WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Theaters Find New Way to Fight Film Piracy

Posted: September 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Theaters Find New Way to Fight Film PiracySubmit Comment
Film piracy causes $3 billion worth of damage per year, which is why studios are fighting it on a daily basis. They have already digitally watermarked their movies to prevent them from being copied, but how do you stop bootleggers from recording the movies using video cameras?

You can send ushers with nightvision goggles to roam the theaters searching for people with recording devices. Or you can get together with the MPAA and the FBI to crack down on bootleggers. Or you can just hire a company to come up with a new technology.

At the request of Japan's National Institute of Informatics, Sharp has developed a technique to render any recording unwatchable by flashing pulses of infra-red light from behind the cinema screen. The pulses pass through tiny holes in the screen, originally designed to allow sound through, and cause interference to any video cameras held by members of the audience.

The IR light is invisible to the human eye, but is impossible to filter out without rendering the recording to blurry to watch. Sounds like bootleggers better start working on IR blocking devices.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: FarEastGismos


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Jergyn writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:32:14 PM

Wow theyre seriouis right now.
Jergyn writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:32:41 PM

serious
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:48:38 PM

I only go to the theaters that do the cavity search. I know to get this one lady (with cold hands and long nails) to check me every time!
ilovebatman writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:01:07 PM

Stop lying ranger, you know its a dude that ends up fingering you!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:13:57 PM

What the f*ck is the difference?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:15:10 PM

oh I get it now.

People that watch cams have probably watched a lot worse than some tiny squares.
acslaterson writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:23:47 PM

Pay to see movies you cheap f*cks!!! Hahaha.
OneTime writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:24:59 PM

i hope they pulse my privates
borat writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:27:12 PM

i like this but the theatre down the street cant afford this
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:27:26 PM

I mean, it took me 15 minutes to notice it, I didn't understand the difference, and I love those this-image-has-something-that-this-one-doesnt puzzles.
borat writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:27:41 PM

i hope i dont get radiation from this tho
akumavern writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:32:50 PM

Camera 1. Camera 2.
Camera 1. Camera 2.
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:33:17 PM

@ilovebatman (and Spooky)... lol. Exactly... who cares?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:34:54 PM

Yea, this is a stupid idea, if they can do that, then utilize that technology and make the whole thing looks like bullsh*t, not just 1/5th of the screen
thedotsays writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:56:03 PM

Wow, a friend of mine had mentioned this to me months ago. What it does as far as those "squares" is on a much larger scale. Imagine those squares in the right pic are much smaller and far more than the 9 shown. Since the holes that allow sound through cover the whole screen, the entire picture is crap. Not just a portion of it.
It's a pretty good idea and expensive and my friend said the bootleggers are already into devices that will rectify this. But it's expensive for them as well. He says theaters should ban together into a sort of profit sharing union to spread the technology and cost evenly across. But they have that whole out for self mentality that the bootleggers have and will continue to take advantage of.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:09:39 PM

I could stick rubiks cube stickers on a screen too, and get the same result.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:54:43 PM

If watching Bootlegged films wasn't sh*tty enough, they come up with this. Seriously Bootlegged films are sh*t anyway!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:33:36 PM

exactly, so the people that watch them wont even mind
minkowski writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:34:13 PM

Big deal. The best cams come out of Russia anyway. Like those guys don't have the balls to turn off the IR.
secondbest writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:41:25 PM

People who are willing to watch a crappy bootleg where the people in the audience actively get up and sit down aren't going to be bothered by a couple of squares.
KalVicious writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:55:51 PM

I am proud to still pay to watch a film. I'm not ashamed of it. :)
pjmbdm writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 11:48:37 PM

It's 11.50 where I am (orange county) for a regular ticket but AMC is only $6 on the weekends and holidays before 12pm. To get my money's worth I'll just sneak into another movie. Two movies for $3 each ain't bad. My internet costs more a month so it beats watching on there. haha
aarttyst writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:39:16 AM

this is bullsh*t, now movie tickets are gonna go from $10 a ticket to $20, just another excuse for them to raise the prices. once again just another excuse for me to continue watching them online.
MustacheMike writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:42:18 AM

i dont see theaters, especially ones in not huge citys such as LA NY, having this for a while.
entropyMUSE writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:10:29 AM

You know what would be cool? ... If the cinemas positioned the IR lights to form a pixelated massive horse c*ck. I'm sure everyone would feel conflicted watching a bootleg of Iron Man 2, with this gigantic horse donger in their faces throughout the whole film ... Patent Office here I come!
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:40:52 AM

Only one theater without that pulse sh*t is needed to have the movie leaked. Then copies of copies will be made at the speed of lightning. They are fighting an enemy made of water with a sword.

...anyways - I think it's unconstitutional - I like my movies free. If you are able to wait a few months - you can download them from the dvd format - from 1001 sources on the net. So? Big sh*t! Bring in that pulse, bring in phaser topedoes, send in the clones - studios are f*cked before they've made their move.
masKritic writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:16:07 PM

theatres by me are only 7.00 i can deal
masKritic writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:16:51 PM

ha i was looking at the picture for a while too i thought those were just windows on that building in the background.
Lowryder writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:49:59 PM

son of a bitch! god this is the worst news ive heard all day!!
thetheeyecreature writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:01:36 PM

I hate copyright thieves.
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:26:59 AM

I may steal - but I do give back. Once I've seen the movie - I just flush it.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:48:51 PM

I can see the files now:
Terminator_SalvationDIVX_NO_IR_.avi

Big deal little square things- I've watched worse.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 12:50:45 PM

Pro: Bootlegs are down...
Con: The entire audience gets cancer

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved