattan was supposed to be walled off from the rest of the world, correct?"

You're confusing the plot lines of books and films with the predictions of futurists, people that actually know a great deal about scientific trends and technological advancement rates. Trends like Moore's Law.

The sh*t Kurzweil is predicting, though, is no different from those 1950ish Popular Mechanic ads that prophesied lunar bases and flying cars by the year 1980.

Kurzweil is a snake oil salesman.
minkowski writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:38:48 PM

Triggax, if you're saying you're gullible because you take my word at face value, or lend credence to my opinions carte blanche, then yes, you are very likely 'gullible'. No offense, man, nut that's true for anyone.

I welcome, very much so, anyone, you included, to disprove any statement I claim as fact, and disagree vehemently with any opinion I put forth.

Instead, I have 19 year old boys, who are mentally still 12, calling me names because I criticized Gump and Toy Story.

Not exactly a 'debate', in my mind.
Jergyn writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:51:19 PM

1WORD: BULLsh*t
triggax writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:57:03 PM

"Triggax, if you're saying you're gullible because you take my word at face value, or lend credence to my opinions carte blanche, then yes, you are very likely 'gullible'. No offense, man, but that's true for anyone."

None taken, offense that is. I took that post at face value.. There is however a reason that Im relatively receptive to things that I hear from you and a few other people as adequately truthful, if not more-so, Which would still regardless, make me gullible. Just so long as we're not lumping me in the category of "ignorant" If I, to my knowledge know something is untruthful or illogical or makes no f*cking sense, or whatever the case may be, ill straighten that person out.

Im all for a good debate... I don't think I honestly have a lot to debate about with you unfortunately, we seem to be pretty close to the same page.. Same book anyways.

I will argue something to the bitter end if I see fit though.
vwkombi writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:57:07 PM

What's the fun in being immortal if everyone else is as well?

If i was going to be an immortal cyborg, i would want to be the only one. Then i would live manipulate events through history until a noble cop and an ex-con on his road to redemption figure out my plan and try and stop me. After one badass fight the abandon warehouse we are in blows up and they escape, walking into the sunrise. THEN UP COMES THE HAND!!!!
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:21:42 PM

I've been thinking about getting metal legs....
Ari Gold writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:23:22 PM

'That's just horse sh*t. There isn't enough binding energy in a molecule comprised of one oxygen atom and two hydrogen atoms to power a digital wrist watch. You'd have to split the H atoms to get any useful energy, and then you'd just nuke the state.'

I don't know anything in regards to this sort of stuff. I will not pretend like I do either. I'am just stating what I saw.

'Why do you think the video authors chose water as the supposed fuel? Because it's everywhere. Just imagine, plentiful, clean fuel. Hell, you can fill up the next time it rains. And the government, aka Big Oil wouldn't want that.

No offense, no offense to you at all, but that claim is just stupid.'

It was a while back when I saw this, it was a dune buggy or some sh*t, it is the exact reason why he was killed. No money for oil companies, if it was mass produced.

No offense taken lol, just saying if sh*t like this was possible 'bionic humans' or 'water powered cars' the general public won't see it unless its 100% needed.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:30:02 AM

Lt. Adamtheflash has magic legs.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 3:40:16 AM

@Flash... "How did he SEE Me?"
Eben1277 writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:11:21 AM

A guy named (I think this was his name) Michiu or Michio Kaku (something like that) had a book called Visions a few years ago with some interesting predictions.
takai writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 4:12:01 PM

Going all the way back up top to address Prevalent Mind's statement :

"How are they close to making us immortal if they cant even figure out cancer or AIDS?"

I believe that the 'cure' for cancer and AIDS both have either 1) Already been discovered or 2) Could be discovered if someone wasn't with holding the progress.

Think about how much money the 'Cancer Industry' brings in. They're not just going to let that disappear.

But then again, that's just the conspiracy theorist in me talking.
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:23:40 PM

just look at stem cell research if george bush hadn't interrupted in 2000 then by 2011 we should have had a cure for things like Parkinson disease imagine if al gore had have won the election right now we would probably be driving hybrids and technology in general would be advanced by at least 15 years (in a 8 year period) right not there only just starting to explore the basics of nano technology i dont believe it would be ready in 20 years i say more like 50
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:54:27 PM

These "Scientists" are some smart guys!! So we 'were all monkeys soon we'll be robots'? Who made them god?
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:56:22 PM

"How are they close to making us immortal if they cant even figure out cancer or AIDS?

Funny how we stumble upon the fountain of youth by trying to make mp3 players smaller...hmmmmm."

Well said Prev
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:58:17 PM

It's like a bad infomercial:
From the people that brought you drug dependancy and uncurable diseases- and the nuclear bomb!- brings you hope in becoming a robot!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved