WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Astrophysicist Convinced James Cameron to Re-Edit "Titanic"

Posted: September 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Astrophysicist Convinced James Cameron to Re-Edit "Titanic"Submit Comment
During the Cosmic Quandaries event in St Petersburg, our favorite astrophysicist Dr Neil deGrasse Tyson was answering questions about any and all galactic wonders.

One of the topics that Tyson touched on was bad science in Hollywood movies. And while he completely ignored Michael Bay's "Armageddon," since it's just a fun movie, Tyson focused more on films that try to be accurate. His biggest complaint was with "Titanic" and director James Cameron. Watch the video below to hear Tyson explain the problem with the movie and what he did about it.

Tyson has appeared on many shows about space, including "The Universe" and "Nova ScienceNow." He has also made appearance on "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno," "The Daily Show," "Late Night with Jimmy Fallon" and multiple times on "The Colbert Report." And back in 2000, he was voted "Sexiest Astrophysicist Alive" by People magazine.

Video:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: Cinematical


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 5:47:29 AM

Wow! Voted: '"Sexiest Astrophysicist Alive"

That's right up there with: 'Top Pedophile on the Playground!'
FBO writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 7:24:43 AM

We know Ranger, you won an award liddyf*ckingda, and now you can't play at the playgroud any more...
workingdead writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 7:53:02 AM

Amazing. These guys nitpick the sky in a movie, and probably can't tie their own shoes. Anything to make themselves feel good. Long story.............
CitizenKang writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 8:15:33 AM

This guy's like a corss between Sinbad and Rick Moranis.

Must be nice to collect a deep five figure or solid six figure salary, and get to nitpick some post-production night sky in Titanic, a nitpick 99.999% of the population either never noticed or couldn't care less about.

And what's next? The World's Hunkiest Windows Programmer nitpicks MacOS X's Trash icon?
minkowski writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 8:46:29 AM

I wouldn't call that a 're-edit'. Technically, yes, it's a re-edit. But you make is sound like the guy found a glaringly massive hole in Titanic. Pun intended.

All he did was notice that the post-production guys, understandably, saved some ram by mirroring the high-quality sky image in one fairly insignificant shot. And it was the wrong sky for that night, according to some astronomical computer program like Red Shift. (like too many people here have ever used that program, but I digress)

Big deal. I just hope this guy, funny as he is, is as accomplished an astrophysicist as he is a comedian. That, and his contributions to the world of cinema aren't exactly blowing up my skirt.

And the film with the worst physics, not specifically *astro* physics, is a sh*tty little film called The Core.
BlueJulias writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 11:56:44 AM

Dude, I love Neil deGrasse Tyson. He's just f*cking great! Not only is he wicked smart, he makes all that astronomy stuff fun as sh*t. For all you that don't know him he does a lot of work with shows on the history channel, Nova, and overall just making science more accessible. And yes, Mink, he is quite accomplished with a BA fro Harvard and a PhD from Columbia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neil_deGrasse_Tyson
J_e_f writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 12:11:11 PM

Wow, this guy is so annoying. Does he even know what he's talking about? He clearly doesn't get the characters and he thinks he's the funniest guy on the planet.
Anyway, that sky shot was like what, 2 seconds? Move on already...
minkowski writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 12:21:38 PM

"And yes, Mink, he is quite accomplished with a BA fro Harvard and a PhD from Columbia."

Of course he has a f*cking degree. No, I thought he's a high school dropout that landed his cushy job by sucking off the dean. Jeez.

Being accomplished means he's done something useful, like presenting a groundbreaking paper on dark energy. If all this guy does is teach and make wisecracks on educational programs, he's really not very useful. He's a performer, and an audience junkie. And he really, really isn't that funny. Like someone above said, he comes off like a poor imitation of Sinbad, where I'm betting my hairy ass he stole his routine.

Did anyone learn anything from that long ass clip, other than that Titanic displayed the incorrect sky for a few seconds towards the end of the film? Isn't the guy supposed to educate, or at least appear to be educational?

"and overall just making science more accessible."

Yeah, by incredibly dumbing it down. I hear NASA made spaceflight more accessible when they sent monkeys on suicide missions to the moon. Same thing here.
abhisal writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 12:39:06 PM

I'd love to hear Cameron's version of the story
"So here I was, owing to a really inauspicious nightsky, again with the same Astrowhateverguy and he's bugging me again! The Sky, The Sky!"
minkowski writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 1:04:32 PM

"And back in 2000, he was voted "Sexiest Astrophysicist Alive" by People magazine."

Yeah, well, there's was only two people in the poll back then. Him, and Stephen Hawking.

Props to him for appearing in The Universe, though. Great show, I think.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 3:20:41 PM

'Yeah, well, there's was only two people in the poll back then. Him, and Stephen Hawking.' - LOL!

I haven't seen his show, but have seen him on Colbert. He's a pretty entertaining guest. I like the guy.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 3:21:12 PM

PS: I can still hang around playground FBO... I just can't go down the slide behind the kids.
Armpit writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 3:28:20 PM

...can't comment, I haven't seen Titanic and I don't know anyone who did either...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 4:36:38 PM

Tyson is the f*cking MAN! I love this guys work, he kicks so much f*cking ass.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 5:19:15 PM

Kinda pointless because NOBODY is gonna know and its not exactly 'bad science' when its not... well, science.

Mink, watch some Nova Science Now. While the special effects are sh*t and he knows it, he still manages to entertain while keeping on topic. Definitely stuff that would help kids in classrooms, if you ask me.
minkowski writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 5:30:34 PM

Sure, for kids, no doubt. But I wonder: how did 'kids' centuries ago grow up to become Kepler, Gauss, Lapace, Newton and many, many others, without dumbed down science. Do you think they have this sh*t in South Korea? China? Taiwan? Japan? In ANY Asian nation where math and science skills blow the f*ck out of anything native Americans of non-Asian descent can do. And that's just fact.

The thing is, in the United States, we have to turn science into eye candy, comedy hour at the improv or somehow sex it up. That's SAD. f*cking pathetic. I guess MTV2, ipods, Wii, Xbox, all this other sh*t provide indomitable competition to a kid's attention span. So in order to get science into young brains, we have to make it entertainment. Like our news. lol. Entertainment for adults.

And I've watched The Universe. I almost know everything they talk about, but it's still nice to see something that gets me pumped up. Roving Mars did that for me. But I love science to begin with, so I'm not sure how effective these programs are to the indifferent and bored minds of American children.
minkowski writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 5:31:07 PM

Lapace=Laplace.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 6:11:50 PM

Haha, well science in and of itself is not terribly entertaining and unfortunately is not able to explain itself, and you can't just have a professor lecturing at the camera, so some appropriate middle ground needs to be found. The last Nova Science Now I watched had him visiting different observatories and interviewing astronomers explaining the different techniques for finding planets, and as a senior in college I still laughed and learned (yay!).

If it wasn't on PBS it would be complete crap, some f*cking dumb blonde bitch asking questions like she knows or cares what she's talking about but doesn't. But PBS is the sh*t. They had a whole two hour special on human rights abuses at Guantanamo that really opened my eyes to it. Not a f*cking peep from News Corporation or any of the Viacom owned stations though... not surprisingly. PBS is the last bastion of uncensored honesty on tv.

Anyways, back to topic, I'd say he doesn't dumb it down, he just frames it in a way that is more understandable to somebody who isn't already involved in it. And him telling it in a jocular manner seems no different to me than having a likable professor, because he's still effective.

I know EXACTLY what youre talking about, but I'd say him and Nova are the exception to the rule.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 18th, 2009 at 5:38:55 PM

is it just me?....or did this astrophysicist forget that 'titanic' is a fictional movie based on actual events?...re-editing titanic now is just dumb...just about as dumb as seeing it in 3D...grow the f*ck up already!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved