WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fast & Furious" Director to Remake "Highlander"

Posted: September 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fast & Furious" Director to Remake "Highlander"Submit Comment
Summit Entertainment has announced that it has hired director Justin Lin (Fast & Furious) to helm and Neil Moritz to produce the studio's "Highlander" remake. The script is being written by "Iron Man" screenwriters Art Marcum and Matt Holloway.

The new movie will expand on the original Highlander's core mythology of immortals battling amongst us, hunting each other through the ages. Plans call for the re-imagination to spur a new franchise for the studio.

"We are privileged to have this amazing opportunity to reinvent one of the great franchises," said Patrick Wachsberger, co-chairman of Summit Entertainment. "Neal and Justin have proven more than once that they can deliver an entertaining and exciting blockbuster."

Source: Summit Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:33:14 PM

It still better have music by Queen!
acslaterson writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:48:09 PM

@Ranger, I f*cking second that!

God I hope it is better then the last movie, I loved the series when I was a kid but they totally butt raped the characters AND the universe.
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:50:44 PM

Yep... they beat that dog beyond death!

There can be only one!
Detrimental writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:52:38 PM

"Highlander." So it's about a guy who lives on a hill?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:06:22 PM

Here we are!!! Born to be kings!!! We are Princes of the Uuuuuniveeeerse!!! I am immortal, I have inside me blood of Kings!!! I have no rival, no man can be my equal!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:07:02 PM

Noooooooo, there can only be one!!!!!!!!!!
jsoto127 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:07:23 PM

fast & furious oh boy its gonna suck
get a better director for highlander
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:08:15 PM

The High and the Landerest: Kurgan Drift
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:10:55 PM

Any bets that Vin Diesel will be the Kurgan in this?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:11:11 PM

And the world gets a little bit darker.
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:23:13 PM

@Douche - no bet.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:55:31 PM

I was kiddin' about that, but I wouldn't put it past them.
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:59:49 PM

You weren't kidding. You'd take any sucker on that bet... lol. VD is too obvious the choice.

Now... if you said, hmmmm... Gary Coleman, I'd cover that bet.
thedotsays writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:06:46 PM

Less camp, less humor, and sorry folks No Connery. The material can write itself. sh*t they're immortals with swords who cut each other's heads off!!

I hope they fix the universe though. "There can be only one......" "Well, ok, there's some more....." "Oh....and a few others too.."

It would be cool if the background premise is there's a pool of energy they all share so the less there are the more power they have. I'm sure that's pretty much established but be clear about it. And spread the lore across the globe. It'd be interesting to see the Highlander myth manifest in other countries.
python6 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:16:06 PM

They should use some Man o war music in the new film too.

Black Wind, Fire And Steel

Fool moon's light is calling me
My kingdom lies within
The mystic soul and lion's heart
Brought by the talisman.
The ecstasy of battle takes me
Where the falcons fly.
Immortal youth was granted me
I will never die.

Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born to teach them all to heel
Black Wind, Fire and Steel.

Pounded by the hammers
Of the giants of the world.
I can see in darkness,
I'm the overlord
Single combat I await
My shadow brings them fear.
The spikes upon my chariot
Will grind them when they're near.

Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born to teach them all to heel
Black Wind, Fire and Steel.

I am an outcast
On the path of no return.
Punisher and swordsman
I was born to burn.
Black Wind always follows
Where my black horse rides.
Fire's in my soul
Steel is on my side.

Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born to teach them all to heel
Black Wind, Fire and Steel.

I am an outcast
On the path of no return.
Punisher and swordsman
I was born to burn.
Black Wind always follows
Where my black horse rides.
Fire's in my soul
Steel is on my side.

Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born of Black Wind, Fire and Steel
Born to teach them all to heel
Black Wind, Fire and Steel.

Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:17:14 PM

@thedot - that 'pool of energy' was sort of the thing in the first movie. Then like you say... oh, there's more and more immortals (like all the fricken Kryptonians on Smallville... ugh!). The 'pool of energy' thing was also exploited (obviously) in 'The One' with Jet Li. And no Connery is a concern. And worldwide would be great instead of the usual, typical, final, decide it all for 'The Prize' battle that we've seen in most movies (ahhh... Ghostbusters anyone?).

If they made this (again), I DO hope it would finish with this movie (as the original one did). NO sequels... just let it die (as it were).

And Queen music!
scarface85 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:45:29 PM

yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
GIJOE was a cock garage writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 9:58:05 PM

"ROAD IS CLOSED HIGHLANDER FIND ANOTHER WAY HOME"
dandythelion writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 9:59:25 PM

keep the queen music, nix the director.
vwkombi writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:46:54 PM

It has the guys who wrote Iron Man writing the script, that's a pretty big positive.

By why rehash the old stories? Why not do another story set in the Highlander universe? Why not alternate between medieval England and the Wild West? Why not do something original the audience hasn't seen before?
ian_918 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 11:09:59 PM

Well this will be cool. But i rather would have the whole ironman team JON FAVERAU! he would be good for this.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 11:56:19 PM

Thanks, DoucheNozzle. I'm glad someone else here knows the lyrics to "Princes of the Universe." I've been listening to that song a lot lately. Just watched "Flash Gordan" the other night also, mainly because the title song play was in my head.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:05:30 AM

Oh yeah, and I am also totally against this film. There's already so much history in the "Highlander" saga - why not just continue it with a fresh story? Hollywood has to realize eventually that remakes and reboots are not the only options for franchises that need to be revitalized.
IRONDAN writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:15:07 AM

Tom Jane as the highlander...anyone else agree?
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:19:53 AM

This is great news! The thing I always disliked about the Highlander movies was how vague their origin was. They never really explained the purpose of the game or the prize or who set it all in motion.
IRONDAN writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:25:24 AM

yeah they whole series was a mess... i never watched the show but the movies you need to take one at a time
acslaterson writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:46:59 AM

They did a good job with continuity with the show and I remember watching it constantly. The movie they came out with after the show with Duncan MacLeod(Most of the other movies focused soley on Connor MacLeod, Duncan's clansmen), "Highlander: The Source", was the biggest piece of garbage ever! It was one of those movies where you sit there just wanting it to end!
Ranger....Is Gay writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:53:06 AM

There Can Only Be One Highlander!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:54:05 AM

@irondan - Tom Jane is a great choice for Connor.

Oh... or Clive Owen (just thought of him).
IRONDAN writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:49:08 AM

@ ranger

clive owen would be sick!!!!!

who would be a good connery replacement.... Peirce Brosnan
IRONDAN writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:51:30 AM

Gerard Butler could be a good lead for this
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:55:35 AM

Yeah... another good call.

Watch... it'll end up being Shia (if he's not too busy being 'in love' with his Mother).
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 6:12:09 AM

What a shame. I liked the first movie, the sequels and the series DO NOT EXIST!!!
Hopefully they cast either Thomas Jane or Kevin McKidd
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 8:20:56 AM

The job to recreate Highlander is possible - to top the original? Mmmm.... I look at the first Highlander and I can't find anything that's a turnoff. The acting, the emotion conveyed, music (of course), fights and especially the INNOVATIVE CONCEPTS - something almost dead nowadays. ...and then even - Highlander II is my all-time-favorite b-movie for some sort of reason I don't know of. I have all four cuts and I love the last one they did - changed the sh*tty sky color - story a little more coherent in it's inconsistency.
The problem with Highlander (original) is that it didn't leave itself room for sequels - which - do we really want anyways? Then we got shoved up our ass Adrian Paul - the "plastic Highlander" - he's gonna cut heads but he's gotta look good when he does it - just short of a superhero costume. Jesus W. Bush!!! Highlander: an epic movie - Highlander, everything that followed - epic fail!
lost_addict writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:50:51 AM

bring back clancy brown!!!

He was amazing in the original...

Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:59:14 AM

Lost-a-d*ck - that'll never happen in a remake. Expect at best a cameo from Chris Lambert as a sage or something but they're not goint to use the same actors in the same roles.
If Christian Bale is not availlable get Adam West in the next Batman???
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:43:13 PM

@LA - Clancy was amazing (as he was in Shawshank and... ugh... Starship Poopers). He was even on a little known TV sci-fi series called Earth 2 - which only lasted 1 season, kinda sucked, was OK for Sat. AM TV watching... but he (as usual) was good in it. I see (from IMDB) Hollywood has been keeping him very busy. But yeah, he was excellent in Highlander.
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 1:11:34 PM

Yes, Clancy was fantastic in Highlander. Lambert too btw - he was chosen after the producers had seen his work from Tarzan: the Legend of Greysc*ck. Although Lambert was born in NY he lived most of his life using french and he needed some english lessons when he was cast as Connor. The fact that he did keep a heavy accent only made it more believable that he had to move all over the globe through the decades.
Not sure if this is true but apparently, Highlander was written by a student in some school (for movie - not sure) and the teacher found it so good that it was passed on and became a feature.
A feature that was only an underground hit - it actually made more money in it's "afterlife" than on screen. There's a beautiful metalic box out there with the extended european version that your's truly has. Unfortunately, disc two is simply songs from Queen and a little video (the whole thing lasts like 25 minutes or so - max).
Christopher Lamberts career was never that of "star choices" but rather interesting choices.
Here's a little trivia - Clancy Brown was the voice over in Justice League cartoons - he was Lex Luthor. He actually played the good guy in Earth II. I don't know if you've seen some recent pictures of him but he would be a little too old now to play the Gurgan. Apparently he was very sick (allergies) because of the prosthetics they applied on him (when bald, burned, ect...). Dynamite Entertainment presently have the comic book rights to Highlanger and they published 3 (that I know of) collections of softcover stories. I have two of those and Connor is the main character (sh*tty boring cousin is there too) and the stories are great. The characters have the likeness of the movie characters - which makes it more interesting. One of the stories revolves with the Gurgan as the villain - where he had a plot in WWII Russia that extends to the "Highlander present" (1984). Both stories (form WWII and 1984) run simultaneously and somewhat have the feel of the movie.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 2:06:08 PM

Good post Armpit.

But Queen music is never simple (just teasin... I know what you meant).

Earth II, I liked. But at only 1 season, and re-ran on Sat. TV.

I did know some of that of Clancy. When I wrote (and registered) my Iron Man Treatment back in '99 with The Writer's Guild... Clancy was my first pick to play Dr. Doom (how fab. would that have been?!).

He's 60 now... and shows no signs of slowing down.

As for Highlander - there have been several cuts of it released (like Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan), that I could never figure out why Rachel (Connor's personal secretary) was so important to Lambert's character... UNTIL, I got my own DVD of the movie and found out why. That was a HUGE missing piece (not to the overall story, but to explain the 'awkwardness' of Connor and Rachel - you knew something more was between them but some dumb sh*t to make time limits thought cutting out the WWII rescue scene (of her) wasn't important enough). But it's been a great story through the years. The TV show was good... until that too (like the sequels) began beating the dead dog and well ran out of reasonable storylines.

We'll see I guess what this new one will look like.

Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:48:06 PM

Range, actually the WWII Rachel scene was written in the first draft, removed and then they realized that it was crucial - what was that woman doing in "Russel Nash's" life - and how come she was on to his "secret identity"??? Later - sometime AFTER the movie had been filmed but BEFORE it was released, the scene was filmed. It was filmed in two or three takes max, the money (set, kid) was taken from the producer's pockets (wow - something you never see!) and the Nazi is the nephew of the producer - you can learn this on the audio commentary of the movie and if you've read about the movie here and there.

Yes, Highlander is a "cult" movie. I think the only way Highlander may have a future is with a clean slate - REBOOT - but the original Highlander will always be the true fan's fave.

This is just me - if/when they do the remake/reboot they need to change names, characters and so on. If they have a Connor McCleod and Rachel, antiques - they're simply reshooting the first movie and making sure they end it in a way that they can have sequels. (do we want sequels or we want a good movie - that's another topic). I say keep the Kurgan that comes from that deep mysterious barbaric pre-Russian land. However - get Highlander to be "someone else". We've had Connor McLeod, Cousin McCleod, Clan MCleod, Transvestite McCleod - enough of McCleod sh*t. I have this personnal thingie about reboots/remakes - if you're gonna do it over - make it better and/or bring something new. Otherwise don,t bother. Very often - this is ignored and they know that legions of fans will just chip in their bucks. The number of reboots we've had in the last decade exceeds the number that we've had in all of film's history. Trek, bond, Superman, Batman, Freddy, Jason, halloween - I forget the other but there are also a lot of one shot movies that have been remade. What's the problem - no one can write something original anymore?
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:03:35 PM

I'd like to see all new AP. I don't think the original Highlander needs to be copied either. I think it's grand just the way it is. And with such a great core story... re-writing a whole new story around immortals would be fab! IF they just stay clear of all the writers from the sequels, we should be fine.

As for 'originality' in Hollyweird... I know... lol... good one there my friend!
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:19:33 PM

If I was still 17 I'd be pissing and moaning all over this thread- attacking others and being a total balls out prick...

...but at 25 all I have to say is, "f*ck Highlander. f*ck it in it's fan-hating-destroy- its-own-mythology-over-and-over-with no continuity ASS!"

Reboot in the arse with a steel toe.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:22:34 PM

"I KNOW EVERYTHING! I AM EVERYTHING! Oh...Mario Van Peebles...what are you doing here? Oh wait who the f*ck is Duncan and why did I lose my head for this Lorenzo Lamas lookin muddaf*cker?"
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:34:10 PM

@PM - WELL said. I'm only slightly less sick about that whole sh*t show than you, because I stopped giving a sh*t after watching one of the sequels. Terrible sh*t. The TV show had SOME saving graces (EXCEPT ALL the immortals walking around the planet!), but even that got tired...

So yeah, I hope they put some THOUGHT into this NEW Highlander.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:36:26 PM

Avec Queen music!
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:39:44 PM


Ride the Wild Wind - by Queen fits this movie to a tee. I hope they'd use it.

http://www.sing365.com/music/lyric.nsf/Ride-The-Wild-Wind-lyrics-Queen/4265D7199D05D936482568940006D3C0


Don't try Suicide (by Queen) funny yes... but maybe not for this movie... lol.

http://www.sing365.com/music/lyric.nsf/Don%27t-Try-Suicide-lyrics-Queen/2A5413051075FA7E4825689400036FE1

And of course: Who wants to live forever, and Prices of the Universe (can be listened for Brian's guitar solo alone!).
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:44:55 PM

Prices - Princes -


f*ck MY GLASS EYE AND JUST HAVING HAD LASER SURGERY IN THE OTHER!!!!!!
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 8:22:15 AM

...as much as I really liked the Queen music - they can't use it. The only close thing they could do is if Queen made more music (good one that is) but that's a tall order to fill. It's a tall order to fill anyway to have music for Highlander.
Carpen7er writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 10:28:58 AM

If itīs gonna be without Christopher Lambert itīs fine with me...
Armpit writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 11:47:28 AM

I think they might have Lambert have a small cameo - like when they had Heston in the new Planet of the Apes. Fans like these kinds of winks. But you can't have Lambert be Highlander or be the main villain or something like that. Otherwise you feel that they break the third wall.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on September 25th, 2009 at 1:39:48 AM

Remakes, Remakes, REMAKES!!!! Doesn't anyone have any original movie ideas anymore?!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved