WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott in Talks to Direct Vampire Film

Posted: September 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott in Talks to Direct Vampire FilmSubmit Comment
John Logan has been set by Fox 2000 to adapt "The Passage," the Jordan Ainsley vampire novel being developed for Ridley Scott to potentially direct. It marks the first time that Logan and Scott have collaborated since the Oscar-winning "Gladiator."

In the novel, terminally ill patients become healthy after they are bitten by bats in South America, and the government conducts secret tests on human subjects to see if the virus can cure illness. The result is an apocalyptic unleashing of bloodthirsty vampire test subjects that include death row inmates.

Fox 2000 acquired the book two years ago, paying for the three-book series right after its publishing rights sold to Ballantine for $3.75 million. Ainsley sold the book based on the first 400 pages and an outline, but the film adaptation awaited his completion of the book, which is nearly 1,200 pages.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 7:20:20 AM

First zombies, now vampires.

Hollywood sure knows how to milk a genre.
Ari Gold writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 8:05:03 AM

Casting idea!! Wait for it! Russell Crowe!
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 8:49:15 AM

so that's what Ridley Scott looks like....
Satan Kid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 9:43:10 AM

*Ahem* can anyone say "Iam Legend ripoff"? And before anyone starts saying "how I am legend was about zombie creatures" and not vampires, go back and read the book. Its not only about a virus that mimicks classic vampirism its also the basis for "Night of the living dead" and all other flicks of that nature.Heres an idea-Lets make a true -to -book adaptation of Dracula and NOT include a sex scene with a werewolf(gary oldman)...Now that would be interesting
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 10:00:39 AM

Vampires, ey?? has that been done before??
NatG83 writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 11:03:32 AM

@Satan Kid: I had the same reaction when I read about this. It does sound like a rip-off of "I Am Legend."

Personally, I'm a bit tired of all the Vampire stuff, lately.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 11:40:36 AM

oh god. that sounds cool.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 11:46:34 AM

@SatanKid: Did you read Dracula? That movie was a pretty damn good adaptation of the book. It even had the cowboy in it!

Can Scott do a GOOD vampire film (like Dracula) is all we should care about. Let the Right One In, Thirty Days of Night, I Am Legend, and True Blood have proven that there are still gems in a saturated market. Maybe the man behind Alien can inject new blood into a watered down genre.
triggax writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 12:48:59 PM

30 Days of night was ruined by it's ending... Unfortunately...
Could have been much better...
this sounds good though.. Regardless of how saturated the market is. I have plenty of faith in Ridley Scott.
dandythelion writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 12:50:58 PM

this is what vampire movies should be
SACdaddy writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 12:54:53 PM

@triggax: I like to imagine the ending of Thirty Days of Night never happened. It was a great movie outside of that brain fart.

I wonder if Daybreakers will add anything to the genre. Looks a lot like Blade without Snipes.
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:12:50 PM

@Satan Kid... good call.

To doubters - Ridley Scott...

Gladiator.
Blade Runner.
Blackhawk Down.

Nuff said.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:21:38 PM

Since we're talking about Ridley, I would like to highly recommend an extremely underrated film of his, Black Rain, the tale of an American detective investigating a crime in Japan, while the Japanese cops and citizens view him as an inferior outsider. Great film, with Michael Douglas' only cool role besides Wallstreet. Great film with a very cool score. Highly recommended.
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:26:59 PM

Lots of modern zombie/vampire stories have been a ripoff of I am Legend. It was the first realistic vampire tale. All of George Romero's films and everything they spawned, for instance.

This sounds like a pretty interesting take on vampires. I watch most vamp flicks.
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:27:23 PM

Black Rain is excellent.
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:02:06 PM

@Douche - seen BR many times. I forgot Ridley did that. It's dark, it's enjoyable.

Also just reviewed his IMDB. He did Matchstick Men. Now, I know the movie has been bashed on here (mostly because of Cage), but I liked that movie as well.

Ridley Scott brings a realism to his films. That line should say it all... but just in case... I mean he brings a REAL realism (lol) to his films.
GambleBDJ writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 3:10:00 PM

hell yeah! Black Rain is the sh*t. i had a dream when i was younger tht i played a kickball game with andy garcias head after i saw tht movie. it was the wierdest dream ever. but excellent classic in my eyes. but like most people with old age they lose their touch so i dont think mr. scott can do as good as he has done in the past especially with the Epic (in my eyes anyways) Bladerunner.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 4:55:51 PM

Alien trumps all of those films and is his best by far.

Black Rain is long overdue for a sequel.
triggax writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 5:35:50 PM

@Ranger, I watched Matchstick Men last night oddly enough... Threw it on cause it's been a while... Excellent film... Can't go wrong, smart script good atmosphere and Sam Rockwell.

@sac, BladeRunner, hands down... Alien was f*cking radtastic but Bladerunner was it man..

My personal Scott favorite though, is still American Gangster...
FFantasy1984 writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 6:49:01 PM

Everything these days is a knock off of something that was actually good to begin with. Why not just do a good job with the original idea and then (here's an idea) make a whole new idea!
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 8:54:31 PM

@trig - sh*t... I forgot about American Gangster. I just watched that last week (and a couple of times before that). Again... I don't quite know how Ridley puts that level of realism into his movies. Whether they be sci-fi or reality based. He's the man.

Glad you liked Matchstick Men. Talk about a f*cking twist at the end. And like I have said... it's taken some bashing (because of Nick) - but I liked it.
triggax writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 9:45:56 PM

Yeah.. I really liked matchstick men... Just watching the cons was entertainment enough for me.. Plus excellent acting and a superb twist... Probably my favorite cage flick...

Excellent...
Im not quite sure where he gets his inspirations from.. But even Tony Scott (at times) is amazing at capturing the realism of his stories... True Romance especially.
Blank x2 writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 10:00:13 PM

I love Ridleys Scott's movies. Alien is still one of my all time favorites. I just wanted to say what a sh*tty movie I Am Legend was. Will Smith's worse movie since Wild Wild West.
triggax writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 10:23:08 PM

I liked I am Legend a f*ck of a lot more than I, Robot...
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 4:14:30 AM

I liked 'I am Legend' more than I was expecting.

I'm pretty loyal to 'The Omega Man' - with Heston. But Smith pulled it off and got me to like Legend.
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 5:40:32 AM

Ridley never disappoints!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved