WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brad Pitt is the Villain in "Sherlock Holmes" Sequel

Posted: September 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brad Pitt is the Villain in "Sherlock Holmes" SequelSubmit Comment
We recently reported that Brad Pitt filmed a few scenes for "Sherlock Holmes" as the title character's evil nemesis Professor James Moriarty. The idea was to include the villain in the first film, while setting up the sequel.

Warner Bros quickly denied the story, stating that Pitt has not joined the cast. Later on we found out directly from director Guy Ritchie that Moriarty is in the film and that the actor playing him will not be credited.

It now turns out that both Warner Bros and Ritchie were telling the truth. Pitt is in the film, but since the character is mostly in the shadows and cannot be recognized, he will not be credited and is not considered part of the cast.

According to Variety, Warner Bros is already moving forward with the sequel by hiring Kieran and Michele Mulroney (Justice League: Mortal) to write the script. Robert Downey Jr, Jude Law, Rachel McAdams and Ritchie are all set to return.

Variety added that Pitt is currently in discussion with "Sherlock Holmes" producers for the sequel, but they have yet to reach a deal.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:42:18 AM

Cool, good to see pit back with Ritchie.....when i hear the names Ritchie and Pitt in one sentance i think 'One-Punch Mickey'

GOTTATAKEAsh*tE!
dandythelion writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:59:49 AM

I like Pitt as moriarty. so is his voice at least going to be used? his figure? what?
johnny_boy writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 5:16:20 AM

thats cool. pitt and downey against each other sounds like a good combo. i cant think of a film where pitt was the villain. the sequels gonna be rushed.i dont care as long as downeys still available for the avengers.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:13:33 AM

^"Kalifornia" from 1993, one of Pitt's earlier roles
Bob82 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 9:35:35 AM

I've said it before, I'm pretty sure it'll be a voice cameo in the first one and then a whole appearence in the second one. Sounds good to me, I'm really looking forward for this one.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 9:51:12 AM

I would assume they'll use prosthetics on Pitt for the role or are they going with the hip look?.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:17:48 AM

awesome news! Sherlock Holmes is going to be even better now!
lostwarrior writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:45:29 AM

12 monkeys, fight club, kalifornication, those are a few movies where he was a villian..
billofill writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 10:46:14 AM

No the truth is they Lied, it was in the friggen Script, sure it isnt a creditable scene. ijt sets up for the sequel
acslaterson writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 11:01:16 AM

Well that's pretty cool. I am going to have to read some Sherlock Holmes novels now, I have only read the Hound of Baskerville(spelling?) when I was a kid. I don't remember Moriarty in it...
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:18:40 PM

I have to admit during an earlier article I read, I wasn't happy about Pitt being in it. It seemed like maybe they just added him in at the last minute. But this might be okay, I'm just not the biggest fan of Brad Pitt and when it comes to adapting books, or something into movies the less big names are involved the better they seem to be.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:40:28 PM

Is this Pitt's first English role? Was Moriarty British, Scotish, or Irish? Should be interesting to see Pitt's spin on the character but I have a hard time seeing him as a villain or a smart guy. He doesn't get the chance to play either very much and I hope its not too much of a stretch for him. I also think its a good decision for the first film to concentrate on Downey as Holmes so he may establish his usual brilliance to the character. Jude Law is going to eat up a lot of scene time so it makes sense for Pitt to be held out for until the sequel. Hope it all works out.
T.S. writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 4:09:58 PM

ubertits.
triggax writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 4:19:31 PM

"Is this Pitt's first English role?"

Sac?!?! Are you taking a piss man...

Unless I misread your post, Id say that The Devils Own was his first European accent in a film... but dude.. SNATCH... You know, the one ^^^^^^ guy ritchie directed...
triggax writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 4:20:24 PM

Any word on the Sherlock Holmes with Sacha Cohen and Will Ferrel lately?
IRONDAN writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 4:54:14 PM

yeah the will farrell one interested me... i bet it wont get made at this point.
michelerena writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 9:05:15 AM

I'm sorry but I just don't see Brad Pitt doing this part in the sequel. Warners won't give him the money he'll want to do it. He gets paid $30 million a picture, Robert only gets $20. They would have to pay Robert more money or he would not do it-he's the star of the movie. Pitt's part is smaller and Robert would have top billing also. Brad Pitt is very vain. He didn't have the largest part in Inglorious Basterds or OOberman yet they are still giving him top pay and top billing for both. They would risk losing Robert if they paid Pitts' normal fee and gave him top billing-so I don't know. Robert does his own stunts and can carry a British accent too. Pitt doesn't do his own stunts and can't do a convincing British accent (he'd have to get a voice coach). It all depends, I guess on if Pitt will lower his price and take 2nd billing. (I don't know-I can't see Pitts' ego doing that). If not they'll lose Robert Downey Jr. I really can't see Warners or Joel Silver, the producer, doing that. I think Guy Ritchie is behind getting Pitt at this point. Guy and "Old Pittly" as he calls him, are old drinking buddies. Maybe Guy needs someone to get drunk with on a regular basis. Robert Downey Jr. doesn't drink and I hear Brad Pitt drinks like a fish. Guy might just need "Pittly" as a shoulder to cry on and tell his troubles too. Just something else to piss Angelina Jolie off with too. I mean the PR potential would be phenominal.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:34:44 AM

I would think he'd be too busy bonking his wife and adopting kids to be in the sequel.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved