WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros NOT Developing "Superman" Reboot

Posted: September 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros NOT Developing "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
In an ongoing battle between Warner Bros and the heirs of "Superman" co-creator Jerome Siegel, the court ruled that the studio has to start production on a new "Superman" film by 2011. In addition, nothing related to the character's origins can be used, but his ability to fly, kryptonite and Lex Luthor are ok.

Then James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin) became rumored to direct the new "Superman" film. And while McTeigue wouldn't confirm the rumor, he made several statements about how he would handle the reboot and how there's no need to ever mention Superman's origins ever again.

Finally, Warner Bros announced that it has created DC Entertainment to help transition the DC Comics characters to the many Warners media outlets, including film. So everything seems to be on track, right? Not quite.

MTV News got the chance to speak to the new head of DC Entertainment, Diane Nelson, who revealed that there's currently no movement on a new "Superman" film.

"We actually don't have any current plans for Superman," she said. "We've obviously done a lot of great things behind the property in our history, and it's a key part of the family, but we don't have current plans behind Superman."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
super_suck writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:06:27 PM

It's bound to happen someday.....just not soon
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:08:03 PM

Diane... you ignorant slut.
dandythelion writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:12:43 PM

good, no more superman films
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:15:34 PM

@dandy - every time someone says that, God kills a kitten.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:32:52 PM

Good thing DC set up DC Entertainment to compete with Marvel by not making any movies. Nice work.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:36:27 PM

"Warner Bros NOT Developing "Superman" Reboot"

SpookyCupcakes NOT caring about "Superman" Reboot status
Syriph writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:58:19 PM

Wow I mean how can a company be so stupid to not make a superman movie... I mean all they would have to do is sh*t on integrity and make an all out action packed superman movie to make money... on second thought i would a superman movie that doesnt remind me of Michael **sh*tstorm** Bay
Syriph writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:58:50 PM

**i would prefer**
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 8:04:54 PM

DC Entertainment was just a counter measure to the Disney/Marvel deal.

I can imagine everyone employed there to be thinking 'What is it that we are supposed to do now?'

The Superman film need a new direction if it ever goes ahead.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:50:43 PM

First of all, Its a woman. they don't know jack sh*t about comics. Second, its the f*cking media. Just because somebody says something, doesn't mean it is true. f*ck you Diane, f*ck you.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:54:45 PM

They probably interviewed her while she was 'straddling the gauze' too!

And she's probably a canoe-cleaning lesbo!

And fat!

And ugly!

f*ckin' canoe-cleaning lesbo, fat, ugly bitch!
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:23:04 PM

A woman Is the Head of DC entertainment, good one
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:23:47 PM

is this April Fools?
skatemaster62 writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 12:16:11 AM

warner you are a bunch of stupid f*ckheads, why cant you just take a crobar and pry those empty heads outa your f*cking asses and make a decent superman film. there have been many and i mean MANY writers and directors who have exspressed interest in making a film, and they acctually have some pretty good ideas. you would rather let the charactor go back into the hands of the creater then do something for the fans. your nothing but a bunch of ignorant *ssholes!!! do you not see your letting the segils f*ck you up the ass and whispering "your not good enough for the c*nt". oh well Superman welcome to Dark Horse
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 12:38:10 AM

i call bullsh*t. they have something in the works.
dandythelion writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:26:40 AM

@Ranger - i'm a dog person anyway.
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:57:50 AM

So am I... lol.
lost_addict writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:13:20 AM

they should wait anyhow a few years so people could forget the horrible and gay 'superman returns'....
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:33:23 AM

I think it would be interesting in the meantime to let Singer redeem himself by showing Kal-El's adventures the 5 years he away in space... That would be a decent way to introduce Brainiac and Mongol, and it would get him the hell away from Metropolis, Lois, and Lex for once.
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:48:08 AM

Also, if they wanted to make Superman's saga really dark... have Lois' son turn out to be the son of Zod. In Superman2, Zod kidnaps Lois. He could've knocked her up then somehow. Then they can make it like the comic where the kid ages really fast and turns evil.
KidCarib writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 5:12:18 AM

who gives a sh*t. i havent liked any superman after Lois & Clark
ahahahahahahaha
Sonic writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 7:14:43 AM

RIP Superman
TRUEMAN writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 8:37:26 AM

this movie needs more technology like the one from Avatar more photorealisn!
triggax writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 12:55:34 PM

Jesus, am I the only person that didn't mind Singers version?...

I thought it was pretty good...

What they should do is dig up Richard Pryor, Marlon Brando and Christopher Reeve and do a marionette film.. Team America style.
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 1:30:34 PM

The Singer version was pretty good... except for the parts with Lois Lane, with Lex Luthor, his stupid evil scheme, and with emo Superman and his wheezy child.
But other than all that, it was a decent film.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:44:50 PM

I'm with Trig on this. Bring back and zombify Pryor.

This world has never felt the same without his voice.
Armpit writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 3:15:16 PM

Waitaminute - waitaminute... I've got an idea...

First of all - a good Superman movie needs a good title - SUPERMAN RETURNS...AGAIN - that sounds Superman - it would be Superman that comes back but a second time. So people would know that the reboot has been rebooted.

Second we need a good story. I think that if Lex is well handled - he would make a good villain - maybe some land swindle thingie? Yeah, that would be good - Lex tries to use Superman in a way he doesn't realize to have his own country.

I think I can write this - sell it for 2 millions to WB.

Ok - so Superman Returns had a good cast, good effects - what's the prob? People would like to see an original story that's all. SR cost 200 millions to make, made Worldwide 391 millions. I think that 100% profit would've been sufficient reason to make a sequel.

No matter when and how a new Superman is made - there'll always be people who won't like it. ...and guys - it's just a movie after all...
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 3:16:36 PM

@trig - I liked Singer's version as well. He put in a LOT of subtle tidbits only true Supes fans would catch and appreciate.

There is that dark version (story) of Supes floating around... whereby he ends up being the last survivor of Earth. THAT's the way this story should FINALLY go!!!

EPIC!

SUPERMAN!
Armpit writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 3:51:54 PM

See, I don't think that the James Bond needs a reboot because of one bad sequel, I don't think Star Trek needs a reboot because of one bad sequel. There are always at least one movie we like less in franchises.
It bothers me if every movie is a reboot. I do agree at minimum that the "opposition" in SR DEFINATELY should've been 10 X better. Then again - I don't think that it's reason to kill it. WB had finally agreed and got going. If and probably when Superman does return - it'll be the same - a fortress, doomed planet, fighting baddies and wearing glasses. Here we had Brandon Routh who would've "grown" into the part but now - in ten years, we'll do it all over again. This time we'll not only compare the new kid on the block with Reeve but with Routh.
This reflects on the way of life too - when people do a mistake - they throw everything out and give up.
Now - for example if people are tired of Lex (I know I am) just, don't mention him in the next flick. Leave Kryptonite out too. I'd have some more Brando-El speaking with Kal-Routh. Jason - well, he would've died anyway to bring the "worse-best" of Superman in a fight. Giving more reason for the wedge between Superman & Lois. Have Richard White find Clark's secret but dies too with the kid - and then - we're back on track with characters we know.
A sequel would be even less expensive in many ways for WB - casting is done - some new sets but most of them are already all architected. There are hundreds of ways that a sequel could (could've been) be handled but there are hundreds of ways another (yet) reboot could be handled. BUT still, I hate to see another reboot - makes me think of Batman Keaton, Batman Kilmer, Batman Clooney, ect... I understand that his villains couldn't guess his identity - even I couldn't know who Wayne was...
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 5:18:15 PM

i would just make his costume out of kryptonite then when he puts on the suit he will be too weak to take it out and boom he's dead there's your reboot
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 6:47:05 PM

Kryptonite is over done.

Superman has two other serious weaknesses. Magic and his dependence on the sun.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 2:53:13 AM

That's old news.

He's new weakness seems to come in the form of an alien who goes by the name Diane Nelson.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved