WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Talks "Lincoln"

Posted: September 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Talks "Lincoln"Submit Comment
Steven Spielberg's "Lincoln" film, starring Liam Neeson, has been in the works for years. And now that Robert Redford has announced that his own Lincoln project, "The Conspirator," will start shooting next month with James McAvoy and Robert Wright Penn, will Spielberg abandon his version?

"We are very happy that Redford will be doing this Lincoln movie," Spielberg told Variety. "It is completely different from what our DreamWorks Lincoln movie will be, and we believe that it will add to the commercial potential of our film. Lincoln as a subject is inexhaustible."

Redford's movie focuses on a young woman charged with conspiring to kill Lincoln. Spielberg's Lincoln story reportedly was to focus on the president's anguish over the length and toll of the Civil War. The script is being revised by Tony Kushner.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:03:48 AM

Maybe this will get him off his ass and make it, Neeson is the perfect age right now!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:09:10 AM

Remember when Spielberg was a go-getter... a trail-blazer, a trend-maker (Schlindler's List, Saving Private Ryan...and a dozen others).

No he's a follower?!

Zzzzzz...

Maybe he has some more Gremlins sh*t he'd prefer to do instead?

Ugh!
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:00:21 AM

"Lincoln as a subject is inexhaustible."

Apparently, everything and anything in Hollywood is inexaustible, except for good taste and reserve.
super_suck writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:34:58 AM

I hope it will be in 3-D
mdp711 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:22:55 AM

Sounds like garbage. I love Steven's work but he's had a number of clunkers as well. This sounds like a dud to me.
NatG83 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:08:52 AM

"Apparently, everything and anything in Hollywood is inexaustible, except for good taste and reserve."

So true.

I'm willing to give Spielberg the benefit of the doubt on this film. Neeson is amazing on screen, and Spielberg did an incredible job with Schlindler's List. If he can tap into that magic, this will be a great film.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:57:36 AM

But Spielberg isn't only TALKING about doing this. His comments were towards Redford's project.

Steven... get the pickle out of your ass and get to work... finally, someday.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 3:00:59 PM

Sorry... Spielberg IS ONLY talking about this project...

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:44:24 PM

"DreamWorks Lincoln movie"

No f*cking way.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:25:28 PM

I have this script. I haven't read it yet, because I heard it was tabled. Now that its a possibility again I think I'll read it.

P.S. I hope to god he casts Sally Field as Mary Todd Lincoln!
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:09:53 PM

Haha, who is Robert Wright Penn?
KidCarib writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 5:06:25 AM

@Ranger - Gremlins was AWESOME. well i was a wee pint when i saw it..actually i may not have actually been born. nope I was 4 years pre-birth. still a great film for my age. i wanted a gizmo for the longest. but my dad never went to china(twn) to get one the bastard.
i would much rather see Spieldbergs based on the content because the redford movie seems more assasination/romance.. but each seems interesting.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved