WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Patrick Swayze Dead at 57

Posted: September 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Patrick Swayze Dead at 57Submit Comment
Hollywood actor Patrick Swayze has lost his battle with cancer at the age of 57, confirmed his publicist Annett Wolf. "Patrick Swayze passed away peacefully today with family at his side after facing the challenges of his illness for the last 20 months," the statement said.

Diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in January 2008, Swayze fought a very public battle with the illness and hoped for a miracle cure. In an interview with US journalist Barbara Walters earlier this year, Swayze said he was not giving up. "Am I dying? Am I giving back? Am I on my death bed? No way," he said. "I want to last until they find a cure."

Born Patrick Wayne Swayze in August 1952, he was always destined for stardom. In 1972, he packed his bags for New York to train as a professional dancer and after scoring a few roles on television, Hollywood came knocking.

In 1983, following his film performance in "The Outsiders," the roles kept coming. He starred in the action film "Red Dawn" and opposite Rob Lowe in "Young Blood" but then he became an international celebrity for his role as Johnny in "Dirty Dancing."

His fame continued to rise with the romantic box office hit "Ghost," starring alongside Demi Moore and Whoopi Goldberg. Swayze's star status was confirmed when he played Bodhi in the action blockbuster "Point Break" and it was following that role when People Magazine dubbed him the "Sexiest Man Alive" in 1991.

In the late 1990s he featured in smaller movies before making a comeback in 2001 as the motivational speaker and closet pedophile Jim Cunningham in "Donnie Darko," featuring the up-and-coming actor, Jake Gyllenhaal.

His most recent on-screen performance was in a US television series, "The Beast."

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 76 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
otis writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:04:11 PM

One of the greats. Now, Ghost seems like a biopic. :(
WV-Films writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:09:46 PM

Yay WP got their act together! But the main question now is, who is going to be there to take Baby out corners?
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:09:53 PM

Damn, beat me to the punch Otis...I was actually going to say, "Looks like Ghost 2 is in pre-production." But seriously, RIP.
Tyrkae writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:10:12 PM

2nd post and ya he was awesome in donnie darko
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:18:37 PM

Damn, seems like everyone in show business is kickin' the bucket. Always seemed like a cool guy. I personally loved him in Point Break, not a masterpiece by any stretch, but a very fun film, and in one of my personal guilty-pleasures, Roadhouse. That's really sad. Farewell, man, dance dirty with the angels, Pat, dance until the dawn turns red...
OneTime writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:19:30 PM

point break was my fav.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:23:20 PM

When are the clowns going to start in on the unfunny, monotonous death jokes? Afterall, dying from pancreatic cancer is such a gas. I have to wonder if these posters making fun of Swayze dying, would laugh if they got some form of terminal cancer. I'd like to be by their bedside, making a crack every ten seconds. Show some f*cking respect.

Adios Swayze. Because of Point Break, because of Roadhouse, and because you were a decent human being, you deserved a better death.
Bob82 writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:27:38 PM

Really sad news. I haven't seen all of his movies, but "Point Break" was one of my favorites as a kid, and "Ghost" is a classic. He was great in "Donnie Darko", and he'll be missed.

Vaya con Dios, Bodhi!
makingcircles writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:28:17 PM

R.I.P Patrick...thanks for the great movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:35:03 PM

Really liked the guy's work. Sorry to see him go so early in life. RIP Dalton.
rabid writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 11:51:35 PM

Now, it'll be a double-entendre every time the Wu-Tang rap about being "ghost like swayze"
masKritic writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:11:29 AM

RIP Swayze love ya man
super_suck writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:22:34 AM

the best act in a foot chase was when Bohdi took the time to stop running, pick up a dog and throw it at Utah. Forever miss Patrick.
AP102390 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:24:09 AM

he will be missed, his role in Donnie Darko was seriously underrated and despite the fact he didn't really do anything good after that, he was still a great actor.
BigUnit writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:02:12 AM

"Point Break" CLASSIC! thats all i gotta say...
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:21:44 AM

I liked Sam Wheat because he made Molly cry. Molly was so hot when she cried... it gave me a mondo boner.

RIP Patrick.
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:21:50 AM

I feel bad for the guy and grew up watching his movies. That being said, the guy smoked like two packs of cigarettes a day and didn't stop once he was diagnosed...
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:24:53 AM

That picture of him posted... that's a before picture, right?
God writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:32:52 AM

Do not blame my greatest invention. Cigarettes did not fell the man named Dalton. I gave him pancreatic cancer.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:34:37 AM

Hey God... thx. for chiming in.

Cancer to Swayze aside...

What about your Priest's f*cking all those Altar Boys... I mean, that's the $128,000 question?!
God writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:37:26 AM

Priests get lonely, Ranger. What else should I have them do? Perform charitable works? And is it not better than what my drinking bud Allah has the Muslims do with goats? Oh, Allah. He's a real kidder. Short guy, no hair, bad complexion. His breath smells like camel dung, but Jesus can he put away some lager.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:43:22 AM

Word God!

Plus I dig Jesus (no pun intended). He's the only Savior that can use either hand as a whistle. And that just rock(s of ages) in my book.

And I believe f*cking Nuns could be habit forming.
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:44:04 AM

Hey God:

http://www.nytimes.com/1986/03/25/science/pancreatic-cancer-cigarette-smoking-is-strongest-link-to-deadly-disease.html
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:46:08 AM

@acslaterson - I thought catching 'The Lohan' is the strongest link to deadly disease.
God writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:46:41 AM

Have you ever f*cked a nun, Ranger? It's like a piece of heaven. It's tighter than the door to Paradise Peter the Boucer guards.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:49:09 AM

I'll bet that un-shaven, horny, hairy, frustrated, smelly bush (no...lol, not the ex-President silly) is fab!
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:51:00 AM

Leave it to acslaterson to respond to an obvious joke with a link to a news article. lol. Pretty lame.
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:53:37 AM

^^^Lame? Like Anime?
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 1:59:27 AM

Hahaha, I'm just messing with you man. Your PC rant and avatar picture just seemed like good nerd targets.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:04:07 AM

So you try to insult me when I point out that you responded to a nonserious post with a news article? Clever guy. You should be a can opener. You're that sharp.
VDODSON writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:06:26 AM

RIP man. I was always a big fan, and I really wanted him to pull through. You'll live forever through the films you've made.
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:06:36 AM

I was merely pointing out that God should use Google, settle down there sport.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:12:48 AM

So you suggest god should use Google when she jokes around? lol.

I would suggest a DNA test, ac, if bowling balls had DNA. You might find your real father.

haha. I'm just messing with ya, sport.
acslaterson writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:15:31 AM

Dude, go rub one out. You seem waaaaay to uptight. I don't come on here to get into fights with people.
vwkombi writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:22:43 AM

He will live on in classics such as Black Dog.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:27:11 AM

I think the saddest think about Patrick is he clearly had a passion for life (don't care if he smoked a ton of cigs a day... his passion, his life, his choice). He wasn't some do-nothing, complainer... He went out and did it well. He love life and his life (and his family for sure). So it sucks when a passionate human being are taken against their will (and we're left with Lindsay Lohan and Gary Coleman for God's sake!).
Ranma-Irias writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:33:18 AM

RIP Patrick.
Sev writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 4:46:46 AM

Damn this sucks, RIP Patrick!
Javicon writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 5:31:33 AM

DESCANSE EN PAZ, TE RECORDAREMOS............ (Sorry for the Spanish)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:48:36 AM

Cool dude. Will be missed for sure.
mdp711 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:10:32 AM

My mother died in March 09 of Pancreatic Cancer and it was one of the worst sufferings I have ever witness watching her deteriorate slowly losing function after function.

Patrick Swayze suffered, too. He won't have to anymore. I always liked him. He seemed like such a humble man in a very rude and cut-throat industry. Goodbye Patrick, say hi to mom.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:39:02 AM

The guy was a terrific actor and his role in Dirty Dancing is easily his best. I too was hoping for a miracle cure, this is unbelievably sad. Watching Ghost will never be the same
Sonic writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 7:49:58 AM

RIP Swayze. I guess my question has been answered.
lawman writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 8:18:20 AM

CITIZENKANG>>>>> Just to let you know. Your a fag. Just wanted to make sure you knew. Huge fag, you actually skin your knees running up to and then knee sliding into a guys c*ck!
Satan Kid writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:05:36 AM

I agree with Citizen Kang. Show some f*cking respect. Unless you’re over 40, this man was a staple of your childhood and a great man. He was the Arthur Fonzerelli of Hollywood. Too cool for the bullsh*t that dominated celebrities and immune to the controversy. He stayed faithful to his wife even though he was a heart throb! A lesser man would’ve had his d*ck in every whore in California. But not Swayze. He refused painkillers so that he could do “The Beast” and I know he went out with the same grace and dignity he had in Life. God Bless that great and honorable man.
Lordchristo writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:35:41 AM

Wow, settle down there, chief. Most of the off topic, off colored remarks on this thread came from ol' CitizenKang himself, if you noticed. Everyone else has been quite respectful. The only good thing that can come outta this is they hopefully stop effin' around with Red Dawn and leave it alone! Also, yes, Swayze did seem like a stand up, good natured man in the cesspool that is Hollywood.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:45:28 AM

Actually, stupid f*ck, I was the first to demand some respect in anticipation of Ranger's constant mocking of Swayze's debilitating and terminal cancer.

So, can you f*cking read? You know, words, and all that? Pay attention bitch. Pull your sister off the corner and get some change if you need it. Grab a f*cking thesaurus, a dictionary, an Asian, whatever you need, to master the written word.

And, Swayze, I apologize man. You deserve better than have sychophants and dumbasses mar your memory with 'fag' jokes and general human stupidity. See you in that big roadhouse in the sky.
CitizenKang writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:51:39 AM

And Lawman, restrain your latent homoerotic fixations. Go chase an ambulance or defend a murderer. Go triple bill a client.

Lawman. What kind of f*cking stupid arrogance is that? Like we give a sh*t you're a lawyer. Lawyers are the lowest form of life. I despise lawyers. For me, they're somewhere between a c*ckroach and that white stuff that acc*mulates at the corner of your mouth when you're really thirsty.
God writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:54:29 AM

Well, there aren't any lawyers up here, I'll tell you that.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:11:24 AM

Man this has been a tough year for celebrity deaths. MJ, Kung Fu, Ed, Farrah, Ricardo Montalban, Billy Mays, Ron Silver, Natasha Richardson, Marilyn Chambers, Walter C., Bea Arthur, Dom DeLuise, and now Swayze. Unfortunately, the list goes on and on once you include all the political figures (Kennedy, Jack Kemp, Novak,etc.), musicians, and sports stars. Sucks to be famous! Wait a minute, no it doesn't.
lawman writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:23:31 AM

Wow hit a nerve huh anime fag? And nice waste of time on the lawman= Lawyer rant. To bad your wrong. The names not Lawyerman. You dopey sh*t! I am a cop. And here come the bashing cops talk. Either way, you still gobble c*ck!
lawman writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:26:55 AM

And i like the roach/white stuff comment that you poached from Con Air. What a tool!
lawman writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:31:15 AM

Kang, Jesus Christ man, I just wasted the time reading your comments. "That big road house in the sky"?? Really? Really? And you plan on arguing that your not a fag? With a comment like that, I guarantee someones balls deep in you right now! Holy sh*t! That big road house in the sky! I cant f*cking beleive you typed that! the only way you will see anyone at that "Big raod house in the sky" is if its a gay bar!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:54:54 AM

@mdp - sorry to hear that my friend.

@CitizenKang - 'in anticipation of Ranger's...' -- glad I'm keeping you on your toes. lol.
triggax writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:18:03 PM

RIP Swayze...

I have to agree with lawman here... Citizenkang you and your anime are the very definition of queer bait... f*cking loser. Go find another site to argue and talk sh*t to everyone.

Get the f*ck out, you little bitch.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:20:49 PM

Here's what our friend Kanye West had to say about all this: "YO PATRICK SWAYZE I KNOW YOU JUST DIED AND ALL AND IMMA LET U FINISH.. BUT MICHAEL JACKSON'S DEATH WAS THE BEST ONE THIS YEAR"

Anyone who has heard about the VMA mishap can get that one.
borat writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:31:46 PM

Point Break.... nuff said
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:48:59 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - I heard about that. That and Kanye swigging Hennessey right out of the bottle in public. Yeah... he's a class act. We lost people like Swayze and get stuck with his stupid ass.
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 12:49:56 PM

"Life... it'll f*ck ya with yer pants on!"

Ranger - 9.15.09
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:09:57 PM

He was great in "too wong foo" and "point break" was awesome and led to "hot fuzz" thoughts and prayers go to his loved ones.
thedotsays writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:13:04 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 Funny as hell!!!

RIP Swayze. If anything, I will always respect his guy for being one of the FEW, and I mean FEW celebs out there that rarely ever complained. He was thankful for his career good, bad or indifferent. He never complained about why he wasn't getting certain roles or whatever. sh*t he got cancer and didn't even complained about that. He was a real classy stand up guy and these other crybaby celebs really need to take a lesson.
And Roadhouse was my sh*t!!! He ripped dude's throat out!!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 2:55:22 PM

Nice post Dot.
el-ray writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 4:00:42 PM

RIP Patrick Swayze
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:45:35 PM

I do not give a sh*t about Patrick Swayze both ways.

I am indifferent to this article.
Koolkrazykid55 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 6:50:41 PM

Hey yo Patrick Swayze, imma let you finish in a minute. I juts wanna say the Micheal Jackson had one of the best deaths of the year. thats all. - Kanye West LMAO
Deathscythe writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 8:44:13 PM

Look at God's picture buddy, HE is a dude. Red Dawn was a nice look back at the fear still alive in the 80's about the Russians invading, well made.
Monroe writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:46:14 PM

Rest in Paradise Partick! Another loss for hollywood... :(
Jedimax writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 9:49:38 PM

This is my friends facebook status:

I sure hope Kanye doesn't show up to Patrick Swayze's funeral going "Patrick I know you just died and all, but I'm just saying Michael Jackson had the best death this year"
thedotsays writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 10:43:29 PM

Serious spooky? If you're "indifferent to this, why not just pass it by? Although you do earn some snazzy douche points for posting negativity in an article you don't care about. Be gone.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 15th, 2009 at 11:55:33 PM

RIP Patrick Swayze...another legend gone...but never forgotten
lost_addict writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 2:11:58 AM

I heard he was smoking 3 packs a day or something...
Armpit writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 4:02:14 PM

Everything that is alive, unfortunately dies one day.
I'd seen a pic of him some months ago and his physical body was but a shadow of his former self.
It's always sad that anyone should die but when it's an actor that gave us, even for one moment, that feeling of being more than the sum of our parts, we feel the loss too...
rabid writes:
on September 16th, 2009 at 6:49:30 PM

If I had a death sentence like him, I'd probably do more than smoke 3 packs of cigs. I'd get a smack habit!
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2009 at 1:28:28 AM

Like a smack Lohan habit? I'm with ya!
KalVicious writes:
on September 20th, 2009 at 11:45:31 AM

Rest in peace, sir. :(
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 8:55:16 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved