WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Should Jon Hamm be "Captain America"?

Posted: September 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Should Jon Hamm be "Captain America"?Submit Comment
"Mad Men" won big at the Emmy Awards on Sunday, and many people are now starting to take notice of actor Jon Hamm. On his Twitter page, writer Rob Liefeld (Deadpool, Youngblood) said: "Jon Hamm should play Captain America, IMHO."

Back in July, Marvel Studios production president Kevin Feige said that Captain America will be cast in a few months and will go into production immediately after "Thor."

Well, it's already been two months and all we have are rumors at this point. Some of the name that were thrown around have been Will Smith, Channing Tatum, Matthew McConaughey and Mike O'Hearn (Titan on "American Gladiators"). Considering all the rumored names, Jon Hamm wouldn't be a bad choice.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
IRONDAN writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:01:37 PM

I agree he has a that super hero jaw line and that period look to him.

I know a lot of peeps are going to say he's to old but when you think of it so are Downey Jr. and Norton.

to bad he's not blonde... but you could lighten his hair or just leave him brown because he will have a mask on anyway
duff4444 writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:04:20 PM

I think he would make an excellent Capt America. Probably one of the best choices out there right now.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:12:41 PM

Don Draper as Cap would be pretty bad ass.
Ranger writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:16:24 PM

And, I'll catch flack for this (wouldn't be the first time), but Neil Fifer (OK, LW...lay it on me!!!) has been to their office to talk to them about this.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:29:42 PM

Why not?
rabid writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:38:17 PM

sure. i could live with that.
Ronsauce writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:46:17 PM

Even though Captain America is "supposed" to be younger, I'd take this guy as the Cap over any blond 20-something any day.
atn5022 writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:54:27 PM

i like the idea ign had a while back and having him in the fantastic 4 reboot
Ronsauce writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:04:05 PM

Who would he play in a FF movie? He's far too ruggedly handsome to play Reed Richards.
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:15:05 PM

just get a bad ass dude, just get Kiefer to be him hahahaha, he's blond and he fights terrorism and likes to headbutt the sh*t out of people, now if that's not American i don't know what is, KS for CA
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:17:29 PM

I don't know why i didn't think of this guy before, he does look like he can take the part. Yeah he should go for it, if not, then McConaughey or someone else...but not Will Smith!
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:36:37 PM

Wow, is it a choice between all those other guys and John Hamm?

If so, isn't it like asking how you want to die: knife, gun, getting shot from a cannon, drowning/castration combo, or sleeping pill overdose?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:51:08 PM

"Channing Tatum, Matthew McConaughey and Mike O'Hearn (Titan on "American Gladiators"). Considering all the rumored names, Jon Hamm wouldn't be a bad choice."

Especially since he's the only one that can act.
atn5022 writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:53:04 PM

@minkowski, you obviously havent seen jon hamm's acting, he's phenomenal
weezy208 writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:02:08 PM

I think that's a good choice now all they have to do is sign him
whoever writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:24:44 PM

How about Simon Baker, he's a good actor and would be a hell of a lot cheaper than Smith, Tatum or McConaughey!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:36:19 PM

Id go for it! hes a pretty sweet dude
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:46:04 PM

I haven't seen him act, not that I recall, but I'll take your word he's talented. I had hope, though, that they'd suggest someone that looks more heroic, and can also act.
Dealey writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:50:35 PM

I hear great things about Mad Men and by what people say I'm sure he'd be a better choice than Channing Tatum or the other guys
Powderedtoastman writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:55:33 PM

Not only does Jon Hamm look the part (minus the blonde hair...), but he can act too! I agree, why not? He'd make a great Cap
acslaterson writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 10:04:09 PM

Don Draper is my hero! Haha, I just envy the life style of those guys, boozing at work first thing in the morning, hot wife in the suburbs, mistresses in the city. What a life!

Hamm is way too old but he sure as hell looks the part though. Who is another hero he could portray?
Ranger writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 10:34:21 PM

The Flash?
IRONDAN writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 10:48:42 PM

funny that you say the flash i always thought he looked like the guy who played flash on the 90's tv show
Ranger writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:02:53 PM

Hey ID. Watch... I'll post that guy's name BEFORE I look him up on IMDB... John Wesley Shipp (now off to IMDB to confirm... brb.)
Ranger writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:03:38 PM

lol... oh f*ck! I ROC!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098798/
ghosttomost writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:04:30 PM

genius. hes as all american as channing tatum AND he can act. someone start a petition!
IRONDAN writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:22:43 PM

so Ranger what do you think... could they be brothers?
Ranger writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:24:16 PM

They're both square-jawed. I'd hate to compare ages... but I DO see the similarity for sure!

Well, if he doesn't get CA, they may as well give him Reynold's preference of doing The Flash to Hamm.
nope.com writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:26:14 PM

would be a great choice
nickcrespo92 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 12:04:03 AM

ehhh i think jon would be better playing wally west and titan is wayyy to big but i do see him playing rhyno wif spidey and sry to say but if mchoughney stepped up his acting game and kept his shirt on every movie hed be the best looking choice for stevey rogers
thebreach writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 12:15:38 AM

definately better than all the other rumored casting choices
Bonzaitri writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:03:54 AM

Patrick Wilson for Cap
BrandoFresh writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:05:12 AM

YES! HE SHOULD BE!
IRONDAN writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:20:32 AM

patric wilson aint that bad of a idea dude.... i would back that

as well as Jon Hamm

Anyone who wont play Cap to jokey because you know in the Avengers movie all the funny lines are going to go to Robert Downey Jr.
dandythelion writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:50:07 AM

as long as he goes blonde
VDODSON writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 2:16:49 AM

Jon Hamm is the best choice I've seen since news of a Captain America movie was made public. The guy already has old school mannerisms, and the build.
Whitta writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 2:25:33 AM

Bruce Campbell FTW
Grumblestyle writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 2:35:08 AM

Matthew McConaughey Kahuna Surf Rider & Big Stick FTW....
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 2:51:26 AM

"Anyone who wont play Cap to jokey because you know in the Avengers movie all the funny lines are going to go to Robert Downey Jr."

Well, don't count Ant-Man out. Edgar Wright said that he'll make the forthcoming movie "Ant-Man" an action-comedy, but more along the lines of "Iron Man" than "Hot Fuzz".

Jon Hamm. Well, I haven't watched "Mad Men" (I'll make a mental note to put the first and second seasons on my Blockbuster queue), but let's try and be faithful to the comics and cast someone in their mid-20's at least to play Cap. Some people said they want Chris Pine and Jensen Ackles to try the role out.
Hitodama writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:06:06 AM

WILL SMITH?! WILL-f*ckING-SMITH?! WTF! I'm quite certain that'll never happen. It just can't! M-my head just can't take it anymore. Let's just leave White superheroes white. Are there any cool black superheroes? (just asking) Blade? Bishop? Storm? Black panther? Spawn? (Not enough)
thedotsays writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:03:45 AM

Dudes a great actor. Kills it on Mad Men and was funny as sh*t on his guest spots on 30 Rock.Would have been a pretty good Green Lantern had the execs not been drinking the Ryan Reynolds Kool-Aid.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:07:23 AM

Maybe he is a good choice, but I can't support him based solely on the fact that Rob "what are you talking about, human anatomy?" Liefeld likes him.
Powderedtoastman writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:12:14 AM

Chris Pine is definitely the best choice I have heard yet! Woooot
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 9:57:04 AM

NO! Matthew McConaughey is Steve Rogers! f*ck Marvel if they f*ck that up like they did with not casting Alexander Skarsgård as Thor.
Armpit writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 11:41:46 AM

Captain America aka Steve Rogers. Steve Rogers is a guy with blond hair - so - the minute you stray from the comic you get into trouble with fans. I say nay. I'm sure they can find some guy who looks the part that also has a square jaw line.
rabid writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:22:57 PM

He's got to be young too. He tries to enlist at the age of 19, and he ages very slowly.
stevethemoviehater writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:53:32 PM

i dont think i ever envisioned caption america with a 6 oclock shadow... jon hamm is cool as hell tho
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 2:15:04 PM

Hamm would be good...But, Nathan Fillion would be better.
BurmaShave writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:30:25 PM

This guy has more film star potential than anyone who has come out of TV in a generation. Maybe since Tom Hanks. And who would have thought he had that potential. So yes.
padfootbob writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:40:21 PM

Breaking Bad should have won.
thedotsays writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:50:46 PM

Cap's hair color is easily solved by a dye job. And the 6 O'clock shadow is nothing but a shave. Granted he is a bit aged for 19 obviously but would they really make a Cap film with him at that age?? Sure they'll show it but the bulk of the movie would be a mature Cap pounding fools in the face. This pic doesn't do him justice. He definitely could pull this off. Like how people targeted Elijah Wood for Spiderman but really can't see nobody but Tobey playing the role. Hamm's a great fit.
Armpit writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:57:16 PM

Is it just me or an actor whose name is "ham" doesn't sound too good for the future...
Ranger writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 5:41:57 PM


@Armpit - lol... I thought of the 'Hamm' name too. It fits an Actor's ego... but not so hot up on the marque.

@thedot - exactly: dye job and a shave. People can't pick this sh*t apart like this. Even age is less of a factor than people know. If the guy is fit, and looks the part... screw the age. Captain America is made into a killing machine like Wolverine. Heals almost as fast (not quite... but you get my meaning), his intellect is heightened (a plus even over Wolverine), as are his senses, his ability to learn quicker (tactics). Basically... he's an organic Wolverine! And I'd hope they'd set up the Capt. for going in at night to sabotage the equipment of entire battalions (to save his mens lives), and trash the main guns of tanks, and mess up their tracks, instead of going one-on-one with the Germans. The SSS (Super Soldier Serum) changes him from a boy to a man.

So, to hell with worrying about his hair, his facial shadow and even his age. Find the guy that can do all this!
Powderedtoastman writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 10:19:30 AM

What about Ben Foster? He is an awesome actor (example being his role in 3:10 to Yuma), blonde, and young. Thoughts? I think he would do well!
silverANGEL writes:
on December 28th, 2009 at 3:44:27 PM

you know who i think should play captain america?? Leonardo Dicaprio...



There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved