WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Berg to Direct "Battleship" Board Game Movie

Posted: September 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Berg to Direct "Battleship" Board Game MovieSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures is moving forward with turning the popular Hasbro board game "Battleship" into a live-action feature film by announcing that it will be released on July 1st, 2011 and will be directed by Peter Berg (Hancock).

"I've been consumed with doing one of these since I tried to convince Tom Rothman at Fox to make a film about John Paul Jones, the founder of the American Navy," Berg said. "As a kid, I was dragged from Navy museum to museum, and spent so much time on ships, listening to my father talk about the great battles of WWII, I did my high school thesis on the Battle of Midway. When this came up, it didn't take me long to find a take for a film that is filled with raucous action-packed naval battles."

Berg called the pic "a contemporary story of an international five-ship fleet engaged in a very dynamic, violent and intense battle" -- but he would not disclose any details about the enemy force.

This announcement, means that Berg's other projects like "Dune" and "Hancock 2" will have to wait. But according to some recent reports, he is still planning on developing those films.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:03:48 AM

So... this is to be like Tron... where real people playing the game affect/effect a battle in some other dimension then?!
vwkombi writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:19:21 AM

Bah, who wants to watch 2 hours of "Ok, lets bomb this area, then ring up the enemy and ask if we hit anything."
vwkombi writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:21:07 AM

Then of course the enemy will ring up the first guys and ask "did we hit anything when we bombed that particular area?"
vwkombi writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:21:34 AM

And the movie will be so pointless because neither commander will be even smart enough to movie his ship.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:24:22 AM

This idea is so stupid VW, I'm just curious (seriously) how they plan to pull it off. So far, I've only come up with my Tron copy-cat idea. And if they do ANYthing close like that people will know it in a second.

I want to see Giant Octopus and Mega Shark! Now THAT's sea-faring entertainment.
rabid writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:42:12 AM

God & the Devil playing with real battleships to decide the fate of mankind.

I'm anxiously awaiting the Connect Four movie.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:50:23 AM

Or 'Tip-it' - The Cold War Standoff!

Hungry, Hungry Hippos - the weight battles of Oprah and Rosie O'Donnell.

The Game of Life - starring Partick Sway... hmmm... nix that.

Operation - the Jeffrey Dahmer Story.

Hands Down - The Never, Never (tell your parents) Ranch Movie.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:53:34 AM

So, it's basically a Battleship-named film about boats at war, and not the damned game, right? Like a modern 'Masters and Commander'.

But hell, what a way to sell more sh*t, right? Action figures, movie-themed tie-in versions of the board game, boredom-relieving icepicks...
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:55:57 AM

Well, they could do a Tom Sizemore biopic. Call it Connect FIVE.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:59:16 AM

lol.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:03:41 AM

"Hands Down - The Never, Never (tell your parents) Ranch Movie."

I thought that was Candyland.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:13:17 AM

Hey Michael... is that a candy cane in your pocket or are you just happy to see my son?
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:20:27 AM

Either way, there's a lot of licking involved.
scantraxxroots writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 5:04:08 AM

All this talk about board game movies, the only one im truely really excited for is Ridley Scotts Monopoly, all these other adaptations will have to do a bit more to get me to want to go watch it
Trip Maverick writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:28:31 AM

I just hope they make a solitare movie thats where the big bucks are hollywood!
mdp711 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:26:59 AM

Bah, who wants to watch 2 hours of "Ok, lets bomb this area, then ring up the enemy and ask if we hit anything."

Now, THAT is hysterical!!! Hollywood is running out of ideas. The movies coming out so far in late Aug/early Sept. are of no interest to me or to most people based on box-office receipts. I hope Zombieland is good.
lostwarrior writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:29:26 AM

the only film listed in this article that im concerned with is Dune, im sorry but the original was bad ass...
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:01:15 AM

Main Title --> KA-BOOM! "You sunk my battle ship!" --> THE END --> Credits --> 5 Oscars
Dealey writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:54:55 AM

What about an Uno movie? Or Jenga? Or sh*t how about pogs? All brilliant foundations for exciting films I think
dandythelion writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:17:15 AM

i cna't see any way how this is going to be a good movie
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:45:42 AM

Jenga - the real 9/11 story.
borat writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:35:22 PM

b5 i sunk your battlesh*t
timex89 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:19:35 PM

F4
Gaudion93 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:31:44 PM

Ranger, that Jenga comment, couldn't help but laugh!! Now I'm going to ask God for forgiveness lol
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:41:30 PM

lol.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:15:37 PM

What?? No "Tiddly Winks" Movie? f*ckIN' BULLsh*t!!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:20:25 PM

Hello, God...It's me AF again...yes, yes...I buried the hookers well enough...Please forgive "ranger"...and me...because I found that funny as well...Hey, ranger...I reserved us a nice little rambler that over looks the where hitler and john denver are getting ass-f*cked for all time by a t-rex with AIDS thats hopped up on "whip-its" and PCP. Don't forget ur toothbursh, buddy.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:35:13 PM

AF my friend.

Nice hearing from you!

Hitler and John Denver... lol. Priceless as always!
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:45:53 PM

g6
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:05:52 PM

all I can say is you sunk my battle sh*t.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:24:54 PM

Ranger-nice hearing from u as well...stiil corruptin' the world one blog comment at a time I see...Wouldn't have it any other way...
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:37:19 PM

Stop... you're gonna make me cry.

XO!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:38:51 PM

@AF - To bring you up to speed... I have some bad news for you and some bad news.

The bad news is we lost Swayze.

The bad news is we still have Lohan.

Can't win 'em all Bro.
FrancescaP writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 5:11:11 PM

why? what is this movie..
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 5:30:30 PM

It's sh*t. Can't you tell?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:40:01 PM

"Peter Berg to Direct "Battleship" Board Game Movie"

And another decent life decision goes to waste.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:41:29 PM

Like Lohan's parents not going with abortion.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:32:24 PM

battleship was already a movie remember?....in 'batman forever'?...then they played 'turbulence'
Ari Gold writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:55:28 PM

John Paul Jones?! Really? I thought he was the bassist for Zepplin..
vwkombi writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:00:17 AM

Right on Ranger, Giant Shark vs Mega Octopus looks awesome (i love so-bad-its-funny films).

But back on track, i would be curious to see how they are going to pull this off. It will probley be a big ass series of CGI boat battles with commanders yelling at each other via ham-radio.

It doesn't really have to be a TRON clone, maybe the ships are manned by robots, the robots become sentient and have to stop their human oppressors?
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:58:22 PM

No VW... Giant Octopus and Mega Shark.(it's not the same if you don't get it right... lol).

But I'll tell ya now. I'm the first in line to buy GO vs. MS and Black Dynamite on DVD!

Both of these movies will beat 70% of the sh*t that's coming out. And if I'm giving up 90 minutes of my life to watch a movie that turns out to be bad... then I'd rather spend it watching a movie I KNOW will be bad (as in BAD-ASS like GO vs MS and Black Dynamite!).
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 5:22:58 PM

they should do the Nukem board game that's in the Robocop movie instead.

"I'll buy that for a dollar"
Ranger writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 11:22:50 PM

@Kirk - I have that old guy on that movie sided by the 2 hotties on a digital frame cycling though a few hundred pics.

'I'd buy that for a dollar!'

I have personally used that line for so many applications over the past 22 years... lol.
vwkombi writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 2:44:20 AM

Bah, Giant Shark vs Mega Octopus sounds better. The studios should've listened to my dyslexia in the place first. I don't know about buying the DVD, but all over the Torrent like STDs to Lohan.

I should really get around to watching Transmorphers and The Terminators. I'll bet their better than Revenge of the Fallen and Salvation.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved