WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Live-Action "Akira" Film is Back on Track

Posted: September 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Live-Action "Akira" Film is Back on TrackSubmit Comment
In February of last year, it was reported that Ruairi Robinson had signed on to direct the live-action adaptation of "Akira" for Warner Bros Pictures. Gary Whitta (The Book of Eli) was set to write the script with Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt both rumored to star.

The adaptation was set for 2009, but there was obviously no movement on the project. Then three months ago, we learned that Robinson left "Akira," which Warner Bros considered dead.

Now comes news, via Collider, that "Akira" is back on track and screenwriters Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby (Children of Men, Iron Man) are about to turn in their first draft. The site added that the story will take place in Manhattan and will include the famous motorcycle. If the script is approved, production will begin next year for a 2011 release.

"Akira" originated in 1988 as a manga and then as an animated film co-written and directed by Katsuhiro Otomo. The story was set in a neon-lit futuristic post-nuclear war "New Tokyo" in 2019 where a teen biker gang member is subjected to a government experiment which unleashes his latent powers. The gang's leader must find a way to stop the ensuing swathe of destruction.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
tolgaboy writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 6:49:03 AM

f*ck warner bros ?WHY just make a superman movie and a batman movie
bale01289 writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 6:54:39 AM

Ha, good luck not f*ckin' this one up! There is no good outcome here!
SeWerin writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 7:36:24 AM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!
Digital Desperado writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 8:14:49 AM

Manhattan??Riightt...Yet another disaster on the way.Ou of its specific Japanese setting, "Akira" will make no sense whatsoever. Maybe the should rename it "Beau Brady". Oh, sorry, Sly, gay stupid name already taken...
theghost writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 8:46:36 AM

Swathe. ....good word!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 9:17:04 AM

FFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUCK

I found the trailer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jafd97yJFOI

dandythelion writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 9:21:21 AM

I'm interested in seeing it though I have little faith it could be done satisfactory.
scarface85 writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 10:12:59 AM

at least is warner bros not Disney... f*ck disney
Stuntastic writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 10:19:16 AM

When I first saw Akira I was 10 years old and it was one of the main reasons I wanted a motorcycle sooooo bad. This is a straight classic and there's no room for error to mess this up. Who's ever at the helm of this one needs to bring their A game.
VDODSON writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 10:31:02 AM

I will give them this, they have two excellent writers working on the project. I was never really much of a fan of Akira. I was more of a Ninja Scroll kind of guy, but this could be amazing on the big screen. Just our luck though they will be extremely faithful to the story, and ticket sales will abruptly drop off the second weekend like the vastly under rated Watchmen.
Stuntastic writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 10:37:27 AM

I tell you what, I wouldn't mind seeing a Fist of the Northstar live action film. That sh*t would probably be NC-17 with all the body parts blowing off.
thedotsays writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 11:11:25 AM

@dandythelion, I'm with you 100% This is next to impossible to translate into live action let alone well.
I'm wishing for the best but expecting the worst.
@Stuntastic - There was a live action FOTNS flick. With Costas Mandylor (spelling) you really didn't miss anything. I shouldn't have even told you it existed. You would have been better off not knowing. Trust me.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 11:39:32 AM

Wow, I don't hear anything good from this accept to see the bike. Cast is all wrong as is location.
Stuntastic writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 11:44:08 AM

@ The Dot. Really?! Wow, missed that one then. I'm from what you're saying I'm not missing much. Just like that new DragonballZ which I still haven't seen.
rabid writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 12:47:40 PM

That Dragonball film is garbage. But then so was the cartoon... But this Akira film, I have hiiiigh hopes for. This will have the superior budget and star power.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 3:50:17 PM

Dragon Ball is a great series so f*ck you all. The live-action adaptation was total sh*t though.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 5:48:04 PM

"Dragon Ball is a great series so f*ck you all."

Whoa whoa, calm down now, you're all out of breath and sweating and sh*t lol
thedotsays writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 5:51:28 PM

All Anime just can't be translated into live action, it loses absolutely everything. The story in the Anime is so rich and so deep, Hollywood just can't handle a story so rich and do it justice in the slightest.
That being said however, I pray every week to the movie Gods that one day, the right cast, the right budget, the right script , and the right director comes along and is able to create a great live action version of Cowboy Beebop. I think it would do great on screen as a live actioner but only if all the planets and stars aligned.

Now as far as the Dragonball anime, it was great. It did get a bit repetative and slightly misaimed in the end but the body itself more than made up for some of its missteps. It was in my top 5 of Animes until I caught Bleach and Code Geass. Dragonball had to take a seat behind those two easily.
And yes, the live action Dragonball was a worthless pile of steaming bison dung.
takai writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 6:43:02 PM

@thedot - I definitely agree with your statement on anime, and I'd like to add to it.

What Americans fail to understand about anime is, is that just because it's animated, doesn't mean it's any less serious than a live action movie. There are many an anime that blows the doors off Hollywood in action, drama, story, and character depth, they just don't get any appreciation because they're 'a cartoon.'

As for Bebop (one of my all time favorite animes), I don't think they could ever make a live action that would do it justice. Not only are the characters massively iconic, but budget would have to be through the roof, only to not make more than half of it back.

And Akira, especially the manga, is just impossible to re-create. The fact that the Japanese aren't even brave enough to try, should be a sign. I mean freak, did these guys even watch the last third of the film?

Nothing good can come of this. If we're lucky, the only resemblance to the anime will be the name and the motorcycle, because they are already on the road to failure setting the thing in Manhattan.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 7:43:22 PM

Cowboy Bebop is just going to be another action/sci-fi Keanu Reeves movie nothing more. And that's how the majority of movie going audience are going to see it. Where as fans of the anime like myself are going to be very disappointed with the adaptation. When you have something as perfect as "Cowboy Bebop" you're either going to hate it or not care much for it. As a movie it could turn out decent, but as a "Cowboy Bebop" movie it will suck. One of the reasons why i love anime is because it was far apart from Hollywood. You know it was it's own thing and genre but now Hollywood is trying to go anime. Hollywood going manga/anime is like turning Pixtar or any other CGI film into live-action.
WCM writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 1:48:01 AM

how about hollywood thinks up something new for a change and stops destroying the creations of people who actually possessed an original thought at some stage.
aarttyst writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 1:52:28 AM

didn't anyone see Dragonball, do they not learn from other peoples failures?
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:21:58 AM

-sigh-
Let's hope that this doesn't get f*cked ip like 9/10 of the live-action anime adaptions. -__-

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved