WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Wolverine" Director Wants "Magneto" Next

Posted: September 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Wolverine" Director Wants "Magneto" NextSubmit Comment
"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" director Gavin Hood has yet to find out if 20th Century Fox wants him to return for the sequel and says that he won't know until the studio finds out how well the DVD/Blu-ray sold in stores.

And if for some reason he is not asked to direct "Wolverine 2," Hood has revealed to MTV News that he will hope that Fox would bring him back for "X-Men Origins: Magneto."

"Absolutely, if I was asked I'd take an interest," the director said of helming "Magneto." "But the truth is I haven't been asked and I think that the studio right now is waiting to see how we do with the ["X-Men Origins: Wolverine"] DVDs, and who knows where we'll all be if and when a ["Wolverine 2"] script is ready."

Hood said that what attracts him to the character is Magneto's psychological life, which is strong, fascinating and complex. "He's certainly a very interesting character one rooted in childhood trauma and psychologically complex and one that was superbly played by Ian McKellen."

Click here to read more about "X-Men Origins: Magneto."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Black_Jack writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:00:36 PM

Um, hell no. __
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:01:51 PM

Yay! He gets to eff up another beloved character's spin-off.
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:04:36 PM

It's a Fox film, so it has no chance.
IRONDAN writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:06:17 PM

why would gavin hood want to work for that studio again?
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:24:01 PM

HELL NAH! As much as this idiot thought he was improving the character Deadpool, he don't even realize, he ruined him. The last thing we need is another hollywood d*ckhead thinking they can improve the things that are already fine as is.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:30:01 PM

'"Wolverine" Director Wants "Magneto" Next'

He can die in a fire.
rabid writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:37:53 PM

Fox makes decent X-films, so I'm buying a ticket regardless. I liked Wolverine, so I trust in Hood to make it good, or acceptable at least.
Is high time to cast a new actor for old Magneto and Xavier though. I really hope Patrick Stewart's role is recast in First Class and this film. He's the perfect voice actor, but he's about thirty to forty years too old.
Ronsauce writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:48:37 PM

"I liked Wolverine, so I trust in Hood to make it good, or acceptable at least." What the f*ck?
"Is high time to cast a new actor for....Xavier though" Seriously? What. The. f*ck?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:06:30 PM

"Fox makes decent X-films,"

WOW. THE STUPIDITY ASTOUNDS ME.
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:11:57 PM

hahahahahah
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:22:13 PM

@ Mink

serious question here dude

Who was to blame for f*cking up Wolverine?

Gavin Hood?

Fox?

or both Gavin Hood and Fox?
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:39:29 PM

Dunno, Skippy. I wasn't there, but I hear Fox interfered enough to make what wasn't so gear to begin with, worse. That's what I hear. To place certain blame, I'd have to know the percentage of influence among Fox, Hood and the scriptwriters.
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:39:42 PM

gear=great
vwkombi writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:51:37 PM

Has anyone here seen "Tsotsi"? It looked quite good. Maybe Gavin Hood is a competent director and Fox f*cked it up.

But even if Hood doesn't direct this, it will suck because it's with Fox.
Absolution writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 8:55:31 PM

no it will suck because its marvel
Dealey writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:54:50 PM

"Hood said that what attracts him to the character is Magneto's psychological life, which is strong, fascinating and complex. "He's certainly a very interesting character one rooted in childhood trauma and psychologically complex"

Yeah like Wolverine?!?!? and they f*cked that one up, so I have little faith in this project now.
Powderedtoastman writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 9:57:59 PM

X-men Origins: Wolverine had SUCH potential. It was probably a mix of Fox and Hood, but either way, Hood should not direct it.

Hood is right, Magneto's character DOES have a very complex psychological aspect to him. But, Hood cannot capture emotion (prime example being Wolverine). Please please please get someone else to direct these X-Men movies!!
Adamtheflash writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 10:58:24 PM

I will probably never get excited about an Xmen film again. The whole franchise has been f*ckin ruined for me. None of the movies lived up to what they could have (not even X1 and X2).
nope.com writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 11:23:58 PM

oh good maybe he'll f*ck this one up as well
Randal Graves writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 1:29:19 AM

"Wolverine director wants magneto next" then.....THE WORLD!
FBO writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 3:14:09 AM

I personal think that Wolverine wasn't more than a hand full of script changes away from a great movie. The problems where CRAPPY cgi, not enough deadpool developement, the movie sets being repainted and redone by excutives over the weekends, and the mutants where given powers that they didn't normally have. Like Gambit climbing walls and super jumping or deadpool with cyclops' powers. But I think the direct made the best of what he had. That's not to say he shouldn't have screamed and yelled more to make it right but he made a very crappy movie into a movie that had nore potential
Hitodama writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:17:14 AM

With these X-men films, the only ppl I thought were cast well were Kelsey Grammer ( at least just for the voice) and the fantastic Patrick Stewart. He literally looks like Prof X and has the acting skills to pass it off. Ian Mckellen (awesome actor) is just not how I pictured Mags to look like. He's really old (lol) and shaky. Infact it looks like he exerts a lot of effort to wield those powers in the film. Blasphemy, I know. Magneto wasn't that old...was he? They got just about everyone else wrong (Storm, Rogue, Iceman, Jean, Cyclops...and imho Wolverine).
Sonic writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 7:58:34 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.......
Eben1277 writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 8:12:42 AM

Guillermo Del Toro and the Swingers dude should be the only people allowed to direct super hero movies ever.
WV-Films writes:
on September 22nd, 2009 at 6:03:52 PM

Mink u wanna take this one or should I?
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 12:48:41 AM

FBO, Gambit can climb walls and even fly. He has very powerful telekinesis. He just can't use it these days because Mr. Sinister put a psychic block on those powers when they went out of control. In the Wolverine film, he obviously hasn't met Sinister yet.
And yes, I enjoyed Wolverine Origins. I had my gripes, but it wasn't a bad film at all. It was quite fun. If anyone has a problem with the CG, then don't ever try and watch a fantasy film from before 1990. You might sh*t your pants in despair watching Clash of The Titans.
Armpit writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 3:29:49 PM

I don't see how technically they can do a "X-Men Origins Wolverine II" since we've seen the character from birth to the day he loses memory where X1 starts. So what's more to see? These little moments where as a kid he'd wipe his ass and cut his anus with his claws by accident?

A lot of people on some forums are asking for a reboot. I like the X-Guys the way they are but the actors are aging. It's now or never to do a Magneto origin because soon Sir Gay is gonna be dead.

Kudos to Signer anyway - I'm not the first to say this but everyone thought it was impossible to bring so many characters in his X1 and still come up with something good and - he delivered!
rabid writes:
on September 23rd, 2009 at 5:45:16 PM

Wolverine still has plenty of story left. Xavier meets him when he is sent to assassinate him by Dept H. Thats when they find the bullet fragments in his brain.

So I'm guessing the sequel will have Logan go to Japan while the son of the Hudsons (who thinks Logan killed his parents) tracks him down with a new Weapon X team. In the comics, the new Weapon team is looking for the carbonadium synthesizer by which to make cheap adamantium. The Russians have this device, so we might get to see the Russian version of Weapon X: maybe Omega Red, Unus, Ursa... hopefully Silver Samurai in Japan.

Maybe they can introduce Daken as the son of Logan and Mariko, then bring him round in X4 or 5.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 24th, 2009 at 12:53:02 AM

I say heck yes!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved