WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Designer and Prescription 3-D Glasses to be Available Soon

Posted: September 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Designer and Prescription 3-D Glasses to be Available SoonSubmit Comment
The new big thing in Hollywood is to turn the majority of upcoming movies to 3-D. Box office numbers suggest that movie-goers are willing to pay a few extra bucks for the experience, but critics are not sure about the future of stereoscopic filmmaking.

To watch a 3-D film, audiences must wear special glasses that are often ill-fitting and unattractive. Plus, they're a big inconvenience for those who already wear glasses.

At the 3D Entertainment Summit came an announcement of one possible answer: designer and prescription glasses with lenses compatible with Real D 3D.

While Real D hasn't made a formal announcement, Real D executive Michael Lewis tipped the story after Fox Sports chairman David Hill said he thought great-looking glasses would change the picture for 3D. "I have two teenaged girls, and they don't want to go on dates looking like they're going to do some spot welding," Hill said.

Lewis responded that designer Real D glasses, including Gucci designs, will be available "in certain outlets" before "Avatar" opens in December. Prescription glasses are on the way some time later.

Lewis told Daily Variety that there are also plans for toddler-sized glasses. "That's been one of the issues we've had with glasses, sizing wise, so we'll be offering that as well."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 8:26:01 PM

How not cool is this!
dandythelion writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 8:52:22 PM

we just keep creating these stupid technologies that will eb our downfall.
AP102390 writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:02:57 PM

Gucci 3D Glasses... unless they also make popcorn and cost 15 dollars no thanks. Designer SUNGLASSES cost enough, let alone ones that you can only use at 3D movies.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:19:28 PM

Who the f*ck still wears glasses? Fat nerds that think contacts are clear Skittles? Prententious twats that believe a pair of faux wire-rims make them more intelligent? Old people that don't watch sh*tty 3D films? A hand people with terrible astigmatism that can't afford expensive toric lenses? Yeah, I can see a real demand for this crap.

Unless they're going to market 3D-compatible contacts, this has less than zero of a chance to actually work.

f*ck the glasses and f*ck the 3D. We're sick of the goddamned gimmicks! Give us good films. Take your money-grubbing greedy godawful puke 3D movies, lube them up with Crisco, insert them into your anus with a pair of rusty pliars, and ram your spleen and colon till they both burst.
OneTime writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:19:31 PM

those real-d glasses you put on now ARE f*ckIN TERRIBLE
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:20:05 PM

-handful of-
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:21:43 PM

"those real-d glasses you put on now ARE f*ckIN TERRIBLE"

You can't handle wearing a pair of paper glasses for 90 minutes? It's that big of an inconvenience?

Man, I tell you, the fall of civlization is going to be a real bitch for most people.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:27:09 PM

^mm hmm
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:30:05 PM

WOW.

Somers spitting in the faces of trained medical professionals.

Indy 5.

Now this?

I'm going suicidal.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:34:22 PM

See, they have this brilliant plan to take all of our money. It's a genius plan really. Look at home video. They started with lumbersome VHS and BetaMax. They sold both. Boom. They killed BetaMax, so people with that sh*t had to buy VHS. Then they suckered people into LaserDisc, a format they knew would go nowhere but the f*cking landfill. They pumped the masses into filling shelves full of VCR cartridges, sh*t that will take a hundred years to completely bury, and a billion to bio-degrade.

Then they shoved DVD on us, far better media for sure, but they marketed it as "all you'll ever need". We again bought into their rhetoric. There's a trillion DVD's in the world, and they're all headed to the landfill right next to all those VHS, BetaMax and LaserDisc tapes. Boom.

Then it was BluRay versus HDDVD. People bought one or the other, or both. Boom Overnight, HDDVD was obsolete, all the while the Circuit City c*cksuckers were 'discounting' by sale now absolutely useless HDDVD discs. They made it look like generosity. Bastards.

So now we have BluRay, the 'ultimate' in home entertainment, or so we were told. But now they start to tell us we will need more. Something 'new' is once again on the horizon. You just spent a million dollars upgrading to BluRay and a Plasma HD tv? Well, f*ck you consumer. You've now got to buy a 3D TV and repurchase all your 'old' BluRay movies in 'high definition 3D'. This is what's coming. I'll bet you.

And then, after that, something else. This isn't progress. It's capitalistic assembly line extortion, by playing on people's shallowness and vanity. And it makes me sick.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:38:53 PM

STOP WITH THE "WELL GUISE VHS WAS TEH SAEM WAY!!!" BECAUSE HOLLYWOOD TRIES THIS EVERY 30 YEARS.

IT'S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN, PEOPLE DON'T CARE ABOUT 3-D.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:44:05 PM

The 50's was the introduction of 3-D, and it was everywhere, but it didn't last, people soon became wary of it and it became a gimmick.

The 80's introduced a flow of 3-d sh*t, from comic books back to the silver screen. did it last? no.

here we are again, almost arriving at 2010 with promises of 3-D tv's and 3-d this and that. The majority of people do not agree with it, so it will not last.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:44:36 PM

Bullsh*t. It'll happen if they, the companies, say so. It'll happen if people start buying it. It'll happen because people are f*cking stupid and trendy and feel they must always have the lastest and greatest, even if the latest and greatest is a f*cking rip-off.

You act as if films Like Transformers 2 didn't make hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of dollars. People will waste money on sh*t because

1. they're bored

2. they have excess money.

3. they're stupid.

QED
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:46:38 PM

This is *REAL* 3D, not the anaglyph sh*t that was around 30 and 50 years ago. Big difference. It's a technological milestone, and it has a far better chance of penetrating the entertainment market than that goofy red and blue crap from decades ago. You need to realize this.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 9:50:16 PM

Yeah...

This idea is pretty Lohan.
triggax writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 10:05:06 PM

Though I do agree with mink, in that, I believe its absolute bullsh*t that regardless of what your home entertainment setup is, it will NEVER be up to date. I'll go over and buy the newest biggest greatest 800,000p HD Dolby digital surround 76.5 f*cking mess of a unit, for a gajillion dollars, and in the time it takes me to unwrap it and set it up, it will be well on it's way to being obsolete. Where I disagree though, is that im 50/50 im somewhat for it because I would really like to see where they can take this technology and what they can do with it, especially in your home, Im really interested in stereoscopic televisions.. Does that mean ill ever buy one? Probably not... 1080p on a 46" is way more than enough for me... I don't believe that everybody that's buying into the media is retarded, i believe that there is a lot of ignorance associated to it, but if it wasn't for those ignorant people, we probably wouldn't have the kind of technology that we have, at our fingertips, at the touch of a button so to speak.. So on one side I don't like the man sucking hard earned money out of folks over mindless new ways to sit on your fat ass, but at the same time I appreciate those mindless fat ass people... If any of that makes any sense... Ive never been good at writing....
triggax writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 10:09:05 PM

Holodiscs are pretty cool too... I think I heard someone mention those on one of the threads here and looked into them there afterward...

That sounds like the newest thing... Probably have an entire playable library on one disc and movie rentals and buying DVD'S will be done online.. That makes sense right... You can sell a DVD for less than half the price if you cut out distribution and packaging etc.

Since 99% of movie goers are getting there films online as it is anyways, it seems like a more logical choice. Who knows it may even help piracy issues?...

You never know.. 10 years my TV AND my video store will be obsolete.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 10:25:59 PM

No offense to you Triggax, so pardon my rant. I'm in a mood.

" but if it wasn't for those ignorant people, we probably wouldn't have the kind of technology that we have, at our fingertips, at the touch of a button so to speak.."

And that's made the world and the people therein better? Space exploration betters mankind. Gene therapy betters mankind. Stem cell research and sub-orbital flight betters humanity.

HD TV where I can see ALL of Amy Winehouse's rotten teeth isn't a betterment to the human race. It's a nauseating fascination with novelty and a perfecting of the technology of mental zombification.

I don't need to see the pores on Tom Cruise's face to understand the plot of Mission Impossible 3. I don't need to hear the THX-enhanced, sixty speaker echo of a rain drop to know what sound it makes. I don't need goofy glasses and CGI insects hurtling at me in 3D to get the picture, understand the story and enjoy the film. This isn't like adding SOUND to a motion picture. This is bilking people out of more money by tricking them into thinking their lives are more complete by owning the 'latest' in entertainment technology.

Do I really need a widescreen cellphone? Do I really need music constantly pumped into my ears via an expensive and easily stolen IPod, just so Apple can laugh their asses off telling you how cool you are by giving life a 'soundtrack', while they peruse their thick stock portfolio in Malibu?

Life doesn't need a soundtrack. It isn't a f*cking amusement ride. If that's how people are going to live it, then they should just f*cking die. I don't need to be connected to hundreds of *ssholes I wouldn't share a beer with or invite to dinner. f*ck Facebook and Myspace. I don't need a cellphone with a thousand contacts so I can get bombarded by incessant chatter from 30-something morons that still think they're 14. f*ck Twitter. Like the world really wants or needs to hear every chirp half a billion people call a thought.

All this technology that people are paying for with their lives isn't making us better people. It's making us more shallow, more detached and less capable of giving a sh*t about the things that genuinely matter.

I mean, hey f*ck your kids, just give 'em a PSP and they can wander around for hours. No need to actually parent. Look at me, I've got a 50-in plasma TV with BluRay. I can watch the Jefferson's till I puke in f*cking high definition. Moving on up, to the east side!

No need for me to go out and play ball or read a book. Hell no! And you can own it all in 60 easy payments of 500 dollars a piece. It's just your life, after all. No price is too high to just waste it away.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 11:15:04 PM

"but critics are not sure about the future of stereoscopic filmmaking."

And neither is anyone with a brain.
OneTime writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 11:26:28 PM

@ mink..there not paper...there plastic...clunky as hell...and you have terrible view..meaning the lense part of the glasses are tiny.
minkowski writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 12:02:54 AM

The ones I have are paper with small plastic sheets that you can't even call a lens because they down't magnify d*ck. They're not even filters. They're just colored shrink wrap in cereal box frame.
triggax writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 12:24:50 AM

"No offense to you Triggax, so pardon my rant. I'm in a mood."

None taken

I absolutely agree with you 100%... part of me unfortunately is ignorant...

But you are right, you're very very right, unfortunately.
minkowski writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 12:33:28 AM

You're not ignorant. You're like me and everbody else. Seduced by the siren song of technology, of the promise to escape the difficulties of life if only we shell out enough money.

Reminds me of indulgences. Way back when, hundreds of years ago, you could pay the keepers of the gate, the Catholic clergy, to absolve your sins and grease up the pathway to heaven.

We do the same thing today, but we've replaced the clergy with corporations and heaven with ignorant bliss on earth.

That's how I see it anyway.
rabid writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 1:01:51 AM

I enjoy 3D films so I'm cool with this. I have a really nice pair that cost me $100. It works in conjunction with a laser that sits atop the computer and a prgoram that shakes the screen into left and right images. Excellent for gaming.
minkowski writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 1:03:14 AM

You paid 100 bucks for a 3D glasses??

That old adage is still so true. A fool and his money are soon parted.
rabid writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 1:14:56 AM

sure, that must be why people are constantly banging down my door wanting to play on my computer.

it's a hell of alot better than what theatres offer. And it's fun (see Webster's for a definition)...
IRONDAN writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 1:25:12 AM

Triggax controls all the world banks and is to blame for all our money problems
minkowski writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 1:25:21 AM

I'd pay 100 dollars for a hot clean hooker, not for a pair of retarded glasses for the neigborhood virgins. No offense.

"sure, that must be why people are constantly banging down my door wanting to play on my computer."

The image in my mind of a bunch of bored, lonely desperate kids beating down a door, just to play with an expensive gimmick has 'comic tragic' written all over it.

Hey! That maybe they can make that into the first good (but somewhat ironic) 3D film.
rabid writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 2:03:19 AM

It's just a psychedelic toy. $100 is chump change. Most of that is the cost of the rendering program, i'm sure.
abhisal writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 2:09:50 AM

3-D killed Swayze
acslaterson writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 2:17:54 AM

I have yet to even see a movie that is 3D in the theaters, the first one I see will probably be Avatar. Spoiled teenage girls are the only ones I see this being a market for. I will just use the ones the theater provides.
Ranger writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 3:41:39 AM

1st 3D I saw was an IMAX - Back to the Cretaceous T-Rex thing. The movie sucked... but the 3D was exceptional.
Ranger writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 3:42:07 AM

'3-D killed Swayze' - LOL!
triggax writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 4:10:05 AM

"Triggax controls all the world banks and is to blame for all our money problems"

I dont even know what to say to that man..
Because i made ONE slanderous joke about jews, you're going to throw out every slanderous and far more offensive than i've been comment that you can come up with after i've commented on a thread?

Whats progressive about that man....

Like i said im not trying to be a d*ck, but at this point with me literally using the term "f*cking Jew" you've managed to deteriorate an entire "race" to a number of over used stereotypes...

How am i the prejudice in this case?

What you're doing doesn't help the situation. Im a reasonable guy and im not out to offend but you're making an ass out of yourself and your religion.
triggax writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 4:24:17 AM

"The ones I have are paper with small plastic sheets that you can't even call a lens because they down't magnify d*ck. They're not even filters. They're just colored shrink wrap in cereal box frame."

Terrible... They can pump 300 trillion dollars into the progression of 3D cinema, yet, im stuck at home with cardboard glasses that fall of every 17 seconds, have lenses made of rice paper and give me a blaring f*cking headache..

Thats the biggest problem with 3D now-a-days..
I can download the latest 3D Films if I really wanted to.. problem with it is, You need a pitch black room with an 800" LCD or Plasma screen television in order to view it... What are the chances that even the rich that CAN view these films are going to be able to fight off the migraine..?...

As much as part of me thinks this is cool and fun and badass, a lot of me is saying, "I just want Stanley Kubrick not to be dead and for 3D to go away, my f*cking head hurts"

Im so up in the air its frightening.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 2:30:05 PM

HA funny cause when I went to see Avatar preview in IMAX 3D I saw the glasses and put them on and was like "What the f*ck these are annoying an hideous. Can we get some designer 3D glasses?!" I got a laugh out of the crowd and seemingly set this plan into effect! Be careful what you wish for I guess.
Lowryder writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 3:01:02 PM

@minkowski, dude stfu! ur such a homo, u never have anything good to say on the forums, and yea alot of ppl still wear glasses including my self, and no im not a fat nerd u prick, i was gonna get contacts but they are a bitch to put in and take out every half hour
Gunslinger writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 7:21:41 PM

Who would have thought people would be so concerned about what they look like in the dark?
karliswilde writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 7:39:18 PM

While designer seems to be taking it a bit far,I would love to see bigger 3D glasses. I have a big face as well as big glasses, and the RealD glasses hardly fit over them, it makes watching the movies a bit awkward.
But seriously? 3D glasses for the sake of how GOOD they look?
How f*cking shallow a nation are we?
rabid writes:
on September 20th, 2009 at 4:52:41 AM

I know what you mean. I always have to watch 3d films without my eyeglasses. I watched Beowulf the 2nd time using the flexible eyeglass inserts for my gasmask that I kept from my army days, but I've lost them since.
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:38:14 AM

"ur such a homo"

Yes, yes I am quite the homo sapien. Why thank you.

"u never have anything good to say on the forums"

Considering that I never post in the forum (this is a comment thread, not a forum), I'll take you claim at less than face value. Which is zero.

"i was gonna get contacts but they are a bitch to put in and take out every half hour"

The idea, is that the 3D capability is passive, so that you don't have to take them out every half hour. Do you understand that?

"and yea alot of ppl still wear glasses including my self"

I dunn what's worse, you still wearing glasses because you can't handle contacts, or you taking your frustration out on me because of the first fact.
karliswilde writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 1:33:14 PM

@mink
I think you're actually being a little too bent towards contacts in all this. Personally, I prefer to wear glasses. Beyond this, some people CAN'T even wear contacts, they actually have to test your eyes to see if they can handle them. Contacts have actually been known to cut some people's eyes. Truth is, people still wear glasses and it's a real problem with the RealD technology that should be fixed somehow.
markmanuel18 writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 5:38:43 PM

you know it's not such a bad idea, just won't get one, but if 3d video games become available on the next gen video games, and i have me a 3d television, point is it's silly now because 3d isn't really part of everyday life, but if 3d, becomes that rmpant to the point where you can watch 3d stuff at home in your living room, or video games, I can see people getting a pair.
rabid writes:
on September 21st, 2009 at 7:39:30 PM

i stopped wearing contacts after one gave me an eye infection. Eyeglasses are much more comfortable and useful and cheaper.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved