WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Best Movies from Toronto Film Festival

Posted: September 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Best Movies from Toronto Film FestivalSubmit Comment
Alex here, from the Toronto International Film Festival, getting ready to go to bed at 4am to wake up at 7am to go watch more movies and interview more people. But before I do, I wanted to share the top three films that I consider to be the best at the festival.

We will have the full reviews for these and many other movies from TIFF as soon as we get back. But for now, check out my picks below and feel free to ask any question that you may have.

* The Road: The film recently was pushed back for the third time to November 25th. Many fans have speculated that it must be trash since it keeps getting delayed. Not so. The reason for the new November date, is to get it ready for the awards season.

This is easily the best movie at the Toronto Film Festival and is not only well-made, but has some of the most disturbing scenes I have ever witnessed (people around me were covering their faces in horror). Viggo Mortensen's performance is definitely Oscar-worthy and so is John Hillcoat's directing. Do yourself a favor, see this movie as soon as it becomes available. And be ready to cry, scream and enjoy yourself.

* Up in the Air: This is Jason Reitman's new film after "Thank You for Smoking" and "Juno." It tells a funny story of a man (George Clooney) looking to earn his 10 millionth flyer mile after spending a lifetime on the road firing people for his company.

The movie may not be for everyone, since it is very emotional at its core, but even with such an impessive resume, Reitman was able to deliver his best film yet. The twists and turns in the story keep this picture going and while it has a strong message about the importance of family and friends, it is seen through the eyes of a very self-absorbed man who wants nothing more than to be unattached for the rest of his life. It is this approach that makes "Up in the Air" a great film.

* The Informant: Matt Damon puts on 30 lbs to play a corporate executive who decides to narc on his co-workers for price-fixing. Some of the humor comes from the character's random inner monologue that has little to do with the situation around him and more about life's little mysteries (do polar bears know that they have black noses?). The rest is a story of a simple man, who is so delusional and naive, that his brilliant master plan quickly begins to expose him as the fraud and joke that he is.

This is a rare movie with a perfect combination of humor, mystery, soundtrack, great acting and great story-telling. It is as funny and quirky as the trailer implies and keeps the dry humor coming until the very last second.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TGDirector writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 3:54:48 AM

Thank you Alex for doing the reviews. Been waiting for them. Don't forget about Dr. Parnusses! Have fun Alex!
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 4:07:36 AM

Sounds good, thanks for the update.
James.Speed writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 4:20:35 AM

I liked Accidents Happen.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 5:23:06 AM

I'm pumped to see Up in the Air... enough said
otis writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 9:24:48 AM

Thanks for the update!
MovieFanAttic writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 10:13:55 AM

The Road looks like the Day After The Day after Tomorrow.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 10:27:15 AM

Was starting to think The Road was never coming out. Glad to hear good news about it. The trailer doesn't do it much justice though. Makes it look too much like The Postman.
c-prime writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 11:26:03 AM

I wasn't expecting much from "The Informant", but you speak so highly of it I might consider seeing it now. Thanks, man.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 11:38:55 AM

Nice, I'm interested in all of those. Have you seen The Men Who Stare at Goats? A Serious Man? The Bad Lieutenant reboot?
Vincent Chase writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 11:46:41 AM

Well it's good to see you guys all caught some great films instead of catching a piece of sh*t like Trash Humpers.

The Road may be my most anticipated of the year!
alexgi writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 1:40:37 PM

@MovieFanAttic: "The Road" is nothing like "The Day After Tomorrow." It is a serious, intense film with real drama at the center. I truly believe that it is the best film of the year and will clean up during the awards season.
alexgi writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 1:42:38 PM

@Osiris3eagle: I recently saw "A Serious Man" and had the chance to speak to the Coen brothers. The movie is very funny, but mostly because of the characters. It is not for everyone, but Coen fans will definitely enjoy it. I laughed throughout, and am still trying to figure out some of the meaning behind it.
holtlt writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 2:10:56 PM

THE MEN WHO STARE AT GOATS!!!!
Syriph writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 2:40:01 PM

THE ROAD... I just cannot wait for this movie. Viggo plus a fantastic book just equals a perfect movie... hopefully
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 5:41:09 PM

Though im not a huge viggo fan, i have been waiting for the Road forever. The book is sitting on my nightstand its like everytime i put off reading the book the movie gets pushed back. Maybe ill get a start on it finally.

Up in the Air looks amazing, definitely the sleeper hit of this year.
dandythelion writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 5:56:27 PM

yeah I'm excited to see Up in the Air the most. Jason Reitman is becoming a great director pretty quickly. Ilove Juno and Thank You for Smoking and Walter Kirn is a great writer i think it's a perfect match. plus, Danny McBeide and Clooney in the same film? awesome.
Fabian writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 7:20:59 PM

The Road looks good. But does any one get the feeling that adaptations and re-makes are taking to much over?
ValiaVeweth writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 7:42:31 PM

I'll see the Road and Up in the Air, but the Informant doesn't interest me at all. It looks a little lame.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 13th, 2009 at 9:21:09 PM

"The Informant" told me that "The Road" might get an Oscar, but it's still "Up in the Air."

Anyone? Come on, that was pretty good.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 1:26:44 AM

I can't wait to see: 'Lohan - my fist, my Lover!'
acslaterson writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 2:16:04 AM

Good thing "The Road" got pushed back. I am reading "Duma Key" and I just can't seem to get through it. "The Road" will definitely be read before November though!
Rich k writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 4:08:52 PM

The Road looks good i might accually see this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved