WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Creates DC Entertainment to Compete with Marvel

Posted: September 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Creates DC Entertainment to Compete with MarvelSubmit Comment
Now that Disney has acquired Marvel Entertainment, Warner Bros is feeling the pressure to do something with its many DC Comics properties outside of Batman and Superman.

To realize the full power and value of the DC Comics brand, Warner Bros has now created DC Entertainment, a new company that will be charged with strategically integrating the DC Comics business, brand and characters deeply into Warner Bros and all its content and distribution businesses.

The DC Comics publishing business will remain the cornerstone of DC Entertainment, releasing approximately 90 comic books through its various imprints and 30 graphic novels a month.

Current DC properties in development and/or production at Warner Bros include:

* "Human Target" is being produced by Warner Bros Television for a mid-season debut on Fox.

* "Midnight Mass" is in series development at Warner Bros Television for consideration for the 2010-11 season.

* "Jonah Hex," Warner Bros Pictures' supernatural Western starring Josh Brolin, Megan Fox and John Malkovich, recently wrapped production in Louisiana.

* "The Losers," Dark Castle/Warner Bros Pictures' action-adventure drama starring Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Zoe Saldana and Chris Evans, began principal photography mid-July in Puerto Rico.

* "The Green Lantern," Warner Bros Pictures' next big superhero tentpole release, recently cast Ryan Reynolds as the titular character. The film has a projected second quarter 2011 release date.

* "Lobo," based on the DC Comics anti-hero, has Guy Ritchie attached as a director.

* Warner Premiere's direct-to-platform DVD animated release of "Green Lantern: First Flight" debuted July 28.

* Warner Bros Animation currently produces "Batman: The Brave and the Bold," which airs on Cartoon Network.

* Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment released "Batman: Arkham Asylum" on August 25, a dark, action packed video game adventure for Xbox 360 videogame and entertainment system, PlayStation3 computer entertainment system and Games for Windows.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 6:59:45 PM

Nothing that I'll be too excited to watch, I wish DC would try to adapt more Vertigo stuff.
T.S. writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 7:36:50 PM

I don't know if I can handle Reynolds as a serious actor.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 7:54:53 PM

do they honestly think this will be able to compete with disney and marvel? good effort tho. i personally HATE that disney bought marvel. it's going to eff up the superhero movies.
rabid writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 9:07:01 PM

I was a big fan of the first Human Target tv show with Rick Springfield. The clips from this new version look kinda decent.
Much more excited about Midnight Massachussetts. I've always thought that comic could make a successful tv show, kind of like Supernatural, except good.
FBO writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:09:31 PM

DC has done better with three films than Wolverine, X-Men 3, Electra, Daredevil, and the first Hulk.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:51:29 PM

Marvel f*cking sucks, seriously its overrated and its just a bunch of fanboys, kids, and media hype that are why their films are getting any success. (With the exception of Iron Man and Punisher -Thomas Jane)

From what I've seen DC has made the best comic book movies by far

Watchmen
The Dark Knight
Batman Begins
V for Vendetta

I also enjoyed Constantine, but like I said, those four movies BLOW all of the marvel movies out of the water, the only one in the same zip code is Iron Man
nope.com writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:15:52 PM

I'd take Watchmen (as much faithful as it was the pacing was awful and the same can be said for V for Vendetta, which hurts me since I'm a HUGE Hugo Weaving fan) off that list and insert Spiderman 2 on there. Sorry Iron Man fanboys, but as badass RDJ was in that film it was WAY overrated and not on par story wise with S2 or TDK.

Good news for DC fans btw
LegacyAR writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:27:04 PM

JacksWas and FBO are idiots. For every bad marvel movie, there is an equally bad DC movie. Electra = Catwoman, X-men 3 = Batman and Robin, Wolverine = Superman Returns. And your forgeting all the really good Marvel movies such as X2, Spiderman 1 & 2, Incredible Hulk, and so on. Not saying that I don't like DC movies because I do, but you're not giving Marvel enough credit for the amazing stuff they've done.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 1:41:16 AM

Couldn't have said it better myself nope.com
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 1:44:24 AM

Batman Arkham Asylum is amazing btw, someone finally made a really AAA superhero game. I only mention it cause its on the list. I say for the next Spiderman game they go get the makers of the Spiderman Animated Series, hopefully they'll have similar luck. Though BTAS>SMTAS
rabid writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 1:57:44 AM

Spiderman: Web of Shadows was a great game. I rate it just as good as Arkham Asylum.
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:09:06 AM

Human Target sounds good. He was a cool character. Also, what happened to the Deadman movie?
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 4:53:43 AM

maybe warner brothers will finally get off their asses to bring out the 60's batman series with adam west on dvd. Fox permitting of course -_-
Sonic writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 6:53:15 AM

what you can do, I can do better........
scarface85 writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 8:42:01 AM

i wished it was the other way... yo know warner geting marvel...
Farradin writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 9:02:50 AM

I'm a DC, but I have to admit that Marvel have made 1 great movie. And two that are very good (but massively overrated). I'm referring to Spiderman 2, Iron Man and X-men 2 respectively.

DC have an untapped well of great characters and great concepts and have shown that they have the cajones to tell more complex stories.

Hopefully with the help of their new head honcho, who has overseen the Harry Potter franchise since it's big screen inception; they will put more of their characters and brand out there for the average consumer.

I think that though Marvel have more well known characters DC still have characters that have entered the public subconscious through other mediums. Either by tv shows (Wonder Woman, The Flash), or even the occasional lampooning (Green Lantern, Aquaman). In short these are exciting times for both companies!
Post_Man_87 writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 9:27:11 AM

Just thought I'd clear something up.

DC did not create DC Entertainment to "compete" with the new Marvel/Disney conglomerate. DC Entertainment has been in the works for several months at WB request to bridge the gap between the DC and WB - that has created problems in the past - most recently during the whole Watchmen FOX distribution mess.

That was a huge problem (among other things) and this is their strategy to circ*mvent those kinds of things from happening again. NOT to compete with Marvel/Disney, WP.
nope.com writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 11:49:23 AM

totally agree with you Farradin, I'm so glad Warner is FINALLY doing something with other DC properties.. though I don't know if Wonder Woman can ever work in live action

btw Arkham Asylum arrived a few days ago my roommates and I are hooked =)
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 1:49:39 PM

I LOVE a great Marvel - DC debate!

There's are so many pros and cons for both sides!

Nice.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 4:24:17 PM

Nice try DC...keep repainting Batman and Superman- now you're up against the mouse-house- Haw-ha!
bluemeenie writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 4:24:34 PM

Make a Flash movie already!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 6:21:54 PM

Well BM... see now...(lol)...

DC has already f*cked up The Flash, by tying up Reynolds for GL.

I REALLY wish DC would start taking their sh*t more seriously. Because they have some EXCELLENT characters.
Dre-EL writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 7:14:22 PM

The article didnt mention the upcoming Batman/Superman movie Public Enemies, that looks to be something intersting.

Since Ryan is now GL I guess they are going to turn Hal Jordon into a funny wise cracking show boater. He would have made a good Wally West.

Who is big enough to play Lobo?
rabid writes:
on September 11th, 2009 at 10:26:43 AM

Neil Patrick Harris has called dibs on the Flash role, which is fine by me.

I'd like to see Mickey Rourke or Danny Trejo play Lobo, but they'll probably pick Jason Statham.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 11th, 2009 at 12:58:58 PM

Doggy Hoser would make an awful Flash...
Ranger writes:
on September 11th, 2009 at 3:12:41 PM

Neil Patrick Harris would be an OK Flash if he put on about 75 pounds of muscle... lol.

Otherwise, he's just fine playing the AIDS ridden Colonel in any Starship Troopers sequels.
entropyMUSE writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 12:57:33 PM

If they can bring "Hellboy" to the big screen, then they should bring "The Goon" aswell. Love that character.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved