WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Viggo Mortensen Confirms Quitting Acting

Posted: September 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Viggo Mortensen Confirms Quitting ActingSubmit Comment
Back in April, actor Viggo Mortensen revealed that all the traveling he has been doing in order to films and promote them has been destroying his health. His solution was to never make another movie, and instead focus on things that he enjoys.

Mortensen has now confirmed his quitting to Men's Journal magazine, stating: "I have no plans to do another movie. I don't know what's going to happen. I'm open to seeing how I feel in a while, but right now I'm not saying yes to anything. My agent is like, 'Well, if you don't do anything, people will forget about you...' I just feel like I've taken on too much for a while."

The actor's upcoming film schedule is pretty empty, but he has previously said that he would be interested in joining director David Cronenberg for an "Eastern Promises" sequel and also come back for "The Hobbit" prequels.

Source: Men's Journal


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 4:22:14 AM

yeah at least do the Hobbit prequels man... he's a god actor in anything he does
BrundleFly writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 5:33:48 AM

That sucks, this guy is one of the best.
Fabian writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 5:52:45 AM

Would be a shame if he quit..
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 7:01:50 AM

"Luke, I am your father...."

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

"And Viggo Mortensen is quitting acting..."

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!
Brody writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 7:49:34 AM

The best working American actor, cant wait for 'The Road'
SeWerin writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 8:13:53 AM

He is above average. Still better then most out there....
Shan writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 9:28:11 AM

Hate to be a movie nazi here but Darth Vader never actually said "Luke I am your father" The line was "No, I am your father".

Anyways Viggo Mortensen is a terrific actor, thought that he would still be in movies for a while longer.
Barney Stinson writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:17:19 AM

Jack Bauer Imitation - DAMN IT!!

I hope he at least does the Hobbit prequels and that he'll eventually return to acting.
NatG83 writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:31:19 AM

I always thought that Steve Zahn looked a lot like Viggo.

I think it's Zahn's time to shine. If you saw Rescue Dawn, you might agree.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:55:04 AM

Who's in the Road then??
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:21:19 AM

He's keeps getting better with each movie but it's his choice in the end. So do your thing Viggo. It's cool he's loyal though.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:33:54 AM

Just don't go nuts rapping-wearing capes and such
Syriph writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:33:55 AM

This news is just sad... why do all the great actors have to do few movies or quit while all the sh*tty ones have more movies than come out every year than i own... and thats a lot
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:52:45 AM

the less movies you're in...especially if you rarely do a movie and it's excellent...they make better money that way
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:54:06 AM

but if you do too many movies like nicolas cage...it doesn't pay off better....then again...hollywood's writers can barely come up with anything 'new'
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 12:41:53 PM

Well... at least he has the sense to say he's not doing any acting for the next while. It doesn't really confirm he's out of the game for good. I don't blame him. Some of these celebs schedules would kill a normal person (and yes, I know they get paid a lot... money doesn't help much if you're not getting mental and physical rest). So, good on him for not saying he's out of it altogether... but just for now he is.
moviesavant writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 1:12:11 PM

"I have never seen a wild thing...."
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 1:14:37 PM

Well here... let me lower my zipper.
lostwarrior writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 2:14:46 PM

u know as an actor his really a damn fine one. but regarding poetry he is aweful... I think he is choosing the wrong career to quit at...
rabid writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 2:34:27 PM

He's also an exceptional photographer.
G-bear writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 2:43:41 PM

Brody: Best working american actor... yeah well, he sure is the best working Danish actor :) Oe thing we can be proud of
dandythelion writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 2:44:06 PM

he was great in the Cronenberg films. I thought they were agood team. Id like to see at least one more film with the two.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 2:45:16 PM

He's relatively young, he'll be back. Maybe take a few years off, but I guarantee that an Eastern Promises sequel and The Hobbit movies will NOT be the last movies he ever stars in.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 3:16:37 PM

I never thought he was anything special, still hate to see him quit especially since he was a recent Oscar nominee he should realize that hes getting more and more recognized.
jaz_mayor writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 4:36:03 PM

Can't wait for the road. Book was good.
lost_addict writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 9:52:40 PM

will he become a rapper now?
whoever writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:54:22 PM

He's an accomplished artist so I don't think he will do too badly!
bluemeenie writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 3:55:22 PM

yeah because "artists" are rich...
Dre-EL writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 7:20:51 PM

Ive seen a couple of his later films and he just looks bored, or maybe thats his acting style.
timex89 writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 9:47:56 PM

Aragorn was the best
PepperHoist writes:
on September 11th, 2009 at 1:15:37 AM

That quote doesn't say a damn thing about him quitting. It just states that he's taking some time off.

Good one WP; another headline lie just to grab attention.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 19th, 2009 at 9:52:19 PM

It's his life and I'm glad to see he is putting his well being first. I would have wanted to see him acting in at least one movie a year but I wish him good luck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved